DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 (filed 08/20/2024) have been considered in this action. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10 and 13 have been presented in the same format as originally presented. Claims 3-5, 9 and 11-12 have been amended.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SETUP DEVICE AND SETUP METHOD FOR CHANGING AN OPERATING CONDITION OF A COMPONENT SUPPLY UNIT AND COMPONENT CONTAINER.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “storage section” and “change section” in claims 1-12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As recited in [0066] a storage section is a database or any known storage device. According to the disclosed embodiments, no particular structure is recited as performing the functions of the change section. For example, no reference to a computer, processor, CPU, or circuits is recited in the entirety of the disclosure, and thus no structure capable of perform such functions is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “change section” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The applicant fails to disclose any form of processor, computer, CPU or circuits that would be capable of performing the functions of the change section. Paragraph [0066] recites “Change section 82, collation section 83, and correction section 84 may be provided in various arithmetic devices, control devices, and management devices” however these are not well-defined structures that would inform one of ordinary skill in the art of the exact structure that encompasses the invention. The exemplary recited ”arithmetic devices, control device, and management devices” are not well-known and understood structures such as a computer, but broad terms that would themselves raise questions to the scope of the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the number of empty accommodation spaces" in its first limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, claim 6 appears to be a run-on sentence that fails to grammatically segregate concepts in a logical fashion so that each phrase in the claim that is divided by commas is clearly associated with another portion to which it is modifying. It is unclear what “based on the component container information” is actually modifying because of the run-on nature of the claim. Similarly claim 8 ends with the phase “based on the component container information” but fails to link this concept to any of the preceding steps in a logical way. Simply putting “based on the component container information” does little to inform one of ordinary skill in the art how this information is actually being utilized by the claim such that its meaning is elusive and unclear in its present form. For the sake of compact prosecution the examiner shall consider “based on the component container information” to mean that information about the component container is utilized when the operation condition is changed.
Claims 7-8 are dependent upon claim 6, and thus inherit the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maezono et al. (US 20220264778).
In regards to Claim 1, Maezono teaches “A setup system comprising: a storage section” ([0095] As described above, target feeder determination unit 40 (first determination unit 40a) determines the target feeder that is disposed in component supply unit 10 and is used to produce the target type, based on the information on the status of the feeder (feeder information 46). Accordingly, it is possible to support efficient work of the setup change of the feeder. [0060] Storage unit 31 stores production plan information 42, type information 43, component information 44, component arrangement information 45, feeder information 46, component location information 47, production information 48, production history information 49, maintenance information 50, setup change component arrangement information 51, and the like) “configured to store at least one of component container information that is information related to a component container configured to accommodate a component to be mounted on a board and component supply unit information that is information related to a component supply unit configured to supply the component accommodated in the component container to a collection position;” ([0062] Component information 44 includes component name 61, electrical characteristic 62, component size 63, and supply unit 64. Component name 61 is information for specifying component D. Electrical characteristic 62 stores a type (function) of component D such as a microcomputer and a memory in addition to electrical characteristics such as resistance and capacitance of component D. Component size 63 stores a size (0201 or the like) of a chip component, and a size (20 mm×20 mm or the like) of a quad flat package (QFP) component. Supply unit 64 stores a tape width (8 mm, 16 mm, or the like) in the case of carrier tape 18 in addition to a method (carrier tape 18, stick case 22, and the like) of storing component D. [0063] Component arrangement information 45 stores an arrangement of components D created in advance on the basis of type information 43 and the like. Component arrangement information 45 includes line name 65, supply position 66, slot number 67, component name 61, supply method 68, and feeder number 69. Line name 65 is information for specifying component mounting lines L1 to L3, and “L2” indicates component mounting line L2. Supply position 66 is information for specifying the positions (front side or rear side) of electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 and component supply unit 10, and “#1F” indicates component supply unit 10 on a front side of electronic component mounting device M3(#1). Slot number 67 indicates the position of the slot of carriage 5 to which tape feeder 11 and the like are mounted; [0047] Tape feeder 11 supplies component D to component supply position 11a where mounting head 14 takes out component D by pitch-feeding carrier tape 18 having pockets for storing component D in a direction (tape feeding direction) from an outside of component supply unit 10 toward substrate conveyance mechanism 9.) “a setup device configured to set the component container to the component supply unit so that the component is capable of being supplied from the component supply unit;” ([0059] Next, a configuration of management computer 3 will be described with reference to FIG. 7. Here, among the functions of management computer 3, a configuration related to a function of supporting a setup change of electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 will be described. [0037] Note that attachment and detachment of carrier tape 18 (reel 19) to and from tape feeder 11 by worker W may be performed by an attachment and detachment robot (not illustrated) including a parallel link or an articulated mechanism. [0040] In the work of attaching carrier tape 18 to tape