DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims 1-20 pending below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-17 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on cite prior reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A update search found that Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) addresses the new claim amendments especially in paragraphs 0043-0044. The combine teaching of ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) in view of Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) teaches the newly claim amendments. Please see Office Action below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) in view of Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255).
Claim 1:
ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) teach following subject matter:
An information processing device comprising:
circuitry configured to generate a base mesh which is 3D data that represents a three- dimensional structure of an object by vertices and connections (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh. The method includes receiving, by a device, a coded bitstream comprising a geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh; 0005 detail coding (compressing) and decoding (decompressing) of 3D mesh and specifically to mesh compression with constrained geometry dynamic range),
generate a plurality of patches by dividing the target mesh and projecting the divided parts on the base mesh (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, further geometry patch comprises one or more partitions; and for a respective partition in the geometry patch, obtaining, by the device, a dynamic range of pixel values for points in the respective partition that correspond to vertices in the three-dimension mesh, wherein the dynamic range enables the geometry patch to be coded within a predetermined bit depth; figure 4 and 0049 detail a patch generation module (406) (alternatively referred to chart generation module), a patch packing module (408); 0045 detail projecting mesh)[[;]]
generate a geometry image by arranging the patches on a frame image (figure 4 and 0049 detail a geometry image generation module (410), a texture image generation module (412), a patch info module (404)); 046-0049 detail geometry map 312 coded to 3D mesh frames)[[;]]
encode meta information including vertex connectivity information about the vertices and the connections of the base mesh[[;]], and(0005-0006 detail coding (compressing) and decoding (decompressing) of 3D mesh and specifically to mesh compression with constrained geometry dynamic range. [0006] The present disclosure describes a method for decoding a geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh),
wherein the circuitry generates the plurality of patches with a pixel value indicating a distance corresponding to a vertex of each patch (0114 detail pixel values with correspond to distance from vertex with values such as distance which is referred to as depth image).
ZHANG et al teaches all the subject matter above, with mention regarding smaller pieces of the target range in 0145, but not the following: vertices that is smaller than a number of vertices of a target mesh.
Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) teaches the following subject matter:
base vertices that is smaller than a number of vertices of a target mesh (0043 and 0044 detail mesh reconstruction module 34 can exclude those vertices having less than a threshold number of neighboring vertices within a threshold distance.).
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al (figure 1 and 0014 detail mesh for 3D object with patches) are both in the field of image analysis, especially mesh generation for 3D structure such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al by Somasundaram et al regarding number of vertices such mesh reconstruction operations would increases in smoothness and accuracy during reconstruction as disclosed by Somasundaram et al in 0043.
Claim 2: ZHANG et al teach:
The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuity generates the base mesh by decimating the target mesh (0145 detail partitioned into smaller pieces until every partition's dynamic range is within the target dynamic range).
Claim 4: ZHANG et al teaches:
The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuity generates the base mesh using a mesh model prepared in advance (0046 disclosed use of a video coder may help compressing a 3D mesh frame using intra-prediction techniques and inter-prediction by other 3D mesh reference frames (advance mesh model); 0083 further detail use of reference picture components; 0085 detail reference picture memory for future intra-picture prediction).
Claim 6: ZHANG et al teach:
The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the circuity generates the base mesh common among a plurality of frames of the target mesh (0028 detail mesh using common vertices; 0039 detail reference where 3D mesh are structured; 0046 detail using 3D reference frames).
Claim 7: ZHANG et al teach:
The information processing device according to claim 1,
Wherein the circuity further configured to increase the number of vertices of the base mesh, and wherein the circuity generates the plurality of the patches by projecting the divided parts of the target mesh on the base mesh with the increased number of vertices (0061 detail image padding with patch packing by increasing to fill space without introducing coding distortion around patch boundaries; 0115 detail higher vertices in mesh).
Claim 9: ZHANG et al teach:
The information processing device according to claim 7, wherein circuity is further configured to calculates difference in position between each of the vertices of the base mesh with the increased number of vertices and the target mesh (above teaches increasing vertices, where 0034 further detail connectivity information between vertices that are separated and grouped with corresponding vertices position and displacement (different positions) are extracted as part of meta data).
