DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim contains the phrase “a last time” which is indefinite because it does not define what a last time is. Examiner will treat “a last time” as a previous measurement period or cycle.
Regarding claim 1, claim contains the phrase “wherein the heat amount calculation unit is configured to: add, when the electric power is equal to or more than the first determination output value, to the heat amount-equivalent value of a last time, a value of a product of a current squared and time which is a value obtained by multiplying a square of an electric current flowing in a conductor by the time, the conductor being connected to the power converter; and subtract, when the electric power is less than the first determination output value, a subtraction value from the heat amount-equivalent value of the last time,” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the steps “add” and “subtract” relate to “a heat amount calculation unit configured to calculate a heat-amount equivalent value” and whether the “heat amount equivalent value of a last time” refers to a previously determined or stored heat amount equivalent value. It is not clear if the values that are added or subtracted are a current value or a previous value. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected for the same reasons above as they depend upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroki (US 2024/0255356) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2017/0104439).
Regarding claim 1,
Kuroki discloses (Fig. 1):
An overheat protection control device for a power converter (Fig. 1, detects temperatures of both converter, 2, and inverter, 5, ¶0005), comprising: a power calculation unit (23) configured to calculate an electric power in the power converter (¶0053, power, W, is used to calculate temperature value, EQN 1, from voltage and current); a heat amount calculation unit (24) configured to calculate a heat amount-equivalent value (temperature), based on the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit (W, ¶0081)
Kuroki does not disclose:
a heat amount calculation unit configured to calculate a heat amount-equivalent value, based on the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit and a first determination output value which is a threshold value of the electric power; and a power command unit configured to control the electric power in the power converter, based on the heat amount-equivalent value calculated by the heat amount calculation unit,
wherein the heat amount calculation unit is configured to: add, when the electric power is equal to or more than the first determination output value, to the heat amount-equivalent value of a last time, a value of a product of a current squared and time which is a value obtained by multiplying a square of an electric current flowing in a conductor by the time, the conductor being connected to the power converter; and subtract, when the electric power is less than the first determination output value, a subtraction value from the heat amount-equivalent value of the last time, and wherein the power command unit is configured to:
restrict the electric power in the power converter when the heat amount- equivalent value calculated by the heat amount calculation unit becomes a first determination heat amount-equivalent value or larger; and lift the restriction on the electric power in the power converter when the heat amount-equivalent value calculated by the heat amount calculation unit becomes a second determination heat amount-equivalent value or smaller, the second determination heat amount- equivalent value being smaller than the first determination heat amount-equivalent value.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
a heat amount calculation unit (Fig. 3, 30) configured to calculate a heat amount-equivalent value (Tx_est), based on the electric power calculated (¶0101) and a first determination output value which is a threshold value of the electric power (Fig. 6, Fig. 7, halting and restarting motor, ¶0061-¶0063 ); and a power command unit (Fig. 3, 41) configured to control the electric power in the power converter (60), based on the heat amount-equivalent value calculated by the heat amount calculation unit (Tx_est, ¶0061-¶0063),
wherein the heat amount calculation unit is configured to: add, when the electric power is equal to or more than the first determination output value (during restarting the motor, restart A, Fig. 7), to the heat amount-equivalent value of a last time, a value of a product of a current squared and time which is a value obtained by multiplying a square of an electric current flowing in a conductor by the time (Fig. 6, 31, ¶0043, adds to heat amount using current squared times a time), the conductor being connected to the power converter (inverter heat level); and subtract, when the electric power is less than the first determination output value (motor is not running, Fig. 7, stop), a subtraction value from the heat amount-equivalent value of the last time (from Fig. 6, 32, added in 38, ¶0059-¶0063), and wherein the power command unit is configured to:
restrict the electric power in the power converter when the heat amount- equivalent value calculated by the heat amount calculation unit becomes a first determination heat amount-equivalent value or larger (Fig. 4, restricts current command based on temperature thresholds α, ¶0049-¶0050); and lift the restriction on the electric power in the power converter when the heat amount-equivalent value calculated by the heat amount calculation unit becomes a second determination heat amount-equivalent value or smaller (less than α, area from 0-alpha), the second determination heat amount- equivalent value being smaller than the first determination heat amount-equivalent value (less than α, ¶0048-¶0050).
Regarding claim 1,it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Regarding claim 2,
Kuroki discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the power calculation unit is configured to calculate the electric power with use of a detected value or an estimated value of the electric current (¶0051).