feeder 11 in the arrangement work, worker W reads label 19a attached to reel 19 by reader 4a, and collates an acquired reel number with information stored in arrangement work support device 4 or management computer 3. In addition, when reel 19 is stored in storage shelf 7 or when reel 19 is taken out from storage shelf 7, worker W reads label 19a of reel 19 using mobile terminal T and checks the label. As a result, the attachment status of tape feeder 11 to carriage 5, the attachment status of reel 19 to tape feeder 11, and the like can be acquired. [0041] In FIG. 1, in carriages 5 in preparation area As including carriage 5 connected to arrangement work support device 4, the arrangement work can be executed in parallel with the production of the mounting substrate in component mounting lines L1 to L3. Hereinafter, the setup change work for changing the type outside component mounting lines L1 to L3 including the arrangement work on carriage 5 is referred to as external setup work. [0042] When changing the type of the mounting substrate to be produced in component mounting lines L1 to L3, worker W moves carriage 5, on which the arrangement work has been completed in preparation area As, to component mounting lines L1 to L3, and executes the setup change work of replacing carriage 5 with carriage 5 mounted on the electronic component mounting device. In the setup change work, worker W conveys the replacement screen masks, tape feeder 11, mounting head 14, suction nozzle 14b, reel 19, and the like stored in preparation area As to component mounting lines L1 to L3 to replace them. Hereinafter, the setup change work for a type change in component mounting lines L1 to L3 including the setup change work for replacing carriage 5 is referred to as internal setup work) “a change section configured to change an operation condition when the setup device sets the component container to the component supply unit based on at least one of the component container information and the component supply unit information stored in the storage section” ([0065] In FIG. 7, feeder information acquisition unit 34 acquires information on the status of the feeder that supplies component D (electronic component) from electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 included in component mounting lines L1 to L3, arrangement work support device 4, mobile terminal T used by worker W, and the like, and stores the information in storage unit 31 as feeder information 46. Component location information acquisition unit 35 acquires information on the location of component D to be mounted on the mounting substrate from electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 included in component mounting lines L1 to L3, arrangement work support device 4, mobile terminal T used by worker W, and the like, and stores the information in storage unit 31 as component location information 47. Feeder information 46 and component location information 47 are updated every time the location of the feeder, an attachment state of component D, and the location of component D change due to the external setup work or the internal setup work. [0067] Location 71 indicates a location of the feeder. For example, “C42/L1/#1R” indicates that the feeder is mounted on carriage 5 of which the carriage number mounted on component supply unit 10 on a rear side of electronic component mounting device M3(#1) of component mounting line L1 is “C42”. Furthermore, “C73/preparation area” indicates that the feeder is mounted on carriage 5 with carriage number “C73” in preparation area As. In addition, “storage shelf/S05” indicates that the feeder is stored in a shelf of which shelf number 76 (see FIG. 11) of storage shelf 7 in preparation area As is “S05”. [0102] Management computer 3 includes feeder information acquisition unit 34 that acquires the information on the capability of the feeder (feeder information 46), production information acquisition unit 36 that acquires the information (production information 48) on the production of the workpiece (the mounting substrate), and target feeder determination unit 40 (first determination unit 40a) that determines the target feeder based on the information on the capability of the feeder and the information on the production of the workpiece. Management computer 3 is a setup change work support device. As a result, it is possible to support the setup change of the feeder such that the work can be performed in consideration of the production plan, production efficiency, and quality of the mounting substrate to be manufactured).
In regards to Claim 2, Maezono teaches “The setup system according to Claim 1, wherein the component container information includes information related to a type of the component container” ([0066] Here, an example of feeder information 46 will be described with reference to FIG. 10. Feeder information 46 includes feeder number 69, feeder type 70, location 71, component attachment state 72, use schedule 73, and feeder capability 74. Feeder number 69 is information for specifying the feeder and is the same as feeder number 69 of component arrangement information 45. That is, feeder information 46 is associated with component arrangement information 45 via feeder number 69. Feeder type 70 indicates a type of the feeder, and “8 mm tape” indicates tape feeder 11 that conveys carrier tape 18 having a width of 8 mm, “double feeder” indicates double feeder 20, and “triple stick” indicates triple stick feeder 21) “and the component supply unit information includes information that is information related to a type of the component supply unit” ([0062] Here, an example of component information 44 will be described with reference to FIG. 8. Component information 44 includes component name 61, electrical characteristic 62, component size 63, and supply unit 64. Component name 61 is information for specifying component D. Electrical characteristic 62 stores a type (function) of component D such as a microcomputer and a memory in addition to electrical characteristics such as resistance and capacitance of component D. Component size 63 stores a size (0201 or the like) of a chip component, and a size (20 mm×20 mm or the like) of a quad flat package (QFP) component. Supply unit 64 stores a tape width (8 mm, 16 mm, or the like) in the case of carrier tape 18 in addition to a method (carrier tape 18, stick case 22, and the like) of storing component D. [0064] Supply method 68 indicates a type of the feeder disposed at the position, where “tape” indicates tape feeder 11, “double feeder” indicates double feeder 20, and “stick” indicates stick feeder (triple stick feeder 21). Furthermore, “tape (simultaneous)” indicates tape feeder 11 that is a target of simultaneous suction. Feeder number 69 indicates information for specifying the feeder mounted at the position. In FIG. 9, since the target feeder is not yet allocated, all feeder numbers 69 are blank).
