DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, The phrase “having the function at least of a buffer tank in order to permit "batchwise" operation, that is to say batch feeding of the electrolyzer from said buffer tank” (Claim 1, lines 6-8) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what effect the parentheses have around “batchwise”. Examiner suggests “having the function at least of a buffer tank in order to permit
The term ““like” ” ( Claim 1, lines 6-8) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “.
The term ““fine particles” (Last line of Page 1 of Claim 1) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Fine” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett.
(Fig.41, Hoffmann)
Regarding Claim 1, Hoffmann is directed to sewage treatment in general and particularly to a human waste treatment system and method that is disconnected from a conventional central sewage treatment system [0005].
Hoffman discloses urine treatment installation (Abstract, [A wastewater treatment system and method for remediating wastewater and human waste that is self-contained and that has no connection to a municipal wastewater system and no connection to an electrical grid])
comprising- a control unit and a fluid circulation circuit with at least one inlet for supplying urine to the circuit and with at least one outlet from said circuit , said installation comprising, disposed on said circuit , at least one electrolyzer equipped with at least one liquid outlet , and a tank serving to supply urine to the electrolyzer and having the function at least of a buffer tank in order to permit "batchwise" operation, that is to say batch feeding of the electrolyzer from said buffer tank, said buffer tank, in fluidic communication with the electrolyzer, being connected to the electrolyzer by at least one connection equipped with a pump capable of being controlled by the control unit. (Fig.41; Abstract, [A wastewater treatment system and method for remediating wastewater and human waste, the system includes an electrochemical cell that allows a waste stream to be disinfected in a few hours to a condition where no viable bacterial colonies can be cultured]; [0013], [the invention features a self-contained wastewater treatment system lacking a connection to a municipal wastewater treatment system. The self-contained wastewater treatment system comprises an electrochemical cell having at least one anode and at least one cathode, the electrochemical cell having a liquid input port configured to receive input in liquid form, a liquid output port configured to deliver output in liquid form and a gas output port configured to deliver output in a gaseous form, the electrochemical cell having an anode electrical terminal and a cathode electrical terminal, a holding tank having a controlled output connection to the liquid input port of the electrochemical cell, the holding tank configured to receive the input stream from the at least one input port, to hold material in the received input stream and to transfer a portion of the material so held for treatment in the electrochemical cell by way of the liquid input port; and a controller having at least one controller input port configured to receive input signals representing one or more of data and instructions, the controller having at least one controller output port configured to provide control signals as output, the controller in communication with and configured to control the electrochemical cell, the gas accumulation device, the liquid accumulation device, the electrical power source and the holding tank]; [0136], [Turning to FIG. 1B, the effluent from the toilet 102, 102' or urinal 104 flows to a septic tank 106, which is a reservoir for holding, mixing and buffering the effluent. The septic tank 106 stores the effluent and can include a settling tank 108 for anaerobic digestion. The settling tank 108 has an outlet that allows material to be moved to an electrochemical reactor 110]; [0165], [Another improvement to the flow is to displace the reactor inlet to the bottom of the reactor. Thus, when a person uses the toilet the pump can be turned off for a few minutes by a switch timer]).
However Hoffman is silent to wherein the installation comprises an ultrasound generator positioned downstream of the electrolyzer and in fluidic communication with the or at least one of the liquid outlets of the electrolyzer, in that the ultrasound generator comprises a chamber and an ultrasonic nebulization apparatus housed inside said chamber, in that said chamber is equipped with at least one device for forced circulation of fluid, at least one outlet to ambient air and at least one liquid inlet in fluidic communication with the or at least one of the liquid outlets of the electrolyzer for supplying electrolyzed liquid urine to said chamber, in that said nebulization apparatus is configured to transform at least some of the electrolyzed liquid urine from the electrolyzer into a mist-like cloud of fine particles, and in that the device for forced circulation of fluid is configured to guide the movement of the produced mist in the direction of the or at least one of the outlets to ambient air of said chamber, and in that the pump of the connection between the buffer tank and the electrolyzer is a reversing pump.
Zhang is directed to an organic wastewater treatment process, and more particularly to a method for treating dye wastewater [0002].
