DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “helix angle” and “pitch angle” as claimed in claim 24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended claims 16-33 now recite the phrase “main cutting edge flight circle” however, the specification as filed is silent as to any “main cutting edge flight circle” and/or defines what a “main cutting edge flight circle” is. As such, the “main cutting edge flight circle” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “a main cutting edge flight circle” in line 7 which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what the term “flight” circle is. The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 16 recites “wherein at least one said radial rake angle at least one positive radial rake angle” in lines 11-13, which is unclear and thus renders the claim indefinite. What exactly is meant by these limitations?
Claim 21 recites in lines 6-7 “wherein the edge angle is defined, in each case in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation”. The way these claimed limitations have been set forth is unclear. It is unclear where exactly this “edge angle” is defined and from where to where this angle is taken from. It is unclear what “in each case” means. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 24 now recites in lines 4-6 that at least one flute “extends helically along the axis of rotation at a helix angle, wherein a pitch angle lies in a range of 5° to 25°”. However, it is unclear what the difference is between a helix angle and a pitch angle. From where to where is this “pitch angle” defined?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18, 26-27, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111570872 (hereafter—CN’872--).
In regards to claim 16, CN’872 discloses a drill thread milling cutter (Figures 1-2) extending along an axis of rotation, the drill thread milling cutter comprising: a thread milling portion (2) having three flutes (4) and a plurality of thread milling teeth (7); and a drill tip adjoining said thread milling portion (see Figures 1-2), said drill tip having three main cutting edges (see Figure 4) which each reach a main cutting edge circle in a viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation (in the same way as presented by Applicant), wherein said main cutting edge flight circle defines a drilling diameter that is produced by said drill tip, wherein each of said main cutting edge has a rake face (same as Applicant’s rake face shown in Figure 3B of Applicant, refer to rake face shown in Figure 4 annotated below) which is connected to one flute of said flutes and which reaches said main cutting edge flight circle at a radial rake angle in a viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation (see Figures 1-2 and 4), wherein at least one said radial rake angle is positive (10).
In regards to claim 18, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses that, in viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation (e.g. viewed from Figure 4 above) at least said rake face that reaches said main cutting edge flight circle at the at least one positive radial rake angle reaches the main cutting edge flight circle with concave curvature (in the same way as presented by Applicant, see Figure 4 and refer to the concave curvature).
In regards to claim 26, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses that said drill tip and said thread milling portion are a monolithic unit (see Figures 1-2).
In regards to claim 27, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses that radial rake angles are positive (see Figure 4).
In regards to claim 29, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses that a number of said main cutting edges is limited to three (see Figure 4).
In regards to claim 30, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses that a number of said flutes is limited to three (see Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 24, 28, 31-32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111570872 (hereafter—CN’872--) as applied to claim 16.
In regards to claims 17 and 28, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16 and claim 27 respectively, CN’872 also discloses each one positive radial rake angle lies in a range of 5° to 10°.
However, CN’872 fails to disclose that the range is of 3° to 12°.
Nevertheless, since CN’872 does disclose a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range, it is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness ("[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that the range/value to which a radial rake angle is disposed at, will depend on the type of material being machined. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the range of the radial rake angle be of 3° to 12°, depending on the type of material being machined, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routing skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claims 24 and 32, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16 and claim 24 respectively, CN’872 also discloses that at least one flute of said flutes connected to said rake face that reaches said main cutting edge flight circle at said least one positive radial rake angle extends helically along the axis of rotation at a helix angle, wherein a pitch angle lies in a range of 25° to 30°.
However, CN’872 fails to disclose that the pitch angle range is of 5° to 25°; of that the pitch angle range is of 10° to 20°.