In regards to Claim 3, Maezono teaches “The setup system according to Claim 1, wherein the component container information includes component information related to the component accommodated in the component container” ([0066] Here, an example of feeder information 46 will be described with reference to FIG. 10. Feeder information 46 includes feeder number 69, feeder type 70, location 71, component attachment state 72, use schedule 73, and feeder capability 74. Feeder number 69 is information for specifying the feeder and is the same as feeder number 69 of component arrangement information 45. That is, feeder information 46 is associated with component arrangement information 45 via feeder number 69. Feeder type 70 indicates a type of the feeder, and “8 mm tape” indicates tape feeder 11 that conveys carrier tape 18 having a width of 8 mm, “double feeder” indicates double feeder 20, and “triple stick” indicates triple stick feeder 21. [0068] In FIG. 10, in component attachment state 72, information indicating whether or not component D (electronic component) is mounted on the feeder and, if mounted, specifying component D is stored. For example, “PR01(R214)” indicates that component D having component name 61 of “PR01” stored in reel 19 having reel number 75 (see FIG. 11) of “R214” is mounted on tape feeder 11 having feeder number 69 of “FT0802”. Further, “PM55/PM09/PL06” indicates that three components D having component names 61 of “PM55”, “PM09”, and “PL06” are mounted on the triple stick feeder 21 having feeder number 69 of “FS111”.)
In regards to Claim 4, Maezono teaches “The setup system according to Claims 1 ,wherein the change section changes an operation condition to the operation condition that matches the component container and the component supply unit to be set by the setup device” ([0036] In FIG. 1, the arrangement work (external setup work) according to the work instruction corresponding to the type of the mounting substrate to be produced in component mounting lines L1 to L3 is performed on carriage 5 connected to arrangement work support device 4. As the arrangement work, worker W performs work of removing tape feeder 11, reel 19, and the like that supply instructed component D from carriage 5, work of removing carrier tape 18 from tape feeder 11, work of attaching carrier tape 18 stored in reel 19 to tape feeder 11, work of attaching tape feeder 11 to an instructed position of carriage 5, and the like. [0037] Further, worker W performs work of conveying to storage shelf 7 and storing removed tape feeder 11 and reel 19, and work of picking up tape feeder 11 and reel 19 attached to carriage 5 from storage shelf 7 and conveying them to carriage 5. Note that attachment and detachment of carrier tape 18 (reel 19) to and from tape feeder 11 by worker W may be performed by an attachment and detachment robot (not illustrated) including a parallel link or an articulated mechanism. In addition, attachment and detachment of tape feeder 11 and reel 19 to and from carriage 5, and conveyance of tape feeder 11 and reel 19 between carriage 5 and storage shelf 7 may be executed by an automatic conveyance robot (not illustrated) including an articulated mechanism and the like. [0041] In FIG. 1, in carriages 5 in preparation area As including carriage 5 connected to arrangement work support device 4, the arrangement work can be executed in parallel with the production of the mounting substrate in component mounting lines L1 to L3. Hereinafter, the setup change work for changing the type outside component mounting lines L1 to L3 including the arrangement work on carriage 5 is referred to as external setup work. [0042] When changing the type of the mounting substrate to be produced in component mounting lines L1 to L3, worker W moves carriage 5, on which the arrangement work has been completed in preparation area As, to component mounting lines L1 to L3, and executes the setup change work of replacing carriage 5 with carriage 5 mounted on the electronic component mounting device. In the setup change work, worker W conveys the replacement screen masks, tape feeder 11, mounting head 14, suction nozzle 14b, reel 19, and the like stored in preparation area As to component mounting lines L1 to L3 to replace them. Hereinafter, the setup change work for a type change in component mounting lines L1 to L3 including the setup change work for replacing carriage 5 is referred to as internal setup work).
