DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/839724 filed on 08/19/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 20, 22, 23, 27-29 are pending. Claims 11, 13, 15, 18, 19, 21, 24-26 were cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 20, 22, 23, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CATT, “Discussion on PSCell MLB”, R3-215040, 1st -11th Nov 2021 (From Applicant’s IDS)
As per claim 1, CATT discloses “A method for a resource status report in wireless communication, performed by a first Network Element (NE) in a wireless network, the method comprising:” [(Figure 8.3.6.2-1), eNB1] “transmitting a first message to a second NE in the wireless network, the first message comprising a request for resource status information,” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The procedure is initiated with a RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message sent from eNB1 to eNB2. Upon receipt, eNB2: (8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), If the eNB2 received a RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message, which includes the Registration Request IE set to "start" then the Report Characteristics IE shall be included in RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message.] “wherein the request applies to at least one of the following levels: a beam level; a carrier level; a cell level; a network slice level; or a frequency range level.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message: ….. the Radio Resource Status IE within the NR Neithbour Cell Measurement Result IE, if the eighth bit, "Neighbour Cell CAC Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 2, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “further comprising: receiving, from the second NE, a response to the first message, the response indicating whether the second NE is capable of measuring, collecting, or reporting partial or all the resource status information requested by the first NE” as [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), If eNB2 is capable to provide all requested resource status information, it shall initiate the measurement as requested by eNB1, and respond with the RESOURCE STATUS RESPONSE message.]
As per claim 3, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the frequency range level corresponds to a Bandwidth Part (BWP).” [see rejection of claim 1.]
As per claim 4, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein: in response to the request applying to the beam level, the request further comprises a beam identifier which identifies a beam in a cell of the second NE; in response to the request applying to the carrier level, the request further comprises a carrier identifier which identifies a carrier in the cell of the second NE; in response to the request applying to the cell level, the request further comprises a cell identifier which identifies a cell of the second NE; in response to the request applying to the network slice level, the request further comprises a network slice identifier which identifies a network slice; or in response to the request applying to the frequency range level, the request further comprises an indication for a frequency range.” [(9.1.2.11 RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST), This message is sent by an eNB1 to neighboring eNB2 to initiate the requested measurement according to the parameters given in the message. Direction: eNB1 [Symbol font/0xAE] eNB2. IE: >> Cell ID.]
As per claim 5, CATT discloses “The method of claim 4,” as [see rejection of claim 4.] “wherein the beam identifier comprises a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) Block (SSB) index associated with the beam.” [see claims 1 and 4.]
As per claim 6, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein a type of the request comprises at least one of: a periodic report type, wherein, in response to the request being the periodic report type, the second NE periodically sends the resource measurement result following a periodicity.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message:….. the CSI Report IE, if the seventh bit, "CSI Report Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 7, CATT discloses “The method of claim 6,” as [see rejection of claim 6.] “wherein: in response to the type of the request being the conditional report type, the request further comprises the condition to be met or the threshold to be reached to trigger the second NE to send the resource measurement result; and in response to the type of the request being the periodic report type, the request further comprises the periodicity” [(9.1.2.11 RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST), This message is sent by an eNB1 to neighboring eNB2 to initiate the requested measurement according to the parameters given in the message. Direction: eNB1 [Symbol font/0xAE] eNB2. IE: Reporting Periodicity (Periodicity that can be used for reporting of PRB Periodic, TNL Load Ind Periodic, HW Load Ind Periodic, Composite Available Capacity Periodic or ABS Status Periodic.]
