Detail Action
This office action is in response Statuary Double Patenting (see office action dated 02/01/2026). The Statuary Double Patenting rejection is withdrawn because claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-38 are newly added claims
Claims 21-38 are pending.
Response to Argument
5.. Applicant's arguments filed on 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 21 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. (US 8977660 B1) hereinafter Xin in view of Chalouhi et al. (US 9106668 B2) hereinafter Chalouhi.
Regarding claims 21 and 30 Xin discloses a method for retrieving a file from a decentralized network (see Figs 8-9), comprising:
receiving, by a user node, a file identifier associated with a file stored in the decentralized network (col. 5 lines 3-10, and 63-65 - col 6 lines 1-11, during operation, a computing node 112, or some other computing device on the network 120 collects data, such as video data, and directs distributed storage of the data on the network 112. Such node 112 may compute the first key 220, the second key 230, and the third key 240. The hash keys are computed in connection with the data to be stored, i.e., from the data themselves, from one or more portions of the data, or from some unique identifier associated with the data …FIG. 3 shows which data may be rendered for storage in the 2-level DHT 200. Here, collected data 310, such as video data obtained from a video camera 214, is divided into chunks 312. Each chunk forms a unit of data on which an erasure coding operation is performed. For example, chunk 2 may be subjected to an erasure coding operation to form multiple data fragments 314. Col. 7 lines 1-16, generating the third hash key 240, which is used for storing metadata. As shown, the collected data 310 collected by a node 112 may be provided in the form of a file having a path name 610. The path name 610 may include a directory prefix (e.g., "/Store412/Cam2/2012/01/30/"), which indicates information pertaining to the data stored in the file. This information may include, for example, a store number designating a location (e.g., "Store412"), a camera number indicating the location of the camera within the store (e.g., "Cam2"), and information pertaining to the date and/or time when the data was collected (e.g., "2012/01/30")…);
wherein the file is divided into a plurality of file portions, and wherein each file portion is stored on at least one peer storage node in the decentralized network (col 5 lines 63-65 – col g lines 1-11, FIG. 3 shows which data may be rendered for storage in the 2-level DHT 200. Here, collected data 310, such as video data obtained from a video camera 214, is divided into chunks 312. Each chunk forms a unit of data on which an erasure coding operation is performed. For example, chunk 2 may be subjected to an erasure coding operation to form multiple data fragments 314… …. Col 5 lines 3-10, computing device on the network 120 collects data, such as video data, and directs distributed storage of the data on the network 112);
performing a first distributed hash table (DHT) lookup using the file identifier, to determine an identifier of each of the plurality of file portions col 9 lines 16-24 At step 916, the hash key is applied to the first DHT ring 210 to identify a matching head node (e.g., 116c). Metadata can then be retrieved from the matching head node (step 918), or from another node 112 on the same LAN 110 as the matching head node. At step 920, the obtained metadata are read to identify locations of fragments that make up chunks of the specified file. i.e., a first DHT look up keyed on the file/path has returns the identifying location information for each file portion);
retrieving each given file portion from the peer storage node storing the given file portion, using the determined address (col 8 lines 1-2 , col 9 lines 31-33 by accessing these locations, the node 112 can reassemble the original file, thereby retrieving the file from the 2-level DHT 200. And retrieving the fragments from the identified location); and
assembling the retrieved file portions into the file (col 9 lines 31-33, by accessing these locations, the node 112 can reassemble the original file, thereby retrieving the file from the 2-level DHT 200).
Xin discloses second hash look up step when fragments are stored and identify the specific storage node (col 4 lines 60-61 second hash key 230 is generated for the second DHT ring 212. And applied to identify the specific storage node )
Xin may not explicitly disclose performing, for each given file portion, a second DHT lookup on the identifier of the given file portion to determine an address for a peer storage node storing the given file portion.
However, Chalouhi discloses performing, for each given file portion, a second DHT lookup on the identifier of the given file portion to determine an address for a peer storage node storing the given file portion (col 4 lines 24-38, col 6 lines 22-51 the client uses the file hash as key… to find ID of a node that is most similar to the file hash and the client stores its connection in that node’s database … as values and the client program peer location module... finds the peer node associated with the key…and request the list of peers associated with the hash i.e., a DHT lookup performed at request time on a content hash, returning peer connection information (an address))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin and include performing, for each given file portion, a second DHT lookup on the identifier of the given file portion to determine an address for a peer storage node storing the given file portion as taught by Chalouhi. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to automatically generates the hashes from the digital content file and virtual coordinates of the virtual nodes in the virtual coordinate system and retrieves the peer connection information using the hashes, thus increasing the portion of peer-to-peer file sharing occurring among local peers.
