DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-30, 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gangkhedkar et al. (hereinafter Ganga)(US 2019/0239181).
Regarding claim 28, Ganga teaches a method comprising: determining if an apparatus is able to act as an anchor device based on a set of criteria;
performing a set of measurements on received signals to determine its position or retrieve its position(P[0151], measurements D2D PRS reference signal; CP response in Fig. 11);
determining if the apparatus position is sufficiently stable according to the set of policies/criteria, and/or the apparatus is in coverage of an access device, and starting to operate as an anchor device based on the determination of the previous step and/or initiating procedures to request the apparatus becoming and/or configured as an anchor device(P [0134] When the target node's position is localized to within an acceptable accuracy threshold, it optionally transmits the CP termination message on the sidelink (broadcast) . The target node may also change its state to “anchor”; CP confirmation message in Fig. 11; P[0129-0130], anchor selection function).
Regarding claim 29, Ganga teaches the method of claim 28, further comprising operating as an anchor device upon determining the presence of a second anchor devices in its vicinity(P0132-0134]; P[0134], target node may change its state to “anchor”).
Regarding claim 30, Ganga teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the apparatus stops operating as an anchor device upon determining that the coverage of location services is sufficient according to a location quality threshold in its current location(P[0018], removes the node from a future anchor selection process at another node, allowing a more suitable node to take its place; comparing error in estimated location with predetermined threshold).
31. (canceled)
Regarding claim 32, Ganga teaches the method of claim 29, wherein the apparatus stops operating as an anchor device upon determining that the coverage of location services is sufficient according to a location quality threshold in its current location(P[0018], removes the node from a future anchor selection process at another node, allowing a more suitable node to take its place; comparing error in estimated location with predetermined threshold).
Claim 34 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 17, 25-27, 33, 35-36, 37-41, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny et al. (hereinafter Tenny)(US 2022/0015059) in view of Henry et al. (hereinafter Henry)(US 2022/0070816).
Regarding claim 1, Tenny teaches a device comprising: a processor circuit and a memory circuit, wherein the memory is arranged to store instructions for the processor circuit, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to request a service from a ranging constellation, wherein the constellation is formed by at least one ranging capable anchor devices of a wireless network(item 1001 in Fig. 10), wherein the constellation acts as a proxy for a positioning service provided in a geographical area, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive at least one response message from the ranging constellation(item 1002 in Fig. 10; server UE as a proxy), wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform a range or location estimate or a ranging measurement based on the at least one response message, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to calculate the location of a target mobile device based on the range or location estimate or ranging measurement, or forward the range or location estimate or a result of the ranging measurement to the ranging constellation so as to support the positioning service(item 1003 in Fig. 10).
Tenny did not teach specifically ranging. However, Henry teaches in an analogous art ranging (P[0063, 0066], UWB ranging). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ranging service in order to have improved efficiency.
Note: Henry further teaches primary anchor(proxy constellation) and candidate anchors(anchor devices), area around coarse location to identify set of candidate anchors for UWB ranging for the mobile device.
Regarding claim 2, Tenny teaches a device comprising: a processor circuit and a memory circuit, wherein the memory is arranged to store instructions for the processor circuit, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to request a ranging service from a ranging constellation(item 1001 in Fig. 10), wherein the ranging constellation is formed by at least one ranging capable anchor devices of a wireless network, wherein the ranging constellation acts as a proxy for a positioning service provided in a geographical area(item 1002 in Fig. 10; server UE as a proxy),
wherein the processor circuit is arranged to transmit ranging reference signals that can be received by at least one anchor device of the ranging constellation, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to receive at least one response message from the ranging constellation(item 1003 in Fig. 10).
Tenny did not teach specifically ranging. However, Henry teaches in an analogous art ranging (P[0063, 0066], UWB ranging). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ranging service in order to have improved efficiency.
Note: Henry further teaches primary anchor(proxy constellation) and candidate anchors(anchor devices), area around coarse location to identify set of candidate anchors for UWB ranging for the mobile device.
Regarding claim 3, Tenny in view of Henry teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the ranging reference signals are arranged to enable anchor devices of the ranging constellation to perform ranging measurements on the ranging reference signals and to calculate a distance or angle or location estimate(Henry: P[0052], set of candidate anchors; compute distance from the mobile device to the secondary anchors; Tennay: measurements made at the secondary anchors; Fig. 8, measurement of reference signals and reporting to the server UE).
