DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 08/19/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 18-20, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0112561) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2019/0387418).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving signaling indicating a configuration for the UE to communicate with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point [see ¶¶ 24, 125, 153; receiving configuration information from a base station that indicates a first default beam for receiving downlink transmissions from a first transmission-reception point and a second default beam for receiving downlink transmissions from a second transmission-reception point];
receiving a control signal identifying a set of channels sharing a common transmission configuration indication [see Fig. 2, ¶ 105; receiving an indication of the configured default beams may be provided in signaling from base station, such as in a MAC-CE, RRC signaling, and the like (a single MAC-CE may indicate both default beams for both TRPs 205), wherein the default beam for each TRP 205 may be decoupled from the PDCCH beam]; and
communicating with at least one of the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point according to the common transmission configuration indication based at least in part on the received control signal [see ¶¶ 151-152, 164; receive concurrent downlink communications from the first transmission-reception point using the first default beam and from the second transmission-reception point using the second default beam].
Zhou discloses all aspects set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the common transmission configuration indication comprising a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point.
However, Yerramalli discloses
receiving signaling indicating a configuration [see Fig. 4, ¶ 82; at Step 425, receiving uplink transmission configuration states, along with the corresponding sets of transmission parameters, wherein the transmission at 425 may be via RRC signaling that provides the information to the UE 410];
receiving a control signal identifying a set of channels sharing a common transmission configuration indication [see Fig. 4, ¶¶ 37, 85; at Step 440, receiving an indication of the uplink transmission configuration state which can be transmitted in a MAC-CE)];
the common transmission configuration indication comprising a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point [see Fig. 2, ¶¶ 72-73; a first uplink transmission configuration state may allow the network to perform joint processing of the received uplink signal across a first number of TRPs (e.g., across four TRPs)] and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point [see Fig. 2, ¶ 73; a second uplink transmission configuration state may allow the network to perform joint processing of the received uplink signal across a second number of TRPs (e.g., across two TRPs)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the common transmission configuration indication comprising a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point” as taught by Yerramalli in the system of Zhou, so that it would to improve throughput and improve the reliability of communications in a wireless communications system [see Yerramalli; ¶ 108].
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying at least one channel associated with a second transmission configuration indication indicating one or more transmission configuration indicator states for the first transmission reception point, the second transmission reception point, or both , wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication.
However, Yerramalli discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying at least one channel associated with a second transmission configuration indication indicating one or more transmission configuration indicator states for the first transmission reception point, the second transmission reception point, or both [see Fig. 2, ¶ 72; two or more downlink TCI states may be associated with different sets or clusters of TRPs used for transmission at the base station 205 side (e.g., TCI state 1=joint transmission from the first base station 205-a and second base station 205-b; TCI state 2=joint transmission from first base station 205-a, second base station 205-b, third base station 205-c, and fourth base station 205-d, etc.)], wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication [see Fig. 2, ¶ 73; wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying at least one channel associated with a second transmission configuration indication indicating one or more transmission configuration indicator states for the first transmission reception point, the second transmission reception point, or both , wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication” as taught by Yerramalli in the system of Zhou, so that it would to improve throughput and improve the reliability of communications in a wireless communications system [see Yerramalli; ¶ 108].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying at least one reference signal type associated with a second transmission configuration indication indicating one or more transmission configuration indicator states for the first transmission reception point, the second transmission reception point, or both, wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication.
However, Yerramalli discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying at least one reference signal type associated with a second transmission configuration indication indicating one or more transmission configuration indicator states for the first transmission reception point, the second transmission reception point, or both [see Fig. 2, ¶ 72; a first TCI state indication may enable the UE 215 to know which set of reference signals the downlink transmission is Quasi-Co-Located (QCL) with, in a deployment that utilizes beamforming], wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication [see Fig. 2, ¶ 73; wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying at least one reference signal type associated with a second transmission configuration indication indicating one or more transmission configuration indicator states for the first transmission reception point, the second transmission reception point, or both, wherein the second transmission configuration indication is different from the common transmission configuration indication” as taught by Yerramalli in the system of Zhou, so that it would to improve throughput and improve the reliability of communications in a wireless communications system [see Yerramalli; ¶ 108].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein the set of channels comprises at least one of a non-dedicated reception on the physical downlink control channel [see ¶ 105; wherein the set of channels comprises a non-dedicated reception on the physical downlink control channel].
Yerramalli also discloses wherein the set of channels comprises a non-dedicated reception on the physical downlink shared channel [see ¶ 85; wherein the set of channels comprises a non-dedicated reception on the physical downlink shared channel].
