DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9-11, 14, 16-18, 28, 31-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL “UP Aspects for SDT” to Nokia et al. (“Nokia”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claims 1-2, 4, 9-11, 14, see similar rejections to clams 31-37, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
As to claim 16, Nokia discloses a method for configuring a user equipment (UE), the method implemented in a radio access node (RAN) (2.1, UE; required by the network to interpret BSR…identified by the NW from the BSR…utilize Short BSR MAC CE format/Long BSR MAC CE format) and comprising: generating a delay configuration according to which the UE is to delay requesting a resource for a transmission to the RAN, during a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (Section 2.3 “Application of logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT”; “NW to control how long time the UE shall wait before triggering RA procedure”); transmitting a radio link control (RLC) bearer configuration, including a logical channel configuration, the logical channel configuration including the delay configuration, to the UE (Section 2.3 Application of logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT; configured by the NW; applies to all LCHs/DRBs); and receiving, from the UE and when the delay configuration applies to the SDT procedure, the request for the resource in accordance with the delay configuration (Section 2.3 “To prevent frequent RA triggers, it should be possible for the NW to control how long time the UE shall wait before triggering RA procedure upon SR trigger. This would give NW time to provide UL grant and prevent the unnecessary RA procedure during the SDT procedure.", Proposal 4).
As to claim 17, Nokia further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the transmitting of the delay configuration is performed when the UE operates in a connected state of a protocol for controlling radio resources between the UE and the RAN (2.3, CONNECTED mode).
As to claim 18, Nokia further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the transmitting of the delay configuration includes transmitting a command to reconfigure a radio connection between the UE and the RAN (2.3, logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer; NW to control (i.e. reconfigure) how long time the UE shall wait before triggering RA procedure upon SR trigger).
As to claim 28, Nokia further discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: providing the resource to the UE; and receiving, from the UE over the resource, a Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) including a buffer status report (BSR) (2.1, required by the network to interpret BSR…identified by the NW from the BSR…utilize Short BSR MAC CE format/Long BSR MAC CE format).
As to claim 31, Nokia discloses an apparatus configured to function as a user equipment (UE) and transmit a control element (CE) to a radio access network (RAN) (2.1, UE; required by the network to interpret BSR…identified by the NW from the BSR…utilize Short BSR MAC CE format/Long BSR MAC CE format), the apparatus comprising: a transceiver (2.3, UL; DL); and processing hardware (implicit) configured to: determine, when the UE is performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, that a resource for transmitting the CE to the RAN is not available (Section 2.3 “Application of logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT, no SR resources are configured for UE to use in RRC_INACTIVE during the SDT procedure. Hence, whenever a BSR is triggered, an SR and consequently an RA procedure is triggered to request for UL resources during the RA-SDT procedure as no periodic resources exist like in CG-SDT procedure. The problem becomes especially with 2-step RA procedure where the MsgB does not come with UL grant but only DL transmission with contention resolution and TAC command."); receive, from the RAN, a radio link control (RLC) bearer configuration including a logical channel configuration, the logical channel configuration including a delay configuration (Section 2.3 Application of logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT; configured by the NW; applies to all LCHs/DRBs); and delay, in response to determining that the resource is not available and when the delay configuration applies to the SDT procedure, a transmission of a request for the resource to the RAN in accordance with the delay configuration (Section 2.3 “To prevent frequent RA triggers, it should be possible for the NW to control how long time the UE shall wait before triggering RA procedure upon SR trigger. This would give NW time to provide UL grant and prevent the unnecessary RA procedure during the SDT procedure.", Proposal 4).
As to claim 32, Nokia further discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the delay configuration is specific to a logical channel associated with the SDT procedure (Section 2.3, Application of logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT).
As to claim 33, Nokia further discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the logical channel configuration is a LogicalChannelConfig field (Section 2.1 Default configuration for PHR and BSR, page 2, Table under 9.2.1 Default SRB configurations, "LogicalChannelConfig").
As to claim 34, Nokia further discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the delay configuration includes a logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied indicator (Section 2.3, Application of logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT).
As to claim 35, Nokia further discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processing hardware is further configured to: determine whether the delay configuration applies to the SDT procedure or a non-SDT procedure (2.2, SDT is initiated given data availability in these certain DRB(s) and all other conditions are fulfilled, the procedure goes smoothly until data appears on any of the STD DRB(s) not allowed to access the configured CG SDT resources…they should be considered as non-SDT DRBs; 2.3, logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT).
As to claim 36, Nokia further discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the CE is a Medium Access Control (MAC) CE, the MAC CE including a buffer status report (BSR) (2.1, required by the network to interpret BSR…identified by the NW from the BSR…utilize Short BSR MAC CE format/Long BSR MAC CE format).
As to claim 37, Nokia further discloses the apparatus of claim 31, wherein: the delay configuration includes a value of a delay timer; and delaying the transmission includes: activating the delay timer, refraining from the transmission of the request for the resource while the delay timer is running, and transmitting the request for the resource to the RAN after the delay timer expires (2.3, Application of logcalChannelSR-DelayTimer for SDT, how long time the UE shall wait before triggering RA procedure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “UP Aspects for SDT” to Nokia et al. (“Nokia”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0389117 A1 to LASELVA et al. (“Laselva”).
As to claim 21, Nokia does not expressly disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the generating of the delay configuration includes: generating a common configuration for the SDT procedure and a non-SDT procedure.
Laselva discloses certain example embodiments may enable the UE in RRC_inactive state (i.e. common configuration) to handle cases where SDT and non-SDT data may be simultaneously present in the UE's buffer at the time it is initiating a SDT (para. 0043).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the UE of Laselva into the
invention of Nokia. The suggestion/motivation would have been for handling data transmission such as non-small data transmission (SDT) in conjunction with SDT (Laselva, para. 0031). Including the UE of Laselva into the invention of Nokia was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Laselva.
As to claim 22, Nokia does not expressly disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the generating of the delay configuration includes: generating a first delay configuration for the SDT procedure, and generating a second delay configuration for a non-SDT procedure.
Laselva discloses the transfer of data of non-SDT DRB may incur extra delays whenever the data is generated in conjunction with SDT-DRB data (para. 0042).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the delays of Laselva into the
invention of Nokia. The suggestion/motivation would have been for handling data transmission such as non-small data transmission (SDT) in conjunction with SDT (Laselva, para. 0031). Including the delays of Laselva into the invention of Nokia was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Laselva.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240284548 A1 discloses at para. 0262: the base station DU may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for a small data transmission (SDT) and uplink data associated with the small data transmission.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463