Regarding claim 4, Tenny in view of Henry teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the response message comprises a position information indication relative to the target mobile device(Henry: P[0052], location of the mobile device from the reception measurements made at the secondary anchors; distance from the mobile device to the secondary anchors; Tenny: Fig, 8, report location measurements to the server UE).
Regarding claim 5, Tenny in view of Henry teaches the device of claim 4, wherein the position information indication comprises at least one of a calculated distance of the target mobile device or an indication thereof, a calculated angle of the target mobile device or an indication thereof; or a calculated location of the target mobile device or an indication thereof(Henry: P[0052], location of the mobile device from the reception measurements made at the secondary anchors; distance from the mobile device to the secondary anchors; Tenny: Fig, 8, report location measurements to the server UE).
Regarding claim 6, Tenny in view of Henry teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform a range or location estimate or a ranging measurement based on the at least one response message(Tenny: Fig, 8, report location measurements to the server UE; compute location estimate).
Regarding claim 7, Tenny in view of Henry teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform the range, location estimate or ranging measurement based on discovery messages or carrier phase based ranging or positioning techniques(Tenny: reference signals may be transmitted in a broadcast fashion; Henry Fig. 13, P[0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Tenny teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to initiate a self-configuration of a ranging capable anchor device(P[0022], the distinguished UE may be used by the other UEs as a point of access to the network (e.g., a relaying relationship in which the relay UE provides network access for remote UEs).
Regarding claim 17, Tenny teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the wherein the processor circuit is configured by a managing entity or is arranged to configure itself to switch on a ranging service upon entering the geographical area or upon the target mobile device entering the geographical area(P[0023], in the out-of-coverage and partial-coverage scenarios; groups of moving UEs and may incur excessive overhead due to transmitting high-precision location information in a many-to-many fashion; P[0024] leader UE 102, to function as a “server UE” for positioning a target UE over sidelink interface are proposed. This allows a reduction in the necessary sidelink signalling to support positioning as well as control of the distribution of information about the various peer UEs).
Regarding claim 25, Tenny teaches a method comprising: requesting a service from a ranging constellation, wherein the ranging constellation formed by at least one ranging capable anchor devices of a wireless network(Fig. 6, item 1, location request from external entity; request to UE2 server); receiving at least one response message from the ranging constellation(Fig. 8, server UE as a proxy; report from UE2 and UE3); performing a range or location estimate or a ranging measurement based on the at least one response message(items 6A, 6B and 6C in Fig. 8; reference signals measurement); and calculating the location of a target mobile device based on the range or location estimate or ranging measurement(item 8 in Fig. 8; compute location estimate).
Tenny did not teach specifically ranging. However, Henry teaches in an analogous art ranging (P[0063, 0066], UWB ranging). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ranging service in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 26, Tenny in view of Henry teaches a method comprising: requesting a service from a ranging constellation formed by at least one ranging capable anchor devices of a wireless network(Fig. 6, item 1, location request from external entity; request to UE2 server), wherein the ranging constellation acts as a proxy for a positioning service provided in a geographical area;(P[0024], distinguished server UE 103 may, for example, have access to information about all the peer UEs in the group, such as the configurations and estimated locations of the peer UEs); transmitting ranging reference signals that can be received by at least one anchor device of the ranging constellation; receiving at least one response message from the ranging constellation(Tenny: item 1002-1003 in Fig. 10; server UE as a proxy; also Fig. 8, items 7A-7B and item 8).
Tenny did not teach specifically ranging. However, Henry teaches in an analogous art ranging (P[0063, 0066], UWB ranging). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ranging service in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 35, Tenny teaches a method comprising: requesting a service from a ranging constellation(UE2 server requesting peer devices UE1 and UE3; item 4A and 4B; server UE function of positioning server), wherein the ranging constellation formed by at least one ranging capable anchor devices of a wireless network(P[0024], server UE 103 may, for example, have access to information about all the peer UEs in the group(ranging constellation), such as the configurations and estimated locations of the peer UEs); receiving at least one response message from the ranging constellation(item 3 in Fig. 5, receiving assistance data delivery from UE2 server); performing a range or location estimate or a ranging measurement based on the at least one response message; and forwarding the range or location estimate or a result of the ranging measurement to the ranging constellation to support a positioning service(item 6 in Fig. 5, report measurements to UE2 server; item 7 in Fig. 5, UE2 server compute location estimate).