In regards to Claim 12, Maezono teaches “The setup system according to Claim 1, further comprising a correction section configured to correct the operation condition of the setup device when the operation condition of the setup device changed by the change section is inappropriate” ([0077] In FIG. 7, production history acquisition unit 37 acquires information on various errors occurring in the production of the mounting substrate in the production facility constituting component mounting lines L1 to L3, information on a correction value, and the like, and stores the information in storage unit 31 as production history information 49. Specifically, production history acquisition unit 37 acquires, from electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6, a suction error in which suction nozzle 14b cannot hold component D, a mounting error in which component D cannot be mounted on substrate B, a correction value of the mounting position when component D is mounted on substrate B, and the like. Maintenance information acquisition unit 38 acquires information on the state of tape feeder 11 from feeder maintenance device 6, and stores the information in storage unit 31 as maintenance information 50. [0078] Based on production history information 49 and maintenance information 50 stored in storage unit 31, feeder evaluation unit 39 evaluates the capability of the feeder (feeder capability 74) including the variation in the feeding stop position of the feeder (accuracy 74a), the effective speed at which component D is supplied to the component supply position (speed 74b), and the success rate of component D normally sucked by the feeder (success rate 74c), and updates feeder capability 74 of feeder information 46. For example, feeder evaluation unit 39 determines feeder capability 74 from the frequency of the suction error, the magnitude of the correction value of the mounting position, the variation, the frequency of use of the feeder, the elapsed time from the maintenance, and the like. [0085] Further, first determination unit 40a determines the target feeder based on the information (use schedule 73) on the use schedule of the feeder included in feeder information 46. Specifically, first determination unit 40a excludes, from the target feeders, feeders scheduled to be used for other target types. As a result, it is possible to prevent the reserved feeder from being erroneously used for other production; wherein reaction to an error with a correction or the determined prevention of erroneous use is an inappropriate change that gets corrected).
In regards to Claim 13, Maezono teaches “A setup method comprising: a storage step of storing, in a storage section” ([0095] As described above, target feeder determination unit 40 (first determination unit 40a) determines the target feeder that is disposed in component supply unit 10 and is used to produce the target type, based on the information on the status of the feeder (feeder information 46). Accordingly, it is possible to support efficient work of the setup change of the feeder. [0060] Storage unit 31 stores production plan information 42, type information 43, component information 44, component arrangement information 45, feeder information 46, component location information 47, production information 48, production history information 49, maintenance information 50, setup change component arrangement information 51, and the like) “at least one of component container information that is information related to a component container configured to accommodate a component to be mounted on a board and component supply unit information that is information related to a component supply unit configured to supply the component accommodated in the component container to a collection position” ([0062] Component information 44 includes component name 61, electrical characteristic 62, component size 63, and supply unit 64. Component name 61 is information for specifying component D. Electrical characteristic 62 stores a type (function) of component D such as a microcomputer and a memory in addition to electrical characteristics such as resistance and capacitance of component D. Component size 63 stores a size (0201 or the like) of a chip component, and a size (20 mm×20 mm or the like) of a quad flat package (QFP) component. Supply unit 64 stores a tape width (8 mm, 16 mm, or the like) in the case of carrier tape 18 in addition to a method (carrier tape 18, stick case 22, and the like) of storing component D. [0063] Component arrangement information 45 stores an arrangement of components D created in advance on the basis of type information 43 and the like. Component arrangement information 45 includes line name 65, supply position 66, slot number 67, component name 61, supply method 68, and feeder number 69. Line name 65 is information for specifying component mounting lines L1 to L3, and “L2” indicates component mounting line L2. Supply position 66 is information for specifying the positions (front side or rear side) of electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 and component supply unit 10, and “#1F” indicates component supply unit 10 on a front side of electronic component mounting device M3(#1). Slot number 67 indicates the position of the slot of carriage 5 to which tape feeder 11 and the like are mounted; [0047] Tape feeder 11 supplies component D to component supply position 11a where mounting head 14 takes out component D by pitch-feeding carrier tape 18 having pockets for storing component D in a direction (tape feeding direction) from an outside of component supply unit 10 toward substrate conveyance mechanism 9.) “and a change step of changing an operation condition when a setup device configured to set the component container to the component supply unit so that the component is capable of being supplied from the component supply unit sets the component container to the component supply unit, based on at least one of the component container information and the component supply unit information stored in the storage section.;” ([0059] Next, a configuration of management computer 3 will be described with reference to FIG. 7. Here, among the functions of management computer 3, a configuration related to a function of supporting a setup change of electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 will be described. [0037] Note that attachment and detachment of carrier tape 18 (reel 19) to and from