DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the argument and amendment filed July 24, 2026.
Claims 1-14 are amended.
Claims 15 is Canceled.
Pro se Paragraphs
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at www.uspto.gov/FindPatentAttorney.
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted. Please note that the Office also offers initiatives that are available to applicants after the close of prosecution. See https://www.uspto.gov/patents/initiatives/uspto-patent-applications-iniatives-timeline for more information.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab/free-legal-assistance. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 -14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Per Step 1, claim 1-8 and 12-14 is to a system (i.e., a machine), claim 9- 11 to a method (i.e., a process). Thus, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claim 1 is:
A computer- implemented system for controlling access to interactions associated with a real property, comprising: a client device executing a software application configured to generate a digital wallet comprising a cryptographic key pair and store a verifiable credential associated with a user, the credential indicating a relationship of the user to a real property:
a host server system configured to verify identity data of the user, issue the verifiable credential representing a role selected from neighbor, buyer, seller, or owner of the real property, and update or revoke the credential:
a distributed ledger system configured to store data associated with the credential and a public key: and
an access control engine configured to receive a request to establish a communication session, perform cryptographic validation of the credential, determine whether the credential satisfies a predefined access rule associated with the real property, prevent establishment of the communication session unless the validation satisfies the predefined access rule, and
establish the communication session upon successful validation.
The abstract idea of claim 9 is:
A computer-implemented method comprising generating a digital wallet, issuing a credential associated with a real property role, storing data on a distributed ledger, receiving a request to establish communication, performing cryptographic validation, determining whether a predefined access rule is satisfied, preventing communication if not satisfied, and establishing communication if satisfied.
The abstract idea steps italicized above are those which could be performed mentally, including with pen and paper. The steps describe, at a high level of generating and validating a secure communication. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, including observations, evaluations, judgements, and/or opinions, then it falls within the Mental Processes – Concepts Performed in the Human Mind grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally, and alternatively, the abstract idea steps italicized above relate to rules and instructions of creating, registering, confirming and securing communication between people, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people. This is further supported by [0009] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and/or following rules or instructions, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Managing Personal Behavior Relationships, Interactions Between People grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP 2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim(s) 1 recites the following additional elements: A computer- implemented system, a client device executing a software application, a cryptographic key pair and store a verifiable credential, a user, a host server system, data of the user, a distributed ledger system, a public key, an access control engine.
Claim(s) 9 recites the following additional elements: a digital wallet, data on a distributed ledger.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in [0010] of applicant’s specification as filed, for example.
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system applied to the tasks of the abstract idea. Because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a generic computing system, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, when viewed in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, per Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Therefore, per Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP 2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two pertaining to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system with machine learning models. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
The analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well:
Dependent claims 3, 5, 6, 12 and 13 contains additional steps that further narrow the abstract idea above.
Claim 3 recites the following additional elements: Software application.
Claim 5 recites the following additional elements: encrypted mediator network.
Claim 6 recites the following additional elements: cryptographic key pair.
Claim 12 recites the following additional elements: real property identifier, distributed ledger
Similar to above, these additional elements are simply facilitating the tasks of the abstract idea, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Whether viewed alone or in combination, this does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and/or add significantly more. The claims are ineligible.
Accordingly, claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al [US 2017/031,7997 A1] hereafter Smith, in view of Friedman et al [US 2014/008,9126 A1], hereafter Friedman, in further view of Paraskeva et al [US 2024/017,1579 A1] hereafter Paraskeva.
As per claim 1;
Smith discloses installing a digital wallet on a mobile or client device; and a storage of cryptographic keys and user information; See [0170] [0185]
A computer- implemented system for controlling access to interactions associated with a real property, comprising: a client device executing a software application configured to generate a digital wallet comprising a cryptographic key pair and store a verifiable credential associated with a user,
{[0170] the attestor kiosk or station may cause the user to install the attestor's application before attestation protocol and validation protocol is initiated, such that, for example, the user's information and any private keys required for the attestation transaction are generated and stored only on user's mobile device and not in the kiosk and not at the attestor…… The public keys, private keys, or attest keys may be stored in the user's digital wallet.
[0185] the user information is stored on the user's device. In one embodiment, the user information is stored in the user's digital wallet.}
Smith discloses the cryptographic key pair
{[0202] This causes a cryptographic asymmetric key pair (public key and private key) to be created for the user (step 610 of FIG. 6). This key pair may be created by the attestor, the digital wallet provider, or other device. With a private key, the user is able to perform a signing protocol to sign attestation transactions.}
Smith discloses a verifiable credential associated with a user; see [0185] [0204]
{[0185] The signed attestation transaction may include the user's public attest key, and is stored at an attestation address…. the user information that was validated and used to generate the attest key is stored by the user…… the user information is stored on the user's device. In one embodiment, the user information is stored in the user's digital wallet.