Nevertheless, since CN’872 does disclose that there is a pitch angle that ranges from 25° to 30°, and the claimed range of 5° to 25° and of 10° to 20° lies merely close, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that the range/value to which a pitch angle of a chip discharge groove is disposed at, will depend on the type of material being machined, desired reduction of chatter and vibration, and chip discharge properties. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the range of the pitch angle be of 5° to 25° (claim 24) or of 10° to 20° (claim 32), depending on the type of material being machined, desired reduction of chatter and vibration, and chip discharge properties, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routing skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 31, CN’872 as modified discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 17, CN’872 as modified also discloses that said radial rake angle is in a range of 5° to 10°.
In regards to claim 33, CN’872 as modified discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 17, CN’872 as modified also discloses that each radial rake angle is in a range of 5° to 10°.
Claim(s) 19-20 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111570872 (hereafter—CN’872--) as applied to claim 16 and in further view of Glimpel et al. US 2006/0216125 (hereafter—Glimpel--).
In regards to claim 19, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses at least one main cutting edge of said main cutting edges whose said rake face reaches said main cutting edge flight circle at said at least one positive radial rake angle in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation reaches the main cutting edge flight circle (see Figure 4).
However, CN’872 fails to disclose that said main cutting edge has a chamfer, in a viewing direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation, so as to form a chamfered main cutting edge.
Nevertheless, Glimpel teaches that it is well known in the art, to have a drill thread milling cutter having a cutting edge (27 and 28) with a chamfer (19), in a viewing direction perpendicular to an axis of rotation, thus forming a chamfered cutting edge (19) at a chamfer angle of 45°.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that providing a chamfer on a cutting edge will increase cutting edge strength and thus prevent chipping or breaking of the cutting edge when machining.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to modify CN’872’s main cutting edge to include a chamfer as taught by Glimpel, to increase cutting edge strength and prevent chipping or breaking of the cutting edge when machining.
In regards to claim 20, CN’872 as modified discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 19, CN’872 as modified discloses that said chamfered main cutting edge (modified by Glimpel) is chamfered at a chamfer angle of 45°, which is a value within the claimed range of 55° to 65°, wherein the chamfer angle is defined in a longitudinal section by containing said chamfered main cutting edge and the axis of rotation, wherein the chamfer angle is measured on a side of the axis of rotation.
In regards to claim 25, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses said thread milling teeth and said main cutting edge flight circle.
However, CN’872 fails to disclose that said thread milling teeth, in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation do not reach said main cutting edge flight circle.
Nevertheless, Glimpel teaches that it is well known in the art to have thread milling cutters, be disposed at a diameter smaller than a diameter where main cutting edges of a drilling portion are disposed, to not reach the diameter of the main cutting edges. This arrangement prevents chips from getting caught between the milling cutting edges and the bore inner wall produced by the drilling lateral cutting edges, a factor which could otherwise wise lead to a fracture of the tool (see paragraph [0060] of Glimpel).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have said thread milling teeth of CN’872 not reach the main cutting edge flight circle as taught by Glimpel, to prevents chips from getting caught between the milling cutting edges and the bore inner wall produced by the drilling lateral cutting edges, a factor which could otherwise wise lead to a fracture of the tool.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111570872 (hereafter—CN’872--) as applied to claim 16, in view of Brodski et al. US 2020/0108449 (hereafter—Brodski--).
In regards to claim 21, CN’872 discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 16, CN’872 also discloses that said drill tip.
However, CN’872 fails to disclose that the geometry of the drill tip has three thinnings each forming a respective center cutting edge, wherein each said center cutting edge of center cutting edges meets a respective said main cutting edge at an edge angle, wherein the edge angle is defined, in each case in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation, between said center cutting edge and said main cutting edge, and wherein at least one said edge angle is an obtuse edge angle.