Regarding claim 3,
Kuroki discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Kuroki does not disclose:
wherein the first determination output value is set to a minimum value of the electric power that causes a temperature of a monitoring target part to exceed a limit temperature and consequently leads to breakage of the monitoring target part when the electric power having the minimum value is output in succession, the monitoring target part being the conductor or a part around the conductor.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
wherein the first determination output value is set to a minimum value of the electric power that causes a temperature of a monitoring target part to exceed a limit temperature and consequently leads to breakage of the monitoring target part when the electric power having the minimum value is output in succession, the monitoring target part being the conductor or a part around the conductor (Fig. 4, restricts current command based on temperature thresholds α, ¶0049-¶0050).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Regarding claim 4,
Kuroki discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Kuroki does not disclose:
wherein the subtraction value is a value that varies depending on one or more factors out of a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, and the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
wherein the subtraction value is a value that varies depending on one or more factors out of a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, and the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit (based on power calculated, when motor is off, no current is flowing, ¶0043-¶0048).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Regarding claim 5,
Kuroki discloses (fig. 1):
wherein the power converter (Fig. 1, 5) is an inverter provided between a DC power source (33) and an AC rotary electric machine (6, ¶0007), and wherein the power calculation unit is configured to calculate the electric power (¶0053) by: arithmetic processing in which absolute value processing is performed on a product of a voltage applied to the conductor and the electric current (EQN 1, ¶0053, current is squared which is effectively taking the absolute value of the current and power); arithmetic processing in which absolute value processing is performed on a product of torque of the AC rotary electric machine, the rpm of the AC rotary electric machine, a motor efficiency of the AC rotary electric machine, and an inverter efficiency (power calculated is current going through switch which is multiplied by a thermal time constant tau, this would be inverter efficiency, ¶0053); arithmetic processing for obtaining a product of an AC power and the inverter efficiency; arithmetic processing in which absolute value processing is performed on a value that is obtained by dividing a product of the torque of the AC rotary electric machine and the rpm of the AC rotary electric machine, by the motor efficiency of the AC rotary electric machine and by the inverter efficiency; or arithmetic processing in which the AC power is divided by the inverter efficiency (¶0053).
Regarding claim 6,
Kuroki discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Kuroki does not disclose:
wherein the power converter is an inverter provided between a DC power source and an AC rotary electric machine, and wherein the first determination heat amount-equivalent value is a value that varies depending on one or more factors out of a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit, the rpm of the AC rotary electric machine, and an AC current.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
wherein the power converter is an inverter provided between a DC power source and an AC rotary electric machine, and wherein the first determination heat amount-equivalent value is a value that varies depending on one or more factors out of a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit, the rpm of the AC rotary electric machine, and an AC current (based on power calculated, when motor is off, no current is flowing, ¶0043-¶0048).
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Regarding claim 7,
Kuroki discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Kuroki does not disclose:
wherein the power converter is an inverter provided between a DC power source and an AC rotary electric machine, and wherein the second determination heat amount-equivalent value is a value that varies depending on one or more factors out of a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit, the rpm of the AC rotary electric machine, and an AC current.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
wherein the power converter is an inverter provided between a DC power source and an AC rotary electric machine, and wherein the second determination heat amount-equivalent value is a value that varies depending on one or more factors out of a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, the electric power calculated by the power calculation unit, the rpm of the AC rotary electric machine, and an AC current (based on power calculated, when motor is off, no current is flowing, ¶0043-¶0048).
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Regarding claim 8,
Kuroki discloses the above elements from claim 7.
Kuroki does not disclose:
wherein the second determination heat amount-equivalent value is calculated based on one or more factors out of the water temperature, the electric power, the rpm, and the AC current that are observed at a time when the heat amount-equivalent value reaches the first determination heat amount-equivalent value and the restriction is placed.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
wherein the second determination heat amount-equivalent value is calculated based on one or more factors out of the water temperature, the electric power, the rpm, and the AC current that are observed at a time when the heat amount-equivalent value reaches the first determination heat amount-equivalent value and the restriction is placed (based on power calculated, when motor is off, no current is flowing, ¶0043-¶0048).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Regarding claim 9,
Kuroki discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Kuroki does not disclose:
wherein the power command unit is configured to set a power restriction value which is a value that varies depending on a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, and, when the power command unit switches the power restriction value, gradually decrease or increase the power restriction value at a slope set in advance.
However, Kobayashi teaches (Fig. 3):
wherein the power command unit is configured to set a power restriction value which is a value that varies depending on a water temperature of cooling water of the power converter, and, when the power command unit switches the power restriction value, gradually decrease or increase the power restriction value at a slope set in advance (Shown in Fig. 4. based on power calculated, when motor is off, no current is flowing, ¶0043-¶0048).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to use the power calculation circuit from Kuroki that uses a voltage and current sensor to calculate the power going into an inverter in order to estimate the temperature and prevent an overheating event as taught by Kuroki (¶0094-¶0096) and use the temperature output from Kuroki and input that into the current limit value unit in order to limit the current command from Kobayashi in order to limit the current command and power to the motor to prevent overheating when a calculated temperature value exceeds a limit (¶0048). This would improve reliability by preventing the inverter from overheating.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakamoto (US 2011/0101904) motor overheat prevention apparatus
/C.S.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837