DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing of application no. 18/839503 on 08/19/2024.
Claims 1 – 6 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 5 and 6 being independent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) in claims 1- 4 is/are: a speech processing unit that performs speech recognition processing; a segment processing unit that obtains sentence data; a speaker prediction processing unit that predicts a speaker; and a machine translation processing unit that performs machine translation. Furthermore, such claim limitation(s) in claims 2 and 3 is/are: a video clip processing unit that obtains a clip video stream; a speaker detection processing unit that extracts a face image; an audio encoder that performs audio encoding processing on the audio signal included in the clip video stream; a face encoder that performs face encoding; and a speaker identification processing unit that identifies a speaker. Moreover, such claim limitations in claim 3 is/are: a data storage unit that stores a speaker identifier. Additionally, such claim limitations in claim 4 is/are: a display processing device that input speaker identification data.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof: a single chip with semiconductor device including an integrated circuit, or a dedicated circuit (pg. 46 lines 15 – pg. 47 line 5 of the originally filed specification); a hardware programmed with software to perform the functions recited in claims 1 - 4 ( Figures 4 and 7 which show the speaker prediction processing algorithm performed in claims 1 – 4 and pg.46 lines 6 – pg. 48 line 8 of the originally filed specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Federico et al. (US 11,545,134) in view of Fu et al. (US 11,423,911) (“Fu”) and further in view of Shehzad et al. (US 2023/0215440) (“Shehzad”).
For claim 1, Federico discloses a simultaneous interpretation device (Abstract), comprising: a speech recognition processing unit (speech recognizer, Fig.3, 301, 303, 307) that performs speech recognition processing on a video stream (A/V stream, Fig.1, 105) including time information (The A/V streams comprise time-based indexed video chunks., column 3 lines 14 – 36), an audio signal (The A/V stream comprises audio signals., column 3 lines 14 – 36) and a video signal (The A/V stream comprises audio signals., column 3 lines 14 – 36) to obtain word sequence data corresponding to the audio signal (column 6 lines 40 – 46); a segment processing unit (speech diarizator, Fig.3, 305) that obtains sentence data (utterances that are correlated with a speaker, Fig.4, 403 and 405; column 8 lines 40 - 51) by performing segment processing (column 6 lines 36 – 38), and obtains time range data that specifies a time range of the sentence data (Fig.4, 401 and 403; column 8 lines 40 – 51); a speaker prediction processing unit (speaker modeler, Fig.3, 311) that predicts a speaker who speaks in a period specified by time range data (Utterances of the same speaker are used by the speaker modeler to select a target speaker. The utterances are associated with time range data., Fig.4, 401,405 and Fig.5, 507; column 7 lines 15 – 26; column 8 lines 40 – 58); and a machine translation processing unit (machine translator, Fig.3, 309) that performs machine translation processing on sentence data to obtain machine translation processing result data corresponding to the sentence data (column 7 lines 43 – 60).
Yet, Federico fails to teach the following: the word sequence data includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered; the segment processing unit obtains the sentence data, which is segmented word sequence data, by performing segment processing on the word sequence data, and obtains the time range data that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered; and the speaker prediction processing unit predicts the speaker based on the video stream and the time range data.
However, Fu discloses a system and method for generating a context-aware transcription (Abstract), comprising the following: an ASR unit (Fig.1, 108 and Fig.6, 614) comprising transcription generating functionality (column 5 lines 50 – column 6 line 6; column 21 lines 55 - 60) further generates word sequence data (transcript comprising English words) which includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered (The English words are timestamped and/or indexed with time to synchronize the audio and the text., column 9 lines 46 – column 10 line 14; column 21 lines 65 – column 22 lines 7; column 23 lines 14 – 23) and the ASR unit comprises segmentation functionality (column 5 lines 50 – column 6 line 6; column 23 lines 14 - 17) to obtain sentence data (segments of synchronized text associated with a speaker), which is segmented word sequence data (The synchronized text is segmented into different segments, wherein the synchronized text comprises a sequence of English words., column 10 lines 5 – 36), and time range data (start time and end time) that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered (column 10 lines 36 – 44; column 23 lines 14 – 34).