Zhang discloses to wherein the installation comprises an ultrasound generator positioned downstream of the electrolyzer ( [0009], [Electrolyze the wastewater for 18-20 minutes. Then, pass the electrolyzed wastewater into an ultrasonic generator for enhanced ultrasonic degradation]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, as taught by Zhang, wherein the installation comprises an ultrasound generator positioned downstream of the electrolyzer in order to enhance ultrasonic degradation (See Zhang, [0009]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
(Fig.3, Kawamura)
(Fig.7, Kawamura)
Kawamura is directed to a urine treatment device and a fecal treatment device [0001].
Kawamura disclose to wherein the installation comprises an ultrasound in fluidic communication with the or at least one of the liquid outlets of the electrolyzer, in that the ultrasound generator comprises a chamber and an ultrasonic nebulization apparatus housed inside said chamber, in that said chamber is equipped with at least one device for forced circulation of fluid, at least one outlet to ambient air and at least one liquid inlet in fluidic communication with the or at least one of the liquid outlets of the electrolyzer for supplying electrolyzed liquid urine to said chamber, in that said nebulization apparatus is configured to transform at least some of the electrolyzed liquid urine from the electrolyzer into a mist-like cloud of fine particles, and in that the device for forced circulation of fluid is configured to guide the movement of the produced mist in the direction of the or at least one of the outlets to ambient air of said chamber ([0007], [ Claim 1 is a urine processing device comprising: dividing the inside of a container into a first chamber, a second chamber, and a third chamber along the flow of urine; providing a urine intake opening in the first chamber and a sterilizing ultrasonic generator that exerts a sterilizing effect with ultrasonic waves and providing an atomizing ultrasonic generator that atomizes the urine and an outlet for discharging the atomized urine in the third chamber]; [0009], [Claim 2 is a urine processing device equipped with an ultrasonic atomizing generator inside a container to atomize urine, which is taken into the container through a urine intake port, atomizes the urine, and discharges it outside the container through an outlet provided in the container. Since urine is atomized using ultrasound, no thermal energy is required, resulting in significant energy savings]; [0016], [ The urine intake port 33 faces the first chamber 37, and a sterilizing ultrasonic generator 45 that exerts a sterilizing effect with ultrasonic waves is provided in the first chamber 37]; [0021], [In the third chamber 39, multiple ultrasonic atomizing generators 47 are vibrated at approximately 2.4 MHz. Then, some of the urine accumulated in the third chamber 39 turns into mist, and this misted urine is expelled outside through the discharge tube 18.]; [0023], [ The urine, atomized by the ultrasonic atomizing generator 47, becomes lighter and rises, exiting the container 32 through the outlet 34. However, if a long, curved discharge pipe 18 is connected to the discharge port 34, the discharge pipe 18 may act as resistance, potentially preventing the atomized urine from flowing properly. Therefore, an exhaust fan 49 is attached to the exhaust pipe 18, and exhaust fan 49 is used to forcibly exhaust the air. In other words, by attaching the exhaust fan 49, the exhaust pipe 18 can be extended without worrying about bends or length]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation wherein the installation comprises an ultrasound generator positioned downstream of the electrolyzer and in fluidic communication with the or at least one of the liquid outlets of the electrolyzer, in that the ultrasound generator comprises a chamber and an ultrasonic nebulization apparatus housed inside said chamber, in that said chamber is equipped with at least one device for forced circulation of fluid, at least one outlet to ambient air and at least one liquid inlet in fluidic communication with the or at least one of the liquid outlets of the electrolyzer for supplying electrolyzed liquid urine to said chamber, in that said nebulization apparatus is configured to transform at least some of the electrolyzed liquid urine from the electrolyzer into a mist-like cloud of fine particles, and in that the device for forced circulation of fluid is configured to guide the movement of the produced mist in the direction of the or at least one of the outlets to ambient air of said chamber, as taught by Kawamura, Since urine is atomized using ultrasound, no thermal energy is required, resulting in significant energy savings (See Kawamura, [0009]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Hughett is directed to fluid collection devices and methods of using fluid collection devices. In an embodiment, a portable urine collection system is disclosed. The portable urine collection system includes a urine collection device [0005].
