CTNF 18/839,712 CTNF 82530 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hiraide (US 2014/0139927) in view of Haba et al. (US 2019/0272802) . Regarding claim 1 , Haba discloses, a head-mounted device (Figs. 1-10), comprising: a projector (Para. 0051 and 80, 81, 82) configured to produce an image (see “GL”); a support structure (12, 12j, 12m, 39, 39a, 39g, 39m, 61f) having an opening; a waveguide (20) configured to receive the image (“GL”) and guide the image to an output coupler that couples the image out of the waveguide (Para. 0063-0065 and see “S11”); and a flexure (12, 12j, 12m, 39, 39a, 39g, 39m, 61f) that couples the waveguide to the support structure (Para. 0053-0054). Hiraide does not disclose explicitly disclose the flexure comprises a first ring and a second ring coupled to the first ring, the first ring being interposed between the waveguide and the second ring. Haba teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the flexure comprises a first ring and a second ring coupled to the first ring, the first ring being interposed between the waveguide and the second ring (see annotated Fig. 3 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the flexure comprises a first ring and a second ring coupled to the first ring, the first ring being interposed between the waveguide and the second ring as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the head-mounted device of Hiraide since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. PNG media_image1.png 367 616 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Hiraide in view of Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a third ring coupled to the second ring, wherein the second ring is interposed between the first ring and the third ring (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the head-mounted device of Hiraide since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 3 , Hiraide in view of Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include the third ring is coupled to the support structure and the first ring is coupled to the waveguide (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the head-mounted device of Hiraide since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 4 , Hiraide in view of Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a first ring of adhesive that attaches the first ring and the waveguide (see annotated Fig. 3 above); and a second ring of adhesive that attaches the third ring to the support structure (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the head-mounted device of Hiraide since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 9 , Hiraide in view of Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Hiraide further discloses, a frame (12, 12j, 12m, 39, 39a, 39m) that extends from the support structure. Furthermore, Haba teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the second ring is coupled to the frame (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the head-mounted device of Hiraide since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness . 07-15 AIA Claim s 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hiraide (US 2014/0139927) in view of Haba et al. (US 2019/0272802) as applied to claims 4 and 9 above, and further in view of Harder et al. (US 2021/0026139) . Hiraide in view of Haba remains as applied to claims 4 and 9 above . Furthermore, Haba teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the first ring is attached to the second ring at a first point and at a second point (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Hiraide in view of Haba does not disclose the first ring is welded to the second ring. Harder teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the first ring is welded to the second ring (Para. 0054, lines 8-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first ring is welded to the second ring as taught by the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Harder in the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Haba since Harder teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for coupling a first element to a second element for the purpose of providing an effective, resilient and durable securing method. Regarding claim 6 , Hiraide, Haba and Harder discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device the third ring is welded to the second ring at a third point and at a fourth point (see annotated Fig. 3 above), and wherein the second ring forms a first spring between the first point and the third point (see annotated Fig. 3 above), a second spring between the third point and the second point (see annotated Fig. 3 above), a third spring between the second point and fourth point (see annotated Fig. 3 above), and a fourth spring between the fourth point and the first point (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the combination of Hiraide in view of Harder since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 7 , Hiraide, Haba and Harder discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Harder further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the welds at the first point, the second point, the third point, and the fourth point comprise laser welds (Para. 0054, lines 8-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations of Harder in the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Haba since Harder teaches it is known to include this feature in a component for coupling a first element to a second element for the purpose of providing an effective, resilient and durable securing method. Regarding claim 10 , Hiraide, Haba and Harder discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Harder further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the second ring is welded to the frame (Para. 0054, lines 8-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations of Harder in the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Haba since Harder teaches it is known to include this feature in a component for coupling a first element to a second element for the purpose of providing an effective, resilient and durable securing method . 07-15 AIA Claim s 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hiraide (US 2014/0139927) in view of Haba et al. (US 2019/0272802) in view of Harder et al. (US 2021/0026139) as applied to claims 6 and 11 above, and further in view of McCreight, Jr. et al. (US 2016/0048001) . Hiraide, Haba and Harder remains as applied to claim 6 and 11 above . Hiraide, Haba and Harder does not disclose a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexure. McCreight teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexure (Para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention to include a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexure as taught by the head-mounted device of McCreight in the combination of Hiraide, Haba and Harder since McCreight teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a robust and resilient head-mounted device. Regarding claim 11 , Hiraide, Haba, Harder and McCreight discloses and teaches as set forth above, and McCreight further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a stress attenuator coupled to a portion of the second ring (Para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention to include a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexure as taught by the head-mounted device of McCreight in the combination of Hiraide, Haba and Harder since McCreight teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a robust and resilient head-mounted device . 