Additionally, Shehzad further discloses a system and method for verifying a speaker in an audio-visual segment (Abstract), comprising the following: one or more unlabeled speakers are identified in an audio-visual segment using ASR techniques (Fig.4A, 310 and 320; [0026] [0027] [0037] [0038]); time data (moments in time) associated with each of the unlabeled speakers in the audio-visual segment is identified (Fig.3, 330; [0027] [0038]); audio data representative of speech signal and visual data representative of facial images respectively from the audio-visual segment is extracted based on the time data (Fig.3, 340; [0028] [0038]); the extracted audio and visual data is embedded (The extracted audio data is transformed into a speaker speech space using a first pre-trained neural network. The extracted video data is transformed into a speaker face space using a second pre-trained neural network, Fig.3, 350 and 360; [0028] [0029] [0039] [0040]); and a speaker is predicted based on the embeddings (Fig.4B, 370, 380 and 390; [0030 – 0032] [0041 – 0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Frederico’s invention in the same way that Fu’s invention has been improved to achieve the following predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6): the speech recognition unit (Frederico, transcription functionality of an ASR system, column 6 lines 44 - 47) further generates word sequence data which includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered; and the segment processing unit (Frederico, segmentation functionality of an ASR system, column 6 lines 44 - 47) further obtains the sentence data, which is segmented word sequence data, by performing segment processing on the word sequence data, and obtains the time range data that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Frederico and Fu in the same way that Shehzad’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6) : the speaker prediction processing unit further predicts the speaker based on video, e.g. the video stream, and time, e.g. time range data.
For claims 5 and 6, Federico discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute the simultaneous interpretation processing method (Abstract; column 26 lines 20 – 56), comprising: a speech recognition processing step that performs speech recognition processing on a video stream (A/V stream, Fig.1, 105) including time information (The A/V streams comprise time-based indexed video chunks., column 3 lines 14 – 36), an audio signal (The A/V stream comprises audio signals., column 3 lines 14 – 36) and a video signal (The A/V stream comprises audio signals., column 3 lines 14 – 36) to obtain word sequence data corresponding to the audio signal (column 6 lines 40 – 46); a segment processing step that obtains sentence data (utterances that are correlated with a speaker, Fig.4, 403 and 405; column 8 lines 40 - 51) by performing segment processing (column 6 lines 36 – 38), and obtains time range data that specifies a time range of the sentence data (Fig.4, 401 and 403; column 8 lines 40 – 51); a speaker prediction processing step that predicts a speaker who speaks in a period specified by time range data (Utterances of the same speaker are used by the speaker modeler to select a target speaker. The utterances are associated with time range data., Fig.4, 401,405 and Fig.5, 507; column 7 lines 15 – 26; column 8 lines 40 – 58); and a machine translation processing step) that performs machine translation processing on sentence data to obtain machine translation processing result data corresponding to the sentence data (column 7 lines 43 – 60).
Yet, Federico fails to teach the following: the word sequence data includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered; the segment processing step obtains the sentence data, which is segmented word sequence data, by performing segment processing on the word sequence data, and obtains the time range data that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered; and the speaker prediction processing step predicts the speaker based on the video stream and the time range data.
However, Fu discloses a system and method for generating a context-aware transcription (Abstract), comprising the following: an ASR unit (Fig.1, 108 and Fig.6, 614) comprising transcription generating functionality (column 5 lines 50 – column 6 line 6; column 21 lines 55 - 60) further generates word sequence data (transcript comprising English words) which includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered (The English words are timestamped and/or indexed with time to synchronize the audio and the text., column 9 lines 46 – column 10 line 14; column 21 lines 65 – column 22 lines 7; column 23 lines 14 – 23) and the ASR unit comprises segmentation functionality (column 5 lines 50 – column 6 line 6; column 23 lines 14 - 17) to obtain sentence data (segments of synchronized text associated with a speaker), which is segmented word sequence data ( The synchronized text is segmented into different segments, wherein the synchronized text comprises a sequence of English words., column 10 lines 5 – 36), and time range data (start time and end time) that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered (column 10 lines 36 – 44; column 23 lines 14 – 34).