9. Claims 22-23 and 31-32are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. in view of Chalouhi et al. and further in view of Tamassia et al (US 7974221 B222) hereinafter Tamassia.
Regarding claims 22 and 31, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose wherein each file portion is stored at a leaf node of the Merkle tree, and wherein the file identifier comprises a root of a Merkle tree. However, Tamassia discloses wherein each file portion is stored at a leaf node of the Merkle tree, and wherein the file identifier comprises a root of a Merkle tree (col 1 lines 58-67-col. 2 lines 1-16 , providing an abstract tree structure having a root node, a plurality of tree nodes, and a plurality of leaf nodes, wherein each leaf node corresponds to at least a portion of data…assigning a unique identifier to the root node, each tree node, and each leaf node; storing, at each first network node, the unique identifier of the corresponding tree node, the unique identifier of a parent of that tree node, and the unique identifiers of children of that tree node storing, at each second network node, the corresponding at least a portion of data and path information having a path of nodes from the corresponding leaf node to the root node ; providing a distributed hash tree corresponding to the abstract tree structure, wherein the distributed hash tree includes a corresponding hash value for each node of the abstract tree structure…Col 5 lines 24-25, the construction for realizing a distributed Merkle tree is designed for both bottom-up and top-down access. Col. 8 lines 27-52, what follows is an efficient distributed implementation of a Merkle tree over a peer-to-peer storage system. Numerous security protocols and cryptographic constructions are based on Merkle trees. Thus, implementing a Merkle tree in a distributed manner yields distributed versions of such protocols and constructions…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin in view of Chalouhi and include wherein each file portion is stored at a leaf node of the Merkle tree, and wherein the file identifier comprises a root of a Merkle tree as taught by Tamassia. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide an authentication structure that allows queried nodes to rapidly report the tree nodes storing the hash values in the established path.
Regarding claims 23 and 32, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose wherein each file portion is stored at a leaf node of the Merkle tree, and wherein the file identifier comprises a root of a Merkle tree. However, Tamassia discloses wherein the performing the first DHT lookup comprises determining intermediate nodes of the Merkle tree and recovering the identifier of each file portion from the intermediate nodes (col 1 lines 58-67-col. 2 lines 1-16 , providing an abstract tree structure having a root node, a plurality of tree nodes, and a plurality of leaf nodes, wherein each leaf node corresponds to at least a portion of data…assigning a unique identifier to the root node, each tree node, and each leaf node; storing, at each first network node, the unique identifier of the corresponding tree node, the unique identifier of a parent of that tree node, and the unique identifiers of children of that tree node storing, at each second network node, the corresponding at least a portion of data and path information having a path of nodes from the corresponding leaf node to the root node ; providing a distributed hash tree corresponding to the abstract tree structure, wherein the distributed hash tree includes a corresponding hash value for each node of the abstract tree structure (Col. 8 lines 27-52, each tree node’s network node sort[es] the unique identifier of the corresponding tree node, the unique identifier of a parent … and the unique identifiers of children and the scheme runs over a distributed hash tree using DHT locate (lookup keyed by tree-node identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin in view of Chalouhi and include wherein the performing the first DHT lookup comprises determining intermediate nodes of the Merkle tree and recovering the identifier of each file portion from the intermediate nodes as taught by Tamassia. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide an authentication structure that allows queried nodes to rapidly report the tree nodes storing the hash values in the established path.
