DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, and 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 4, and 8-9: every instance of “the first electric circuit” and “the first position” should be amended to recite “the predetermined first electric circuit” and “the predetermined first position” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claims 2, 4, and 8-9: every instance of “the projecting direction” should be amended to recite “the predetermined projecting direction” for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 1 Ln.14: the clause “to the projecting direction side” should be amended to recite “to a projecting direction side” for antecedent reasons.
Claim 2: all instances of “the second electric circuit” should be amended to recite “the predetermined second electric circuit” for consistent claim nomenclature.
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending Application No. 18/839,747 (referred to as Reference Application) in view of Kern (WO 9741582). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the Instant Application are rejected as being unpatentable over the claims of the Reference Application in view of Kern. Please see below for the mapping in the table in which bolded limitations indicate the corresponding limitations between the Instant Application and the Reference Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application: 18/839,729
Reference Application: 18/839,747
1) An electric circuit switching device configured to switch a predetermined first electric circuit from an interrupted state to a conductive state upon actuation, the electric circuit switching device comprising: a housing; an igniter provided in the housing and configured to release a combustion gas upon actuation; a tubular space formed in the housing and extending in one direction; a projectile having conductivity and positioned at a predetermined first position in the tubular space in an initial state before actuation of the igniter; a piston [fixed to the projectile] and disposed in the tubular space interposedly between the igniter and the projectile (encompassed by Claim 7 of the Reference Application), and configured to be projected in a predetermined projecting direction along the tubular space by energy of the combustion gas; and a pair of first conductor pieces provided inserted, in a spaced apart state, into the tubular space at a position closer to the projecting direction side than the first position, and forming part of the first electric circuit in cooperation with each other, [wherein the projectile projected integrally with the piston upon actuation] of the igniter comes into contact with each of the pair of first conductor pieces, switching the first electric circuit from the interrupted state to the conductive state.
1) An electric circuit switching device configured to switch a predetermined first electric circuit from an interrupted state to a conductive state upon actuation, the electric circuit switching device comprising: a housing; an igniter provided in the housing and configured to release a combustion gas upon actuation; a tubular space formed in the housing and extending in one direction; a projectile having conductivity, including a base body positioned at a first position in the tubular space in an initial state before actuation of the igniter, and configured to be projected in a predetermined projecting direction along the tubular space by energy of the combustion gas; and a pair of first conductor pieces provided inserted, in a spaced apart state, into the tubular space at a position closer to the projecting direction side than the first position, and forming part of the first electric circuit in cooperation with each other, wherein the projectile further includes a pair of protrusions protruding from the base body in the projecting direction, and the pair of protrusions of the projectile projected upon actuation of the igniter respectively come into contact with the pair of first conductor pieces, switching the first electric circuit from the interrupted state to the conductive state.
7) The electric circuit switching device according to claim 1, further comprising: a piston disposed in the tubular space, interposedly between the igniter and the base body, and configured to be projected in the projecting direction by the energy of the combustion gas.
However, the claims of the Reference Application does not claim the bracketed limitations outlined above.
Kern however teaches (Figs.5-6):
A piston (52) fixed to (Fig.5: 52 is at least indirectly fixed to 54 via 42 holding the components together) the projectile (54) and disposed in the tubular space (44 and 70) interposedly between (See Fig.5) the igniter (56) and the projectile (54), and configured to be projected in a predetermined projecting direction (68) along the tubular space (44 and 70) by energy of the combustion gas ([0049]); wherein the projectile (54) projected integrally with the piston (52) upon actuation of the igniter (56) comes into contact with each of the pair of first conductor pieces (49) (Fig.6 and [0049]: when 56 actuates, 54 moves with 52, and thus projects integrally with 52, so that 54 comes into contact with each of 49), switching the first electric circuit (Figs.5-6: circuit created from 48) from the interrupted state (See Fig.5) to the conductive state (See Fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Kern to modify the claimed device of the Reference Application such that the piston is fixed to the projectile in such a way that the projectile is projected integrally with the piston upon actuation of the igniter so that the projectile comes into contact with each of the pair of first conductor pieces to switch the first electric circuit from the interrupted state to the conductive state, as claimed, in order to better ensure that the piston moves the projectile in such a way that the projectile has an improved fit in the pair of first conductor pieces as taught by Kern ([0009]-[0010] and [0049]).
Claim 2 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 2 of the Reference Application.
Claim 3 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 3 of the Reference Application.
Claim 4 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 4 of the Reference Application.
