DETAILED ACTION
According to a preliminary amendment filed on April 21, 2025, the applicants have canceled claims 10-24 and furthermore, have amended claims 3-4, 6-9, 27 and 30.
Claims 1-9 and 25-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4, The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a):
Claims 1, 3-9 25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no written description for regenerating bladder tissue, self-renewal and cellular differentiation by every known AhR effector (agonists as well as antagonists) in the art. The only written description is for regenerating bladder tissue, self-renewal and cellular differentiation by AhR antagonist, StemRegenin 1 disclosed on pages 2-3 of the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Bernstein U.S. Patent 9,834,755 B2).
Bernstein discloses compositions and methods for enhanced generation of hematopoietic stem/progenitor cells. The method of enhanced generation of hematopoietic stem/progenitor cells disclosed in claims 1-4 and 8-17 by Bernstein anticipates the instant claims when AhR antagonist is represented by StemRegenin 1 in the instant claims.
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Jackson (stem cell Res.).
Jackson discloses targeting the aryl hydrocarbon receptor nuclear translocator complex with DMOG and StemRegenin 1 improves primitive hematopoietic stem cell expansion. The induction of self-renewal and differentiation of HSPCs by StemRegenin 1 (see abstract) disclosed by Jackson clearly anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boitano (Science, cited on applicant’s form 1449) in view of Iannacone (Pediatric Res., cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Boitano teaches regeneration of human hematopoietic stem cells with AhR antagonist, StemRegenin 1 (see abstract). Boitano meets all the limitations of instant claims except that Boitano teaches regeneration of stem cells instead of urinary bladder cells. However, Iannacone teaches that the use of bone marrow stem cells has demonstrated significant advances in bladder tissue regeneration as multiple aspects of bladder tissue have been recapitulated including the urothelium, bladder smooth muscle, vasculature and peripheral nerves (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to regenerate bladder tissue with AhR antagonist StemRegenin 1 with reasonable expectation of success.
13. Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (Stem Cell Res.) in view of Iannacone (Pediatric Res., cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Jackson discloses targeting the aryl hydrocarbon receptor nuclear translocator complex with DMOG and StemRegenin 1 improves primitive hematopoietic stem cell expansion.
The induction of self-renewal and differentiation of HSPCs by StemRegenin 1 (see abstract) disclosed by Jackson meets all the limitations of instant claim except that cells are HSPCs instead of instant epithelial or endothelial cells. However, Iannacone teaches that the use of bone marrow stem cells has demonstrated significant advances in bladder tissue regeneration as multiple aspects of bladder tissue have been recapitulated including the urothelium, bladder smooth muscle, vasculature and peripheral nerves (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to induce self-renewal and differentiation of epithelial cells or endothelial cells with AhR antagonist StemRegenin 1 with reasonable expectation of success.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621