Hughett discloses the pump of the connection between the buffer tank and the electrolyzer is a reversing pump. ([[0026], [the pump 110 is a reversible pump, configured to selectively pull fluid or air in and push fluid or air out]; [0032], [The urine collection system 100 also may include a controller 122. The controller 122 may be electrically coupled to the pump 110 and the power supply 124. The controller 122 is configured to activate or deactivate the pump 110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, as taught by Hughett , wherein the pump of the connection between the buffer tank and the electrolyzer is a reversing pump in order to selectively pull fluid or air in and push fluid or air out (See Hughett, [0026]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claims 6-8, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inlet for supplying urine to the circuit is equipped with a urine collector (Claim 6), The urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 6, wherein the urine collector is a urinal or a feces/urine separator with a urine- collecting part and a feces-collecting part (Claim 7), The urine treatment installation as claimed in Claim 7, wherein the installation comprises a feces treatment unit (Claim 8).
Kawamura discloses the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inlet for supplying urine to the circuit is equipped with a urine collector (Claim 6) ([0018], [In Figure 3, the urine that flows out of the urinal 16 pushes open the check valve 51 and falls into the first chamber 37]); [[0031], [urine is introduced into the anteroom 36 via the urine receiving ball 55 and hose 56, When the amount of urine accumulated in the anteroom 36 exceeds a certain amount, some of the urine overflows the auxiliary partition plate 40 and reaches the first chamber 37]).
Kawamura discloses the urine treatment installation claimed in claim 6, wherein the urine collector is a urinal or a feces/urine separator with a urine- collecting part and a feces-collecting part (Claim 7) ([[0035], [Figure 7 is a diagram illustrating the principle of the sewage treatment equipment according to the present invention. The sewage treatment equipment 60 consists of a separator 65 that roughly separates solid matter 63 and water 64 as the sewage falling from the toilet bowl 61; [0037], [The sewage treatment facility 60 is designed to treat sewage, but instead of heating the sewage as a unit, it first separates the solid matter (feces) from the liquid (urine + washing water), atomizes the liquid using the urine treatment device 30 described in Figure 3, and then subjects the solid matter to the treatment ]; [0043], [The sewage treatment equipment of claim 4 roughly separates sewage into solid matter mainly consisting of feces and liquid mainly consisting of urine and washing water, atomizes the liquid and releases it into the atmosphere, and reduces the volume of solid matter by dehydrating, drying, and turning it into ash.])
Kawamura discloses the urine treatment installation as claimed in Claim 7, wherein the installation comprises a feces treatment unit (Claim 8) ([[0035], [ The sewage treatment equipment 60 consists of a separator 65 that roughly separates solid matter 63 and water 64 as the sewage falling from the toilet bowl 61 is placed on a porous inclined plate 62 and slid down, a dewaterer 66 that dewaters the separated solid matter by centrifugal force, an oil dryer 67 that dries the dewatered solid matter with heated oil, and an electromagnetic ashing device 68 that burns the dried solid matter by electromagnetic heating to produce ash.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation wherein the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inlet for supplying urine to the circuit is equipped with a urine collector (Claim 6), The urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 6, wherein the urine collector is a urinal or a feces/urine separator with a urine- collecting part and a feces-collecting part (Claim 7), The urine treatment installation as claimed in Claim 7, wherein the installation comprises a feces treatment unit (Claim 8), as taught by Kawamura, in order to treat sewage, but instead of heating the sewage as a unit, it first separates the solid matter (feces) from the liquid (urine), atomizes the liquid using the urine treatment device and then subjects the solid matter to the treatment and reduces the volume of solid matter (See Kawamura, [0037], [0043],), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claims 12, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
Hoffmann discloses a method for treating urine in a urine treatment installation, wherein the urine treatment installation is in accordance with claim 1, said method comprises, starting from the buffer tank a step of supplying urine in a controlled manner to the electrolyzer ([0013], [The self-contained wastewater treatment system comprises an electrochemical cell having at least one anode and at least one cathode, the electrochemical cell having a liquid input port configured to receive input in liquid form, a liquid output port configured to deliver output in liquid form and a gas output port configured to deliver output in a gaseous form, the electrochemical cell having an anode electrical terminal and a cathode electrical terminal, a holding tank having a controlled output connection to the liquid input port of the electrochemical cell, the holding tank configured to receive the input stream from the at least one input port, to hold material in the received input stream and to transfer a portion of the material so held for treatment in the electrochemical cell by way of the liquid input port; and a controller having at least one controller input port configured to receive input signals representing one or more of data and instructions, the controller having at least one controller output port configured to provide control signals as output, the controller in communication with and configured to control the electrochemical cell, the gas accumulation device, the liquid accumulation device, the electrical power source and the holding tank]).
