DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
As of the Office Action dated January 14, 2026 claims 1-16 and 18 were pending and claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claim 14 has been cancelled. Claims 1-13, 15-16 and 18 are therefore currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 1-16 and 18 has been fully considered but is not persuasive. In reviewing Applicant’s remarks at page 8 notably the citation from paragraph 0054 of Applicant’s written disclosure recites “…Through tracking the components via an identity-based data footprint in a decentral computing environment, operating the recycling process is simpler, since it is digitally operated rather than physically.” The claim does nothing more than automate a manual method which is evidence that the assignment or routing of a recycled battery can be performed by a human being by observation and evaluation. The background section at paragraph 0002 recites that “Battery recycling is a subject of growing interest in a world with an increasing amount of portable electronic devices and automation”. It is clear that the claimed invention is not directed towards a particularly new method of recycling as recycling centers and processing plants have existed long before the claimed invention but simply automating the existing flow and realizing the free-flowing benefits of automation. Clearly the fact that recycling has been done “physically” is evidence that the decision as to where to route a particular recycled battery can be done as a mental process. Therefore with regard to Prong One of Step 2A the claim is clearly directed towards an abstract idea and are appropriately categorized as nothing more than mental steps. Therefore this argument is not persuasive. With regard to Prong Two of Step 2A the claim does nothing more than recite a particular technological environment along with instructions necessary to carry out the abstract idea and can be carried out on any suitably programmed general purpose computer. Therefore on the basis of the requirements of MPEP § 2106.04(d) in conjunction with the rationales provided in MPEP § 2106.05 (a)-(c) and (e)-(h) the claim does not meet the requirements necessary to deem that a practical application of the abstract idea is present. As such the present rejection under section 101 will be maintained.
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(2) rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 6-16 and 18 as being anticipated by Eckart et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0224158, hereinafter referred to as Eckart) has been fully considered but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 2 and 5 as being unpatentable over Eckart in further view of Bai et al. “Energy and environmental aspects in recycling lithium-ion batteries: Concept of Battery Identity Global Passport”, Materials Today, Volume 41, December 2020, pp. 304-315, hereinafter referred to as Bai has been fully considered but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a method and therefore meets Step 1 of the patent subject matter eligibility guidelines as a method is one of the four categories of statutory subject matter (MPEP § 2106.03)
The analysis then proceeds to Prong One of Step 2A in which the claim is analyzed in order to evaluate whether a claim is directed towards a judicial exception. Claim 1 recites operations of providing a battery identifier and corresponding material configuration data associated with at least one component of a battery, determining a material identifier package, assigning the battery to be recycled to a plant and controlling at least one plant operation system. The claim falls under the category of a mental process (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(c)) where provided data is gathered, the information is analyzed and the result of the analysis is used as a basis for deciding what action to take, all of which can be performed in the human mind. Even if a computer is utilized in performing the steps the computer would simply be nothing more than a tool used to perform a mental process. Therefore under Prong One of Step 2A claim 1 is deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter in the form of an abstract idea.
The analysis then proceeds to Prong Two of Step 2A in which the claim is analyzed in order to evaluate whether additional elements are present that form a practical application of the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.04(d)). The claim recites in the preamble that it is computer implemented. No improvement is recited in the claims to the functioning of a computer, nor is there any improvement to another technology or technological field. Figure 3a and the corresponding text at paragraphs 0127-0134 only suggest the use of a general purpose computer as part of a particular technological environment and that the computer is nothing more than a tool used to perform the abstract idea. The claim only recites the idea of an outcome as the claim does not recite any particular use of the data but simply recites that the data will be used by a plant without specifying how a solution to a problem is accomplished (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The plant in the claim as recited is merely a technological environment in which the method operates (MPEP § 2106.05 (h)) and as the recitation of the plant only affects the type of data to be manipulated the plant can be viewed as nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)) given the high level at which the plant is claimed. The providing operation can be viewed as insignificant extra-solution activity as it involves data gathering and all computer operations must rely on the inputting and outputting of data (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)). The determining operation merely mimics human processes of observing, evaluating and reaching a judgment and therefore can be categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)) and the recitation of the plant merely describes the particular technological environment in which the claim operates (MPEP § 2106.05 (h)). The assigning operation also involves reaching a judgment and therefore is categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)) and as it is a form of data outputting it can also be categorized as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)). The controlling operation is both a form of data inputting that can be categorized as mere data gathering insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)) but can also be viewed as a form of instruction to the plant as to how to process the particular battery based on the determining operation and therefore is also categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)). Therefore under Prong Two of Step 2A claim 1 is deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter in the form of an abstract idea without any elements present sufficient to form a practical application of the abstract idea.