[0204] the information has been previously attested to in an attestation transaction stored within a centralized or distributed ledger at an attestation address,}
Smith discloses an information or property belonging to a user; See [0120]
the credential indicating a relationship of the user to a real property:
{[0120] A validator may include without limitation someone or something that confirms the validity, accuracy, ownership, or other proprietary aspect of information or property belonging to a user.
[0143] The validator seeks to establish a degree of confidence that the user is who they claim to be, or that the information the user wishes to convey to another party is authentic, or that the user has control or possession over the property or rights they assert.}
Smith discloses the verification of an individual identity; See [0217] [0224]
a host server system configured to verify identity data of the user, issue the verifiable credential
{[0217] the attestor may perform an attestation protocol and a validation protocol on the user information… The one or more validators 1250 may check the validity of the data against internal and external records according to a validation protocol
[0224] In one embodiment, the attestor may verify that the user indicated in the information sent by the organization is a registered user that holds a valid account at an attestor.}
Smith discloses revoking and updating the credentials; see [0145] [0199] [0197]
update or revoke the credential:
{[0145] the transaction may be revoked by spending the dust, and a new transaction with updated user information may be written.
[0197] a new signed transaction is generated to revoke the previous attested information
[0199] To edit the details of an attestation transaction, the existing transaction can be revoked and then an entirely new transaction can be created using the attestation protocol.}
Smith discloses the cryptographic verification; See [0188] [0083]
perform cryptographic validation of the credential,
{[0188] the verification protocol 210 may send a challenge cryptographic nonce to the user 110 to be signed using the signing protocol and the user's private key…. the user 110 signs the cryptographic nonce using a signing protocol and the user's private key. This confirms that the user 110 still has current control over that particular private/public key pair.
[0083] the existence of the attestation transaction at the attestation address in the centralized or distributed ledger and verifying that the attestation transaction has not been revoked;}
Smith does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Friedman discloses the property relationship of the buyer and seller role and owner verification
representing a role selected from neighbor, buyer, seller, or owner of the real property, and
{[0006] the one or more processors provide an interface to enable the registrant to select whether the registrant is participating as a bidder or as a seller.
[0011] the one or more processors operate to define a set of roles, including at least a seller role and a bidder role. Each role may include a set of permissions that define what actions a registrant of that role can perform in connection with the multiple auction forums.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the Smith’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Friedman et al’s property relationship of the buyer and seller role and owner verification to enable the participation of the bidder and seller.
Smith does not explicitly disclose the following; however, Paraskeva discloses the distributed ledger stores credential data; See [0035] [0046] [0070]; storing of the public key; see [0034]
a distributed ledger system configured to store data associated with the credential and a public key: and
{[0034] The signing of the copy of the credential schema creates another transaction that is added to the distributed ledger 108 …..a public key of the issuer 106 can be included within the credential definition transaction, which can allow validation of credentials signed by the issuer 106 with the issuer's unique key.
[0035] the credential data stored on the distributed ledger 108 includes a credential schema (and identifier thereof), a credential definition (and identifier thereof), and an issuer identifier.
[0046] the gateway computing system 102 compares the credential to credential data (e.g., credential schemas, credential definitions, issuer identifiers) stored on the distributed ledger 108 to determine whether the credential meets a set of conditions.
[0070] the user computing system is configured to store the credential in a digital wallet that is not accessible by any third party without permission from the user}
Paraskeva discloses receiving a request by an access control engine; see [0044] [0060]
an access control engine configured to receive a request to establish a communication session,
{[0044] the gateway computing system 102 receives, from the user computing system 104, a request to access the software application 112,
[0060] receiving, from a user computing system, a request to access a software application hosted on a server with which the gateway computing system is in communication.}
Paraskeva discloses what the credentials check; See [0046-0047]
determine whether the credential satisfies a predefined access rule associated with the real property,
{[0046] the gateway computing system 102 compares the credential to credential data (e.g., credential schemas, credential definitions, issuer identifiers) stored on the distributed ledger 108 to determine whether the credential meets a set of conditions.
[0047] to determine whether the credential meets one or more conditions that make up the set of conditions….. the credential is associated with a particular credential schema and a particular credential definition,}
Paraskeva discloses establishing an authorized session after the credentials satisfies the required conditions; see [0008] [0058]
prevent establishment of the communication session unless the validation satisfies the predefined access rule, and
{[0008] in response to determining that the credential meets the set of conditions, establishing an authorized session between the user computing system and the server such that communication between the user computing system and the server passes through the gateway computing system.