tape feeder 11 by worker W may be performed by an attachment and detachment robot (not illustrated) including a parallel link or an articulated mechanism. [0040] In the work of attaching carrier tape 18 to tape feeder 11 in the arrangement work, worker W reads label 19a attached to reel 19 by reader 4a, and collates an acquired reel number with information stored in arrangement work support device 4 or management computer 3. In addition, when reel 19 is stored in storage shelf 7 or when reel 19 is taken out from storage shelf 7, worker W reads label 19a of reel 19 using mobile terminal T and checks the label. As a result, the attachment status of tape feeder 11 to carriage 5, the attachment status of reel 19 to tape feeder 11, and the like can be acquired. [0041] In FIG. 1, in carriages 5 in preparation area As including carriage 5 connected to arrangement work support device 4, the arrangement work can be executed in parallel with the production of the mounting substrate in component mounting lines L1 to L3. Hereinafter, the setup change work for changing the type outside component mounting lines L1 to L3 including the arrangement work on carriage 5 is referred to as external setup work. [0042] When changing the type of the mounting substrate to be produced in component mounting lines L1 to L3, worker W moves carriage 5, on which the arrangement work has been completed in preparation area As, to component mounting lines L1 to L3, and executes the setup change work of replacing carriage 5 with carriage 5 mounted on the electronic component mounting device. In the setup change work, worker W conveys the replacement screen masks, tape feeder 11, mounting head 14, suction nozzle 14b, reel 19, and the like stored in preparation area As to component mounting lines L1 to L3 to replace them. Hereinafter, the setup change work for a type change in component mounting lines L1 to L3 including the setup change work for replacing carriage 5 is referred to as internal setup work; [0065] In FIG. 7, feeder information acquisition unit 34 acquires information on the status of the feeder that supplies component D (electronic component) from electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 included in component mounting lines L1 to L3, arrangement work support device 4, mobile terminal T used by worker W, and the like, and stores the information in storage unit 31 as feeder information 46. Component location information acquisition unit 35 acquires information on the location of component D to be mounted on the mounting substrate from electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 included in component mounting lines L1 to L3, arrangement work support device 4, mobile terminal T used by worker W, and the like, and stores the information in storage unit 31 as component location information 47. Feeder information 46 and component location information 47 are updated every time the location of the feeder, an attachment state of component D, and the location of component D change due to the external setup work or the internal setup work. [0067] Location 71 indicates a location of the feeder. For example, “C42/L1/#1R” indicates that the feeder is mounted on carriage 5 of which the carriage number mounted on component supply unit 10 on a rear side of electronic component mounting device M3(#1) of component mounting line L1 is “C42”. Furthermore, “C73/preparation area” indicates that the feeder is mounted on carriage 5 with carriage number “C73” in preparation area As. In addition, “storage shelf/S05” indicates that the feeder is stored in a shelf of which shelf number 76 (see FIG. 11) of storage shelf 7 in preparation area As is “S05”. [0102] Management computer 3 includes feeder information acquisition unit 34 that acquires the information on the capability of the feeder (feeder information 46), production information acquisition unit 36 that acquires the information (production information 48) on the production of the workpiece (the mounting substrate), and target feeder determination unit 40 (first determination unit 40a) that determines the target feeder based on the information on the capability of the feeder and the information on the production of the workpiece. Management computer 3 is a setup change work support device. As a result, it is possible to support the setup change of the feeder such that the work can be performed in consideration of the production plan, production efficiency, and quality of the mounting substrate to be manufactured).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maezono as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oyama et al. (English translation of WO 2019142299, hereinafter Oyama).
In regards to Claim 5, Maezono teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 1 above.
Maezono further teaches “The setup system according to Claim 1, wherein the component container is a reel around which a carrier tape…is wound” ([0054] In FIG. 4, reel 19 around which carrier tape 18 for storing component D is wound is held on a front side of carriage 5. Tape feeder 11 conveys carrier tape 18 stored in reel 19 in the tape feeding direction, and supplies component D to a component takeout position by mounting head 14. Label 19a is attached to reel 19) “and the component supply unit is a feeder configured to convey the carrier tape in a state of rotatably supporting the reel” (Fig. 6a and [0048] That is, tape feeder 11 can be disposed in component supply unit 10 of electronic component mounting devices M3 to M6 that mount component D (electronic component) on substrate B (workpiece), and is a feeder that supplies component D; [0047] Tape feeder 11 supplies component D to component supply position 11a where mounting head 14 takes out component D by pitch-feeding carrier tape 18 having pockets for storing component D in a direction (tape feeding direction) from an outside of component supply unit 10 toward substrate conveyance mechanism 9).
Maezono fails to teach “a carrier tape in which a cover tape that closes an accommodation section configured to accommodate the component is provided on a base tape provided with the accommodation section is wound; and the component supply unit is a feeder configured to convey the carrier tape in a state of rotatably supporting the reel, open the accommodation section closed by the cover tape on an upstream side of the collection position, and supply the component at the collection position”.
