DETAILED ACTION
1.This communication is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 08/16/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
2. Status of the claims:
Claim 8 is canceled.
Claims 3, 5, and 9-10 are amended.
Claims 11-21 are amended.
Claims 1-7 and 9- 21 are pending.
Objection
3. The Abstract is objected because an abstract language should be clear and concise and should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure describes.” MPEP 608.01(b). The language “Disclosed are method and apparatus…” and “ according to an example of disclosure, a packet…” are phrases which can be implied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
4a. Claims 1, 2-3, 9-10 , and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ROSENGARD et al. (hereinafter “ROSENGARD”) (CN 1748391 B), in view of JPdocument (JP 3560345 B6), and further in view of Ahluwalia et al. (hereinafter “Ahluwalia”) (US 2006/0171310 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ROSENGARD discloses a method for processing messages, comprising:
S1: receiving the messages from a firmware buffer sequentially (real-time and non-real-time packaging are copied sequentially from a queue; where the arrival time of a packaging is performed in time sequence , ROSENGARD, [0020] ;[0044]; arrival in time sequence is disclosed in [0044] )), caching messages satisfying a real-time message condition into a priority processing queue ( packaging that satisfies a real-time packaging is queued in queue 50 where packaging in queue 50 has priority over packaging in 0055, ROSENGARD, [0021]; [0033] )), and caching messages not satisfying the real-time message condition into a common queue for buffering (real time packaging are in queue 55 waiting for packaging in buffer 50 to be processed before starting to be being processed , ROSENGARD, [0021] )), wherein the messages satisfying the real-time message condition are real- time messages ( packaging that satisfies non-real-time packaging are queue in buffer 55, ROSENGARD, [0021] )), and the messages not satisfying the real-time message condition are non-real-time messages ( non-real-time packaging are disclosed , ROSENGARD, [0021])); and S3: processing all the real-time messages cached in the priority processing queue ( message in queue 50 are processed until the queue is empty ( queue empty is equated to all of the packaging in the queue being processed) , ROSENGARD, [0021] )).
ROSENGARD does not S2: checking whether all messages in the firmware buffer are completely received ; if no, returning to S1 until all the messages in the firmware buffer are completely received.
JPdocument discloses S2: checking whether all messages in the firmware buffer are completely received ( a mechanism allows an application program using a command to make sure all of incoming messages be received , JPdocument, page 2 last paragraph starting with In addition to such delayed reception,…)); if no, returning to S1 until all the messages in the firmware buffer are completely received ( delay the processing of one message until a specific number related messages arrive , JPdocument, page 2 last paragraph starting with In addition to such delayed reception,…)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate JPdocument’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to receive all of the messages in a queue efficiently by using a mechanism that makes sure all of the messages are received before processing them.
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument do not disclose checking whether all messages in the firmware buffer are completely received; if yes, adjusting a single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically according to the number of the real-time messages in the priority processing queue, and obtaining an adjusted single processing amount of the non-real- time messages; S4: processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount; checking whether a new message is required to be received from the firmware buffer after the adjusted single processing amount of non-real-time messages are processed every time; and if no, continuing to process the adjusted single processing amount of non-real-time messages until all non-real-time messages are completely processed.
Ahluwalia discloses checking whether all messages in the firmware buffer are completely received; if yes, adjusting a single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically according to the number of the real-time messages in the priority processing queue ( a watchdog timer 90 finds the home agent queue 82 is empty, and subsequently the first non-real-time data message based on the capacity of the queue 82 , Ahluwalia, [‘0046])), and obtaining an adjusted single processing amount of the non-real- time messages (a plurality of non-real-time data messages are received based on the capacity of queue 82, Ahluwalia, [0046])); and
S4: processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount (receiving a plurality of non-real-time data messages based on the capacity of queue 82, Ahluwalia, [0046])), checking whether a new message is required to be received from the firmware buffer after the adjusted single processing amount of non-real-time messages are processed every time ((when the watchdog timer 90 detects that the plurality of non-real-time data message reaches the capacity of queue 82, a timeout value is made corresponding to the processing of the quantity of messages, Ahluwalia, [0046])))), if yes, returning to S1 ((upon receiving a message containing across the first local home network interface 72, the time out for delay the non-real-time data message restarts , the message received by the first local home network interface 72 is equated to new message received , Ahluwalia, [0047]; [0046])))), and if no, continuing to process the adjusted single processing amount of non-real-time messages until all non-real-time messages are completely processed (transmits the plurality of non-real-time data messages that were received based on the capacity of queue 82 is based on the home agent timeout value that can be 90 mS, 100 mS and 200mS, Ahluwalia, [0046])))).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by adapting the amount of messages to be processed based on the capacity of non-real-time data messages received by a processing queue .
Regarding claim 2, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, and Ahluwalia disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 1, wherein the adjusting a single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically according to the number of real-time messages in the priority processing queue, and obtaining an adjusted single processing amount of the non-real-time messages in S2, comprises:
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument do not disclose determining the number of the real-time messages in the priority processing queue; and adjusting the single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically according to a numerical relation between the number of the real-time messages, a first threshold and a second threshold, and obtaining the adjusted single processing amount of the non-real-time messages, wherein the first threshold is less than the second threshold.
