DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing of application no. 18/839,418 on 04/26/2024.
Claims 1 – 9 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 8 and 9 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 - 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batcha et al. (US 2020/0349614) (“Batch”) in view of Flockhart et al. (US 2014/0079209) (”Flockhart”) and further in view of Langley at al. (US 11,068,904) (“Langley”).
For claims 1 and 8, Batcha discloses a handling assistance system (Abstract), comprising a processor ([0008]) configured to execute operations ([0008]) comprising: generating a speech recognition text based on(contact center, Fig.2, 200; [0042 – 0045]) communicably connects to a first terminal (agent device, Fig.2, 230A; [0050]) and a second terminal (agent device, Fig.2, 230B; [0050]), the first terminal is used by a first user (first agent) who is in charge of the call handling ([0135 – 0142]), and the second terminal is used by a second user (second agent, e.g. manager) who assists the first user with the call handling ([0142 – 0150]); generating, based on the speech recognition text ([0097] [0144]), a summary text in response to receiving an assistance request (transfer request) for the call handling from the first terminal ([0142 – 0144]), wherein the summary text (contextual summary) represents a summary of the speech recognition text ([0097] [0098] [0144] [0145]); and transmitting the summary text to the second terminal to cause the second terminal to display the summary text ([0144] [0150]).
Yet, Batcha fails to the following: transmitting the summary text to the second terminal as a component of an assistance requesting notification, wherein a predetermined notification sound is output with the display of the summary text.
However, Flockhart discloses a system and method for pushing notifications to agents in a contact center (Abstract), comprising the following: configuring a notification that comprises both audible data and visual data which describes the nature of a work item associated with the notification ([0015] [0055]); and providing the notification to an agent in response to other agents requiring assistance (Fig.3, 308, 312, 316, 324; [0015] [0060 -0062]).
Moreover, Langley discloses a system and method for providing performance information related to a customer service representative (Abstract), comprising the following: an assistance requesting notification including a summary (conversation summary, Fig.7, 710; column 9 lines 20 - 53) is transmitted to a second terminal (An interaction transfer screen comprising a conversation summary is sent to a second CSR, Fig.4, 402 – 412; column 8 lines 20 - column 9 line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Batcha’s invention in the same way that Flockhart’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Flockhart, [0004] [0005]): further generating an assistance requesting notification comprising both visual data and audible data; and further providing the assistance requesting notification to the second terminal.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Batcha and Flockhart in the same way that Langley’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Langley, column 1 lines 20 -34): the visual data of the assistance requesting notification further comprises the summary text.
For claim 5, Batcha, Flockhart and Langley further disclose wherein the transmitting further comprises causing the second terminal to display the assistance requesting notification on a frontmost window of windows displayed on the second terminal (Batcha, [0144] [0150]) (Flockhart, The assistance request notification is provided as a pop-up., [0015] [0055] [0060 -0062]) (Langley, column 8 lines 20 - column 9 line 53) and to output the notification sound (Flockhart, [0015] [0055]).
For claim 6, Batcha, Flockhart and Langley further disclose wherein the transmitting further comprises forwarding
For claim 7, Batcha, Flockhart and Langley further disclose wherein the transmitting further comprises causing the another second terminal to display the assistance request notification, which is a target of forwarding and output the notification sound (Batcha, [0144] [0150]) (Flockhart, Fig.2, 240, 244 and Yes; [0015] [0049] [0051] [0053] [0055] [0057] [0059]) (Langley, column 9 lines 30 - column 10 line 11).
For claims 9, Batcha discloses non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program ([0026] [0027]) that, when executed by a computer causes the computer to function ([0026] [0027]) as the handling assistance system (Abstract) comprising a processor ([0008]) configured to execute operations ([0008]) comprising: generating a speech recognition text based on
Yet, Batcha fails to the following: transmitting the summary text to the second terminal as a component of an assistance requesting notification, wherein a predetermined notification sound is output with the display of the summary text.
However, Flockhart discloses a system and method for pushing notifications to agents in a contact center (Abstract), comprising the following: configuring a notification that comprises both audible data and visual data which describes the nature of a work item associated with the notification ([0015]); and providing the notification to an agent in response to other agents requiring assistance (Fig.3, 308, 312, 316, 324; [0015] [0060 -0062]).
Moreover, Langley discloses a system and method for providing performance information related to a customer service representative (Abstract), comprising the following: an assistance requesting notification including a summary (conversation summary, Fig.7, 710; column 9 lines 20 - 53) is transmitted to a second terminal (An interaction transfer screen comprising a conversation summary is sent to second CSR, Fig.4, 402 – 412; column 8 lines 20 - column 9 line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Batcha’s invention in the same way that Flockhart’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Flockhart, [0004] [0005]): further generating an assistance requesting notification comprising both visual data and audible data; and further providing the assistance requesting notification to the second terminal.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Batcha and Flockhart in the same way that Langley’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Langley, column 1 lines 20 -34): the visual data of the assistance requesting notification further comprises the summary text.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Batcha et al. (US 2020/0349614) (“Batch”) in view of Flockhart et al. (US 2014/0079209) (”Flockhart”), and further in view of Langley at al. (US 11,068,904) (“Langley”) and further in view of Sachdev (US 2021/0126999).