Claim 5 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 5 of the Reference Application.
Claim 6 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 6 of the Reference Application.
Claim 8 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 4 of the Reference Application.
Claim 9 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 4 of the Reference Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kern (WO 9741582).
Regarding claim 1, Kern discloses (Figs.5-6):
An electric circuit switching device (40) configured to switch a predetermined first electric circuit (Figs.5-6: circuit created from 48) from an interrupted state (See Fig.5) to a conductive state (See Fig.6) upon actuation (See Fig.6), the electric circuit switching device comprising: a housing (42); an igniter (56) provided in the housing (42) and configured to release a combustion gas ([0049]) upon actuation; a tubular space (44 and 70) formed in the housing (42) and extending in one direction (See Figure Below); a projectile (54) having conductivity ([0049]: 54 is an electrically conductive "bridging element" to allow current flow) and positioned at a predetermined first position (Fig.5: the position of 54) in the tubular space (44 and 70) in an initial state (See Fig.5) before actuation of the igniter (56); a piston (52) fixed to (Fig.5: 52 is at least indirectly fixed to 54 via 42 holding the components together) the projectile (54) and disposed in the tubular space (44 and 70) interposedly between (See Fig.5) the igniter (56) and the projectile (54), and configured to be projected in a predetermined projecting direction (68) along the tubular space (44 and 70) by energy of the combustion gas ([0049]); and a pair of first conductor pieces (49) provided inserted, in a spaced apart state (See Fig.5: ends of 49 are spaced apart from each other), into the tubular space (44 and 70) at a position closer to the projecting direction side than the first position (Fig.5: the position of 54) (Fig.5: 49 is placed closer to the bottom side of 42, which will define a "projecting direction side", than the first position of the projectile 54), and forming part of the first electric circuit (Figs.5-6: circuit created from 48) in cooperation with each other (Fig.6 and [0049]: once actuated, 54 cooperates with 49 to complete the "first electric circuit"), wherein the projectile (54) projected integrally with the piston (52) upon actuation of the igniter (56) comes into contact with each of the pair of first conductor pieces (49) (Fig.6 and [0049]: when 56 actuates, 54 moves with 52, and thus projects integrally with 52, so that 54 comes into contact with each of 49), switching the first electric circuit (Figs.5-6: circuit created from 48) from the interrupted state (See Fig.5) to the conductive state (See Fig.6).
Regarding claim 2, Kern further discloses:
The electric circuit switching device (40) being configured to further switch a predetermined second electric circuit (Fig.5: circuit created by 46) from a conductive state (See Fig.5) to an interrupted state (See Fig.6) upon actuation, the electric circuit switching device (40) further comprising: a pair of second conductor pieces (See Figure of Claim 1) provided inserted, in a spaced apart state (See Figure of Claim 1: the pair of second conductor pieces are spaced apart from each other via 54 and 60, similar to figure 5 of Applicant’s figures), into the tubular space (44 and 70), and forming part of the second electric circuit (Fig.5: circuit created by 46) in cooperation with each other (Fig.5: the second conductor pieces cooperate with each other to form at least a part of the second electric circuit), wherein in the initial state (See Fig.5), the pair of second conductor pieces (See Fig.5) are electrically connected to each other via the projectile (54) (Fig.5: 54 electrically connects the pair of second conductor pieces), causing the second electric circuit (Fig.5: circuit created by 46) to be in the conductive state (See Fig.5), and an electrical connection between the pair of second conductor pieces via the projectile (54) is disconnected when the projectile (54) is projected in the projecting direction (68) (Figs.5-6: once 56 actuates 52, an electrical connection between the pair of second conductor pieces is broken via 54 moving and projecting in the predetermined projecting direction), switching the second electric circuit (Fig.5: circuit created by 46) from the conductive state (See Fig.5) to the interrupted state (See Fig.6).
Regarding claim 3, Kern further discloses:
Wherein in the initial state (See Fig.5), the projectile (54) is interposed between (See Figure of Claim 1: 54 is between the pair of second conductor pieces) the pair of second conductor pieces (See Figure of Claim 1), the projectile (54) being integrally connected (Fig.5 and See Figure of Claim 1: 54 is integrally formed/connected with the pair of second conductor pieces) with the pair of second conductor pieces (See Figure of Claim 1), and the projectile (54) is separated from (See Fig.6) each of the pair of second conductor pieces (See Figure of Claim 1) by the energy of the combustion gas ([0049]).
