DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office action is based on the communications filed August 19, 2024. Claims 1 – 16 are currently pending and considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 19, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the outer magnet" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the first magnetic conductive plate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the first frame" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 introduces “a third communicating hole” however the claim does not previously disclose a first communicating hole or a second communicating hole and therefore there is confusion as to how many communicating holes are required of the claim.
Claim 16 introduces “a third communicating hole” however the claims does not previously disclose a first communicating hole or a second communicating hole and therefore there is confusion as to how many communicating holes are required of the claim.
Claims 10 and 13 – 16 are rejected due to dependency.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 11, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furuya et al. (US 2004/0071303 A1), hereinafter Furuya.
Claim 1: Furuya discloses a sound generating module, comprising a sound generating unit (see at least, “FIG. 1 is a sectional view of a compound sound generator of a first embodiment according to the present invention, set in a case of a portable telephone, FIG. 2 is a plan view of the sound generator, FIG. 3 is a sectional view taken along a line III-III of FIG. 2, and FIG. 4 is an underside view,” Furuya [0027], “The compound sound generator of the present invention is set in an ellipse shaped case 50, In the case 50, there is provided a frame 31 made of synthetic resin, on which various parts of the sound generator are mounted,” Furuya [0028]), wherein the sound generating unit comprises:
a magnetic circuit system (see at least, “a common yoke 32 made of a magnetic material is mounted in the frame 31,” Furuya [0028]), wherein the magnetic circuit system is formed with a first magnetic gap and a second magnetic gap that are isolated from each other (see at least, first magnetic gap containing first voice coil 35 isolated on the opposite side of second magnetic gap containing second voice coil 40, Furuya FIGS. 1 and 3);
a receiver unit comprising a first diaphragm and a first voice coil (see at least, “and the second diaphragm 41 and the second voice coil 40 compose a second sound production device as a receiver,” Furuya [0030]), wherein the first diaphragm and a side of the magnetic circuit system at which the first magnetic gap is formed enclose to form a first rear cavity (see at least, “second diaphragm 41 is secured to the upper surface of the frame 31, thereby to form a back chamber 43b between the diaphragm 41 and the yoke 32,” Furuya [0030]), the first voice coil is accommodated in the first rear cavity, one end of the first voice coil is coupled to the first diaphragm, and the other end opposite to the one end is inserted into the first magnetic gap (see at least, “A first voice coil 35 and a second voice coil 40 are secured to inside surfaces of the first and second diaphragms 36 and 41, respectively,” Furuya [0030], first magnetic gap containing first voice coil 35 isolated on the opposite side of second magnetic gap containing second voice coil 40, Furuya FIGS. 1 and 3); and
a speaker unit, comprising a second diaphragm and a second voice coil (see at least, “The first diaphragm 36 and the first voice coil 35 compose a first sound production device as a speaker,” Furuya [0030]), wherein the second diaphragm and a side of the magnetic circuit system at which the second magnetic gap is formed enclose to form a second rear cavity (see at least, “A first diaphragm 36 is secured to the underside of the frame 31, thereby to form a back chamber 43a between the diaphragm 36 and the yoke 32,” Furuya [0030]), the second rear cavity and the first rear cavity are isolated from each other (see at least, “Namely, the back chambers 43a and 43b are not communicated with each other so that the air in one of the chambers is prevented from entering the other chamber through the space in the case 50,” Furuya [0037]), the second voice coil is accommodated in the second rear cavity, one end of the second voice coil is coupled to the second diaphragm, and the other end opposite to the one end is inserted into the second magnetic gap (see at least, “A first voice coil 35 and a second voice coil 40 are secured to inside surfaces of the first and second diaphragms 36 and 41, respectively,” Furuya [0030], first magnetic gap containing first voice coil 35 isolated on the opposite side of second magnetic gap containing second voice coil 40, Furuya FIGS. 1 and 3).
Claim 2: Furuya discloses the sound generating module according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic gap and the second magnetic gap are respectively formed on two opposite sides of the magnetic circuit system, and a center line of the first magnetic gap and a center line of the second magnetic gap are collinearly arranged (see at least, first magnetic gap containing first voice coil 35 isolated on the opposite side of second magnetic gap containing second voice coil 40, Furuya FIGS. 1 and 3, collinearly arranged on a center line with first magnet 33 and second magnet 38, Furuya FIGS. 1 and 3).