For claim 2, the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to further execute: identifying at least one selected from a reason for the assistance request (Batcha, The summary comprises the following information, “customer wants to speak to a manager when requested to increase budget”, [0135 – 0145]) (Langley, Fig.7, 704; column 9 lines 30- 53) and a call reason in the call handling (Batcha, The summary comprises the following information, “customer wants to go on a trip to New York …”, [0135 – 0145]) (Langley, call reason, Fig.7, 712; column 9 lines 30- 53) based on the speech recognition text (Batcha, [0096] [0097] [0144]), wherein the transmitting further comprises causing the second terminal to display 316, 324; [0015] [0060 -0062]), wherein the assistance requesting notification further comprises at least one selected from the reason (Batcha, The summary comprises the following information, “customer wants to speak to a manager when requested to increase budget”, [0135 – 0145]) (Langley, Fig.7, 704; column 9 lines 30- 53) and the call reason (Batcha, The summary comprises the following information, “customer wants to go on a trip to New York …”, [0135 – 0145]) (Langley, call reason, Fig.7, 712; column 9 lines 30- 53).
Yet, the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley fails to teach the following: identifying where the call handling is inbound or outbound based on the speech recognition text, wherein the assistance requesting notification comprises the identified call handling.
However, Sachdev discloses a method for real-time automated call summarization (Abstract), comprising the following: speech recognition is performed on an audio stream of a call received at a customer care call center ([0002] [0011 - 0014]); whether a call handling is inbound or outbound is determined based on the speech recognition text (A call summary is generated based on a call transcript and/or an extracted intent from the call transcript. The generated call summary comprises the following language expressing an extracted intent, “customer called for emails…”. The extracted intent comprises a determination that the call handling is inbound, Fig.4, 400; [0016] [0017] [0019] [0020] [0026 – 0028]); and a summary is generated which comprises the determination of whether a call handling is inbound or outbound (A call summary is generated based on a call transcript and/or an extracted intent from the call transcript. The generated call summary comprises the following language expressing an extracted intent, “customer called for emails…”. The extracted intent comprises a determination that the call handling is inbound, Fig.4, 400; [0016] [0017] [0019] [0020] [0026 – 0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley in the same way that Sachdev’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Langley, column 1 lines 20 -34) (Sachdev, [0002]): identifying where the call handling is inbound or outbound based on the speech recognition text, wherein the assistance requesting notification, which comprises a summary, further comprises the identified call handling.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Batcha et al. (US 2020/0349614) (“Batcha”) in view of Flockhart et al. (US 2014/0079209) (”Flockhart”), and further in view of Langley at al. (US 11,068,904) (“Langley”) and further in view of Manzanillo ( US 11,637,923).
For claim 3, the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley fails to teach the following: wherein the transmitting further comprises transmitting the speech recognition text to the second terminal to cause the second terminal to further display the speech recognition text in response to receiving from the second terminal, a request for displaying details information for the assistance requesting notification.
However, Manzanillo discloses a call notification system and method (Abstract), comprising the following: a received call is converted into text via a speech-to-text converter (column 4 lines 34 – column 5 line 55); a notification (Fig.2C, 260A) comprising the text (Fig.2C, 262) and a summary of the text (Fig.2C, 261) is transmitted to an endpoint (column 6 lines 44 – column 7 line 20); and the text is displayed in response to receiving a request (selection of link) for displaying details information for the notification (Fig.2C, 260B; column 7 lines 20 – 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley in the same way that Manzanillo’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Langley, column 1 lines 20 -34) (Sachdev, [0002]): the assistance requesting notification further comprises a link to the speech recognition text which comprises details of the customers call; and the transmitting further comprises transmitting text, e.g. the speech recognition text, to the second terminal to cause the second terminal to further display the text, e.g. speech recognition text, in response to receiving from the second terminal, a request for displaying details information for the assistance requesting notification.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Batcha et al. (US 2020/0349614) (“Batcha”) in view of Flockhart et al. (US 2014/0079209) (”Flockhart”), and further in view of Langley at al. (US 11,068,904) (“Langley”) and further in view of Oracle Contact Center Anywhere: Interaction Manager (“Oracle Contact Center”).
For claim 4, the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley fails to teach the following: wherein the transmitting further comprises transmitting past call handing information to the second terminal to cause the second terminal to further display the past call handling information regarding a same customer as the customer in the call handling in a list form, in response to receiving from the second terminal, a request for displaying details information for the assistance requesting notification.
However, Oracle Contact Center discloses a system and method for providing a unified support interface in a contact center operation (“Unified Interface Manages All Agent Interactions”), comprising the following: transmitting past call handling information (customer interaction history) to a terminal to cause the terminal to further display the past call handling information regarding a same customer as the customer in the call handling (active call) in a list form (Figure A workgroup call in the Interaction Manager’s agent interface, Figure Contact Center Anywhere allows agents to view a customer’s entire history with your company, in chronological order across all media channels; Keep Track of Customer Interaction History), in response to receiving from the terminal, a request for displaying details information for an interactive agent interface (Clicking on the interaction information/contact history label tags causes a list of a customer’s entire history to be displayed in chronological order., Figure A workgroup call in the Interaction Manager’s agent interface, Figure Contact Center Anywhere allows agents to view a customer’s entire history with your company, in chronological order across all media channels; Keep Track of Customer Interaction History).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Batcha, Flockhart and Langley in the same way that the invention disclosed by Oracle Contact Center has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results or the purpose of reducing the time/improving the efficiency of handling contacts in a contact center (Batcha, [0028]) (Langley, column 1 lines 20 -34) (Sachdev, [0002]): the transmitting further comprises transmitting past call handing information to a terminal, e.g. the second terminal, to cause the second terminal to further display the past call handling information regarding a same customer as the customer in the call handling in a list form, in response to receiving from the second terminal, a request for displaying details information for an interactive agent interface, e.g. the assistance requesting notification.
Conclusion
/SONIA L GAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657