See next page→
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (WO 9741582) in view of Suzuki (US 20100328014) (of record, cited in the IDS) and in further view of Marlin (US 20210082645).
Regarding claims 4 and 8-9, Kern further discloses:
Wherein the projectile (54) includes a base body (the body of 54 itself will define the base body) positioned in the first position (Fig.5: the position of 54) in the initial state (See Fig.5).
However, Kern does not disclose:
Wherein the projectile includes a pair of protrusions protruding from the base body in the projecting direction, each of the pair of first conductor pieces is provided with an insertion hole into which a corresponding one of the pair of protrusions of the projectile projected is insertable, and each of the pair of protrusions comes into contact with an edge portion of the insertion hole, switching the first electric circuit from the interrupted state to the conductive state.
Suzuki however teaches (Figs.3a-b):
Wherein the projectile (57) includes a pair of protrusions (See Figure Below) protruding from the base body (See Figure Below).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Suzuki to modify the device of Kern such that the projectile also includes a pair of protrusions that protrude from the base body so that the pair of protrusions extend in the predetermined projecting direction so that the pair of protrusions come into contact with the pair of first conductor pieces, as respectively claimed in claims 4 and 8-9, in order to further optimize the movement of the projectile from the interrupted state to the conductive state (i.e., making the projectile have the pair of protrusions will reduce the thickness of the central area, and thus make it easier for 52 to break through and move 54 into the conductive state).
However, the above combination would still fail to teach:
Each of the pair of first conductor pieces is provided with an insertion hole into which a corresponding one of the pair of protrusions of the projectile projected is insertable, and each of the pair of protrusions comes into contact with an edge portion of the insertion hole, switching the first electric circuit from the interrupted state to the conductive state.
Marlin however teaches (Figs.1A-B and 3A-C):
Wherein the first conductor (50) is provided with an insertion hole (52a and b) into which a corresponding one of the pair of protrusions (44a and 44b) of the projectile (40) projected is insertable (See Fig.3C, [0043], and [0052]), and each of the pair of protrusions (44a and b) comes into contact with an edge portion (Figs.1A-B: the outer edges of 52a and 52b) of the insertion hole (52a and b) (Fig.3C: 44a and 44b will come into contact with the outer edges, and thus the edge portion, of their corresponding 52a and 52b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Marlin to further modify the device of modified Kern such that each of the pair of conductor pieces has an insertion hole into which a corresponding one of the pair of protrusions of the projectile projected is insertable so that each of the pair of protrusions come into contact with an edge portion of the insertion hole to switch the first electric circuit from the interrupted state to the conductive state, as respectively claimed in claim 4 and 8-9, in order to further improve the electrical and mechanical connection between the projectile and the pair of first conductor pieces (i.e., by forming each of the pair of first conductor pieces with the insertion hole, the pair of protrusions can be “locked” to the pair first conductor pieces to form a mechanical-like lock between the components to create a secure connection due to the greater contact area between the projectile and the pair of first conductor pieces, and thus better ensure that the projectile is electrically secured to the pair of first conductor pieces).
Regarding claim 5, Marlin further teaches:
Wherein a wedge portion having a wedge shape is formed at a distal end side of each of the pair of protrusions (44a and 44b) ([0046]: the “chamfered edges” will define the “wedge portion” and will have a wedge shape, and the wedge portions are each provided at a distal end side of their respective 44a and 44b that faces 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Marlin to further modify the device of modified Kern such that each of the pair of protrusions has a wedge portion that has a wedge shape that is formed at a distal end side of each of the pair of protrusions, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved connection as outlined in claim 4 above.
Furthermore, modifying the shape of the protrusions such that it has a desired shape, including as claimed (i.e., the ends being tapered to form a wedge portion with a wedge shape at a distal end side of each of the pair portions), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to achieve the improved connection as outlined in claim 4 above, since a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (WO 9741582) in view of Lopez (US 20190393008).
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11, Kern further discloses:
Wherein the piston (52) is disposed in the tubular space (44 and 70).
However, Kern does not disclose:
Wherein the piston is disposed in the tubular space in a mode of being restricted in rotation about an axial direction thereof.
Lopez however teaches (Fig.1A):
Wherein the piston (150) is disposed in the tubular space (121 and 122) in a mode of being restricted in rotation about an axial direction (X) thereof ([0049]: 156 of 150 allows 150 to be in a mode that prevents rotation about the axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Lopez to modify the device of Kern such that the piston is disposed in the tubular space in such a way that it has a mode of being restricted in rotation about an axial direction thereof, as respectively claimed in clams 7 and 10-11, in order to further optimize the actuation of the piston when actuated by the igniter as suggested by Lopez ([0049]: now that the piston is prevented from rotating/turning, maximum force from the piston can be transferred to the projectile since no force loss of the piston will occur from unwanted rotation/turning).