Claim 6: Furuya discloses the sound generating module according to claim 1, further comprising a fixing shell, wherein the fixing shell fixes the sound generating unit (see at least, “In the case 50,
there is provided a frame 31 made of synthetic resin, on which various parts of the sound generator are mounted,” Furuya [0028]), and the fixing shell and the sound generating unit enclose to form an expanded cavity, wherein the second rear cavity of the speaker unit communicates with the expanded cavity (see at least, (see at least, “Air in the back chamber 43a flows into the inner space of the case 50 through air passages 31d formed in the shoulder 31c of the frame 31 as shown by the arrows e and f,” Furuya [0037]), the first rear cavity of the receiver unit is isolated from the expanded cavity (see at least, “Namely, the back chambers 43a and 43b are not communicated with each other so that the air in one of the chambers is prevented from entering the other chamber through the space in the case 50,” Furuya [0037]), and the first rear cavity of the receiver unit communicates with an external space of the sound generating module (see at least, “As shown by the arrow c, air in the back chamber 43b flows through the opening 31e formed in the projection 31b into the air passage 53 and further out of the case 50 through the opening 50c as shown by an arrow i,” Furuya [0037]).
Claim 11: Furuya discloses the sound generating module according to claim 6, wherein the first frame of the receiver unit is provided with a first sound output channel in communication with the external space of the sound generating module at a position corresponding to the first diaphragm (see at least, “The frame 31 has a lower projection 31a and an upper projection 31b,” Furuya [0032], “In the upper projection 31b, an annular recess is formed so that the outer peripheries of the protector 42 and the diaphragm 41 are inserted and press fitted therein,” Furuya [0032], “Sounds generated by the diaphragm 41 are discharged through the sound discharge holes 42a of the protector 42 and further outside of the case 50 through the sound discharge hole 50b as shown by the arrow a,” Furuya [0037]), and the fixing shell is provided with an avoidance structure for avoiding the first sound output channel (see at least, “The sound generator is assembled into the case 50 with other parts. Annular spacers 51 are disposed between each of the protectors 37 and 42 and the case 50 at the outer portions of the sound discharge holes 37a and 42a,” Furuya [0034]).
Claim 12: Furuya discloses the sound generating module according to claim 11, wherein the first frame passes through the avoidance structure to outside, an outer wall of the first frame and an inner wall of the avoidance structure enclose to form an external channel, and the external channel is isolated from an internal space of the fixing shell, and wherein the first frame is provided with a third communicating hole, and the first rear cavity communicates with the external channel through the third communicating hole (see at least, “The case 50 has a plurality of sound discharge holes 50a formed in the bottom thereof at a portion inside the spacers 51 and a sound discharge hole 50b formed in the upper surface thereof. Another sound discharge hole 50c is formed in the bottom opposing the lower end of the air
passage 53,” Furuya [0035], “As shown by the arrow c, air in the back chamber 43b flows through the opening 31e formed in the projection 31b into the air passage 53 and further out of the case 50 through the opening 50c as shown by an arrow i.,” Furuya [0037]).
Claim 16: Furuya discloses an electronic device, comprising: a housing having an installation cavity formed therein (see at least, “set in a case of a portable telephone, FIG. 2 is a plan view of the sound generator, FIG. 3 is a sectional view taken along a line III-III of FIG. 2, and FIG. 4 is an underside view,” Furuya [0027]); and a sound generating module, wherein the sound generating module is the sound generating module according to any one of claim 1, wherein the sound generating module is installed in the installation cavity, and the first rear cavity of the sound generating module communicates with the installation cavity through a third communicating hole (see at least, “As shown by the arrow c, air
in the back chamber 43b flows through the opening 31e formed in the projection 31b into the air passage 53 and further out of the case 50 through the opening 50c as shown by an arrow i,” Furuya [0037], Furuya FIGS 2 – 4, “FIG. 5 shows a second embodiment of the present invention wherein the frame 31 has a horizontal baffle 52a integral thereto. In the present embodiment, a sound discharge
hole 50d is formed in the side wall of the case 50 so that the back chamber 43b is communicated with the atmosphere through the opening 31e and the discharge hole 50d as shown by an arrow j. The present embodiment provides a wider range of design choice in manufacturing the compound
sound generator,” Furuya [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya in view of Lai et al. (US 2015/0139479 A1), hereinafter Lai.