Additionally, Shehzad further discloses a system and method for verifying a speaker in an audio-visual segment (Abstract), comprising the following: one or more unlabeled speakers are identified in an audio-visual segment using ASR techniques (Fig.4A, 310 and 320; [0026] [0027] [0037] [0038]); time data (moments in time) associated with each of the unlabeled speakers in the audio-visual segment is identified (Fig.3, 330; [0027] [0038]); audio data representative of speech signal and visual data representative of facial images respectively from the audio-visual segment are extracted based on the time data (Fig.3, 340; [0028] [0038]); the extracted audio data and visual data is embedded (The extracted audio data is transformed into a speaker speech space using a first pre-trained neural network. The extracted video data is transformed into a speaker face space using a second pre-trained neural network, Fig.3, 350 and 360; [0028] [0029] [0039] [0040]); and a speaker is predicted based on the embeddings (Fig.4B, 370, 380 and 390; [0030 – 0032] [0041 – 0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Frederico’s invention in the same way that Fu’s invention has been improved to achieve the following predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6): the speech recognition processing step (Frederico, transcription functionality of an ASR system, column 6 lines 44 - 47) further generates word sequence data which includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered; and the segment processing unit (Frederico, segmentation functionality of an ASR system, column 6 lines 44 - 47) further obtains the sentence data, which is segmented word sequence data, by performing segment processing on the word sequence data, and obtains the time range data that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Frederico and Fu in the same way that Shehzad’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6): the speaker prediction processing unit further predicts the speaker based on video, e.g. the video stream, and time, e.g. time range data.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Federico et al. (US 11,545,134) in view of Fu et al. (US 11,423,911) (“Fu”), and further in view of Shehzad et al. (US 2023/0215440) (“Shehzad”) and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2019/0132549) (“Ahn”).
For claim 2, the combination of Frederico, Fu and Shehzad further discloses, wherein the speaker prediction processing unit (Federico, column 7 lines 15 - 27) (Shehzad, processing subsystem, Fig.3, 105; [0033] [0034]) includes: a video clip processing unit (Shehzad, input processing model and information extraction module, Fig.3, 120 and 130) that obtains a clip video stream, which is data for a period specified by the time range data, from the video stream (Shehzad, The information extraction module extracts visual data representative of facial images respectively from the audio-visual segment based on one or more moments in time associated with each of the one or more unlabeled speakers., [0035] [0038]); an audio encoder (Shehzad, first pre-trained neural network of the input transformation module, Fig.3, 140) that performs audio encoding processing on the audio signal included in the clip video stream to obtain audio embedding representation data that is embedding representation data corresponding to the audio signal ([0035] [0039]); a face encoder (Shehzad, second pre-trained neural network of the input transformation module, Fig.3, 140) that performs face encoding processing on the image data forming the face image region of the speaker to obtain face embedding representation data that is embedding representation data corresponding to the face image region of the speaker ([0040]); and a speaker identification processing unit (Shehzad, third neural network model of the input transformation module and speaker identification module, Fig.3, 140 and 150) that identifies a speaker who uttered the speech reproduced by the audio signal included in the clip video stream, based on the audio embedding representation data and the face embedding representation data. ([0035] [0041 – 0043]).
Yet, the combination of Frederico, Fu and Shehzad fails to teach the following: a speaker detection processing unit that extracts a face image region of a speaker from a frame image formed by the clip video stream.
However, Ahn discloses a system and method for performing facial recognition (Abstract), comprising the following: an extractor (Fig.3, 130 and 131 and Fig. 5; [0060] [0062] [0067]) comprising a frame selection module (Fig.5, 131a; [0067]) and face detection module (Fig.5, 131b; [0067]); the frame selection module selects a frame from a plurality of frames include in a video image ([0008 – 0010] [0068]); and the face detection module detects and extracts a facial region of a person from the frame image ([0069 – 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Federico, Fu and Shehzad in the same way that Ahns’ invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of improving an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs by using facial recognition to select a naturally sounding speech to replace originally spoken audio, where the naturally sounding speech is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6 and column 7 lines 15 - 27): the device further comprises a separate face, e.g. speaker, detection processing unit, that extracts a face image region of a person, e.g. speaker, from a frame image formed by a video image, e.g. clip video stream.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Federico et al. (US 11,545,134) in view of Fu et al. (US 11,423,911) (“Fu”), and further in view of Shehzad et al. (US 2023/0215440) (“Shehzad”), and further in view of Ahn et al. (US 2019/0132549) (“Ahn”) and further in view of Aley-Raz et al. (US 2010/0131273) (“Aley”).
