DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 101979921 A) and further in view of Cao et al. (CN 112028510 A, hereinafter Cao) and Wang et al. (CN 104801171 A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method for efficient and low-carbon treatment of a landfill leachate by using a cement kiln (claim 1), comprising the steps of: settling the landfill leachate in a settlement tank (claim 1), and discharging sludge in the landfill leachate (claim 1); filtering the landfill leachate subjected to settlement treatment, and controlling a mass concentration of suspended particulate matters in the landfill leachate (claim 1 ¶[0014]); and spraying the filtered landfill leachate via an ejection port of a spray gun into a high-temperature region of a decomposition furnace of the cement kiln (claim 1-2), but Xu fails to teach wherein the spray gun is opened on a side wall of a region of a lower portion of the decomposition furnace; the temperature of the flue gas at the position of the ejection port is 989-1002 C; the high-temperature region of the decomposition furnace is at a lower portion of a suspension region of the decomposition furnace of and is at a temperature of 900-1050°C: and the pressure of the landfill leachate entering the spray gun is 0.4-0.6 MPa.
However Cao teaches spray gun side wall of the decomposition furnace (Fig 1, 43 42 40); the temperature of the flue gas at the position of the ejection port is 989-1002 C (claim 1-2); the high-temperature region of the decomposition furnace is at a lower portion of a suspension region of the decomposition furnace of and is at a temperature of 900-1050°C (claim 1-2). Xu and Cao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of treatment of a landfill leachate by using a kiln. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Cao in the invention of Xu for the decomposition temperature of furnace because controlling the temperature in a furnace is well known. The combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results are obvious (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Cao fails to teach the spray gun on lower portions of the decomposition furnace and the pressure of the landfill leachate entering the spray gun as 0.4-0.6 MPa. However, Wang teaches spray gun on lower portions of the decomposition furnace (Fig 1, 11) and the pressure of the landfill leachate entering the spray gun is 0.4-0.6 MPa (Page 4, section 2). Wang and modified Xu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of treatment of a landfill leachate by using a kiln. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang in Xu invention for placement and pressure control of the spray gun because the exact placement of the spray gun at an optimum position for its efficient performance is within the ordinary skill in the art. It simply depends on kiln design and pressure of landfill leachate entering the spray gun and it would be obvious to modify to effectively spray leachate in to the
furnace.
Regarding claim 2, modified Xu teaches a method for treatment of a landfill leachate of claim 1, wherein, in the filtering step, filtration is performed such that an average diameter of the suspended particulate matters in the landfill leachate is not more than 5 mm and a maximum penetration diameter is not more than 8 mm, and the landfill leachate is controlled such that the mass concentration of the suspended particulate matters in the landfill leachate is not more than 30% (Wang page 4 section 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, modified Xu teaches a method for treatment of a landfill leachate of claim 1, wherein, in the filtering step, the landfill leachate subjected to the settlement treatment is filtered through a backwash filter, and the backwash filter is washed by a backwash pump using backwash water, and then the backwash water enters the settlement tank. Xu teaches a fully automatic self-cleaning filter system that filtration of waste leachate through a backwash filter, and the use of backwash water to flush the backwash filter, wherein the use of a backwash pump and back-wash water into a settling tank for repeated treatment is a common choice in the art (Xu ¶[0035-0037]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Xu teaches a method for treatment of a landfill leachate of claim 1 and oxygen content of the flue gas in the decomposition furnace of the cement kiln 8-12% (Wang Example 4).
modified Xu fails to teach wherein, in the spraying step, a residence time of the landfill leachate in the decomposition furnace of the cement kiln is not less than 5s, and ), and a ratio of an injected amount of the landfill leachate to a throughput of a clinker of the cement kiln is not more than 1:100. However, it would be routine optimization to ensure landfill leachate has enough time in the furnace to effectively react and control the injection volume the ratio of landfill leachate, in order not to over fill the system (See MPEP 2144.II.A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Xu teaches a method for treatment of a landfill leachate of claim 1, wherein, in the spraying step, the spray gun is a single fluid spray gun (Cao Fig 1, 41 40 43) .
Regarding claim 6, modified Xu teaches a method for treatment of a landfill leachate of claim 4, modified Xu fails to explicitly teach wherein, in the spraying step, a flow rate is 150 kg/h-200 kg. However, Xu does teach having a flow rate adjusting device (Xu ¶[0015]) therefore it would be a routine optimization to control the flow rate to ensure smooth and consistent flow of landfill leachate into the kiln(See MPEP 2144.II.A).
Conclusion
/KYLE HARRISON SHIPMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771