Regarding claim 8, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou further discloses wherein the control signal comprises a radio resource control signaling or medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating the set of channels [see ¶ 105; wherein the control signal comprises a radio resource control signaling or medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating the set of channels].
Regarding claims 18-20 and 24-25, the claims recite the method for wireless communication at a network entity to perform the method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) recited as in claims 1-3 and 7-8 respectively; therefore, claims 18-20 and 24-25 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1-3 and 7-8 respectively.
Claims 9-10, 17, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0112561) in view of KIM et al. (US 2021/0352649).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving signaling indicating a configuration for the UE to communicate with a first transmission reception point and a second transmission reception point [see ¶¶ 24, 125, 153; receiving configuration information from a base station that indicates a first default beam for receiving downlink transmissions from a first transmission-reception point and a second default beam for receiving downlink transmissions from a second transmission-reception point];
receiving a control signal [see Fig. 2, ¶ 105; receiving an indication of the configured default beams may be provided in signaling from base station, such as in a MAC-CE, RRC signaling, and the like (a single MAC-CE may indicate both default beams for both TRPs 205), wherein the default beam for each TRP 205 may be decoupled from the PDCCH beam]; and
communicating with at least one of the first transmission reception point or the second transmission reception point according to the common transmission configuration indication based at least in part on the received control signal [see ¶¶ 151-152, 164; receive concurrent downlink communications from the first transmission-reception point using the first default beam and from the second transmission-reception point using the second default beam].
Zhou discloses all aspects set forth above but does not explicitly disclose receiving a control signal identifying a mapping between one or more channels and one or more transmission configuration indication codepoints associated with a common transmission configuration indication, the common transmission configuration indication comprising a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point.
However, KIM discloses
receiving signaling indicating a configuration for the UE to communicate [see ¶ 275; receive such indication/configuration may receive a corresponding NZP CSI-RS; also see ¶ 368, when UE receives/transmits data/DCI/UCI by using a TCI state index X, it may mean that data/DCI/UCI is received/transmitted from/to a TRP index X];
receiving a control signal identifying a mapping between one or more channels and one or more transmission configuration indication codepoints associated with a common transmission configuration indication [see ¶¶ 276-277; at Step 440, receive an activation command by MAC CE signaling used to map up to 8 TCI states to a codepoint of a DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication, wherein the activation command carrying by a PDSCH and mapping indicated between a TCI state and a codepoint of a DCI field];
the common transmission configuration indication comprising a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point [see ¶ 368; when UE receives/transmits data/DCI/UCI by using a TCI state index X, it may mean that data/DCI/UCI is received/transmitted from/to a TRP index X].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the common transmission configuration indication comprising a first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point and a second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point” as taught by KIM in the system of Zhou, so that it would to support accommodation of explosive data traffic, a remarkable increase in a transmission rate per user, accommodation of the significantly increased number of connected devices, very low End-to-End latency and high energy efficiency [see KIM; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 10, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying the mapping between the one or more channels and a transmission configuration indication field included in the common transmission configuration indication.
However, KIM discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying the mapping between the one or more channels and a transmission configuration indication field included in the common transmission configuration indication [see ¶¶ 276-277; receiving an activation command by MAC CE signaling used to map up to 8 TCI states to a codepoint of a DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication, wherein the activation command carrying by a PDSCH and mapping indicated between a TCI state and a codepoint of a DCI field].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying the mapping between the one or more channels and a transmission configuration indication field included in the common transmission configuration indication” as taught by KIM in the system of Zhou, so that it would to support accommodation of explosive data traffic, a remarkable increase in a transmission rate per user, accommodation of the significantly increased number of connected devices, very low End-to-End latency and high energy efficiency [see KIM; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 17, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 9.
Zhou further discloses wherein the control signal comprises a radio resource control signaling or medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating the one or more channels [see ¶ 105; wherein the control signal comprises a radio resource control signaling or medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling indicating the one or more channels].
Regarding claims 26 and 27, the claims recite the method for wireless communication at a network entity to perform the method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) recited as in claims 9 and 10; therefore, claims 26 and 27 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 9 and 10.
Claims 4-6 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0112561) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2019/0387418), and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0214173).
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal indicating that the set of channels associated with a common reference signal type shares the common transmission configuration indication.
However, Matsumura discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal indicating that the set of channels associated with a common reference signal type shares the common transmission configuration indication [see ¶¶ 43, 81, 124; unified TCI framework may indicate a common beam (common TCI state) and apply same to all UL and DL channels].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal indicating that the set of channels associated with a common reference signal type shares the common transmission configuration indication” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving a downlink control information comprising a first transmission configuration indication field and a second transmission configuration indication field, wherein the first transmission configuration indication field indicates the first transmission configuration indication state, and the second transmission configuration indication field indicates the second transmission configuration indication state.