Oyama teaches “a carrier tape in which a cover tape that closes an accommodation section configured to accommodate the component is provided on a base tape provided with the accommodation section is wound” ([page 2] Each tape feeder 5 is provided with a component supply reel on which a component supply tape 60 (FIG. 5) is accommodated, in which small pieces E of integrated circuits, transistors, capacitors and the like are accommodated at predetermined intervals. Each tape feeder 5 intermittently supplies the component E to the component supply position Ls at the tip by intermittently feeding the component supply tape 60 drawn from the component supply reel. [page 5] The component supply tape 60 is configured of a carrier tape 62 having a sheet shape elongated in one direction, and a cover tape 64 attached to the carrier tape 62. In the carrier tape 62, hollow pockets 621 opened upward are aligned in a row at a predetermined interval in the longitudinal direction of the tape, in other words, at a predetermined arrangement pitch. Then, the part E is accommodated and held in the pocket 621 in a state of being closed by the cover tape 64) “and the component supply unit is a feeder configured to convey the carrier tape in a state of rotatably supporting the reel, open the accommodation section closed by the cover tape on an upstream side of the collection position, and supply the component at the collection position” ([page 2] in each component supply unit 25, a plurality of tape feeders 5 are arranged in the X direction. Each tape feeder 5 is provided with a component supply reel on which a component supply tape 60 (FIG. 5) is accommodated, in which small pieces E of integrated circuits, transistors, capacitors and the like are accommodated at predetermined intervals. Each tape feeder 5 intermittently supplies the component E to the component supply position Ls at the tip by intermittently feeding the component supply tape 60 drawn from the component supply reel. The arithmetic processing unit 110 controls the operation of the tape feeder 5 by issuing an instruction to the feeder control unit 50 of the tape feeder 5 via the feeder communication unit 150. [page 5] Furthermore, the tape feeder 5 has a component exposing member 59 for releasing the component supply tape 60 at an open position Le near the upstream side of the feed direction Df of the component supply position Ls. The component exposure member 59 has a cutter that contacts the component supply tape 60 at the open position Le, and the component supply tape 60 passing through the open position Le in the feed direction Df is opened by the cutter, and the component is supplied at the component supply position Ls. E is exposed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the carrier tape that is a feeder in a component supply unit wound around a reel with pockets storing the components which are supplied at a supply position for manufacturing circuit boards as taught by Maezono, with the use of carrier tape that includes a base tape and a cover tape that holds the components in the tape before they are exposed for supply to a circuit board manufacturing process as taught by Oyama, because it would gain the obvious benefit of using the cover tape to prevent components from falling out of the reel as they are being moved/transported or unwound, thus improving the efficiency of the circuit board manufacturing process. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known component supply reels of Maezono, and modifying them with the cover tape on the reels of Maezono in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Maezono and Oyama teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 5 above. Oyama further teaches “The setup system according to Claim 5, wherein the change section changes the operation condition of the setup device when the carrier tape is conveyed by the number of empty accommodation sections, which are a predetermined number of accommodation sections from a distal end side of the carrier tape and are accommodation sections in which the component is not accommodated” ([page 7] Thus, when the pocket 621 in which the part E does not exist is confirmed mt times in a row, in other words, the part E does not exist in the adjacent mt or more pockets 621 sequentially supplied to the part supply position Ls. If confirmed ("YES" in step S109), the arithmetic processing unit 110 determines that the component supply tape 60 has run out of parts (step S112) after resetting the number of times of imaging m to zero (step S111). ). Then, the feeder control unit 50 continuously discharges the component supply tape 60 in the feed direction Df until the end 601 of the component supply tape 60 as the determination target is discharged from the tip of the tape feeder 5) “and a leading accommodation section in which the component is accommodated is positioned at a predetermined position with respect to the collection position, based on the component container information” ([page 4] at the rear end of the case 52 in the feed direction Df, a tape insertion port 53a (shown by a broken line) extended in the Z direction is opened, and the component supply position Ls is on the upper surface of the front end portion of the case 52 in the feed direction Df. It is provided. In the feeder main body 51, there is provided a tape transport path 53b extending from the tape insertion port 53a to the component supply position Ls. The feeder main body 51 feeds the component supply tape 60 inserted from the tape insertion port 53a into the tape conveyance path 53b in the feed direction Df by receiving the driving force of the feeder motors Mf and Mb, thereby providing components at the component supply position Ls. Supply....The tape support member 56 is opposed to the sprocket 54 from below, and the component supply tape 60 is engaged with the sprocket 54 by sandwiching the component supply tape 60 with the sprocket 54. Thus, the tip of the component supply tape 60 is attached to the tape attachment position La between the sprocket 54 and the tape support member 56. Therefore, the feeder motor Mb can convey the component supply tape 60 engaged with the sprocket 54 in the feed direction Df by rotating in the forward direction (forward rotation)).
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Maezono and Oyama teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 5 above. Oyama further teaches “The setup system according to Claim 5, wherein the change section changes the operation condition of the setup device according to an opening method in which the feeder opens the accommodation section” ([page 5] Furthermore, the tape feeder 5 has a component exposing member 59 for releasing the component supply tape 60 at an open position Le near the upstream side of the feed direction Df of the component supply position Ls. The component exposure member 59 has a cutter that contacts the component supply tape 60 at the open position Le, and the component supply tape 60 passing through the open position Le in the feed direction Df is opened by the cutter, and the component is supplied at the component supply position Ls. E is exposed.[page 11] the configuration for exposing the pocket 621 at the component supply position Ls is not limited to the above example. That is, as described in JP-A-2015-143225, the pocket 621 may be exposed by a peeling member which pulls the cover tape 64 to peel it from the carrier tape 62; wherein peeling is a different opening method and thus would utilize the appropriate method depending upon the supply unit configuration).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maezono and Oyama as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hwang et al (US 20150382523, hereinafter Hwang).
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Maezono and Oyama teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 6 above.