Ahluwalia discloses determining the number of the real-time messages in the priority processing queue (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, Ahluwalia, [0052]))); and adjusting the single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically according to a numerical relation between the number of the real-time messages (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054]))), a first threshold and a second threshold, and obtaining the adjusted single processing amount of the non-real-time messages, wherein the first threshold is less than the second threshold (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054], many quantities of data messages are disclosed; example the first threshols is 256 is the first threshold and the 512 is the second threshold for example).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by adapting the amount of messages to be processed based on the capacity of non-real-time data messages received by a processing queue .
Regarding claim 3, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, and Ahluwalia disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 2, wherein the adjusting the single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically according to a numerical relation between the number of the real-time messages, a first threshold and a second threshold, and obtaining the adjusted single processing amount of the non-real-time messages, comprises:
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument do not disclose determining a maximum message processing amount of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) in a time unit as the adjusted single processing amount in a case that the number of the real-time messages is 0; taking, in a case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than 0 and less than the first threshold, or the number of the real-time messages is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold, the number of the real-time messages as variables of predetermined functions, adjusting the single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically by means of the predetermined functions, and obtaining the adjusted single processing amount of the non-real-time messages; determining a predetermined constant as the adjusted single processing amount in a case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than or equal to the second threshold.
Ahluwalia discloses determining a maximum message processing amount of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) in a time unit as the adjusted single processing amount in a case that the number of the real-time messages is 0 (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054], many quantity of data messages are disclosed; the maximum amount of messages is 1024 messages);
taking, in a case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than 0 and less than the first threshold, or the number of the real-time messages is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold, the number of the real-time messages as variables of predetermined functions, adjusting the single processing amount of the non-real-time messages dynamically by means of the predetermined functions, and obtaining the adjusted single processing amount of the non-real-time messages (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054]; [0046], many quantity of data messages are disclosed; example the first is 256 is the first threshold and the 512 is the second threshold for example); and
determining a predetermined constant as the adjusted single processing amount in a case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than or equal to the second threshold (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054]; [0046], many quantity of data messages are disclosed; example the first is 256 is the first threshold and the 512 is the second threshold for example; the predetermined constant is the number of messages before the timeout expired).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by adapting the amount of messages to be processed based on the capacity of non-real-time data messages received by a processing queue .
Regarding claim 9, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, and Ahluwalia disclose a terminal device, comprising a processor, a memory and a computer program stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor ( an application program processes by a processor , JPdocument, page 11 paragraph 3 starting with The distributed application infrastructure; a hardware storage is disclosed , JPdocument, page 7, the paragraph before the last starting with A message queue is a name )); in addition, claim 9 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 10, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, and Ahluwalia disclose a computer-readable storage medium, in addition JPdocument discloses a memory comprising a stored computer program, wherein when running, the computer program controls a device in which the computer-readable storage medium is located ( a hardware storage is disclosed , JPdocument, page 7, the paragraph before the last starting with A message queue is a name; an application program processes by a processor , JPdocument, page 11 paragraph 3 starting with The distributed application infrastructure; )); in addition, claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 2, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 3, thus the same rationale applies.
4b. Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, and further in view of Kataria et al. (hereinafter “Kataria”) (US 20080175270 A1).
Regarding claim 4, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, and Ahluwalia disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 3.
ROSENGARD and JPdocument disclose wherein the predetermined functions in the case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than 0 and less than the first threshold are different in the case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold.
Ahluwalia discloses wherein the predetermined functions in the case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than 0 and less than the first threshold are different in the case that the number of the real-time messages is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054]; [0046], many quantity of data messages are disclosed; example the first is 256 is the first threshold and the 512 is the second threshold for example).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by adapting the amount of messages to be processed based on the capacity of non-real-time data messages received by a processing queue .
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument, and in view of Ahluwalia disclose wherein the predetermined functions are linear functions, and a slope and an adjustment constant of a linear function from a slope and an adjustment constant of a linear function.
Kataria discloses wherein the predetermined functions are linear functions, and a slope and an adjustment constant of a linear function ( a linear function for various non-linear type of functions are disclosed capable of performing the predetermined functions , Kataria, [0043]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Kataria’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings and in view of Ahluwalia’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to predetermine the mount of single processing data based on target batch task of real-time queue proportional to the number of threads on a processing queue efficiently by using a linear function of the processing for doing so.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 4, thus the same rationale applies.
4c. Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, in view of Kataria, and further in view of SHEKHAWAT et al. (hereinafter “SHEKHAWAT”) (US 20210329668 A1).
Regarding claim 12, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, Ahluwalia, and Kataria the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 4.
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, and in view of Kataria disclose wherein the first threshold is A=axL, the second threshold is B=bxL, L is a length of the priority processing queue, a and b are coefficients, and a+b=1.