However, Matsumura discloses further comprising: receiving a downlink control information comprising a first transmission configuration indication field and a second transmission configuration indication field, wherein the first transmission configuration indication field indicates the first transmission configuration indication state, and the second transmission configuration indication field indicates the second transmission configuration indication state [see ¶¶ 137, 211-212; receiving DCI with “i” correspond to an index of a code point in a TCI field with “TCI state ID.sub.i,j” may indicate the jth TCI state of the code point of the ith TCI state field].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: receiving a downlink control information comprising a first transmission configuration indication field and a second transmission configuration indication field, wherein the first transmission configuration indication field indicates the first transmission configuration indication state, and the second transmission configuration indication field indicates the second transmission configuration indication state” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli discloses the method of claim 1.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both comprise at least one of a respective joint transmission configuration indicator state, a downlink transmission configuration indicator state, an uplink transmission configuration indicator state, or any combination thereof.
However, Matsumura discloses wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both comprise at least one of a respective joint transmission configuration indicator state, a downlink transmission configuration indicator state, an uplink transmission configuration indicator state, or any combination thereof [see ¶¶ 165; a plurality of TCI states configured by the RRC, a plurality of TCI states activated by the MAC CE, pool, TCI state pool, active TCI state pool, common TCI state pool, joint TCI state pool, separate TCI state pool, common UL TCI state pool, common DL TCI state pool, common TCI state pool configured/activated by the RRC/MAC CE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both comprise at least one of a respective joint transmission configuration indicator state, a downlink transmission configuration indicator state, an uplink transmission configuration indicator state, or any combination thereof” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and Yerramalli, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claims 21-23, the claims recite the method of claim 18 to perform the method recited as in claims 4-6 respectively; therefore, claims 21-23 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 4-6 respectively.
Claims 11 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0112561) in view of KIM et al. (US 2021/0352649), and further in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2021/0226688).
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying the mapping between a first transmission configuration indication codepoint and one or more transmission configuration indications associated with a physical downlink control channel and the mapping between a second transmission configuration indication codepoint and one or more transmission configuration indications associated with a physical downlink shared channel.
However, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying the mapping between a first transmission configuration indication codepoint and one or more transmission configuration indications associated with a physical downlink control channel and the mapping between a second transmission configuration indication codepoint and one or more transmission configuration indications associated with a physical downlink shared channel [see Fig. 6, ¶¶ 76; at Step 440, receive an MAC-CE indicates a set of activated TCI states 602 that are mapped to codepoints 604 of a TCI field 606 of DCI 608, where a TCI codepoint 0 is mapped to, or indicates, TCI states 4 and 5 (T4 for a first TRP and T5 for a second TRP), a TCI codepoint 1 is mapped to, or indicates, TCI states 10 and 13, a TCI codepoint 2 is mapped to, or indicates, TCI state 15 (for one of the two TRPs)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving the control signal identifying the mapping between a first transmission configuration indication codepoint and one or more transmission configuration indications associated with a physical downlink control channel and the mapping between a second transmission configuration indication codepoint and one or more transmission configuration indications associated with a physical downlink shared channel” as taught by KHOSHNEVISAN in the combined system of Zhou and KIM, so that it would to meet new requirements associated with latency, reliability, security, scalability (e.g., with Internet of Things (IoT)), and other requirements. 5G NR includes services associated with enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), massive machine type communications (mMTC), and ultra-reliable low latency communications (URLLC) [see KHOSHNEVISAN; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 28, the claim recites the method of claim 26 to perform the method of claim 9 recited as in claim 11; therefore, claim 28 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 11.
Claims 12-14, 16 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0112561) in view of KIM et al. (US 2021/0352649), and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0214173).
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9, but not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying a transmission configuration indication codepoint of a single unified transmission configuration indication, wherein the single unified transmission configuration indication indicates one or more transmission configuration indication states for one or more channels configured without repetition.
However, Matsumura discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying a transmission configuration indication codepoint of a single unified transmission configuration indication, wherein the single unified transmission configuration indication indicates one or more transmission configuration indication states for one or more channels configured without repetition [see ¶¶ 80-81; receiving MAC CE identifying an unified TCI framework that indicate a common beam (common TCI state) and apply same to all UL and DL channels, or a UL common beam may be applied to all UL channels, and a DL common beam may be applied to all DL channels, instead of defining a TCI state or a spatial relation for each channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying a transmission configuration indication codepoint of a single unified transmission configuration indication, wherein the single unified transmission configuration indication indicates one or more transmission configuration indication states for one or more channels configured without repetition” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and KIM, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9, but not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying a transmission configuration indication codepoint of a plurality of unified transmission configuration indications, wherein the plurality of unified transmission configuration indication indicates one or more transmission configuration indication states for one or more channels configured with repetition.