As per claim 8, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the request comprises a measurement category list, the measurement category list comprising at least one of: a number of active User Equipments (UEs); an Uplink (UL) Physical Resource Block (PRB) usage; a Downlink (DL) PRB usage; a UL scheduling Physical Downlink Channel (PDCCH) Control Channel Element (CCE) usage; a DL scheduling PDCCH CCE usage; a DL Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) PRB usage; a UL GBR PRB usage; a DL non-GBR PRB usage; a UL non-GBR PRB usage; a list of active carriers; a list of idle carriers; a neighbor cell Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP); an SSB Transmission (Tx) power information; or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Tx power information” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message:….. the RSRP Measurement Report List IE, if the sixth bit, "RSRP Measurement Report Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 9, CATT discloses “The method of claim 8,” as [see rejection of claim 8.] “wherein each entry in the measurement category list is associated with a measurement level in a measurement level list, the measurement level list comprising at least one of: a cell; a cell that is used as a Primary cell (Pcell); a cell that is used as a Primary Secondary cell group cell (PScell); a cell that is used as a Secondary cell (Scell); a beam; a beam in a cell that is used as a Pcell; a beam in a cell that is used as a PScell; a beam in a cell that is used as a Scell; a carrier; a carrier in a cell that is used as a Pcell; a carrier in a cell that is used as a PScell; a carrier in a cell that is used as a Scell; a carrier per beam in a cell that is used as a Pcell; a carrier per beam in a cell that is used as a PScell; or a carrier per beam in a cell that is used as a Scell.” [(9.1.2.11 RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST), This message is sent by an eNB1 to neighboring eNB2 to initiate the requested measurement according to the parameters given in the message. Direction: eNB1 [Symbol font/0xAE] eNB2. IE: >> Cell ID.]
As per claim 10, CATT discloses “The method of claim 9,” as [see rejection of claim 9.] “further comprising: receiving, from the second NE, a resource status report message comprising the resource status information, the resource status information comprising a list of measurement reports, wherein: each entry in the list of measurement reports is associated with a measurement category in the measurement category list; and the measurement category in the measurement category list is further associated with a measurement level in the measurement level list.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message:….. the RSRP Measurement Report List IE, if the sixth bit, "RSRP Measurement Report Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 12, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein a type of the first NE comprises at least one of: a Radio Access Network (RAN) node comprising one of: a gNodeB (gNB), an eNodeB (eNB), or an ng-eNB; or a gNB Central Unit (gNB-CU); and wherein the first NE comprises a first component in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN), the first component in the O-RAN comprises at least one of: a RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC); or an Operation and Maintenance (OAM).” [(Figure 8.3.6.2-1), eNB1]
As per claim 14, CATT discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein a type of the second NE comprises at least one of: a Radio Access Network (RAN) node comprising one of: a gNodeB (gNB), an eNodeB (eNB), or an ng-eNB; or a gNB Distributed Unit (gNB-DU); and wherein the second NE comprises a second component in an O-RAN, the second component in the O-RAN comprises at least one of: a RIC; an Open Central Unit (O-CU); or an Open Distributed Unit (O-DU).” [(Figure 8.3.6.2-1), eNB2]
As per claim 16, CATT discloses “A method for a resource status report in wireless communication, performed by a second Network Element (NE) in a wireless network, the method comprising:” [(Figure 8.3.6.2-1), eNB2] “receiving a first message from a first NE in the wireless network, the first message comprising a request for resource status information,” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The procedure is initiated with a RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message sent from eNB1 to eNB2. Upon receipt, eNB2: (8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), If the eNB2 received a RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message, which includes the Registration Request IE set to "start" then the Report Characteristics IE shall be included in RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message.] “wherein the request applies to at least one of the following levels: a beam level; a carrier level; a cell level; a network slice level; or a frequency range level.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message: ….. the Radio Resource Status IE within the NR Neithbour Cell Measurement Result IE, if the eighth bit, "Neighbour Cell CAC Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 17, CATT discloses “The method of claim 16,” as [see rejection of claim 16.] “further comprising: transmitting, to the first NE, a response to the first message, the response comprising one of: a first response indicating that the first NE is capable of measuring, collecting, or reporting partial or all the resource status information requested by the first NE; or a second response indicating that the first NE is not capable of measuring, collecting, or reporting partial or all the resource status information requested by the first NE.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), If eNB2 is capable to provide all requested resource status information, it shall initiate the measurement as requested by eNB1, and respond with the RESOURCE STATUS RESPONSE message.]