The analysis then proceeds to Step 2B in which the claim is analyzed in order to evaluate whether additional elements are present such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05). The claim recites in the preamble that it is computer implemented. No improvement is recited in the claims to the functioning of a computer, nor is there any improvement to another technology or technological field. Figure 3a and the corresponding text at paragraphs 0127-0134 only suggest the use of a general purpose computer as part of a particular technological environment and that the computer is nothing more than a tool used to perform the abstract idea. The claim only recites the idea of an outcome as the claim does not recite any particular use of the data but simply recites that the data will be used by a plant without specifying how a solution to a problem is accomplished (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The plant in the claim as recited is merely a technological environment in which the method operates (MPEP § 2106.05 (h)) and as the recitation of the plant only affects the type of data to be manipulated the plant can be viewed as nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)) given the high level at which the plant is claimed. The providing operation can be viewed as insignificant extra-solution activity as it involves data gathering and all computer operations must rely on the inputting and outputting of data (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)). The determining operation merely mimics human processes of observing, evaluating and reaching a judgment and therefore can be categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)) and the recitation of the plant merely describes the particular technological environment in which the claim operates (MPEP § 2106.05 (h)). The assigning operation also involves reaching a judgment and therefore is categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)) and as it is a form of data outputting it can also be categorized as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)). The controlling operation is both a form of data inputting that can be categorized as mere data gathering insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)) but can also be viewed as a form of instruction to the plant as to how to process the particular battery based on the determining operation and therefore is also categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)). The operations of providing, assigning and controlling do not require any operation that would be viewed as being anything other than well-understood, routine and conventional as the providing operation is broad enough to read on manual operations, the determining operation involves nothing more than scanning or extracting data either manually or electronically, the assigning operation can be viewed as a form of electronic recordkeeping and the controlling operation merely involves receiving data either over a network or through manual processing The providing operation can be viewed as insignificant extra-solution activity as it involves data gathering and all computer operations must rely on the inputting and outputting of data (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)). The determining operation merely mimics human processes of observing, evaluating and reaching a judgment and therefore can be categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)) and the recitation of the plant merely describes the particular technological environment in which the claim operates (MPEP § 2106.05 (h)). The assigning operation also involves reaching a judgment and therefore is categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP § 2106.05 (f)) and as it is a form of data outputting it can also be categorized as insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)). The controlling operation is both a form of data inputting that can be categorized as mere data gathering insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (g)) but can also be viewed as a form of instruction to the plant as to how to process the particular battery based on the determining operation and therefore is also categorized as mere instructions to apply an exception insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05 (d)). Therefore under Step 2B claim 1 is deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter in the form of an abstract idea without significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-10 merely extend the abstract idea of claim 1 by describing the nature of the data used in the mental process or further describing additional operations where no additional elements are present that would alter the analysis under Steps 2A and 2B. Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are all directed towards data gathering operations that do not appear to require any particular means other than either a computer network or even manual delivery and therefore can all be held as being well-understood, routine and conventional (MPEP § 2106.05 (d)). Therefore claims 2-10 are also deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 18 recites a sensor sensing the battery identifier. No technological improvement is being made to the sensor (MPEP 2106.05(a)) nor is there any technological improvement to the sensor or the computer any other technology or technological field. Claim 18 is directed towards a data gathering operation that does not appear to require any particular means other than either the sensor and therefore can all be held as being well-understood, routine and conventional (MPEP § 2106.05 (d)) as it applies to the data gathering and merely ties the claim to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05 (h)). Therefore the analysis results would not change under either Step 2A or Step 2B and claim 18 is also deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claims 11-13 and 15-16 are directed towards the apparatus and instructions for performing the method of claims 1-10 or subject matter sufficiently similar such that the analysis would result in a finding different from that of claim 1 as no additional elements are introduced that would alter the analysis under Steps 2A and 2B. Therefore claims 11-13 and 15-16 are also deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckart et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0224158, hereinafter referred to as Eckart) in view of Gaines, “The future of automotive lithium-ion battery recycling: Charting a sustainable course”, Sustainable Materials and Technologies, November 15, 2014, pp. 2-7.