Claim 3: Furuya discloses the sound generating module according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic circuit system comprises: a magnetic conductive component comprising a first magnetic conductive plate and a second magnetic conductive plate facing and spaced away from each other; and a magnet component, wherein the magnet component is arranged between the first magnetic conductive plate and the second magnetic conductive plate (see at least, “The yoke 32 comprises a flange 32a formed on an upper periphery of a cylindrical portion 32b having a bottom 32c. An annular first magnet 33 is secured to the underside of the flange 32a with an adhesive, and a second magnet 38 having disc shape is secured to the bottom 32c of the yoke 32. An annular first top plate 34 made of a magnetic material is secured to the underside of the first magnet 33, and a second top plate 39 having a disc shape is secured to the upper surface of the second magnet 38,” Furuya [0029], Furuya FIGS. 1 and 3), but does not disclose the magnet component comprises an inner magnet, a middle magnet and an outer magnet, wherein the middle magnet surrounds an outer side of the inner magnet and is spaced apart from the inner magnet, and the middle magnet and the inner magnet enclose to form the first magnetic gap, and wherein the outer magnet surrounds an outer side of the middle magnet and is spaced apart from the middle magnet, and the middle magnet and the outer magnet enclose to form the second magnetic gap. However, Lai discloses a similar magnetic circuit and further discloses an inner magnet, a middle magnet and an outer magnet, wherein the middle magnet surrounds an outer side of the inner magnet and is spaced apart from the inner magnet, and the middle magnet and the inner magnet enclose to form the first magnetic gap, and wherein the outer magnet surrounds an outer side of the middle magnet and is spaced apart from the middle magnet, and the middle magnet and the outer magnet enclose to form the second magnetic gap (see at least, “The first magnetic unit 30 has a circular shape. The second magnetic unit 40 has an annular shape and is spaced around the first magnetic unit 30, and thus, as shown in FIG. 4, a magnetic gap 125 is defined between the first magnetic unit 30 and the second magnetic unit 40 for accommodating the inner voice coil 13,” Lai [0020], “The third magnetic unit 50 has an annular shape, and is spaced around the second magnetic unit 40, and thus, as shown in FIG. 4, a magnetic gap 225 is defined between the second magnetic unit 40 and the third magnetic unit 50 for accommodating the outer voice coil 23,” Lai [0021], Lai FIGS. 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic circuit of Furuya as disclosed by Lai given the benefit of “The magnetic circuit is practical for use in the inner and outer drivers of a coaxial speaker, providing uniform magnetic field distribution, and facilitating speaker miniaturization,” Lai Abstract.
Claim 4: Furuya and Lai disclose the sound generating module according to claim 3, wherein the middle magnet has a closed annular structure, and the second magnetic conductive plate is not provided with an opening at a position corresponding to the first magnetic gap (see at least, “The first magnetic unit 30 has a circular shape. The second magnetic unit 40 has an annular shape and is spaced around the first magnetic unit 30, and thus, as shown in FIG. 4, a magnetic gap 125 is defined between the first magnetic unit 30 and the second magnetic unit 40 for accommodating the inner voice coil 13,” [0020], “[0022] The aforesaid first magnetic unit 30, second magnetic unit 40 and third magnetic unit 50 establish a magnetic circuit that is formed by stacking up one magnetic yoke 31 with three magnets 32,42,52 and three concentrating flux plates 33,43,53, wherein the magnetic north pole of the magnet 43 of the second magnetic unit 40 faces downwardly toward the magnetic yoke 31,” Lai [0022] and as illustrated in Lai FIG. 3 the second magnetic conductive plate is not provided with an opening at a position corresponding to the first magnetic gap, see also “Namely, the back chambers 43a and 43b are not communicated with each other so that the air in one of the chambers is prevented from entering the other chamber through the space in the case 50,” Furuya [0037]).
Claim 5: Furuya and Lai disclose the sound generating module according to claim 3, wherein the sound generating unit further comprises: a first frame disposed at a side of the first magnetic conductive plate away from the second magnetic conductive plate, the first diaphragm is fixed to the first frame and enclose, together with the first frame and the first magnetic conductive plate, to form the first rear cavity (see at least, “A second diaphragm 41 is secured to the upper surface of the frame 31, thereby to
form a back chamber 43b between the diaphragm 41 and the yok 32,” Furuya [0030]); and a second frame disposed at a side of the second magnetic conductive plate away from the first magnetic conductive plate, and the second diaphragm is fixed to the second frame and enclose, together with the second frame and the second magnetic conductive plate, to form the second rear cavity (see at least, “A first diaphragm 36 is secured to the underside of the frame 31, thereby to form a back chamber 43a between the diaphragm 36 and the yoke 32,” Furuya [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 – 10 and 13 – 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH SAUNDERS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692