DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, and 5 recite (emphasis added by examiner), “selecting, by a fifth device, the second device for preventing collection of the traffic information from the second device according to regularity of the network.” It is unclear to the examiner how exactly this limitation should be interpreted given its grammar and the usual definition of regularity (“the state or quality of being regular”). That is, “regular” can be considered a relative term with conflicting interpretation. For example, what is “regular” from one perspective may be irregular from other without any context or constraints applied to the term. It seems to the examiner “according to regularity of the network” might mean something akin to according to a schedule and will be interpreted as such, but that is not the literal interpretation of this limitation. In conclusion, the limitation requires rewording and/or explanation with regard to what it actually means so that it may be reasonable interpreted.
Claims 2, 7-9, 11-14, and 16-18 additionally use the term “regularity” and also have similar issues that will need to be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubal et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0380865) in view of Sagara et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0304200), hereafter, “Sagara.”
As to claim 1, Dubal discloses a communication system comprising a processor configured to execute operations comprising:
transmitting, by a first device, traffic information, wherein the traffic information is previously received by the first device from a second device of a plurality of second devices over a network ([0060]-[0061], particularly, “Generally, there are various known methods for securely passing the Netflow data from the NIC to the Netflow export agent. In highly secure environments, the Netflow export agent could run on the NIC firmware so the Netflow data is not available to any host applications. Optionally, the Netflow export agent may be implemented separate from NIC 506 (not shown).” “Netflow export agent” reading on “first device”), “NIC” reading on “a second device” (see [0041] where there are more clearly a plurality of NICs), and “Netflow data” reading on “traffic information”),
collecting, by a third device, the transmitted traffic information of the network ([0060]-[0061], particularly, “In a block 616 the Netflow data that has been forwarded to the Netflow export agent is flushed to a Netflow collection agent, such as Netflow Collector collector 512. In the illustrated embodiment, Netflow export agent 510 forwards the Netflow data it has cached to Netflow collector 512 via UDP packets 530.” Netflow Collector 512 reading on “third device”).
receiving, by a fourth device associated with the second device of the plurality of second devices, the traffic information from the second device, and preventing transmission of the received traffic information to the first device ([0060], particularly, “In a block 608, a packet is received at Netflow data collection block 508, and a determination is made in a decision block 610 to whether a Netflow 7-tuple match is detected by comparing the 7-tuple field values in the packet header against the 7-tuple filters. As discussed above, the packet header field values may be extracted using a packet inspection logic that is separate from the Netflow collection agent, or packet inspection logic and the Netflow collection agent function may be incorporated into the same logic block. If there is a match, corresponding Netflow data is collected in a block 612.”; “a packet inspection logic that is separate from the Netflow collection agent” reading on “a fourth device” and “preventing transmission” occurs when there is no match against the 7-tuple filter);
stopping the fourth device corresponding to the selected second device from transmitting the traffic information to the first device ([0060], particularly, “In a block 608, a packet is received at Netflow data collection block 508, and a determination is made in a decision block 610 to whether a Netflow 7-tuple match is detected by comparing the 7-tuple field values in the packet header against the 7-tuple filters. As discussed above, the packet header field values may be extracted using a packet inspection logic that is separate from the Netflow collection agent, or packet inspection logic and the Netflow collection agent function may be incorporated into the same logic block. If there is a match, corresponding Netflow data is collected in a block 612.”; “a packet inspection logic that is separate from the Netflow collection agent” reading on “a fourth device” and “preventing transmission” occurs when there is no match against the 7-tuple filter).
However, Dubal does not explicitly disclose selecting, by a fifth device, the second device for preventing collection of the traffic information from the second device according to regularity of the network.
But, Sagara discloses selecting, by a first device, a second device for preventing collection of the traffic information from the second device according to regularity of the network (Fig. 8 and [0108]-[0110], particularly, “FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a sequence to control the transfer node 300 by the collection control node 100 to stop the collection information transmission process in the collection point of the transfer node 300.”; “control node” reading on “first device” and “transfer node” reading on “second device”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Dubal and Sagara in order to provide finer control over the data collection mechanism of the system that would enable more efficient use of network resources.
As to claims 4 and 5, they are rejected by similar rationale by that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claims 6 and 10, the combination of Dubal and Sagara as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose wherein the first device represents a transmission device, the second device represents a network device, the third device represents a collection device, the fourth device represents a transmission control device, and the fifth device represents a control device (Dubal, [0060]-[0061] and Sagara, [0108]-[0110]).
As to claims 8, 12, and 16, the combination of Dubal and Sagara as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the regularity of the network is based on routing information of the network (Sagara, [0108]-[0110]).
As to claims 9, 13, and 17, the combination of Dubal and Sagara as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the regularity of the network is based on a symmetry of a configuration of the network (Sagara, [0108]-[0110]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7, 11, 14, 15, and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458