However, Matsumura discloses wherein receiving the control signal further comprises:
receiving the control signal identifying a transmission configuration indication codepoint of a plurality of unified transmission configuration indications, wherein the plurality of unified transmission configuration indication indicates one or more transmission configuration indication states for one or more channels configured with repetition [see ¶¶ 80-81; receiving MAC CE identifying an unified TCI framework that indicate a common beam (common TCI state) and apply same to all UL and DL channels, or a UL common beam may be applied to all UL channels, and a DL common beam may be applied to all DL channels, instead of defining a TCI state or a spatial relation for each channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein receiving the control signal further comprises: receiving the control signal identifying a transmission configuration indication codepoint of a plurality of unified transmission configuration indications, wherein the plurality of unified transmission configuration indication indicates one or more transmission configuration indication states for one or more channels configured with repetition” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and KIM, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 14, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9, but not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving a downlink control information comprising a first transmission configuration indication field and a second transmission configuration indication field, wherein the first transmission configuration indication field indicates the first transmission configuration indication state, and the second transmission configuration indication field indicates the second transmission configuration indication state.
However, Matsumura discloses further comprising: receiving a downlink control information comprising a first transmission configuration indication field and a second transmission configuration indication field, wherein the first transmission configuration indication field indicates the first transmission configuration indication state, and the second transmission configuration indication field indicates the second transmission configuration indication state [see ¶¶ 137, 211-212; receiving DCI with “i” corresponding to an index of a code point in a TCI field indicated by the DCI. “TCI state ID.sub.i,j” may indicate the jth TCI state of the code point of the ith TCI state field].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “further comprising: receiving a downlink control information comprising a first transmission configuration indication field and a second transmission configuration indication field, wherein the first transmission configuration indication field indicates the first transmission configuration indication state, and the second transmission configuration indication field indicates the second transmission configuration indication state” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and KIM, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 16, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both comprise at least one of a respective joint transmission configuration indicator state, a downlink transmission configuration indicator state, an uplink transmission configuration indicator state, or any combination thereof.
However, Matsumura discloses wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both comprise at least one of a respective joint transmission configuration indicator state, a downlink transmission configuration indicator state, an uplink transmission configuration indicator state, or any combination thereof [see ¶¶ 165; a plurality of TCI states configured by the RRC, a plurality of TCI states activated by the MAC CE, pool, TCI state pool, active TCI state pool, common TCI state pool, joint TCI state pool, separate TCI state pool, common UL TCI state pool, common DL TCI state pool, common TCI state pool configured/activated by the RRC/MAC CE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both comprise at least one of a respective joint transmission configuration indicator state, a downlink transmission configuration indicator state, an uplink transmission configuration indicator state, or any combination thereof” as taught by Matsumura in the combined system of Zhou and KIM, so that it would to increasing capacity and advancement of LTE (Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) releases (Rel.) 8 and 9) [see Matsumura; ¶ 2].
Regarding claims 29-30, the claims recite the method of claim 26 to perform the method of claim 9 recited as in claims 12-13 respectively; therefore, claims 29-30 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 12-13 respectively.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2021/0112561) in view of KIM et al. (US 2021/0352649), and further in view of CHEN et al. (US 2021/0368457).
Regarding claim 15, the combined system of Zhou and KIM discloses the method of claim 9.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) activating the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point, wherein communicating with the first transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the first MAC-CE; and
receiving a second MAC-CE activating the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point, wherein communicating with the second transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the second MAC-CE.
However, CHEN discloses receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) activating the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point, wherein communicating with the first transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the first MAC-CE [see Fig. 1, ¶ 36; receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) indicating a first set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states]; and
receiving a second MAC-CE activating the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point, wherein communicating with the second transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the second MAC-CE [see Fig. 1, ¶ 36; receiving a second MAC-CE indicating a second set of TCI states].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) activating the first transmission configuration indicator state for the first transmission reception point, wherein communicating with the first transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the first MAC-CE; and receiving a second MAC-CE activating the second transmission configuration indicator state for the second transmission reception point, wherein communicating with the second transmission reception point is based at least in part on receiving the second MAC-CE” as taught by CHEN in the combined system of Zhou and KIM, so that it would to provide a common protocol that enables different wireless devices to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level [see CHEN; ¶ 4].
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2021/0226688) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 9, 18, and 26 (Fig. 8, 9, ¶¶ 97, 102, 114, 125).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469