This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 9/14/26.
Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 31-37 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8-9, 13, 31, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 2023/0120096, (“Kim”), in view of Kim et al., US 2023/0102937, (“Ofinno”), and Tsai et al., US 2023/0122869, (“Tsai”).
Independent Claims
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches “A method for resource management, the method implemented in a user equipment (UE) and comprising:
receiving, from a radio access network (RAN) and in a first cell, a resource for an uplink transmission to the RAN when a radio connection between the UE and the RAN is suspended (paragraph no. 0330, “Based on receiving the RRC release message comprising the first suspend configuration parameters, the UE may perform the suspending RRC connection based on the first suspend configuration parameters. The UE may transition to an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state. The UE may receive PUR configuration parameters via previous RRC release message. The previous RRC release message may be the RRC release message. In response to receiving the PUR configuration parameters, the UE in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state”);
activating a small data transmission (SDT) alignment timer in response to the receiving (paragraph no. 0330, “In response to receiving the PUR configuration parameters, the UE in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state may start a time alignment timer for PUR with the value of time alignment timer for PUR and configure the PUR configuration parameters”; the disclosed time alignment timer teaches the claimed “SDT alignment timer”);
initiating, in a second cell and while the radio connection is suspended, a procedure to resume the radio connection with the RAN (paragraph no. 0330, “Based on the RRC release message, the UE in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state may perform a cell (re)selection procedure. Based on the cell (re)selection procedure, the UE in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state may select a cell 2 of a second base station (a target base station)”; see also, paragraph no. 0387, “Based on the detecting, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state perform cell (re)selection and suspend one or more bearers. Based on the cell (re)selection, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may select the second cell (e.g., change a serving cell of the UE from the first cell to the second cell). Based on the selecting, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may resume the one or more bearers … the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may resume the communicating via the second cell”); and
in response to the initiating;
releasing the resource” (paragraph no. 0387, “Based on the detecting, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state perform cell (re)selection and suspend one or more bearers”; see also, paragraph no. 0335, “the UE in an RRC inactive state … release all radio resources”; see also, paragraph nos. 0292 and 0304; it appears that at least the suspending of one or more bearers upon cell re-selection teaches the claimed “releasing the resource” – however, see below for an explicit teaching).
Ofinno teaches explicitly the limitation “in response to the initiating: releasing the resource” (paragraph no. 0416, “A wireless device may select a second cell. The wireless device may initiate an RRC procedure to establish or resume an RRC connection via the second cell. Based on the initiating, the wireless device may determine to release one or more configurations of at least one preconfigured uplink resource (configured uplink grant) of a first cell”) as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim by incorporating the teachings of Ofinno to enable the network to reuse the released resource for a different uplink transmission.
Kim does not teach but Tsai teaches “stopping the SDT alignment timer” (paragraph no. 0289, “The SDT TA timer and/or TA timer may be stopped upon a cell selection or a cell re-selection … The SDT TA timer and/or TA timer may be stopped when the UE changes the serving cell to another cell or when the UE camps on a new (suitable/acceptable) cell. For example, the timer may be stopped when/after the UE establishes/resumes an RRC connection from the RRC_INACTIVE state on a cell different from the cell where the CG configuration was provided”) as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim by incorporating the teachings of Tsai to enable the SDT timer to be stopped upon cell reselection by the UE, as suggested by Tsai in paragraph no. 0289.
Regarding independent claim 31, this independent claim is a corresponding apparatus claim of the method claim 1 and recites similar subject matter. As such, the rationale behind the above rejection of claim 1 applies with equal force to this independent claim and as further amplified below to highlight the minor differences between the claims. Regarding claim 31, see Fig. 15 of Kim for the claimed structural elements of the claim.
Dependent Claims
Regarding claims 7 and 36, Kim teaches “wherein receiving the resource in the first cell includes: receiving a command to release the radio connection, the command indicating the resource” (paragraph no. 0330, “The UE may receive PUR configuration parameters via previous RRC release message. The previous RRC release message may be the RRC release message”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches “wherein the initiating of the procedure to resume the radio connection includes: transmitting, in the second cell, a request to resume the radio connection” (paragraph no. 0387).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches “wherein the initiating of the procedure to resume the radio connection is in response to receiving a paging message” (paragraph no. 0225).
Regarding claims 8 and 37, Kim does not teach but Ofinno teaches “wherein the releasing is further in response to determining that the procedure to resume the radio connection is initiated in the second cell and not the first cell” (paragraph no. 0416). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai by incorporating the additional teachings of Ofinno to enable the network to reuse the released resource for a different uplink transmission in the first cell when the UE resumes a RRC connection in a second cell.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 32, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai as applied to claims 1, 31 above, and further in view of Lei et al., US 2025/0133561, (“Lei”).