Nevertheless, Brodski teaches that it is well known in the art of drills to have a drill tip geometry with three thinnings (46), by means of each of said thinnings a center cutting edge (34) of said drill tip is formed, wherein each said center cutting edge of center cutting edges meets a respective said main cutting edge at an edge angle, wherein the edge angle is defined, in each case in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation, between said center cutting edge and said main cutting edge, and wherein at least one said edge angle is an obtuse edge angle (in the same way as presented by Applicant, see Figure 3 of Brodski). In the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation, shown in Figure 3, at least one said center cutting edge of said center cutting edges (34) reaches, with a straight extent, said cutting edge whose rake face reaches the main cutting edge flight circle at said at least one positive radial rake angle in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation. At least said cutting edge, in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation, shown in Figure 3, bends, with edge formation, from said center cutting edge of said center cutting edges in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to modify CN’872’s drill tip geometry to have thinnings, a straight center cutting edge and to have a bend with edge formation, based on the teachings of Brodski, depending on the workpiece being machined and to improve cutting performance, chip evacuation and overall durability.
In regards to claim 22, CN’872 as modified discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 21, CN’872 as modified also discloses that in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation at least one said center cutting edge reaches a respective said main cutting edge, with a straight extent.
In regards to claim 23, CN’872 as modified discloses the drill thread milling cutter according to claim 21, CN’872 as modified also discloses that in the viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation, at least one said main cutting edge, whose said rake face reaches said main cutting edge flight circle at said at least one positive radial rake angle bends with edge formation from said center cutting edge.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9, regarding claim 16 that CN’872’s tool “differs fundamentally from a drill thread milling cutter, in which the thread is generated by a milling process”, and thus as best understood does not disclose “a thread milling cutter tool”. The Examiner disagrees and notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Since as explained in the rejection above, CN’872 tool has all the claimed structural limitations, then is capable of performing a milling process to generate a thread. The claims are not to a method of milling to generate a thread, but to an apparatus capable of generating a thread. Therefore, the Examiner’s interpretation is not precluded.
Applicant argues on page 9 that CN’872 does not disclose a radial rake angle of a main cutting edge, because as best understood “the angle identified by reference numeral 10 is associated with the chip flute 4 and not with main cutting edge 6 at the drilling tip”. The Examiner disagrees. Angle 10 in CN’872 is a radial rake angle of the main cutting edge. A radial rake angle1 is known and well defined in the art as an angle between the rake face of the cutting edge and a radial reference line passing through the cutting edge, measured in a plane perpendicular to the cutter axis. This is shown in Figure 4 of CN’872. The Examiner also points out to the rejection above for details. As set forth above, claim 16 requires for “each of said main cutting edge” to have “a rake face which is connected to one flute of said flutes” and which “reaches said main cutting edge flight circle at a radial rake angle in a viewing direction parallel to the axis of rotation”. The viewing direction parallel to the axis rotation is that one as seen in Figure 4 of CN’872. As such, in the same way as presented by Applicant, the radial rake angle is formed between each main cutting edge that is connected to the flute. This is indicated on annotated Figure 4 above. As such, the Examiner’s interpretation is not precluded.
Applicant argues on page 10 that Figure 4 of CN’872 “cannot serve as a reliable basis for deriving a specific angular relationship, including a radial rake angle” since “the drawings do not define exact proportions or precise geometric relationships and cannot be relied upon to establish specific angles or dimensions in the absence of express disclosure in the written description.” The Examiner disagrees and notes that the drawings were not relied upon to establish specific angles absent of any disclosure in the written description as suggested by Applicant. CN’872 drawings explicitly disclose an angle 10. This angle 10 is a radial rake angle that is formed between the flute and the cutting edge 6. The Machine Translation of CN’872 provides basis and description for this. As such, the Examiner’s interpretation is not precluded.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/19/2026 with respect to claim 25 have been carefully and fully considered, and in light of Applicant’s amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 USC § 103 over of CN 111570872 (hereafter—CN’872--) as applied to claim 16 and in further view of Glimpel et al. US 2006/0216125 (hereafter—Glimpel--) have been incorporated as aforementioned.
In light of Applicant’s amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 USC § 112(a) or 35 USC § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph and 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 USC § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for claims 16-33 have been incorporated as aforementioned.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 See page 10-31 of Tool and Manufacturing Engineers Handbook (NPL attached), specifically the definition of “radial rake”.