DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Morita (JP H0986612 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Morita discloses:
A transport system comprising:
an overhead transport vehicle (11) to convey an article (W) in an area where interference may occur with a peripheral device configured to process the article (4 & 5) (Fig. 1);
a traveling path on which the overhead transport vehicle travels [path parallel to rails (7)]; and
a reset signal generator (“operation start permission means”) to output a reset signal in response to an abnormal stop [0012 & 0015 & 0016 & 0025] of the overhead transport vehicle [0011 & 0015], the reset signal enabling the overhead transport vehicle to restart [0011 & 0015]; wherein the overhead transport vehicle includes:
a gripper (12) to grip the article [0021 & 0040];
a lifting and lowering mechanism (11) to lift and lower the gripper;
a communication module (Ha & Hb) to transmit an interlock signal to the peripheral device during transfer of the article [0008]; and a controller (27 & 28 & 41) configured or programmed to control an operation of the overhead transport vehicle and to reset the interlock signal when a reset signal is input to the controller [0031 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0062 & 0093]; and
when the gripper is located at a position other than a starting point, the controller is configured or programmed to not reset the interlock signal until the gripper rises to a position not interfering with the peripheral device, even in a case where the reset signal has been input to the controller [0013 & 0014 & 0031 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0062 & 0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0093 – See MPEP 2111.04.II].
Regarding Claim 8, Morita discloses:
the gripper is located at a position other than a starting point, the controller is configured or programmed to not reset the interlock signal until the gripper returns to the starting point [0031 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0062 & 0093].
Regarding Claim 9, Morita discloses:
the overhead transport vehicle includes a reset button (34) included in the reset signal generator [0033 & 0035 & 0043 & 0048 & 0055].
Regarding Claim 10, Morita discloses:
an abnormality detection sensor (40) to detect an abnormality in the overhead transport vehicle [0030 & 0034 & 0042].
Regarding Claim 11, Morita discloses:
the peripheral device includes a processing device (5) configured to process the article [0003 & 0039 & 0062 & 0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (JP H0986612 A).
Regarding Claim 12, Morita does not teach:
the peripheral device includes an overhead crane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional transport devices such as overhead cranes in an automated warehouse in order to increase throughput and therefore efficiency in the system since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that automated warehouses utilizing multiple various transport devices for article storage and retrieval were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by patent publications: US 20170200625 A1, US 20170186639 A1, US 20170200626 A1, US 20170194182 A1, US 12434907 B2, and JP 2013501361 A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/07/22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a peripheral device configured to process the article”:
Applicant’s assertion that the peripheral device of Morita is not configured to process the article is not persuasive as the peripheral device of Morita is configured to receive, store, and present the articles for removal which are all processes performed on the article.
Examiner’s assertion of OFFICIAL NOTICE as it relates to “the peripheral device includes an overhead crane” is taken to be admitted prior art due to the Applicant's failure to traverse the Examiner's assertion of OFFICIAL NOTICE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20170200625 A1, US 20170186639 A1, US 20170200626 A1, US 20170194182 A1, US 12434907 B2, and JP 2013501361 A have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: peripheral devices having overhead cranes.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652