[0058] either grants or denies access to the software application 112 (or other protected resource, in other scenarios), or routes the user to a trust elevation service.}
Paraskeva discloses the successful credential validation; See [0008] [0056]
establish the communication session upon successful validation.
{[0008] in response to determining that the credential meets the set of conditions, establishing an authorized session between the user computing system and the server such that communication between the user computing system and the server passes through the gateway computing system.
[0056] the gateway 118 responsively establishes the authorized session between the user computing system 104 and the server 110.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the Smith’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Paraskeva et al’s distributed ledger stores credential data, storing of the public key, request by an access control engine, credentials check, the successful credential validation to enable successful validation.
As per claim 2;
Smith discloses the issuance of the credential [real estate or property] by an attestor, See [0119] [0142]; and the verification of the issuer; see [0161]
The system of claim 1, wherein the credential is issued by a verified real estate agent.
{[0119] An attestor may include without limitation an attestation site or device, a company, a person, a computer-implemented algorithm, a decentralized computing system, and the like. An attestor may include a country, a government, a society, a tribe, a hospital, a birthing center, a census bureau, a parent, a creator, a source, a witness, a neighborhood, a district, a town, a county, a state, a prefecture, a state, a province, a nation-state, a nation, a parliament, a military organization, a family, a community, a government, a militia, a police force, a group, a faction, a club, an ambassador, an embassy, a home, and the like. An attestor may also or instead include an independent third party observer, a natural person, an artificial person, a machine, an online service, a software service, an online application program interface (API), a client-server application, a desktop application, a mobile application, and the like.
[0142] The attestor may perform the attestation protocol, in order to authenticate the user's information and to create an attestation transaction on a centralized or distributed ledger, which serves as a certification that the user's information has been authenticated.
[0161] The attestation transaction should spend some amount to the attestation address, confirming that the transaction is signed by a trusted attestor's key, which affirms that the transaction in the centralized or distributed ledger is valid, and that the proffered user information is authentic.}
As per claim 3;
Smith discloses visually representation as a barcode or moving visual image; See [0208]
The system of claim 1, wherein the credential is visually represented within the software application.
{[0208] Upon selection of information, in step 830 the application presents a visual code representing the selected attested information on the user's device…. the visual code is a barcode or a moving visual image. The visual code represents the selected attested information… the user may show this presentation to the verifier… the verifier may scan the visual code }
As per claim 4;
Smith discloses the successful identification and attestation verification; See [0023-0224]
The system of claim 1, wherein participation in the communication session is restricted to users having the predefined role.
{[0223] the user 1305 may be prompted or asked to authorize the access to the service, and may be able to allow or deny the access to the service based on a query presented at the user's device.
[0224] If the user is registered and does hold a valid account, in step 1354, the attestor 1330 uses the information and the public key to generate the attest key and uses the attest key to generate the attestation address, and verifies that the attestation transaction is present at the attestation address and that the attestation transaction has not been revoked…. If the attestor 1330 determines that there is not a valid attestation transaction representing the user information, then the attestor 1330 alerts the organization 1320 that they are not able to verify the information of the individual 1310 and in step 1355 c, the organization falls back to traditional methods of verifying the individual 1310 in order to process or decline the business transaction.}
As per claim 5;
The combination of Smith and Friedman does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Paraskeva discloses a peer-to-peer encrypted channel;
The system of claim 1, wherein communication is transmitted through an encrypted mediator network.
{[0069] communicating with the user computing system over a peer-to-peer encrypted channel between the gateway computing system and the user computing system.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of Smith and Friedman’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Paraskeva et al’s peer-to-peer encrypted channel to enable successful validation.
As per claim 6;
The combination of Smith and Friedman does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Paraskeva discloses an encrypted channel;
The system of claim 1, wherein messages are encrypted using the cryptographic key pair.
{[0029] the digital wallet also includes encryption keys that enable communication between the user agent and the gateway computing system 102.
[0069] peer-to-peer encrypted channel between the gateway computing system and the user computing system.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of Smith and Friedman’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Paraskeva et al’s peer-to-peer encrypted channel to enable successful validation.
Smith discloses a cryptographic asymmetric key pair
{[0202] This causes a cryptographic asymmetric key pair (public key and private key) to be created for the user}
As per claim 7;
Smith discloses the generation of an application;
The system of claim 1, wherein the application generates an invitation associated with the real property.
{[0155] a barcode or a QR code or some other code that can be scanned by a user's device, or the site may otherwise communicate with the user's device.