Hughett also discloses supplying urine in a controlled manner to the electrolyzer ([[0026], [the pump 110 is a reversible pump, configured to selectively pull fluid or air in and push fluid or air out]; [0032], [The urine collection system 100 also may include a controller 122. The controller 122 may be electrically coupled to the pump 110 and the power supply 124. The controller 122 is configured to activate or deactivate the pump 110]).
However, modified Hoffmann is silent to followed by a step of ultrasonically treating the electrolyzed urine coming from the electrolyzer.
Zhang discloses followed by a step of ultrasonically treating the electrolyzed urine coming from the electrolyzer ([0009], [Electrolyze the wastewater for 18-20 minutes. Then, pass the electrolyzed wastewater into an ultrasonic generator for enhanced ultrasonic degradation]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, as taught by Zhang, wherein the urine treatment installation comprises by a step of ultrasonically treating the electrolyzed urine coming from the electrolyzer in order to enhance ultrasonic degradation (See Zhang, [0009]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claims 13, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
Modified Hoffmann is silent to the method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the inlet of the circuit of the installation is equipped with a urine collector in the form of a feces/urine separator, with a urine-collecting part and a feces-collecting part, the step of supplying urine to the electrolyzer from the buffer tank being preceded by a step of separating the urine and feces.
Kawamura discloses, wherein the inlet of the circuit of the installation is equipped with a urine collector in the form of a feces/urine separator, with a urine-collecting part and a feces-collecting part, the step of supplying urine to the electrolyzer from the buffer tank being preceded by a step of separating the urine and feces. ([[0035], [Figure 7 is a diagram illustrating the principle of the sewage treatment equipment according to the present invention. The sewage treatment equipment 60 consists of a separator 65 that roughly separates solid matter 63 and water 64 as the sewage falling from the toilet bowl 61; [0037], [The sewage treatment facility 60 is designed to treat sewage, but instead of heating the sewage as a unit, it first separates the solid matter (feces) from the liquid (urine + washing water), atomizes the liquid using the urine treatment device 30 described in Figure 3, and then subjects the solid matter to the treatment ]; [0043], [The sewage treatment equipment of claim 4 roughly separates sewage into solid matter mainly consisting of feces and liquid mainly consisting of urine and washing water, atomizes the liquid and releases it into the atmosphere, and reduces the volume of solid matter by dehydrating, drying, and turning it into ash.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, wherein the inlet of the circuit of the installation is equipped with a urine collector in the form of a feces/urine separator, with a urine-collecting part and a feces-collecting part, the step of supplying urine to the electrolyzer from the buffer tank being preceded by a step of separating the urine and feces, as taught by Kawamura, in order to treat sewage, but instead of heating the sewage as a unit, it first separates the solid matter (feces) from the liquid (urine), atomizes the liquid using the urine treatment device and then subjects the solid matter to the treatment and reduces the volume of solid matter (See Kawamura, [0037], [0043],), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, as applied to the claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 20040149663 A1) herein known as Nakanishi, and further in view of Isono et al. (US-20110056840-A1) herein known as Isono.
(Fig.7, Nakanishi)
(Fig.8, Nakanishi)
(Fig. 6, Isono)
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer is compartmentalized and comprises a first compartment housing electrodes and equipped with the liquid outlet of the electrolyzer, and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow and on the other hand via a pumping device.