As per claims 1 and 11
Eckart discloses a computer-implemented method for operating a battery recycling process for recycling of materials contained in batteries associated with at least one battery identifier (0026 “FIG. 1 is a schematic view of an exemplary operating environment 100 for processing a battery passport 102 that is associated with a battery 104 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. In an exemplary embodiment, the operating environment 100 may include a secure server infrastructure (secure server) 106 that may be configured to execute a battery passport processing and secure communication application (battery passport application) 108 that may be configured to process and securely communicate the battery passport 102”, 0027 “In an exemplary embodiment, the battery passport 102 may be configured as a digitally encrypted data packet (e.g., datafile) and may be specifically associated with the battery 104. The battery passport 102 may be configured as a digital representation of the battery 104 that may convey information about applicable environmental requirements, social requirements, governance requirements, and lifecycle requirements based on a comprehensive definition of a sustainable battery that may be defined by one or more global policy consortiums. The battery passport 102 may be recognized as a digital twin of the battery 104 that documents battery related information and sustainability information that is associated with the battery 104 along a value chain of the battery 104 from raw material mining until end of life of the battery 104 to disposal, recycling, or re-purposing (e.g., reconditioning and reentering the battery 104 to the value chain) of the battery 104 and/or or one or more components of the battery 104”)
Eckart discloses providing the at least one battery identifier and corresponding material configuration data associated with at least one component of a battery to be recycled (0053 “FIG. 2 is a schematic overview of the electrical components of the battery 104 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. In an exemplary embodiment, the battery 104 may include a battery control unit 202. The battery control unit 202 may be configured to control electronic components of the battery 104 to allow the battery 104 to receive charging power, output electrical power to power one or more external components, provide health status updates, and/or output battery related data. In one configuration, the battery control unit 202 may include a processor 204, a memory 206, a data store 208, battery dynamic sensors 212, and a communication interface 214. The electronic components of the battery 104, including the battery control unit 202, may be operably connected for computer communication via a bus 216 (e.g., a Controller Area Network (CAN) or a Local Interconnect Network (UN) protocol bus) and/or other wired and wireless technologies”, 0054 “In an exemplary embodiment, the data store 208 may be configured to store a battery profile 210 of the battery 104. The battery profile 210 may be configured to store data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104. The data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 may include, but may not be limited to, a manufacturer of the battery 104, a model of the battery 104, an identification code (e.g. alpha-numeric code) associated with the battery 104, a serial number associated with the battery 104 and the like. In some embodiments, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that pertain to the chemical composition of the battery 104. For example, the battery profile 210 may include a code that pertains to the chemical composition of the battery 104 that includes a lithium-ion battery energy source. Additionally, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that may pertain to additional components (e.g., casing composition, cell and pack level, electrical circuit composition) of the battery 104”)
Eckart discloses determining at least one material identifier package by relating at least one material configuration provided by the corresponding material configuration data to at least one material configuration processable by at least one plant, wherein the at least one material identifier package includes the at least one battery identifier and one or more battery recycling processing requirements associated with the at least one material configuration (0033 “The battery related data may be received by the battery passport application 108 based on communication to and from electronic components of the battery 104 and/or to and from the value chain computing infrastructure 110 that may be accessed and populated by various value chain stakeholders. The battery related data that may be received from the electronic components of the battery 104 and the value chain computing infrastructure 110 may be populated within the battery passport 102 that is processed by the battery passport application 108”, 0044 “In an exemplary embodiment. the memory 114 of the secure server 106 may additionally be configured to store a battery sustainability database 122. The battery sustainability database 122 may be configured as a relational database that includes respective data records that are each associated with a plurality of batteries (not shown). The battery sustainability database 122 may be configured to include sustainability data that may be associated with a plurality of batteries that may be available within the marketplace. In