[0156] The user's device, through the attestor application or through other means, establishes a direct link to the site that is looking to verify the user to allow the user to make the business transaction or purchase. The direct link may be a URL.}
The combination of Smith and Paraskeva does not explicitly disclose the following, however; Friedmann discloses the real property
{[0004] an online auction system includes a set of memory resources that store auction data and one or more processors. The one or more processors implement multiple auction forums for transacting a corresponding set of assets.
[0009] a barcode or a QR code or some other code that can be scanned by a user's device, or the site may otherwise communicate with the user's device.
[0023] the asset corresponds to a real property item,}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of Smith and Paraskeva’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Paraskeva et al’s real property to enable an online auction.
As per claim 8;
Smith discloses the record of transaction.
The system of claim 1, wherein communication events are logged.
{[0020] the centralized or distributed ledger providing a record of transactions;
[0185] This signed attestation transaction is communicated to the network by the attestor 120, for storage in the centralized or distributed ledger 150.
[0221] verifies whether the attestation transaction is stored within a centralized or distributed ledger at the attestation address, and whether the attestation transaction has not been revoked}
As per claim 12;
The combination of Smith and Friedman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Paraskeva discloses the credential schema identifier and the storage; See [0034-0035] [0068]
The system of claim 1, wherein the predefined access rule is associated with a real property identifier stored in the distributed ledger.
{[0068] determining a security policy defining credentials required to access the software application where the determining includes storing, in memory, data correlating the credential schema identifier and the credential definition identifier to the software application.
[0034] a public key of the issuer 106 can be included within the credential definition transaction
[0035] the credential data stored on the distributed ledger 108 includes a credential schema (and identifier thereof), a credential definition (and identifier thereof), and an issuer identifier.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of combination of Smith and Friedman’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Paraskeva et al’s credential schema identifier and the storage to enable proper identification and storage.
As per claim 13;
Smith discloses transmitting and denial message; See [0221-0223]
The system of claim 1, wherein the access control engine denies the communication request without transmitting a message to a second user.
{[0221] if the information has been previously attested to in an attestation transaction and the attestation transaction has not been revoked, the attestor sends a notification message to the user on a known communication channel or via the attestation application on the user's device.
[0223] the attestor 1330 sends a notification message on a communication channel of the user…the user 1305 sends a response to the notification message…the attestor 1330 sends a notification to the organization 1320 that the business transaction is approved by the user 1305}
As per claim 14;
Smith discloses cryptographic validation, digital signatures, verification of the digital signature, credential as attestation transaction; See [0139] [0196]
The system of claim 1, wherein cryptographic validation includes verifying a digital signature associated with the credential.
{[0139] A digital signature is used to verify a message. The attestation address is a digital signature. A party can check that the attested information is genuine by hashing the message with a public key, verifying that a signature was produced from a party controlling a private key that is represented by a known public key
[0196] the verifier may use the signed cryptographic nonce and the user's public key to verify that the user is who they say they are,…. In one embodiment, the verifier may create the attestation transaction using an application or website of the attestor.}
Claim(s) 9 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al [US 2017/031,7997 A1] hereafter Smith, in view of Paraskeva et al [US 2024/017,1579 A1] hereafter Paraskeva.
As per claim 9;
Smith discloses installing a digital wallet on a mobile or client device; and a storage of cryptographic keys and user information; See [0170] [0185]
A computer-implemented method comprising generating a digital wallet, issuing a credential associated with a real property role, storing data on a distributed ledger,
{[0170] the attestor kiosk or station may cause the user to install the attestor's application before attestation protocol and validation protocol is initiated, such that, for example, the user's information and any private keys required for the attestation transaction are generated and stored only on user's mobile device and not in the kiosk and not at the attestor…… The public keys, private keys, or attest keys may be stored in the user's digital wallet.
[0185] the user information is stored on the user's device. In one embodiment, the user information is stored in the user's digital wallet.}
Smith discloses the cryptographic key pair
{[0202] This causes a cryptographic asymmetric key pair (public key and private key) to be created for the user (step 610 of FIG. 6). This key pair may be created by the attestor, the digital wallet provider, or other device. With a private key, the user is able to perform a signing protocol to sign attestation transactions.}
Smith discloses the cryptographic verification; See [0188] [0083]
receiving a request to establish communication, performing cryptographic validation,
{[0188] the verification protocol 210 may send a challenge cryptographic nonce to the user 110 to be signed using the signing protocol and the user's private key…. the user 110 signs the cryptographic nonce using a signing protocol and the user's private key. This confirms that the user 110 still has current control over that particular private/public key pair.