Nakanishi is directed to a novel water treating device which is capable of sterilizing water contained in various types of water containers ranging from large-scale water containers such as swimming pools and bathing pools in bathhouses to medium-scale water containers such as water supply tanks on building rooftops and small-scale water containers such as bathtubs for general domestic use [0001].
Nakanishi discloses wherein the electrolyzer is compartmentalized and comprises a first compartment housing electrodes and equipped with the liquid outlet of the electrolyzer, ([0088], [The electrode set E2 consisting of the plurality of electrode plates are provided in the electrolyzing chamber 14c.]; [0087] FIG. 7 is a schematic sectional view for explaining the construction of the batch process electrolyzing chamber 14. FIG. 8 is a schematic top view for explaining the construction of the batch process electrolyzing chamber 14. The batch process electrolyzing chamber 14 includes a box-shaped case body 14a and a cover 14b which covers an open top of the case body 14a. A square resin box is separately provided as an electrolyzing chamber 14c in the case body 14a. A space exclusive of the electrolyzing chamber 14c in the case body 14a serves as a reservoir tank 14d for storing the sterilizing liquid produced in the electrolyzing chamber 14c.), and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow (Fig.7-8; [0093], [The sterilizing liquid thus produced is filled in the electrolyzing chamber 14c, and overflows from an upper portion of the electrolyzing chamber 14c thereby to be accumulated in the reservoir tank 14d.]; [0094] ,[ The amount of the sterilizing liquid overflowing the electrolyzing chamber 14c is indirectly controlled, so that the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank 14d is controlled at the predetermined level]).
Isono is directed to an electrolytic plating equipment and an electrolytic plating method [0002].
Isono discloses a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the other hand via a pumping device (pump 66) (Fig. 6; [0088] As shown in FIG. 6, in this fourth embodiment electrolytic plating equipment 11 is also provided with re-supply pipe 43 for returning plating solution discharged from separate tank 15 to first space 17. One end 43a of this re-supply pipe 43 is connected to the lower side of separate tank body 20, communicating with second space 19. The other end 43b is located above first space 17. Re-supply pipe 43 is provided with pump 66 and filter 68.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, as taught by Nakanishi and Isono, wherein the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer is compartmentalized and comprises a first compartment housing electrodes and equipped with the liquid outlet of the electrolyzer, and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow and on the other hand via a pumping device in order to the amount of the sterilizing liquid overflowing the electrolyzing chamber is indirectly controlled, so that the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank is controlled at the predetermined level (See Nakanishi, [0094]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, as applied to the claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 20040149663 A1) herein known as Nakanishi.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer comprises a level sensor, and in that the control unit is configured to control the reversing pump at least as a function of the data provided by the level sensor.
Nakanishi discloses wherein the electrolyzer comprises a level sensor, and in that the control unit is configured to control the reversing pump at least as a function of the data provided by the level sensor (level sensor W2) (Fig.7; [0091] A water level sensor W2 required for controlling the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank 14d within a predetermined range is attached to a central portion of the cover 14b.]; [0094], Upon the detection of the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank 14d by the water level sensor W2, the driving of the metering pump P3 and the opening and closing of the electromagnetic valve B6 are controlled on the basis of a detection output. Thus, the amount of the electrolytic solution to be introduced into the electrolyzing chamber 14c is controlled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, as taught by Nakanishi, wherein the electrolyzer comprises a level sensor, and in that the control unit is configured to control the reversing pump at least as a function of the data provided by the level sensor, in order to control the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank within a predetermined range (See Nakanishi, [0091]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, and further in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 20040149663 A1) herein known as Nakanishi, as applied to the claims above and further in view of Isono et al. (US-20110056840-A1) herein known as Isono.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 3 wherein the electrolyzer is compartmentalized and comprises a first compartment housing electrodes and equipped with the liquid outlet of the electrolyzer, and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow and on the other hand via a pumping device, and wherein the control unit is configured to control the pumping device as a function of the data provided by the level sensor.
