DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6 and 12-18) in the reply filed on 08/19/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 2019/0368075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a process of producing a multi-filament by melt-spinning a composition containing a thermoplastic polyurethane (see [0012]-[0016][0039][0045]-[0131]; Fig. 1, 2, 5c), the process comprising: (a) passing the composition in a molten state through a spinneret, to obtain an extruded filament ([0045][0040]), (b) passing the extruded filament through a set of godet rollers ([0045]-[0046]; Fig. 1 item 4 and 5 as godet rollers), and (c) winding the extruded filament from step (b) onto a bobbin through a winder with a winding speed of 2000-5000 m/min (see Fig.1 item 7 -winder; [0046]-[0047), wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane has a Shore hardness measured according to DIN ISO 7619-1 of 68D-90D (see [0016][0047][0070]).
As for claim 6, Suzuki further teaches wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane comprises a reaction product of: (A) a polyol; (B) a diisocyanate; and (C) a chain extender, wherein the polyol is selected from the group consisting of polyether polyols, polyester polyols, and any mixture thereof (see [0014][0061]-[0094] discloses identical mixtures as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2019/0368075 A1) in view of Yin et al. (WO 2020/169417 A1; the Examiner uses equivalent translation provided by US 2022/0145496 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 12-18 Suzuki et al. teach all the limitation to the claim invention as discussed above including wherein the winding speed is 2100 -2900 m/min and the shore hardness is 80 D ([0070][0016][0047]), however, fails to teach higher shore hardness (81D -87D) as claimed and the combination of roller speeds (first, second, and third sets) as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to producing polyurethane fiber, Yin et al. teach wherein the set of godet rollers in step (b) comprises a first godet roller, a second godet roller, and a third godet roller positioned in series ([0020]), wherein the first a first godet roller, a second godet roller, and a third godet roller positioned in series, wherein: the first godet roller operates at a speed of 1000-4000 m/min, the second godet roller operates at a speed of 2000-5000 m/min, and the third godet roller operates at a speed of 2000-5000 m/min ([0027]-[0030] discloses overlapping ranges for the first, second and third sets of godet roller); and further discloses the first godet roller operates at a surface temperature of 30 -120 oC; the second godet roller operates at a surface temperature of 60-170 oC; the third godet roller operatives at a surface temperature of 30 – 120 oC (see [0027]-[0030] also discloses overlapping temperature range).
Yin et al. further discloses the hardness of the TPU is measured in accordance with DIN ISO 7619-1, which is generally Shore 80 A to Shore 80 D, preferably Shore 80 A to Shore 74 D, and more preferably Shore 90 A to Shore 70 D (see [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing of the applicant’s invention was made to modify the process of forming polyurethane fiber as taught by Suzuki with controlling godet roller(s) speed and temperature, in forming polyurethane fiber, as taught by Yin et al. for the benefit of obtaining fiber with low shrinkage and high tenacity ([0012][0011]). Claim limitation pertaining to setting second roller speed faster than the first and third and optimized temperature are within the scope of Yin et al. and could be easily optimized accordingly, for the purpose of achieving the functional properties of having low shrinkage and high tenacity in the fiber produced (see [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki teach all the limitations to the claim invention as discussed above, however, fail to teach oiling the extruded filament with a spinning oil before step b.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to polyurethane fiber, Yin et al. teach fiber may be oiled, the oiling lubricate the fiber and reduce friction between the fiber and the metallic ceramic parts of the spinning line (see [0033]) and allow dissipation of the static charges generated due to contact of fiber with the machine parts and keeps the fiber together ([0033]) and suggest that fiber may be oiled by any conventional spinning oil ([0033]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to modify the process of producing polyurethane fiber (filament) as taught by Suzuki with further including treatment agent such as oil to the polyurethane fiber, as taught by Yin et al., for the benefit of reducing static charges and friction as discussed above ([0033]) thereby producing polyurethane fiber having low-shrinkage and high tenacity (see [0011]-[0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0017996 A1 - a method for producing a polyurethane elastic fiber. That is, the present invention relates to a method for producing a polyurethane elastic fiber exhibiting extremely reduced scum formation and further having a superior heat setting property, and a superior dyeability and color fastness.
US 2019/0226123 A1 – The invention pertains to melt spun multifilament based on thermoplastic polyurethane, their production and the use of said melt spun multifilament’s.
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743