SHEKHAWAT discloses wherein the first threshold is A=axL, the second threshold is B=bxL, L is a length of the priority processing queue, a and b are coefficients, and a+b=1 (maximum queue length associated with the parameter is 1 for one of the queue and 0 for the others , SHEKHAWAT, [0043]; [0077]; [0082]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SHEKHAWAT’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings, in view of Ahluwalia’s teachings, and in view of Kararia’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process the real-time processing data efficiently for processing the last one before starting processing non-real-time data.
Regarding claim 14, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, Ahluwalia, Kataria, and SHEKHAWAT the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 12,wherein the processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount in S4 comprises: retrieving the adjusted single processing amount after it is detected that all real- time messages in the priority processing queue are completely processed ( message in queue 50 are processed until the queue is empty ( queue empty is equated to all of the packaging in the queue being process , ROSENGARD, [0021] )).
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument does not disclose where processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount every time.
Ahluwalia discloses processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount every time (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054])).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by adapting the amount of messages to be processed based on the capacity of non-real-time data messages received by a processing queue .
4d. Claims 5-6, 11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, and further in view of SHEKHAWAT et al. (hereinafter “SHEKHAWAT”) (US 20210329668 A1).
Regarding claim 5, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, and Ahluwalia disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claims 2.
ROSENGARD, in view of , JPdocument, and in view of Ahluwalia do not disclose wherein the first threshold is A=axL, the second threshold is B=bxL, L is a length of the priority processing queue, a and b are coefficients, and a+b=1 .
SHEKHAWAT discloses wherein the first threshold is A=axL, the second threshold is B=bxL, L is a length of the priority processing queue, a and b are coefficients, and a+b=1 (maximum queue length associated with the parameter is 1 for one of the queue and 0 for the others , SHEKHAWAT, [0043]; [0077]; [0082]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SHEKHAWAT’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings and in view of Ahluwalia’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process the real-time processing data efficiently for processing the last one before starting processing non-real-time data.
Regarding claim 6, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, Ahluwalia, and SHEKHAWAT disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 5, wherein the processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount in S4 comprises: retrieving the adjusted single processing amount after it is detected that all real- time messages in the priority processing queue are completely processed ( message in queue 50 are processed until the queue is empty ( queue empty is equated to all of the packaging in the queue being process , ROSENGARD, [0021] )).
ROSENGARD in view of JPdocument, do not disclose processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount every time.
Ahluwalia discloses processing the non-real-time messages cached in the common queue according to the adjusted single processing amount every time (a serving node processor that processes real-time messages is designed to hold a quantity of messages, the processing of the non-real -time data messages will depend on the quantity of the data message processed before the queue is empty, Ahluwalia, [0052]; [0054])).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by adapting the amount of messages to be processed based on the capacity of non-real-time data messages received by a processing queue .
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 5, thus the same rationale applies. (parent claim 3 above)
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 6, thus the same rationale applies. (parent claim 3 above)
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 5, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is substantially similar to claim 6, thus the same rationale applies.
4e. Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, in view of SHEKHAWAT, and further in view of NOBUAKI et al. (hereinafter “NOBUAKI”) (JP 2003153221 A).
Regarding claim 7, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, Ahluwalia, and SHEKHAWAT disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 6.
ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, and in view of SHEKHAWAT disclose wherein in a case that a message in the common queue overflows, a non-real-time message stored for a longest time at a head of the common queue is discarded.
NOBUAKI discloses wherein in a case that a message in the common queue overflows, a non-real-time message stored for a longest time at a head of the common queue is discarded ( preventing overflowing in a queue by eliminating the delay element, non-real-time data , ( the delay element is equated to a non-real-time message stored for a longest time), NOBUAKI, page paragraph starting with As described above, according to the bridge..).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ahluwalia’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by discarding the delay element.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 7, thus the same rationale applies.
4f. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, in view of Kataria, in view of SHEKHAWAT , and further in view of NOBUAKI.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 7, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 16, ROSENGARD, JPdocument, Ahluwalia, Kataria, and SHEKHAWAT disclose the method for processing messages as claimed in claim 14.
ROSENGARD, in view of JPdocument, in view of Ahluwalia, in view of Kataria, and in view of SHEKHAWAT disclose wherein in a case that a message in the common queue overflows, a non-real-time message stored for a longest time at a head of the common queue is discarded.
NOBUAKI discloses wherein in a case that a message in the common queue overflows, a non-real-time message stored for a longest time at a head of the common queue is discarded ( preventing overflowing in a queue by eliminating the delay element, non-real-time data , ( the delay element is equated to a non-real-time message stored for a longest time), NOBUAKI, page paragraph starting with As described above, according to the bridge..).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate NOBUAKI’s teachings with ROSENGARD’s teachings in view of JPdocument’s teachings, Ahluwalia’s teaching, and view of Kataria’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to process non-real-time message more efficiently by discarding the delay element.
Conclusion
/MARIEGEORGES A HENRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/DAVID R LAZARO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455