one embodiment, the battery sustainability database 122 may be configured to allow value chain stakeholders to access the database 122 to determine one or more batteries of one or more particular configurations (e.g., form factors, sizes, types, electrical configurations, chemical configurations) that have been assigned respective levels of sustainability (e.g., by execution of the battery passport application 108). Accordingly, the battery sustainability database 122 may enable value chain stakeholders to determine specific batteries and/or components of specific batteries that may be available within the marketplace for purchase, resale, utilization, recycling, and/or reconditioning that may be determined as being environmentally sustainable, socially sustainable, and/or operationally sustainable”, 0054 “In some embodiments, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that pertain to the chemical composition of the battery 104. For example, the battery profile 210 may include a code that pertains to the chemical composition of the battery 104 that includes a lithium-ion battery energy source. Additionally, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that may pertain to additional components (e.g., casing composition, cell and pack level, electrical circuit composition) of the battery 104”, 0061 “The battery related data may also include data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 that may be received from the battery profile 210 stored upon the data store 208 of the battery control unit 202. Such data may include a manufacturer of the battery 104, a model of the battery 104, an identification code associated with the battery 104, a serial number associated with the battery 104 and the like”)
Eckart discloses controlling, using the at least one material identifier package, at least one plant operation system at the at least one plant, to operate the battery recycling process for recycling of materials contained in products batteries associated with the at least one product battery identifier according to the one or more processing requirements, said controlling comprising controlling the at least one plant operation to perform at least one of collecting, sorting, transporting, storing, or processing batteries associated with the at least one battery identifier (0051 “Additional types of value chain stakeholders may also update data to the value chain computing infrastructure 110 that may pertain to, but may not be limited to import/export compliance information, supply chain stakeholder identification (e.g., manufacturers, shipping companies, exporters, importers, ports of call, component manufacturers, battery sellers, vehicle manufacturers, vehicle/battery owners, etc.), and/or materials reconditioning/recycling/disposal services that may be involved with the repurposing, recycling, and/or disposal of the battery 104 and/or one or more components of the battery 104”, 0054 “In some embodiments, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that pertain to the chemical composition of the battery 104. For example, the battery profile 210 may include a code that pertains to the chemical composition of the battery 104 that includes a lithium-ion battery energy source. Additionally, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that may pertain to additional components (e.g., casing composition, cell and pack level, electrical circuit composition) of the battery 104”)
Eckart does not explicitly disclose assigning the battery to be recycled to the at least one plant for recycling in the battery recycling process, based on the at least one material identifier package. Gaines teaches assigning the battery to be recycled to the at least one plant for recycling in the battery recycling process, based on the at least one material identifier package (2.3.4 “Several factors could help promote Li-ion battery recycling. For example, the large, recognizable packs will be removed from end-of-life vehicles if there is an economic incentive or a regulatory imperative to do so. They will be labeled to enable identification for proper routing. The recovered batteries could be returned to the original manufacturers (in Europe this may be a requirement [16]), which could enable subsequent recycling.”, 4 “At a minimum, those that could be recycled together would have at least one distinguishing feature in common, and conversely, one to differentiate them from those that need to be recycled in a different way. Mechanisms would be in place to return all batteries at the conclusion of their (first or second) useful lives. There would be an easy way to route these spent batteries to the appropriate recycling facilities in a safe and legal manner. User-friendly labeling would aid appropriate routing. Regulations would assure safe transport and handling, and discourage any sort of cross-contamination. Sorting/routing could be immediate, via a transfer station or within a unified recycling facility. Separate streams would be processed to produce valuable, high-purity materials that could be reused in batteries or in another high-value product if the recovered material had become obsolete”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the system and method for processing a battery passport of Eckart with the recycling of Gaines for the purpose of avoiding the impediments to recycling and ensure that economical and sustainable options are available at the end of the batteries' useful life. (Gaines, Abstract).
