Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “clamp-on” (claims 13,22,25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 13, “in the central region” (line 9) is confusing, as the magnet 14.1 is not “in” the arm 13. Maybe, it’s - - along - - the central region. What defines the “central region” of the arm such that the magnet is “in” the arm?
As to claim 13, it’s not clear how the “points” are really points. Consider that Figures 1a and 1c show that the contact portion of an individual point 11.2 is an extended line. As such, it not clear how such 11.2 is “a point”. What is Applicant’s understanding of the meaning of the term “point”? Are the drawings not representative of a point?
As to claim 13, what does “exactly one” (line 9) mean? Is there - - only one - - , - - at least one - - , - - device comprising one - - , - - device consistent of one - - ? How does the term “exactly” limit the “one”?
As to claim 18, “each arranged mirror-symmetrically” (italics added) is problematic in regard to the “one” second contact point, as there is no additional second contact point to satisfy the “mirror” limitation. The claim is internally inconsistent. (Claim 19 is not rejected on this point, as it corrects the inconsistency of claim 18)
As to claim 20, it’s not clear what the contact lines physical are, or exactly what they represent. Are they actually lines that are visible to the naked eye? The bottom of the magnet 14.1 appears to be planar, so no individual “line” is apparent. The bottom of the transducer element 12 is certainly planar (as shown below), so no individual “line” is apparent there.
As to claim 20, the drawings suggest that the transducer element and magnet are aligned along a single path (line, if you will) that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the tube, suggestive that the transducer element and magnet are in contact along a single existing line along the tube. As such, how are there “respective lines” (i.e. one for the transducer, and a second line for the magnet), when there would seem to be only one line? The claim is not consistent with the drawings to that extent.
As to claim 24, “the magnet and the transducer element” is uncertain as to whether “the magnet and the transducer element” should be - - each magnet and each transducer element - - . Contrast “where the”(line 1, claim 24) with “wherein each” (line 1, claim 23). Is claim 23 further limiting one magnet and one transducer?
As to claim 24, it’s not clear what each “contact line” physically is, or exactly what they represent. Are they actually lines that are visible to the naked eye? The bottom of the magnet 14.1 appears to be planar, so no individual “line” is apparent. The bottom of the transducer element 12 is certainly planar (as shown above), so no individual “line” is apparent there.
As to claim 25, “either” is confusing, and an alternative is not apparent.
As to claim 25, “the magnet” is confusing because there are at least 2 magnets. Does claim 25 further limit just one or at least one of the two magnets, or was it intended to limit - - each - - magnet?
As to claim 25, the “wherein” (lines 3-last) lacks antecedent basis, as there is no structure that provides for clamping (“clamp-on ultrasonic flowmeter” (italics added, line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13,14,20,21,22,24,25,26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joerg et al DE 10147175.
Joerg et al DE 10147175 teach an ultrasonic transducer of a clamp-on ultrasonic flowmeter for measuring a measurement variable of a medium in a magnetic measuring tube, the ultrasonic transducer comprising:
a transducer element (within housing 5) configured to generate and detect ultrasonic signals;
a housing 5 including a housing chamber in which the transducer element is disposed;
an extension arm 4,2 including at least two first contact points, which are configured to contact the measuring tube (pipes, ABSTRACT; visible in drawing), wherein the extension arm includes a central region, a first end, and a second end opposite the first end, and wherein the first end is connected to the housing via slide 6
;
and a magnetic device (magnet, ABSTRACT), which includes exactly one magnet, disposed
The Reference does not state where the magnets are positioned.
The drawing illustrates straps between the points and housing.
As to claim 13, it would have been obvious to position the magnets where the straps would otherwise have been because the Reference teaches effective mounting locations to secure the device to the tube. No structure provides for any clamping per preamble, or in the alternative, the Reference is as much clamp on as claimed.
As to claim 14, it would have been obvious to couple the magnet to the device with a fascinating element because one of ordinary skill recognizes that an attachment mechanism is necessary to assure that the device is fixed to the pipe.
As to claims 20,21, dotted lines show line of travel transducer, and where magnet is affixed to where strap would otherwise be.
As to claim 22,24,25, it is well known to position a second (calibrating/testing) flowmeter along the same fluid line as a flowmeter to be calibrated/tested, suggestive of employing a second ultrasonic flowmeter on the pipe to permit for calibration.
As to claim 26, it is well known that pipes with outer diameter of at least 200 millimeters employ flowmeters (and even UT flowmeters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joerg et al DE 10147175 as applied against claim 14, and further in view of Abdul ‘951.
As to claim 15, it would have been obvious to employ a fastening device with rod and magnet, as Abdul teaches (Figure 2) that sound will allow for effectively holding a flow test device magnet to a flowmeter.
As to claims 16,17, the knob (Figure 2) suggest any twist element to hold magnets 120.
Prior Art cited/ Not applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moon et al KR ‘2683 teach many magnets.
Murray ‘482 (Figure 4) teaches an arm 42 and spring 46 to provide clamping force to a pipe.
Conclusion
/ROBERT R RAEVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855