Tenny did not teach specifically ranging. However, Henry teaches in an analogous art ranging (P[0063, 0066], UWB ranging). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the ranging service in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 37, Tenny teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising enabling anchor devices of the ranging constellation to perform ranging measurements on the ranging reference signals and to calculate a distance or angle or location estimate(P[0028], measurements may be used, for instance, to determine the range between two UEs, the direction of a vector between two UEs).
Claims 27, 33, 36, 38-41, 43 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 25, 26, 35, 4-7, 9 respectively.
Claim(s) 8, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over tenny et al. (hereinafter Tenny)(US 2022/0015059) in view of Henry et al. (hereinafter Henry)(US 2022/0070816) and Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao)(2023/0098682).
Regarding claim 8, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to transmit a positioning signal to the target mobile device or the anchor device by using a predefined carrier signal, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to count carrier cycles of the carrier signal until a response from the target mobile device or the anchor device has been received, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine a distance to the target mobile device or the anchor device based on the counted carrier cycles. However, Bao teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to transmit a positioning signal to the target mobile device or the anchor device by using a predefined carrier signal, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to count carrier cycles of the carrier signal until a response from the target mobile device or the anchor device has been received, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine a distance to the target mobile device or the anchor device based on the counted carrier cycles(P[0099], position estimate for the target node; carrier with number of cycles; determines distance or ranges between the target node and the anchors). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the wherein the processor circuit is arranged to transmit a positioning signal to the target mobile device or the anchor device by using a predefined carrier signal, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to count carrier cycles of the carrier signal until a response from the target mobile device or the anchor device has been received, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to determine a distance to the target mobile device or the anchor device based on the counted carrier cycles in order to have improved accuracy.
Claim 42 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Claim(s) 10-16, 18-19, 44-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over tenny et al. (hereinafter Tenny)(US 2022/0015059) in view of Henry et al. (hereinafter Henry)(US 2022/0070816) and Wu et al. (hereinafter Wu)(US 2023/0061043).
Regarding claim 10, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to switch from determining location coordinates of the target mobile device by a location service to determining location coordinates by the ranging constellation based on ranging measurements.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to switch from determining location coordinates of the target mobile device by a location service to determining location coordinates by the ranging constellation based on ranging measurements.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to switch from determining location coordinates of the target mobile device by a location service to determining location coordinates by the ranging constellation based on ranging measurements in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain location coordinates of the target mobile device from an anchor device of the ranging constellation, wherein the location coordinates are determined using a set of ranging measurements.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain location coordinates of the target mobile device from an anchor device of the ranging constellation, wherein the location coordinates are determined using a set of ranging measurements(P[0124], Zone identifier, distance between the UE and sidelink positioning anchor devices; location information includes geographic coordinates).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to obtain location coordinates of the target mobile device from an anchor device of the ranging constellation, wherein the location coordinates are determined using a set of ranging measurements in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform ranging or sidelink-based positioning between the target mobile device and at least one anchor devices or between anchor devices of the ranging constellation.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform ranging or sidelink-based positioning between the target mobile device and at least one anchor devices or between anchor devices of the ranging constellation(P[0117], sidelink positioning anchor devices needed for sidelink ranging; P[0124], zone identifier; distance).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform ranging or sidelink-based positioning between the target mobile device and at least one anchor devices or between anchor devices of the ranging constellation in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform at least one of transmitting an identifier to the target mobile device or another ranging capable anchor device, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to retrieve location coordinates from a location service or database using the identifier, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide authorization credentials to the target mobile device or the other anchor device, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide an authorization message or credentials to the location service or database, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to grant permission for the retrieval by providing consent in its subscription or by providing consent through a network exposure function. However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform at least one of transmitting an identifier to the target mobile device or another ranging capable anchor device, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to retrieve location coordinates from a location service or database using the identifier, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide authorization credentials to the target mobile device or the other anchor device, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide an authorization message or credentials to the location service or database, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to grant permission for the retrieval by providing consent in its subscription or by providing consent through a network exposure function(P[0138], geolocation coordinates, Zone identification associated with anchor device and location data. target UE may use the location data from an anchor device to determine the distance between target UE and a respective anchor device. For instance, target UE may use its current position (WU: e.g., based on GNSS signal, location history, and/or Uu positioning) to determine the distance between target UE and each of anchor device A , anchor device B , and anchor device C; P[0069], authentication for network access). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the wherein the processor circuit is arranged to perform at least one of transmitting an identifier to the target mobile device or another ranging capable anchor device, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to retrieve location coordinates from a location service or database using the identifier, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide authorization credentials to the target mobile device or the other anchor device, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to provide an authorization message or credentials to the location service or database, wherein the processor circuit is arranged to grant permission for the retrieval by providing consent in its subscription or by providing consent through a network exposure function in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate a number of anchor devices and/or a set of identifiers of the number of anchor devices and/or a constellation identifier as part of at least one message so as to request the ranging session.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate a number of anchor devices and/or a set of identifiers of the number of anchor devices and/or a constellation identifier as part of at least one message so as to request the ranging session(P[0172], identifier associated with plurality of anchor devices; Zone identifier; P[0130], number of positioning anchor devices; P[0144], sidelink ranging).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to indicate a number of anchor devices and/or a set of identifiers of the number of anchor devices and/or a constellation identifier as part of at least one message so as to request the ranging session in order to have improved precision.
Regarding claim 15, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to store a list of approved constellation identifiers and/or ranging capable anchor devices selectable for the ranging service.
However, Bao teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to store a list of approved constellation identifiers and/or ranging capable anchor devices selectable for the ranging service (P[0172], identifier associated with plurality of anchor devices; Zone identifier; P[0144], sidelink ranging).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to store a list of approved constellation identifiers and/or ranging capable anchor devices selectable for the ranging service in order to have improved precision.
Regarding claim 16, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to store with at least one policy, wherein the policy specifies a minimum number of anchor devices and/or requirements on capabilities and/or characteristics of the anchor devices so as to determine whether to request the ranging service or to determine which constellation or set of ranging capable anchor devices so as to select/connect to for the ranging service.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to store with at least one policy, wherein the policy specifies a minimum number of anchor devices and/or requirements on capabilities and/or characteristics of the anchor devices so as to determine whether to request the ranging service or to determine which constellation or set of ranging capable anchor devices so as to select/connect to for the ranging service(P[0117], determine a number of sidelink positioning anchor devices that are needed for performing sidelink ranging).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to store with at least one policy, wherein the policy specifies a minimum number of anchor devices and/or requirements on capabilities and/or characteristics of the anchor devices so as to determine whether to request the ranging service or to determine which constellation or set of ranging capable anchor devices so as to select/connect to for the ranging service in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to to use a signal quality or a result of a distance measurement to determine that the target mobile device is sufficiently close and/or has a line of sight with at least one of the ranging capable anchor devices so as to determine whether or not to initiate the ranging service.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to to use a signal quality or a result of a distance measurement to determine that the target mobile device is sufficiently close and/or has a line of sight with at least one of the ranging capable anchor devices so as to determine whether or not to initiate the ranging service(P[0144], LOS; anchor capabilities; sidelink ranging; target UE; P[0145], distance measurement).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to use a signal quality or a result of a distance measurement to determine that the target mobile device is sufficiently close and/or has a line of sight with at least one of the ranging capable anchor devices so as to determine whether or not to initiate the ranging service in order to have improved precision.
Regarding claim 19, Tenny in view of Henry teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the processor circuit is arranged to compensate the range or location estimate or the ranging measurement for a length, placement and/or directionality of at least one antenna.
However, Wu teaches in an analogous art wherein the processor circuit is arranged to compensate the range or location estimate or the ranging measurement for a length, placement and/or directionality of at least one antenna(P[0132], angle-of-arrival measurements with receiving antennas; distance measurement; positioning accuracy).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the processor circuit is arranged to compensate the range or location estimate or the ranging measurement for a length, placement and/or directionality of at least one antenna in order to have improved accuracy.
Claims 44-51 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 10-16 and 19 respectively.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647