Claim 10:
ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) anticipated following subject matter:
An information processing method, executed by at least one processor, the method comprising the steps of-
generating a base mesh which is 3D data that represents a three-dimensional structure of an object by vertices and connections (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh. The method includes receiving, by a device, a coded bitstream comprising a geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh; 0005 detail coding (compressing) and decoding (decompressing) of 3D mesh and specifically to mesh compression with constrained geometry dynamic range),
generating a plurality of patches by dividing the target mesh and projecting the divided parts on the base mesh (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, further geometry patch comprises one or more partitions; and for a respective partition in the geometry patch, obtaining, by the device, a dynamic range of pixel values for points in the respective partition that correspond to vertices in the three-dimension mesh, wherein the dynamic range enables the geometry patch to be coded within a predetermined bit depth; figure 4 and 0049 detail a patch generation module (406) (alternatively referred to chart generation module), a patch packing module (408));
generating a geometry image by arranging the patches on a frame image (figure 4 and 0049 detail a geometry image generation module (410), a texture image generation module (412), a patch info module (404)); 046-0049 detail geometry map 312 coded to 3D mesh frames);
encoding meta information including vertex connectivity information about the vertices and the connections of the base mesh (above teaching encoding/coding and decoding; 0034 detail meta data with connection or connectivity information between vertices may be separately grouped and organized aside from the 2D maps in forms of a list, table, and the like. The connectivity information, for example, may refer to vertices using vertex indices; 0027 further detail information of how the vertices are connected into edges, faces or polygons may be referred to as connectivity information. The connectivity information is important for uniquely defining components of a mesh since the same set of vertices can form different faces, surfaces, and polygons); and
encoding the geometry image (0005-0006 detail coding (compressing) and decoding (decompressing) of 3D mesh and specifically to mesh compression with constrained geometry dynamic range. [0006] The present disclosure describes a method for decoding a geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh).
wherein the circuitry generates the plurality of patches with a pixel value indicating a distance corresponding to a vertex of each patch (0114 detail pixel values with correspond to distance from vertex with values such as distance which is referred to as depth image).
ZHANG et al teaches all the subject matter above, with mention regarding smaller pieces of the target range in 0145, but not the following: base mesh has a number of the vertices that is smaller than a number of vertices of a target mesh.
Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) teaches the following subject matter:
base mesh has a number of the vertices that is smaller than a number of vertices of a target mesh (0043 and 0044 detail mesh reconstruction module 34 can exclude those vertices having less than a threshold number of neighboring vertices within a threshold distance.).
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al (figure 1 and 0014 detail mesh for 3D object with patches) are both in the field of image analysis, especially mesh generation for 3D structure such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al by Somasundaram et al regarding number of vertices such mesh reconstruction operations would increases in smoothness and accuracy during reconstruction as disclosed by Somasundaram et al in 0043.
Claim 11:
ZHANG et al teach:
An information processing device comprising: circuitry configured to decode encoded data of meta information including vertex connectivity information which is information about vertices and connections of a base mesh (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh. The method includes receiving, by a device, a coded bitstream comprising a geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh; 0005 detail coding (compressing) and decoding (decompressing) of 3D mesh and specifically to mesh compression with constrained geometry dynamic range)[[;]],
decode encoded data of a geometry image which is a frame image having a patch arranged thereon, increase the number of vertices of the base mesh using the vertex connectivity information (0061 detail image padding with patch packing by increasing to fill space without introducing coding distortion around patch boundaries; 0115 detail higher vertices in mesh)[[;]],
reconstruct the patch using the geometry image and the base mesh with the increased number of vertices (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, further geometry patch comprises one or more partitions; and for a respective partition in the geometry patch, obtaining, by the device, a dynamic range of pixel values for points in the respective partition that correspond to vertices in the three-dimension mesh, wherein the dynamic range enables the geometry patch to be coded within a predetermined bit depth; figure 4 and 0049 detail a patch generation module (406) (alternatively referred to chart generation module), a patch packing module (408))[[;]], ;
generate reconstructed vertex information about the vertices of the base mesh with the increased number of vertices by reconstructing three-dimensional positions of the vertices of the base mesh with the increased number of vertices using the reconstructed patch (0061 detail image padding with patch packing by increasing to fill space without introducing coding distortion around patch boundaries; 0115 detail higher vertices in mesh)[[;]],
wherein the base mesh is 3D data that represents a three-dimensional structure of an object by the vertices and the [[and]] wherein the patch is a divided part of the target mesh that represents the base mesh as a projection plane (0145 detail partitioned into smaller pieces until every partition's dynamic range is within the target dynamic range) and
wherein the circuitry generates the reconstructed vertex information according to a distance indicated by a pixel value corresponding to a vertex of the patch (0114 detail pixel values with correspond to distance from vertex with values such as distance which is referred to as depth image).