Oyama further teaches “The setup system according to Claim 6, wherein the setup device is capable of executing multiple determination methods including at least one of a first determination method of imaging the accommodation section which the cover tape is peeled off from the base tape using an imaging device and determining whether the accommodation section is the empty accommodation section based on an image captured by the imaging device… and the change section changes the operation condition of the setup device by selecting any one of the multiple determination methods.” ([page 5] the tape feeder 5 has a component exposing member 59 for releasing the component supply tape 60 at an open position Le near the upstream side of the feed direction Df of the component supply position Ls. The component exposure member 59 has a cutter that contacts the component supply tape 60 at the open position Le, and the component supply tape 60 passing through the open position Le in the feed direction Df is opened by the cutter, and the component is supplied at the component supply position Ls. E is exposed. [page 7] the substrate recognition camera 8 captures an image of the component supply position Ls (step S106), and the image processing unit 140 determines the presence or absence of the component E in the pocket 621 of the component supply position Ls based on the image (step S107); [page 11] the configuration for exposing the pocket 621 at the component supply position Ls is not limited to the above example. That is, as described in JP-A-2015-143225, the pocket 621 may be exposed by a peeling member which pulls the cover tape 64 to peel it from the carrier tape 62.).
The combination of Maezono and Oyama fails to teach “and a second determination method of measuring a distance to the component accommodated in the accommodation section which the cover tape is peeled off from the base tape using a measurement device and determining whether the accommodation section is the empty accommodation section based on the distance”.
Hwang teaches “and a second determination method of measuring a distance to the component accommodated in the accommodation section which the cover tape is peeled off from the base tape using a measurement device and determining whether the accommodation section is the empty accommodation section based on the distance” ([0035] The parts sensor 17 may sense whether an electronic part is accommodated in the pocket P of the carrier tape T. The parts sensor 17 may include, for example, a light sensor, but not limited thereto. The parts sensor 17 may be installed in front of or behind the injection standby unit. [0036] the parts sensor 17 senses a starting position of a vacant part and the number of the vacant part and transmits the sensing information to a controlling device. Based on the length of the vacant rear end portion of the carrier tape T that has been sensed by the parts sensor 17, an operation of the second driver 311 of the pickup module 200 may be controlled).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the setup system that determines whether a component accommodation space/pocket is empty using a camera, with the use of determining whether a component accommodation space/pocket is empty using a distance measurement as taught by Hwang, because it can be considered a simple substitution of one method of determining if a pocket is empty with another while achieving the same end result. In other words, by modifying the setup system of Maezono and Oyama with the additional use of an empty pocket determination method using distance measurement it can be considered taking a known system and modifying it in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Maezono, Oyama and Hwang teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 7 above. Oyama further teaches “The setup system according to Claim 7, wherein, when the first determination method is selected, the change section changes at least one of an imaging condition under which the imaging device images the accommodation section and an image processing condition under which the image captured by the imaging device is image-processed, based on the component container information” ([page 6] when it is determined that the part E does not exist (in the case of “NO” in step S107), the imaging number m of the component supply position Ls is incremented (step S108), and the imaging number m is a predetermined number mt (mt is It is determined whether it is an integer of 2 or more) (step S109). The component mounter 1 may be configured such that the user can arbitrarily input the predetermined number of times mt by, for example, an operation on the user interface 160. Here, since the number of times of imaging m is “1”, “NO” is determined in step S109. Accordingly, in step S110, the tape feeder 5 to be picked up by the mounting head 31 intermittently drives the component supply tape 60 to transport the pocket 621 to the component supply position Ls, and then the process returns to step S106. At this time, the arithmetic processing unit 110 prohibits the mounting head 31 from picking up the component E from the component supply position Ls in which it is determined in step S107 that the component E is not present; wherein the number of times of imaging is a change of imaging processing condition).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maezono in view of Oyama as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Oyama et al. (US 20200015395, hereinafter Masuda) and Liao et al. (US 20200006098, hereinafter Liao).
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Maezono and Oyama teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 5 above.
Oyama further teaches “and the opening method is a first opening method of opening the accommodation section by peeling off the cover tape from the base tape at both of the end portions of the base tape in the width direction” ([page 11] Further, the configuration for exposing the pocket 621 at the component supply position Ls is not limited to the above example. That is, as described in JP-A-2015-143225, the pocket 621 may be exposed by a peeling member which pulls the cover tape 64 to peel it from the carrier tape 62).
The combination of Maezono and Oyama fail to teach “The setup system according to Claim 9, wherein the cover tape is attached to both end portions of the base tape in a width direction…or a second opening method of opening the accommodation section in a state where the cover tape is attached to the base tape at one of both of the end portions of the base tape in the width direction”.