Nakanishi discloses the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 3 wherein the electrolyzer is compartmentalized and comprises a first compartment housing electrodes and equipped with the liquid outlet of the electrolyzer, and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow, ([0088], [The electrode set E2 consisting of the plurality of electrode plates are provided in the electrolyzing chamber 14c.]; [0087] FIG. 7 is a schematic sectional view for explaining the construction of the batch process electrolyzing chamber 14. FIG. 8 is a schematic top view for explaining the construction of the batch process electrolyzing chamber 14. The batch process electrolyzing chamber 14 includes a box-shaped case body 14a and a cover 14b which covers an open top of the case body 14a. A square resin box is separately provided as an electrolyzing chamber 14c in the case body 14a. A space exclusive of the electrolyzing chamber 14c in the case body 14a serves as a reservoir tank 14d for storing the sterilizing liquid produced in the electrolyzing chamber 14c.), and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow (Fig.7-8; [0093], [The sterilizing liquid thus produced is filled in the electrolyzing chamber 14c, and overflows from an upper portion of the electrolyzing chamber 14c thereby to be accumulated in the reservoir tank 14d.]; [0094] ,[ The amount of the sterilizing liquid overflowing the electrolyzing chamber 14c is indirectly controlled, so that the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank 14d is controlled at the predetermined level]), and wherein the control unit is configured to control the pumping device as a function of the data provided by the level sensor(level sensor W2) (Fig.7; [0091] A water level sensor W2 required for controlling the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank 14d within a predetermined range is attached to a central portion of the cover 14b.]; [0094], Upon the detection of the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank 14d by the water level sensor W2, the driving of the metering pump P3 and the opening and closing of the electromagnetic valve B6 are controlled on the basis of a detection output. Thus, the amount of the electrolytic solution to be introduced into the electrolyzing chamber 14c is controlled).
Isono discloses wherein a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the other hand via a pumping device (pump 66) (Fig. 6; [0088] As shown in FIG. 6, in this fourth embodiment electrolytic plating equipment 11 is also provided with re-supply pipe 43 for returning plating solution discharged from separate tank 15 to first space 17. One end 43a of this re-supply pipe 43 is connected to the lower side of separate tank body 20, communicating with second space 19. The other end 43b is located above first space 17. Re-supply pipe 43 is provided with pump 66 and filter 68.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann’s urine treatment installation, as taught by Nakanishi and Isono, wherein the electrolyzer is compartmentalized and comprises a first compartment housing electrodes and equipped with the liquid outlet of the electrolyzer, and a second compartment communicating with the first compartment on the one hand via an overflow and on the other hand via a pumping device, and wherein the control unit is configured to control the pumping device as a function of the data provided by the level sensor, so that the level of the sterilizing liquid in the reservoir tank is controlled at the predetermined level (See Nakanishi, [0094]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, as applied to the claim 1 above, and further in view of Avrahami (US-4961885-A) herein known as Avrahami.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
However modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer is equipped with at least one gas outlet connected to the ultrasound generator.
Avrahami is directed to an ultrasonic nebulizer for nebulizing, or atomizing a liquid, and particularly to such nebulizers as are commonly used in air humidifiers, air heaters, and the like (Col.1, Lines 5-8).
Avrahami discloses wherein the electrolyzer is equipped with at least one gas outlet connected to the ultrasound generator (Claim 5) (Abstract, [An ultrasonic nebulizer includes a supply container for the liquid to be nebulized, and an electrolytic cell having electrodes for generating a gas according to the amount of electricity conducted through the electrodes. The generated gas is effective to control the pressure in, or volume of, the supply container, and thereby the feed of the liquid therefrom to the ultrasonic nebulizer nozzle]).