ZHANG et al teaches all the subject matter above, with mention regarding smaller pieces of the target range in 0145, but not the following: the base mesh having a number of vertices that is smaller than a number of vertices of a target mesh.
Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) teaches the following subject matter:
the base mesh having a number of vertices that is smaller than a number of vertices of a target mesh (0043 and 0044 detail mesh reconstruction module 34 can exclude those vertices having less than a threshold number of neighboring vertices within a threshold distance.).
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al (figure 1 and 0014 detail mesh for 3D object with patches) are both in the field of image analysis, especially mesh generation for 3D structure such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al by Somasundaram et al regarding number of vertices such mesh reconstruction operations would increases in smoothness and accuracy during reconstruction as disclosed by Somasundaram et al in 0043.
Claim 12: ZHANG et al teaches
The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the vertex connectivity information includes identification information about a mesh model prepared in advance, and the wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate base mesh vertex information about the vertices of the base mesh and base mesh connectivity information about the connections of the base mesh using the mesh model corresponding to the identification information (0046 disclosed use of a video coder may help compressing a 3D mesh frame using intra-prediction techniques and inter-prediction by other 3D mesh reference frames (advance mesh model); 0083 further detail use of reference picture components; 0085 detail reference picture memory for future intra-picture prediction).
Claim 13: ZHANG et al teaches
The information processing device according to claim 12, wherein the meta circuiry generates the base mesh vertex information and the base mesh connectivity information by at least one of enlarging, reducing, rotating or moving an entirety the entire mesh model (above teaches increasing vertices, where 0034 further detail connectivity information between vertices that are separated and grouped with corresponding vertices position and displacement (different positions) are extracted as part of meta data).
Claim 14: ZHANG et al teaches
The information processing device according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry generates the base mesh vertex information and the base mesh connectivity information by at least one moving, increasing or reducing the vertices of the mesh model (above teaches increasing vertices, where 0034 further detail connectivity information between vertices that are separated and grouped with corresponding vertices position and displacement (different positions) are extracted as part of meta data).
Claim 15: ZHANG et al teaches
The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the vertex connectivity information includes identification information about a further frame, and wherein the circuitry is further configured to refer refers to the base mesh vertex information about the vertices of the base mesh and the base mesh connectivity information about the connections of the base mesh corresponding to the further frame and determine these kinds of information as the base mesh vertex information and the base mesh connectivity information corresponding to a current frame (figure 5 and 0066; 0142).
Claim 16: ZHANG et al teaches
The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the circuitry increases the number of vertices by dividing a polygon of the base mesh (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, further geometry patch comprises one or more partitions)
.
Claim 17: ZHANG et al teaches
The information processing device according to claim 11, wherein the circuitry reconstructs the patch by extracting a pixel value corresponding to the vertex in a small region in the geometry image (0031-0032 detail pixel data from 3D to 2D (smaller region/volume/voxel and lower dimension); 0034).
Claim 20:
ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) teach following subject matter:
An information processing method, executed by at least one processor, the method comprising the steps of
decoding encoded data of meta information including vertex connectivity information about vertices and connections of a base mesh (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh. The method includes receiving, by a device, a coded bitstream comprising a geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh; 0005 detail coding (compressing) and decoding (decompressing) of 3D mesh and specifically to mesh compression with constrained geometry dynamic range),
decoding encoded data of a geometry image which is a frame image having a patch arranged thereon (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, above teaches decoding);
increasing the number of vertices of the base mesh using the vertex connectivity information (0061 detail image padding with patch packing by increasing to fill space without introducing coding distortion around patch boundaries; 0115 detail higher vertices in mesh);
reconstructing the patch using the geometry image and the base mesh having the increased number of the vertices; generating reconstructed vertex information about the vertices of the base mesh having the increased number of vertices by reconstructing three-dimensional positions of the vertices of the base mesh having the increased number of vertices using the reconstructed patch (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, further geometry patch comprises one or more partitions; and for a respective partition in the geometry patch, obtaining, by the device, a dynamic range of pixel values for points in the respective partition that correspond to vertices in the three-dimension mesh, wherein the dynamic range enables the geometry patch to be coded within a predetermined bit depth; figure 4 and 0049 detail a patch generation module (406) (alternatively referred to chart generation module), a patch packing module (408)); wherein and
the base mesh is 3D data that represents a three-dimensional structure of an object by the vertices and the connections and has a smaller number of the vertices than a target mesh (0145 detail partitioned into smaller pieces until every partition's dynamic range is within the target dynamic range), and
the patch is a divided part of the target mesh that represents the base mesh as a projection plane (0006 detail geometry patch for a three-dimension mesh, further geometry patch comprises one or more partitions).