Regarding claims 2 and 32, Kim does not teach but Lei teaches “wherein the resource includes a configured grant for small data transmission (CG-SDT)” (paragraph no. 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai by incorporating the teachings of Lei to enable small data transmission over configured grant type 1 resources while the UE is in an inactive state, as suggested by Lei in paragraph no. 0104.
Regarding claims 6 and 35, Kim teaches “wherein the procedure is a radio resource control (RRC) resume procedure” (paragraph no. 0387, “Based on the selecting, the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may resume the one or more bearers and send the first RRC request message … the UE in the RRC inactive or idle state may resume the communicating via the second cell”).
Claim(s) 3, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai as applied to claims 1, 31 above, and further in view of the 3GPP document, R3-215894, entitled “SoD of CB: # SDT1_CGbased” by LG Electronics, (“LG Electronics”).
Kim does not teach but LG Electronics teaches “wherein the resource includes an sdt-MAC- PHY-CG-Config information element” (page 7, Question 3 discloses SDT-MACPHY-Config information element which appears to be the same as the claimed term).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai by incorporating the teachings of LG Electronics to enable the use of a known information element in the small data transmission while the UE is in the inactive state.
However, assuming arguendo that LG Electronics’ disclosure of SDT-MACPHY-Config information element is not an equivalent of the claimed “sdt-MAC- PHY-CG-Config information element”, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai by incorporating the teachings of LG Electronics as modified to include the sdt-MAC- PHY-CG-Config information element since this is nothing more than the use of new emerging information elements developed by the standard organizations such as 3GPP to support certain technologies such as small data transmission.
Examiner’s note: According to a google search of the term “sdt-MAC- PHY-CG-Config information element,” (Google search result: “The SDT-MAC-PHY-CG-Config is a 3GPP Information Element (IE) introduced in Release 17 for 5G New Radio (NR). It provides dedicated MAC and Physical layer configurations that allow IoT and low-power devices to transmit small amounts of data (Small Data Transmission, or SDT) while staying in the highly efficient RRC_INACTIVE state”) it appears that this term is standardized in the 3GPP release 17 for 5G NR specification. The publication of release 17 would appear to be prior to the effective filing date (2/22/22) of this patent application, and therefore, the release 17 would constitute prior art against claims 3 and 33.
Claim(s) 5, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Ofinno, Tsai, and Lei as applied to claims 2, 32 above, and further in view of Mao et al., US 2024/0357698, (“Mao”).
Regarding claims 5 and 34, Kim does not teach but Mao teaches “wherein the SDT alignment timer is a CG SDT-TimeAlignmentTimer timer” (paragraph no. 0264 discloses a CG-SDT-TAT timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim, Ofinno, Tsai and Lei by incorporating the teachings of Mao to enable the UE to use a known timer such as the CG-SDT TAT timer to improve the small data transmission by the UE while in the inactive state.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laselva et al., US 12581563, (“Laselva”).
Kim does not teach but Laselva teaches “wherein the initiating of the procedure to resume the radio connection is in response to determining that the UE has non-SDT data to transmit to the RAN” (col. 11, lines 5-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention to modify Kim, Ofinno, and Tsai by incorporating the teachings of Laselva to enable the UE to terminate the small data transmission when non-SDT data is available for transmission to the base station.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “receiving, subsequently to the transmitting of the request to resume the radio connection, a rejection of the request; and in response to the rejection, restarting the SDT alignment timer.”
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “receiving, subsequently to the transmitting of the request to resume the radio connection, a rejection of the request; and in response to the rejection, resetting a Medium Access Control (MAC) entity.”
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest “receiving, subsequently to the transmitting of the request to resume the radio connection, a rejection of the request; and in response to the rejection, (i) resetting a MAC entity and (ii) restarting the SDT alignment timer after resetting the MAC entity.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, re claim 1, that stopping a timer upon a cell selection or a cell reselection differs from stopping a timer in response to initiating a procedure to resume the radio connection. This argument is not persuasive. Tsai teaches the timer may be stopped when/after the UE establishes/resumes an RRC connection from the RRC_INACTIVE state on a cell different from the cell where the CG configuration was provided and/or the timer may be stopped when the UE initiates an RRC re-establishment procedure, see paragraph no. 0289. As can be seen by these disclosures, Tsai teaches that the timer is stopped when (or after) the UE resumes an RRC connection, thus meeting/teaching the limitation in question (i.e., the limitation “stopping the SDT alignment timer” … “in response to the initiating”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON TAE C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414