10. Claims 24 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. in view of Chalouhi et al in view of Dubnicki et al. (US 78702182 B2) hereinafter Dubnicki and further in view of Dubnicki et al (US 7304994 B2) hereinafter Dubnicki1
Regarding claims 24 and 33, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose wherein each file portion is stored in a peer storage node of the decentralized network, wherein the peer storage node has a distance to the file portion below a threshold associated with a storage capacity of the peer storage node, and wherein the distance is computed based on a node identifier of the peer storage node and the identifier of the file portion.. However, Dubnick discloses wherein each file portion is stored in a peer storage node of the decentralized network, wherein the peer storage node has the file portion below a threshold associated with a storage capacity of the peer storage node ( [Abstract] each node in a peer -to peer network is assigned a number of preferably fixed size storage slots proportional to the node storage and each nodes number of hash key-space zones….col. 5 lines 12-32 slots in N=C/SlotSize where C is the node’s physical storage capacity ties a node’s share of the DHT key space directly to its storage capacity …Col 7 lines 14-63 the guaranteed utilization for a given scheme, however, is given by (N-1)/N and thus it depends only on the number of slots, not the number of nodes. Based on this property of a guaranteed utilization independent of the system size, a credit-debit system can be run locally: after a given amount of storage is contributed locally, new data can be inserted up to the size equal to the guaranteed utilization times the size of the contributed storage. With such organization in place, the actual utilization of the system is limited to the guaranteed utilization. The inventors refer to this scheme as oversubscription with threshold. It differs from the basic oversubscription in timing when the new storage is added--in this approach, the system is not allowed to achieve utilizations higher than the threshold. Its advantage is that it avoids paying the cost of additional bandwidth consumption used for achieving utilizations higher than the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin in view of Chalouhi and include discloses wherein each file portion is stored in a peer storage node of the decentralized network, wherein the peer storage node has the file portion below a threshold associated with a storage capacity of the peer storage node as taught by Dubnicki. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to utilize storge system efficiently.
Xin, Chalouhi and Dubnicki may not explicitly disclose wherein the distance is computed based on a node identifier of the peer storage node and the identifier of the file portion. However, Dubnicki1 discloses wherein the distance is computed based on a node identifier of the peer storage node and the identifier of the file portion (Col 2 lines 7-24, … the jump tables can be used to obtain a partial resolution of some of the bits of one of the groupings of bits and/or a table of neighboring nodes can be used to obtain a resolution of at least one of the bits in one of the groupings of bits in accordance with some distance metric to the destination zone. Or a blacklist of zone already tried by the message can be maintained and the message routed to a destination zone not on the blacklist. Col 6 lines 10-25, an attempt can be made to resolve more than one bit and maximally reduce what the inventors refer to as a "lexicographical order distance." Consider a prefix P and a hashkey K. Let K|.sub.P be the prefix of K with the same number of bits as in P. The lexicographical order distance between P and K, referred to as LexDist, is defined to be the bit string given by: LexDist(P,K)=XOR(P,K|.sub.P) Note that LexDist(P, K) contains all zeros iff this prefix zone includes the hashkey K, and at a given moment of time there is only one such prefix in a stable FPN network. The prefix P1 is said to reduce LexDist to a given hashkey K compared to prefix P2 iff LexDist(P1, K) is before LexDist(P2, K) in a standard lexicographical order).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin, Chalouhi and Dubnicki and include wherein the distance is computed based on a node identifier of the peer storage node and the identifier of the file portion as taught by Dubnicki1. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to maintain a fixed path length as the network scales dynamically..
11. Claims 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. in view of Chalouhi et al. and further in view of Long et al. (US 10771524 B1) hereinafter Long
Regarding claims 26 and 35, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose wherein the decentralized network is an edge storage network, and wherein each peer storage node in the decentralized network caches popular contents locally to act as a decentralized content delivery network (dCDN).
However, Long discloses wherein the decentralized network is an edge storage network, and wherein each peer storage node in the decentralized network caches popular contents locally to act as a decentralized content delivery network (dCDN) (col 2 lines 39-61, col 7 lines 36-58, Col 22 lines 59-67, edge cacher peer nodes with two local cache layers (memory + hard drive) storing content fragments and explicitly describes the system as a decentralized data delivery network/ hybrid network combining p2p and CDN functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin in view of Chalouhi and include wherein the decentralized network is an edge storage network, and wherein each peer storage node in the decentralized network caches popular contents locally to act as a decentralized content delivery network (dCDN) as taught by Long. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to reduce latency and increase the offload percentage if a CDN server supports range requests, since small slices are more likely to be available in neighboring peers and can be downloaded faster.
12. Claims 27 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. in view of Chalouhi et al. in view of El-Beltagy et al.(US 20140172978 A1) hereinafter El-Beltagy and further in view of Barsness et al. (US 20130198343 A1) hereinafter Barsness.