Avrahami also discloses the novel nebulizer exhibits a lower sensitivity to clogging because the liquid is not fed by gravity via a capillary tube, but rather by a positive pressure via a feed tube, which may be of substantially larger diameter than a capillary tube (Col.2, Lines 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann urine treatment installation wherein the electrolyzer is equipped with at least one gas outlet connected to the ultrasound generator, as taught by Avrahami in order for the nebulizer to exhibit a lower sensitivity to clogging because the liquid is not fed by gravity via a capillary tube, but rather by a positive pressure via a feed tube (See Avrahami, [Col. 2, Lines 27-30]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Rod et al. (US 4045314 A) ) herein known as Rod.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
Kawamura teaches a feces combustion station operating on dihydrogen, that is to say comprising at least one dihydrogen burner, said feces combustion station being equipped with a connection connecting the feces combustion station to the feces-collecting part without passage through the electrolyzer ([[0035], [ The sewage treatment equipment 60 consists of a separator 65 that roughly separates solid matter 63 and water 64 as the sewage falling from the toilet bowl 61 is placed on a porous inclined plate 62 and slid down, a dewaterer 66 that dewaters the separated solid matter by centrifugal force, an oil dryer 67 that dries the dewatered solid matter with heated oil, and an electromagnetic ashing device 68 that burns the dried solid matter by electromagnetic heating to produce ash.])
However, modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 8 wherein the feces treatment unit comprises a dihydrogen production station connected at the inlet to the electrolyzer in order to enable electrolyzed urine to be supplied to the dihydrogen production station.
Rod is directed to non-polluting wastewater pyrolysis disposal system; and more particularly, to a system for converting wastewater to water vapor and a sterile solid residue (Col.1 , Lines 6-9).
Rod discloses wherein the feces treatment unit comprises a dihydrogen production station connected at the inlet to the electrolyzer in order to enable electrolyzed urine to be supplied to the dihydrogen production station (Col.3, Lines 2-9, [providing a non-polluting wastewater evaporation disposal system and method wherein the wastewater is converted to a sterile solid residue by producing hydrogen gas in an electrolytic cell and utilizing the produced hydrogen gas as a source of fuel to evaporate the wastewater to a sterile solid residue and water vapor]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann urine treatment installation wherein the feces treatment unit comprises a dihydrogen production station connected at the inlet to the electrolyzer, as taught by Rod, in order to utilize the produced hydrogen gas as a source of fuel to evaporate the wastewater to a sterile solid residue and water vapor (See Rod, [Col. 2, Lines 27-30]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, as applied to the claim 1 above, and further in view of Cinquin (US 5865171 A) herein known as Cinquin.
(Fig.1, Cinquin)
Regarding Claim 10, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
However modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein a non-return valve is arranged on the outlet to ambient air of the ultrasound generator.
Cinquin is directed to concerns a nebulizer for administering to a patent a mist for example containing a drug for treatment of their respiratory passages in particular (Col.1, Lines 5-7).
Cinquin discloses wherein a non-return valve (32) is arranged on the outlet to ambient air of the ultrasound generator (Fig.1; Col.3, Lines 13-15, [The branch 27 of the T-shape pipe 24 incorporates an outlet check valve 32 which allows air to flow only to the exterior]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann urine treatment installation wherein a non-return valve is arranged on the outlet to ambient air of the ultrasound generator as taught by Cinquin in order to allow fluid to flow only to the exterior (See Cinquin, [Col.3, Lines 13-15]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann et al. (US 20140209479 A1) herein known as Hoffmann, in view of Zhang (CN 107265714 A) herein known as Zhang, and further in view of Kawamura et al. (JP 2001128886 A, Machine Translation) herein known as Kawamura, and further in view of Hughett et al. (WO 2021102296 A1) herein known as Hughett, as applied to the claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhong et al. (CN 112245635 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Hoffmann teaches all the limitations in the claim 1 as set forth above.
However modified Hoffmann is silent to the urine treatment installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrolyzer and the ultrasound generator are housed inside a casing.
Zhong is directed This invention relates to the field of disinfection, and in particular to a water mist disinfection machine [0002].
Zhong discloses wherein the electrolyzer and the ultrasound generator are housed inside a casing ([0011], the disinfection water mist generating module includes a housing and an electrolytic cell disposed within the housing, wherein an ultrasonic atomizer is provided at the outlet of the electrolytic cell]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Hoffmann urine treatment installation wherein the electrolyzer and the ultrasound generator are housed inside a casing as taught by Zhong, in order to provide a water mist disinfection module (See Zhong, [0011]]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773