07-15 AIA Claim s 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Haba et al. (US 2019/0272802) in view of Harder et al. (US 2021/0026139) . Regarding claim 12 , Haba discloses, a flexible component for coupling a first element to a second element (Fig. 3), the flexible component comprising: a first ring structure (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below); a second ring structure (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the first ring structure is attached to the second ring structure at a first point and at a second point (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below); and a third ring structure (302) attached to the second ring structure at a third point and at a fourth point (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below), the second ring structure forming a first spring between the first point and the third point (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below), a second spring between the third point and the second point (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below), a third spring between the second point and fourth point (Para. 0043-0044 and see 302 of annotated Fig. 3 below), and a fourth spring between the fourth point and the first point (Para. 0043-0044 and see annotated Fig. 3 below). Haba does not explicitly disclose the structures are attached by welding. Harder teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a component for coupling a first element to a second element that it would have been desirable to make the structures are attached by welding (Para. 0054, lines 8-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the structures are attached by welding as taught by the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Harder in the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Haba since Harder teaches it is known to include this feature in a component for coupling a first element to a second element for the purpose of providing an effective, resilient and durable securing method. PNG media_image1.png 367 616 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 13 , Haba in view of Harder discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Harder further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a component for coupling a first element to a second element that it would have been desirable to make the welds at the first point, the second point, the third point, and the fourth point comprise laser welds (Para. 0054, lines 8-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations of Harder in the component for coupling a first element to a second element of Haba since Harder teaches it is known to include this feature in a component for coupling a first element to a second element for the purpose of providing an effective, resilient and durable securing method. Regarding claim 14 , Haba in view of Harder discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further discloses, the first and second springs are separated by a first distance, and the third and fourth springs are separated by a second distance that is the same as the first distance (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Regarding claim 15 , Haba in view of Harder discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further discloses, the first and second springs are separated by a first distance, and the third and fourth springs are separated by a second distance that is different from the first distance (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Hiraide (US 2014/0139927) in view of McCreight, Jr. et al. (US 2016/0048001). Regarding claim 16 , Haba discloses, a head-mounted device (Figs. 1-10), comprising: a projector (Para. 0051 and 80, 81, 82) configured to produce an image (see “GL”); a support structure (12, 12j, 12m, 39, 39a, 39g, 39m, 61f) having an opening; a waveguide (20) configured to receive the image (“GL”) and guide the image to an output coupler that couples the image out of the waveguide (Para. 0063-0065 and see “S11”); and a flexible component (12, 12j, 12m, 39, 39a, 39g, 39m, 61f) that couples the waveguide to the support structure (Para. 0053-0054). Hiraide does not explicitly disclose a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexible component. McCreight teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to include a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexible component (Para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention to include a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexible component as taught by the head-mounted device of McCreight in the combination of Hiraide, Haba and Harder since McCreight teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a robust and resilient head-mounted device. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Hiraide (US 2014/0139927) in view of McCreight, Jr. et al. (US 2016/0048001) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Haba et al. (US 2019/0272802). Hiraide in view of McCreight remains as applied to claim 16 above . Furthermore, McCreight teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the stress attenuator is overmolded on a portion of the second ring (Para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention to include a stress attenuator overmolded on a portion of the flexible component as taught by the head-mounted device of McCreight in the combination of Hiraide, Haba and Harder since McCreight teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a robust and resilient head-mounted device. Hiraide in view of McCreight does not disclose the flexible component comprises first and second rings. Haba teaches, from the same field endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the flexible component comprises first and second rings (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the flexible component comprises first and second rings as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the combination of Hiraide in view of McCreight since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 18 , Hiraide, McCreight and Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the second ring is attached to a portion of the support structure (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the combination of Hiraide in view of McCreight since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 19 , Hiraide, McCreight and Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the flexible component comprises first, second, and third rings, the second ring is interposed between the first and third rings, and the first and third rings are coupled to the second ring to form springs in the second ring (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the combination of Hiraide in view of McCreight since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness. Regarding claim 20 , Hiraide, McCreight and Haba discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Haba further teaches, from the same field endeavor that in a head-mounted device that it would have been desirable to make the springs in the second ring allow the second ring and waveguide to move rotationally (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the head-mounted device of Haba in the combination of Hiraide in view of McCreight since Haba teaches it is known to include this feature in a head-mounted device for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight head-mounted device that can be effectively positioned in front of the user’s eye with enhanced brightness . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boulais et al. (US 2005/0131279), Hiraide (US 2016/0282627) and Halpin et al. (US 2016/0246059) discloses a head-mounted device that includes a projector, a support structure, a waveguide, and a flexure that couples the waveguide to the support structure . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAWAYNE A PINKNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-1305. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pinping Sun can be reached at 571-270-1284. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 05/04/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 10 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 11 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 12 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 13 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 14 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/839,712 Page 15 Art Unit: 2872