DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-10, 16-18 and 20 in the reply filed on 2026/06/22 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amount of surfactants must be 90 wt.% of total composition which does not meet the unity of invention because of the lack of teaching by the prior art of Christensen. This is not found persuasive because applicanThe two claimed surfactants of A)- one biosurfactant, and B)- one fatty acid salt, as stated on the last two lines of claim 1, are indeed at least 90 wt.% of “all surfactants” in total composition. This means that the A+B are 90 wt.% of all surfactants contained in the total composition, which is different than 90 wt.% of total composition as asserted by applicant. Furthermore, applicant has added new claim 21 which is dependent on withdrawn claim 11 and thus is considered withdrawn as well. The elected claims 1-10, 16-18 and 20 are subject to examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christensen et al. (US 5,998,344).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 17, Christensen teaches a cleaning detergent composition (abstract, C.1: L40-55) comprising a glycolipid biosurfactant (A) such as decanoyl glycoside (instant claim 2) in amount of 25 wt.%, (B) oleic fatty acid (in presence of sodium hydroxide; instant claims 3, 4, 17) in amount of 2 wt.%, and a fatty
acid sodium sulfate salt (anionic surfactant) in amount of 3 wt.%; [abstract, C.5: L.53-67], wherein composition comprises builder (instant claim 5); [C.2: L. 21-22]. Therefore, from the above values the total amount of surfactant (30 wt.%) and A+B being 27 wt.% the claimed 90 wt.% of total surfactants is anticipated.
Regarding claims 6-8, 18 and 20, Christensen teaches enzymes (instant 6, 20) such as protease, cellulase and amylase; [C.2: L.22-23, claim 5]. For claim 7 and 18; Christensen teaches 25 wt.% biosurfactant, 2 wt.% fatty acid salt and a builder such as triethanolamine (as identically disclosed by instant Pg.Pub. US 2025/0171719 A1: 0111) in the amount of 10 wt.%; [C.5: L.3, L.33], and enzymes in amounts of 0.001-10 wt.% with sufficient specificity; [C.3: L.49-51], wherein (instant claim 8) composition comprises a non-biosurfactant such as fatty acid (dodecyl) sodium ether sulfate; [C.5: L.53-67].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9-10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (US 5,998,344) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Brandt et al. (US 2021/0371773 A1).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 16, Christensen does not teach the soil release agents. However the analogous art of Brandt teaches a cleaning composition comprising biosurfactant and soil release polymers such as inulin, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose and hydroxyethyl cellulose correspondingly; [145:Table, 134:Table, 143]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to I)- add the soil release agent of Brandt to Christensen’s composition with the motivation of further enhancing the soil removal performance of the composition. Brandt teaches the biosurfactant of rhamnolipid; [abstract, 6, 69, 90]. rhamnolipid is a glycolipid type biosurfactant thus same as Christensen’s biosurfactant. Thus, it is obvious to alternatively select the rhamnolipid for Christensen’s composition.
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/08/09
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767