For claim 3, the combination of Federico, Fu, Shehzad and Ahn further discloses: a data storage unit (Shehzad, audio embedding storage repository and visual embedding storage repository, Fig.2, 145 and 146) that stores a speaker identifier (names/labels) that identifies the speaker ([0030] [0031]), and stores the audio embedding representation data and the face embedding representation data that are linked to the speaker identifier ([0031]), wherein the speaker identification processing unit performs best matching processing using (1) the audio embedding representation data obtained by the audio encoder and the face embedding representation data obtained by the face encoder ([0030]), and (2) the audio embedding representation data and the face embedding representation data that have been stored in the data storage unit ([0030] [0031]).
Yet, the combination of Federico, Fu, Shehzad and Ahn fails to teach the following: when a similarity score indicating a degree of similarity between the above two data sets in the best matching processing is greater than a predetermined value, the speaker identification processing unit identifies a speaker identified by the speaker identifier corresponding to the audio embedding representation data and the face embedding representation data stored in the data storage unit, which have been used for the matching processing in the best matching processing, as the speaker who uttered the speech reproduced by the audio signal included in the clip video stream.
However, Aley discloses a system and method for performing speaker recognition (Abstract), comprising the following: a confidence level or degree of match is referred to as a similarity score ([0043]); and a speaker is identified based on a comparison of the similarity score with a threshold value (broadly interpreted as similarity score equaling or exceeding a threshold value) ([0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Federico, Fu, Shehzad and Ahn in the same way that Aley’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6) the confidence level estimated for the matching result generated by a generated by the speaker identification processing unit (Shehzad, [0030] [0032]) is further a similarity score indicating a degree of similarity between the above two data sets in the best matching processing; and when the similarity score is compared to a predetermined (threshold) value, e.g. greater than the threshold value, the speaker identification processing unit identifies a speaker, e.g. the speaker identified by the speaker identifier corresponding to the audio embedding representation data and the face embedding representation data stored in the data storage unit, which have been used for the matching processing in the best matching processing, as the speaker who uttered the speech reproduced by the audio signal included in the clip video stream.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Federico et al. (US 11,545,134) in view of Fu et al. (US 11,423,911) (“Fu”) and further in view of Shehzad et al. (US 2023/0215440) (“Shehzad”) and further in view of Dubinsky et al. (US 2020/0211565) (“Dubinsky”).
For claim 4, Federico discloses a simultaneous interpretation device (Abstract), comprising: a speech recognition processing unit (speech recognizer, Fig.3, 301, 303, 307) that performs speech recognition processing on a video stream (A/V stream, Fig.1, 105) including time information (The A/V streams comprise time-based indexed video chunks., column 3 lines 14 – 36), an audio signal (The A/V stream comprises audio signals., column 3 lines 14 – 36) and a video signal (The A/V stream comprises audio signals., column 3 lines 14 – 36) to obtain word sequence data corresponding to the audio signal (column 6 lines 40 – 46); a segment processing unit (speech diarizator, Fig.3, 305) that obtains sentence data (utterances that are correlated with a speaker, Fig.4, 403 and 405; column 8 lines 40 - 51) by performing segment processing (column 6 lines 36 – 38), and obtains time range data that specifies a time range of the sentence data (Fig.4, 401 and 403; column 8 lines 40 – 51); a speaker prediction processing unit (speaker modeler, Fig.3, 311) that predicts a speaker who speaks in a period specified by time range data (Utterances of the same speaker are used by the speaker modeler to select a target speaker. The utterances are associated with time range data., Fig.4, 401,405 and Fig.5, 507; column 7 lines 15 – 26; column 8 lines 40 – 58); a machine translation processing unit (machine translator, Fig.3, 309) that performs machine translation processing on sentence data to obtain machine translation processing result data corresponding to the sentence data (column 7 lines 43 – 60); and a display processing device (Fig.1, 131) that displays a dubbed multimedia file (column 5 lines 7 – 23).
Yet, Federico fails to teach the following: the word sequence data includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered; the segment processing unit obtains the sentence data, which is segmented word sequence data, by performing segment processing on the word sequence data, and obtains the time range data that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered; the speaker prediction processing unit predicts the speaker based on the video stream and the time range data; and a display processing device that inputs speaker identification data, which is data for identifying a speaker who uttered speech reproduced by the audio signal included in the video stream, obtained by the simultaneous interpretation device, and the machine translation processing result data corresponding to the sentence data obtained by the machine translation processing unit of the simultaneous interpretation device, and generates display data for displaying the speaker identification data and the machine translation processing result data in one or more predetermined image areas of a screen of a display device.