Regarding claims 22 and 31, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the user node to the decentralized network, a request for the file, the request comprising one or more parameters associated with the request; and determining, by the decentralized network and based on the parameters, a network condition including the status of a given peer storage nodes storing a given portion of the file, wherein the retrieving of the given file portion from the given peer storage node is based on the network condition. However, El-Beltagy discloses transmitting, by the user node to the decentralized network; and determining, by the decentralized network and based on the parameters, a network condition including the status of a given peer storage nodes storing a given portion of the file, wherein the retrieving of the given file portion from the given peer storage node is based on the network condition (para. [0017] [0083] [0094] each entering peer provides its upload capacity to the tracker T with the request, the tracker derives a distribution level (status) from that parameter, and peer selection/download is based on the nearest lever plus highest upload capacity).
Xin, Chalouhi and El-Beltagy may not explicitly disclose a request for the file, the request comprising one or more parameters associated with the request. However; Barsness discloses disclose a request for the file, the request comprising one or more parameters associated with the request (para. [0025]-[0029] a policy that could be set by an administrator for network utilization includes a percentage of network loading. Similarly, a policy for CPU utilization could be some percentage of CPU utilization. In this manner, the network administrator can set up the policies as parameters against the resource attributes to control the peer-to-peer transfers in the system. The resource attributes are metrics that can be measured or inferred about the system's resources… dynamically adjust participating peer nodes based on resource attributes (network utilization job status) closely paralleling (network condition status of peer node)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin, Chalouhi and El-Beltagy and include a request for the file, the request comprising one or more parameters associated with the request as taught by Barsness. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide efficient peer-to-peer file transfers between the nodes.
13. Claims 28 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. in view of Chalouhi et al. and further in view of Wu et al. (US 20200137154 A1) hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claims 28 and 37, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose wherein the decentralized network comprises a first peer storage node in a first cloud network provided by a first provider, and a second peer storage node in a second cloud network provided by a second provider different from the first provider. However, Wu discloses wherein the decentralized network comprises a first peer storage node in a first cloud network provided by a first provider, and a second peer storage node in a second cloud network provided by a second provider different from the first provider (para. [0005], [0038] in a multi-cloud computing environment comprising a plurality of cloud platforms with each cloud platform comprising one or more nodes, the method maintains, at a given one of the nodes in the multi-cloud computing environment, a blockchain instance in accordance with a decentralized blockchain network comprised of at least a subset of the nodes in the multi-cloud computing environment wherein each of the subset of nodes locally maintain a blockchain instance. [0023] the one or more sets of cloud nodes 204 comprise a plurality of Amazon Web Service (AWS) nodes and a plurality of Microsoft Azure cloud nodes, while the one or more other sets of cloud nodes 206 comprise a plurality of Alibaba nodes (AliCloud nodes) and a plurality of AWS nodes. the nodes in set 204 can be nodes storing original data, while nodes in set 206 store copies of the original data for data protection (backup or replication) purposes i.e. peer nodes hosted on different name cloud providers, with some nodes storing original data and others storing replica/backup copies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin in view of Chalouhi and include wherein the decentralized network comprises a first peer storage node in a first cloud network provided by a first provider, and a second peer storage node in a second cloud network provided by a second provider different from the first provider as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to efficiently manage data across multiple clouds.
14. Claims 29 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Xin et al. in view of Chalouhi et al. and further in view of Smith (US 20040064462 A1) hereinafter Smith
Regarding claims 29 and 38, claim 21 is incorporated. Xin in view of Chalouhi may not explicitly disclose wherein the file is constructed by concatenating contents of a file folder. However, Smith discloses wherein the file is constructed by concatenating contents of a file folder (para. [0004], the file archive system includes a file archive structure for storing multiple files as a single file. This is advantageous to allow grouping of related files to be stored together. Further a directory of several files can be stored as a single file and a directory tree can be stored as a single file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Xin in view of Chalouhi and include wherein the file is constructed by concatenating contents of a file folder as taught by Smith. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to maximize storage efficiency and eliminate wasted space.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
16. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kidest Mendaye whose telephone number is (571)272-2603. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 7:00 am-5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
09/16/2026
/KIDEST MENDAYE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457