Claims 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (WO 9741582), Suzuki (US 20100328014) (of record, cited in the IDS), and Marlin (US 20210082645) as applied to claims 4-5 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Lopez (US 20190393008).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 15-16, Kern further discloses:
Wherein the piston (52) is disposed in the tubular space (44 and 70).
However, modified Kern fails to teach:
Wherein the piston is disposed in the tubular space in a mode of being restricted in rotation about an axial direction thereof.
Lopez however teaches (Fig.1A):
Wherein the piston (150) is disposed in the tubular space (121 and 122) in a mode of being restricted in rotation about an axial direction (X) thereof ([0049]: 156 of 150 allows 150 to be in a mode that prevents rotation about the axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Lopez to further modify the device of modified Kern such that the piston is disposed in the tubular space in such a way that it has a mode of being restricted in rotation about an axial direction thereof, as respectively claimed in clams 12-13 and 15-16, in order to further optimize the actuation of the piston when actuated by the igniter as suggested by Lopez ([0049]: now that the piston is prevented from rotating/turning, maximum force from the piston can be transferred to the projectile since no force loss of the piston will occur from unwanted rotation/turning).
Allowable Subject Matter
The Office notes that claim 6 can be allowed if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or if Applicant amends independent claim 1 such that it further includes the subject matter of claims 4-6 (i.e., add the limitations of claims 4-6 to independent claim 1), subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above and subject to Applicant overcoming the double patenting rejection.
Claim 14 is objected to for being dependent on an otherwise allowable dependent claim, subject to Applicant obviating the objections above and subject to Applicant overcoming the double patenting rejection (as outlined above), that is dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the combined subject matter of claims 1 and 4-6, and at least in part, because claim 6 recites the limitations: “wherein when the pair of protrusions are inserted into the insertion holes respectively, a leg portion of each of the pair of protrusions, the leg portion being positioned closer to the base body side than the wedge portion, is configured to push and widen the insertion hole”.
The aforementioned limitations, in combination with all remaining limitations of respective claim 6, are believed to render the combined subject matter of claims 1 and 4-6, and all claims depending therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above and subject to Applicant overcoming the double patenting rejection.
The Office notes that while there are prior art references that teach a pair of protrusions that fit into corresponding slots and each of the pair of protrusions having a leg portion and a wedge portion (e.g., Marlin (US 20210082645)), none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, teach a leg portion that widens or is capable of widening an insertion hole. In other words, while the structure of the protrusions is known in the art, the function of a leg portion of a protrusion widening an insertion hole is not taught and/or suggested in any of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination. Furthermore, even if one were to find a prior art reference that teaches a projection with a leg protrusion that can widen an insertion hole, the Office notes absent impermissible hindsight, there is no reason for one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts to modify the device of Kern such that it has the structure as respectively claimed in claim 6. For all of the reasons outlined above, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to render the claimed invention unpatentable as claimed in claim 6.
Furthermore, none of the Office actions provided in the Global Dossier have a rejection for claim 6 since they all state that claim 4 is in condition for allowance. In other words, all of the Office actions provided in the Global Dossier have indicated claim 4 as allowable and thus provide no rejection for claim 6. The Office has also fully considered all of the references provided in the Global Dossier, and none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 6.
For all of the reasons outlined above, claim 6 is believed to be allowable, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above and subject to Applicant overcoming the double patenting rejection. The Office recommends that Applicant submit a terminal disclaimer (TD) to overcome the double patenting rejection, amend the claims to address the claim objections, and to amend independent claim 1 such that it incorporates the subject matter of claims 4-6 in order to best advance prosecution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
See next page→
US 20220189723: teaches a projectile with a pair of protrusions that extend from a base body in a predetermined projecting direction.
DE 212019000419: teaches a projectile with a pair of protrusions that extend from a base body in a predetermined projecting direction.
WO 2019224469: teaches a projectile with a plurality of protrusions that can exemplify what the modified projectile outlined in the rejection of claim 1 can look like.
US 20170076890: teaches a projectile with a pair of protrusions that extend from a base body in a predetermined projecting direction.
US 20130126326: teaches a pyrotechnic switch that utilizes a plurality of conductors/busbars.
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841