However, Fu discloses a system and method for generating a context-aware transcription (Abstract), comprising the following: an ASR unit (Fig.1, 108 and Fig.6, 614) comprising transcription generating functionality (column 5 lines 50 – column 6 line 6; column 21 lines 55 - 60) further generates word sequence data (transcript comprising English words) which includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered (The English words are timestamped and/or indexed with time to synchronize the audio and the text., column 9 lines 46 – column 10 line 14; column 21 lines 65 – column 22 lines 7; column 23 lines 14 – 23) and the ASR unit comprises segmentation functionality (column 5 lines 50 – column 6 line 6; column 23 lines 14 - 17) to obtain sentence data (segments of synchronized text associated with a speaker), which is segmented word sequence data ( The synchronized text is segmented into different segments, wherein the synchronized text comprises a sequence of English words., column 10 lines 5 – 36), and time range data (start time and end time) that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered (column 10 lines 36 – 44; column 23 lines 14 – 34).
Additionally, Shehzad further discloses a system and method for verifying a speaker in an audio-visual segment (Abstract), comprising the following: one or more unlabeled speakers are identified in an audio-visual segment using ASR techniques (Fig.4A, 310 and 320; [0026] [0027] [0037] [0038]); time data (moments in time) associated with each of the unlabeled speakers in the audio-visual segment is identified (Fig.3, 330; [0027] [0038]); audio data representative of speech signal and visual data representative of facial images respectively from the audio-visual segment are extracted based on the time data (Fig.3, 340; [0028] [0038]); the extracted audio data and visual data is embedded (The extracted audio data is transformed into a speaker speech space using a first pre-trained neural network. The extracted video data is transformed into a speaker face space using a second pre-trained neural network, Fig.3, 350 and 360; [0028] [0029] [0039] [0040]); and a speaker is predicted based on the embeddings (Fig.4B, 370, 380 and 390; [0030 – 0032] [0041 – 0043]).
Moreover, Dubinsky discloses a system and method for generating a dubbed video source (Abstract), comprising the following: a video program containing both audio and video is transmitted to a transcription service ([0009] [0010]); the audio is transcribed and translated into a target language ([0011 – 0014]); multiple language dubbings are simultaneously produced for all translated scripts ([0015 – 0017]); the on- screen placement of subtitles comprising translated text is determined ([0018] [0019]), wherein the translated text comprises speaker identifier ([0014]); and the video program comprising the translated text and dubbed audio is transmitted back to a source ([0009] [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve Frederico’s invention in the same way that Fu’s invention has been improved to achieve the following predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6): the speech recognition unit (Frederico, transcription functionality of an ASR system, column 6 lines 44 - 47) further generates word sequence data which includes time information on when each word in the word sequence was uttered; and the segment processing unit (Frederico, segmentation functionality of an ASR system, column 6 lines 44 - 47) further obtains the sentence data, which is segmented word sequence data, by performing segment processing on the word sequence data, and obtains the time range data that specifies a time range in which the word sequence included in the sentence data was uttered.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Frederico and Fu in the same way that Shehzad’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs, where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original (Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6) : the speaker prediction processing unit further predicts the speaker based on video, e.g. the video stream, and time, e.g. time range data.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to improve the invention disclosed by the combination of Frederico, Fu and Shehzad in the same way that Dubinsky’s invention has been improved to achieve the following, predictable results for the purpose of providing an automated dubbing service that generates translated versions of multimedia files at reduced costs for a variety of users (e.g. hearing impaired when the original file is missing closed captioning information)(Federico, column 5 lines 47 – 55), where the original spoken audio is replaced by naturally sounding speech that is both synchronized and acoustically similar to the original(Federico, column 2 lines 54 – column 3 line 6): the dubbed multimedia file further comprises machine translation processing results data (translated text) and speaker identification data (identifiers) as closed captioning information; and the display processing device inputs the speaker identification data, which is data for identifying a speaker who uttered speech reproduced by the audio signal included in the video stream, obtained by the simultaneous interpretation device, and the machine translation processing result data corresponding to the sentence data obtained by the machine translation processing unit of the simultaneous interpretation device, and generates display data for displaying the speaker identification data and the machine translation processing result data as closed captioning information in one or more predetermined image areas of a screen of a display device.
Conclusion
/SONIA L GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657