ZHANG et al teaches all the subject matter above, with mention regarding smaller pieces of the target range in 0145, but not the following: the base mesh having a number of vertices that is smaller than a number for vertices of a target mesh
Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) teaches the following subject matter:
the base mesh having a number of vertices that is smaller than a number for vertices of a target mesh (0043 and 0044 detail mesh reconstruction module 34 can exclude those vertices having less than a threshold number of neighboring vertices within a threshold distance.).
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al (figure 1 and 0014 detail mesh for 3D object with patches) are both in the field of image analysis, especially mesh generation for 3D structure such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al by Somasundaram et al regarding number of vertices such mesh reconstruction operations would increases in smoothness and accuracy during reconstruction as disclosed by Somasundaram et al in 0043.
Claim 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) and Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) in view of Mammou et al (US 2023/0290010).
Claim 3:
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al teach all the subject matter above but not the following:
The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry generates the base mesh by deforming the decimated target mesh.
Mammou et al (US 2023/0290010) teaches the following subject matter:
The information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry generates the base mesh by deforming the decimated target mesh (figures 8-9 and 0072 detail re-sampling applied to an original mesh 801 with 40K triangles, which produces a 1K triangle decimated/base mesh 802, and a 150K deformed mesh 803. FIG. 9 compares the original mesh 901 (in wireframe) to the deformed mesh 902 (flat-shaded).).
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al and Mammou et al are both in the field of image analysis, especially 3D mesh processing with encoding/decoding such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al by Mammou et al regarding deforming and decimating mesh compute a new parameterization atlas, which may be better suited for compression as disclosed by Mammou et al in 0073.
Claim 5:
ZHANG et al teach all the subject matter above but not the following:
The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry generates the base mesh by deforming the mesh model.
Mammou et al (US 2023/0290010) teaches the following subject matter:
The information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry generates the base mesh by deforming the mesh model (figures 8-9 and 0072 detail re-sampling applied to an original mesh 801 with 40K triangles, which produces a 1K triangle decimated/base mesh 802, and a 150K deformed mesh 803. FIG. 9 compares the original mesh 901 (in wireframe) to the deformed mesh 902 (flat-shaded)).
ZHANG et al and Mammou et al are both in the field of image analysis, especially 3D mesh processing with encoding/decoding such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al by Mammou et al regarding deforming and decimating mesh compute a new parameterization atlas, which may be better suited for compression as disclosed by Mammou et al in 0073.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al (US 2023/0281876) and Somasundaram et al (US 219/0043255) in view of Savine et al (US 6,940,505).
Claim 8:
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al teach all the subject matter above but not the following:
The information processing device according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry increases the number of vertices by dividing a polygon of the base mesh.
Savine et al (US 6,940,505) teaches:
The information processing device according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry increases the number of vertices by dividing a polygon of the base mesh (column 4 lines 25-35 detail inner polygon is divided into equal sized segments. An incremental increase in Fin above this level causes each vertex of the inner polygon to tessellate to generate child vertices 34).
ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al and Savine et al are both in the field of image analysis, especially 3D mesh processing with encoding/decoding such that the combine outcome is predictable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify ZHANG et al and Somasundaram et al by Savine et al such improved image rendering may be obtained by defining the base vertex array and primitive list such that the lengths of the base mesh edges 8 are of the same order of magnitude (i.e., the triangular primitives 2 should preferably be close to equilateral) as disclosed by Savine et al in column 4 lines 65-68.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KUMA et al (US 2024/0346701) teaches INFORMATION PROCESSING DEVICE AND METHOD - internal vertices which are vertices of a mesh representing an object having a three-dimensional structure and positioned other than the boundary of a patch of a geometry are deleted, vertex connection information indicating the vertices of the mesh and connections between the vertices is generated, and the vertex connection information is encoded. Furthermore, coded data of vertex connection information indicating boundary vertices which are vertices of a mesh representing an object having a three-dimensional structure and positioned at least at the boundary of a patch of a geometry and connections between the boundary vertices is decoded, and the vertices positioned in the patch and the connections between the vertices are reconstructed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSUNG YIN TSAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656