[0083] the existence of the attestation transaction at the attestation address in the centralized or distributed ledger and verifying that the attestation transaction has not been revoked;}
Smith does not explicitly disclose the following, however Paraskeva discloses the distributed ledger stores credential data; See [0035] [0046] [0070]; storing of the public key; see [0034]
{[0034] The signing of the copy of the credential schema creates another transaction that is added to the distributed ledger 108 …..a public key of the issuer 106 can be included within the credential definition transaction, which can allow validation of credentials signed by the issuer 106 with the issuer's unique key.
[0035] the credential data stored on the distributed ledger 108 includes a credential schema (and identifier thereof), a credential definition (and identifier thereof), and an issuer identifier.
[0046] the gateway computing system 102 compares the credential to credential data (e.g., credential schemas, credential definitions, issuer identifiers) stored on the distributed ledger 108 to determine whether the credential meets a set of conditions.
[0070] the user computing system is configured to store the credential in a digital wallet that is not accessible by any third party without permission from the user}
Paraskeva discloses what the credentials check; See [0046-0047]
determining whether a predefined access rule is satisfied, preventing communication if not satisfied, and
{[0046] the gateway computing system 102 compares the credential to credential data (e.g., credential schemas, credential definitions, issuer identifiers) stored on the distributed ledger 108 to determine whether the credential meets a set of conditions.
[0047] to determine whether the credential meets one or more conditions that make up the set of conditions….. the credential is associated with a particular credential schema and a particular credential definition,}
Paraskeva discloses establishing an authorized session after the credentials satisfies the required conditions; see [0008] [0058]
{[0008] in response to determining that the credential meets the set of conditions, establishing an authorized session between the user computing system and the server such that communication between the user computing system and the server passes through the gateway computing system.
[0058] either grants or denies access to the software application 112 (or other protected resource, in other scenarios), or routes the user to a trust elevation service.}
Paraskeva discloses the successful credential validation; See [0008] [0056]
establishing communication if satisfied.
{[0008] in response to determining that the credential meets the set of conditions, establishing an authorized session between the user computing system and the server such that communication between the user computing system and the server passes through the gateway computing system.
[0056] the gateway 118 responsively establishes the authorized session between the user computing system 104 and the server 110.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust Smith’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Paraskeva et al’s distributed ledger stores credential data, credentials check and establishing an authorized session after the credentials satisfies the required conditions to enable successful credential validation.
As per claim 11;
Smith discloses;
The method of claim 9, wherein the credential is revocable.
{[0189] the user 110 or attestor 120 may revoke an attestation made in the past with use of a revocation protocol 212.
[0197] a new signed transaction is generated to revoke the previous attested information
[0198] an attestation transaction authenticating user information may be revoked by spending the cryptocurrency and thus invalidating the transaction that was created to represent the earlier attestation.}
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al, in view of Paraskeva et al, in view of Friedman et al, in further view of Dziuk et al [US 2023/041,0168 A1] hereafter Dziuk.
As per claim 10;
The combination of Smith, Paraskeva and Friedman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Dziuk discloses, the buyer communicating with users in the neighborhood [0093]; the buyer and seller review each other’s verified information [0008], the transaction between the buyer and seller [0098] and the verification of the user; See [0117-0119]
The method of claim 9, wherein communication occurs between a buyer and a verified neighbor.
{[0008] presenting a trust profile of the seller to the buyer, the trust profile including: reputation data including: reputational factors, including: at least one rating of at least one of the seller's prior transactions, from another user; historical data about the seller's conformance to terms of the seller's prior transactions; and information about a verification level of the seller; and a trust score computed based on at least some of the reputational factors, including a number of the seller's prior transactions; and a transaction coins element representing a quantity of transaction coins that have been earned by the seller;
[0093] the options include buying, selling, or browsing through transaction offerings; setting up an account receivable payment plan for an existing debt; viewing and communicating with other users in the user's neighborhood;
[0117] the account information is verified. In at least some embodiments, one or more of the e-mail address, mailing address, phone number, and bank account information are verified.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine/modify/adjust the combination of combination of Smith, Paraskeva and Friedman’s method and system of providing verification of the identity of digital entity to include Dziuk et al’s buyer communicating with users in the neighborhood, the buyer and seller review each other’s verified information and the transaction between the buyer and seller, and the verification of the user, to enable successful transaction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments are not directed towards the previous rejections. Based on the amended claim language, claims 1-14 are maintaining the 35 USC 101 and prior art rejections, as considered above.
In response to the amended claims, Examiner includes the prior art of Smith et al, in view of Paraskeva et al, in view of Friedman et al, in further view of Dziuk et al to teach the amended limitations.
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final reply that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/VICTOR CHIGOZIRIM ESONU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629