As per claim 20, CATT discloses “The method of claim 16,” as [see rejection of claim 16.] “wherein request comprises a measurement category list, the measurement category list comprising at least one of: a number of active User Equipments (UEs); an Uplink (UL) Physical Resource Block (PRB) usage; a Downlink (DL) PRB usage; a UL scheduling Physical Downlink Channel (PDCCH) Control Channel Element (CCE) usage; a DL scheduling PDCCH CCE usage; a DL Guaranteed Bit Rate (GBR) PRB usage; a UL GBR PRB usage; a DL non-GBR PRB usage; a UL non-GBR PRB usage; a list of active carriers; a list of idle carriers; an SSB Transmission (Tx) power information; or a CSI-RS Tx power information.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message: ….. the CSI Report IE, if the seventh bit, "CSI Report Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 22, CATT discloses “The method of claim 20,” as [see rejection of claim 20.] “further comprising: transmitting, to the first NE, a resource status report message comprising the resource status information, the resource status information comprising a list of measurement reports, wherein: each entry in the list of measurement reports is associated with a measurement category in the measurement category list; and the measurement category in the measurement category list is further associated with a measurement level in the measurement level list.” [(8.3.6.2 Successful Operation), The Report Characteristics IE indicates the type of objects eNB2 shall perform measurements on. For each cell, the eNB2 shall include in the RESOURCE STATUS UPDATE message:….. the RSRP Measurement Report List IE, if the sixth bit, "RSRP Measurement Report Periodic" of the Report Characteristics IE included in the RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST message is set to 1.]
As per claim 23, CATT discloses “The method of claim 22,” as [see rejection of claim 22.] “wherein transmitting the resource status report message comprises one of: transmitting the resource status report message as a one-shot response to the first message; in response to a condition being met or a threshold being reached, transmitting the resource status report message; or transmitting the resource status report message periodically.” [(9.1.2.11 RESOURCE STATUS REQUEST), This message is sent by an eNB1 to neighboring eNB2 to initiate the requested measurement according to the parameters given in the message. Direction: eNB1 [Symbol font/0xAE] eNB2. IE: Reporting Periodicity (Periodicity that can be used for reporting of PRB Periodic, TNL Load Ind Periodic, HW Load Ind Periodic, Composite Available Capacity Periodic or ABS Status Periodic.]
As per claim 27, CATT discloses “The method of claim 16,” as [see rejection of claim 16.] “wherein the first NE comprises a second component in an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN), the second component in the O-RAN comprises at least one of a RIC; or an OAM.” [(Figure 8.3.6.2-1), eNB1]
As per claim 28, as [see rejection of claim 1.]
As per claim 29, CATT discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program with computer code stored thereupon, the computer code, when executed by one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement the method for resource status report in wireless communication of claim 1.” As [see rejection of claim 1.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication:
Centonza et al. (US 2023/0308949 A1) [(fig. 7 and par. 0086), a first metric can be associated with first and second triggering events. In such embodiments, occurrence of the first triggering event initiates a single report of the first metric and occurrence of the second triggering event initiates periodic reports of the first metric. In some of these embodiments, the reporting format an also include respective reporting periods for all configured periodic reports. For example, resource status update messages can be sent periodically according to the reporting period associated with the metric(s) being reported.]
NPLs:
Qualcomm, “RAN data collection enhancement for AI/ML”, R1-215246, Nov 1-11, 2021 (From Applicant’s IDS)
Nokia et al., “(TP to TS 38.473,NR_ENDC_SON_MDT_enh-Core) Adding slice to the load information, R3-211555, 17-26 May 2021 (From Applicant’s IDS)
/MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417