Masuda teaches “The setup system according to Claim 9, wherein the cover tape is attached to both end portions of the base tape in a width direction” ([0037] The cover tape 102 is stuck to the carrier tape 101 to cover the component storage parts 101a. Both ends in the width direction of the cover tape 102 are melted to stick the cover tape 102 to the carrier tape 101. Thus, in the component storage tape 100, fused parts 103 formed by the melting of the cover tape 102 are linearly formed on both ends in the width direction of the upper face of the carrier tape 101 along the inner side of edges in the width direction of the cover tape 102. In the width direction of the carrier tape 101, the fused parts 103 are disposed on the inner side with respect to the engagement holes 101b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover tape that is attached to base tape in which the tape is peeled off to expose the components as taught by Oyama, with the use of cover tape that is sealed at both ends across a width as taught by Masuda because it can be considered replacing one type of cover tape attachment with another that would have the obvious benefit of better sealing the components to the base tape so that cant fall out of either side. Oyama is silent towards the sealing method, and thus using that of Masuda would be obvious, beyond the point that the same inventors are involved from both Oyama and Masuda, thus furthering their knowledge to combine.
The combination of Maezono, Oyama and Masuda fail to teach “or a second opening method of opening the accommodation section in a state where the cover tape is attached to the base tape at one of both of the end portions of the base tape in the width direction”.
Liao teaches “or a second opening method of opening the accommodation section in a state where the cover tape is attached to the base tape at one of both of the end portions of the base tape in the width direction” ([0027] Carrier tape systems in accordance with embodiments described herein are utilized in a method for supplying semiconductor devices to an apparatus, which in operation, removes the semiconductor devices from a pocket of the carrier tape system. Such methods include separating a cover tape from a carrier tape substrate at one or more of a plurality of non-adhesion areas of the cover tape system. In accordance with some embodiments the non-adhesion areas are of adhesive and in other embodiments the non-adhesion areas are opening or recesses formed in the carrier tape substrate. In some embodiments of the disclosed methods, the non-adhesion areas and adhesion areas are located between a plurality of pockets of the carrier tape substrate and at least one of a longitudinal first edge or a longitudinal second edge of the carrier tape substrate. [0052] A cover tape is adhered to the carrier tape substrate by the plurality of adhesion areas. In accordance with method 600, at step 620, the carrier tape substrate is separated from the cover tape at an adhesion area).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the setup system of Maezono, Oyama and Masuda which includes a first opening method of peeling back a cover tape that is attached at two points across a width, with the use of the opening method whereby only one side gets peeled back as taught by Liao, because it can be considered the use of one known method in place of a different method that achieves the same end results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maezono as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsushita (US 20200329596, hereinafter Matsushita).
In regards to Claim 11, Maezono teaches the setup system as incorporated by claim 1 above.
Maezono fails to teach “The setup system according to Claim 1, further comprising a collation section configured to collate whether the component container and the component supply unit to be set by the setup device are compatible with each other”.
Matsushita teaches “The setup system according to Claim 1, further comprising a collation section configured to collate whether the component container and the component supply unit to be set by the setup device are compatible with each other” ([0082] The memory part 72 stores respective databases which record a mounting program and data necessary for executing the mounting program. The databases also store various data necessary for the above-mentioned part verification processing. Specifically, as conceptually described in FIG. 10, the databases stores part verification data (corresponding to “part verification information” of the present disclosure) which make the set positions (set position information) of the respective tape feeders 5 in the part supply unit 4, that is, the positions of the slots 34 in the feeder mounting part 32 and identification information (part ID) of the parts disposed at the positions correlate with each other. Slot numbers which differ from each other are allocated to the respective slots 34, and the position of the respective slots 34, that is, the set positions of the tape feeder 5 are identified by these slot numbers. Part verification data also includes information on names, kinds, manufacturing lots of parts corresponding to part ID. [0090] The arithmetic operation processing part 71, as a result of part verification processing, outputs a control signal to the feeder control part 49 so as to allow loading of the part supply tape 60 only when the tape feeder 5 (set position information of the tape feeder 5) and the part ID are compatible with each other. That is, the arithmetic operation processing part 71 inhibits loading of the part supply tape 60 when the tape feeder 5 and the part ID are not compatible with each other. Accordingly, in the case where the tape feeder 5 and the part ID are not compatible with each other, even when the part supply tape 60 is loaded on the tape feeder 5 and the operation button 51a is operated, loading of the part supply tape 60 is not performed. Further, with respect to the succeeding part supply tape 60, even in the case where the entire preceding part supply tape 60 is fed out (even when the tail end of the part supply tape 60 passes the position of the first tape detection sensor 48a and the absence of the preceding part supply tape 60 is detected), loading of the succeeding part supply tape 60 is not performed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the setup system of Maezono that allows setup of a component container with a component supply unit with the use of the verification system of Matsushita that checks if the components container is compatible with the component supply unit with a verification step because it would gain the obvious benefit of making sure that only compatible component containers are fed to component supply units so there is no issue with the manufacturing process when those components are fed. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known method of performing the verification steps of Matsushita, and using them to improve the setup system of Maezono in a known way that achieves predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210204457 – teaches a plurality of types of feeders capable of being installed in a component supply unit that are automatically loaded
US 20190307033 – teaches a tape feeder setup that occurs on the basis of a scheduled production
US 20030046808 – teaches a method for preparing component tapes in component magazines
/JONATHAN MICHAEL SKRZYCKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2116