As per claim 3
Eckart discloses wherein material configuration data associated with a material used to produce the battery or a component of the battery is provided by a decentral computing node with a producer producing or using the material (0071 “FIG. 5 is a process flow diagram of a method 500 for determining a level of sustainability associated with the battery 104 and communicating the battery passport 102 through the blockchain technology according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure”, 0081 “The method 500 may proceed to block 510, wherein the method 500 may include communicating the battery passport 102 through a cloud-based, blockchain or another IT system. In an exemplary embodiment, upon updating the battery passport 102 associated with the battery 104 with the level of sustainability associated with the battery 104, the passport processing module 308 may be configured to utilize the communication unit 118 of the secure server 106 to pass the battery passport 102 to the blockchain infrastructure 126. The blockchain infrastructure 126 may be configured to include one or more externally hosted computing systems that may be owned, operated, and/or hosted by one or more blockchain technology providers”)
As per claim 4
Eckart discloses wherein the at least one material identifier package includes a gathering of battery identifiers associated with batteries or components to be recycled and/or with at least one material configuration processable by at least one recycling plant (0054 “In some embodiments, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that pertain to the chemical composition of the battery 104. For example, the battery profile 210 may include a code that pertains to the chemical composition of the battery 104 that includes a lithium-ion battery energy source. Additionally, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that may pertain to additional components (e.g., casing composition, cell and pack level, electrical circuit composition) of the battery 104”, 0061 “The battery related data may also include data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 that may be received from the battery profile 210 stored upon the data store 208 of the battery control unit 202. Such data may include a manufacturer of the battery 104, a model of the battery 104, an identification code associated with the battery 104, a serial number associated with the battery 104 and the like”)
As per claim 6
Eckart discloses wherein determining the at least one material identifier package further comprises classifying according to classification instructions providing the material configuration(s) processable by the at least one plant (0054 “In some embodiments, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that pertain to the chemical composition of the battery 104. For example, the battery profile 210 may include a code that pertains to the chemical composition of the battery 104 that includes a lithium-ion battery energy source. Additionally, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that may pertain to additional components (e.g., casing composition, cell and pack level, electrical circuit composition) of the battery 104”, 0061 “The battery related data may also include data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 that may be received from the battery profile 210 stored upon the data store 208 of the battery control unit 202. Such data may include a manufacturer of the battery 104, a model of the battery 104, an identification code associated with the battery 104, a serial number associated with the battery 104 and the like”)
As per claim 7
Eckart discloses wherein determining the at least one material identifier package further comprises providing classification instructions running in an at least partially decentral computing environment, wherein the classification instructions gather battery identifiers according to material configuration(s) processable by at least one recycling plant (0054 “In some embodiments, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that pertain to the chemical composition of the battery 104. For example, the battery profile 210 may include a code that pertains to the chemical composition of the battery 104 that includes a lithium-ion battery energy source. Additionally, the battery profile 210 may also store data that may include one or more codes that may pertain to additional components (e.g., casing composition, cell and pack level, electrical circuit composition) of the battery 104”, 0061 “The battery related data may also include data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 that may be received from the battery profile 210 stored upon the data store 208 of the battery control unit 202. Such data may include a manufacturer of the battery 104, a model of the battery 104, an identification code associated with the battery 104, a serial number associated with the battery 104 and the like”, 0081 “The method 500 may proceed to block 510, wherein the method 500 may include communicating the battery passport 102 through a cloud-based, blockchain or another IT system. In an exemplary embodiment, upon updating the battery passport 102 associated with the battery 104 with the level of sustainability associated with the battery 104, the passport processing module 308 may be configured to utilize the communication unit 118 of the secure server 106 to pass the battery passport 102 to the blockchain infrastructure 126. The blockchain infrastructure 126 may be configured to include one or more externally hosted computing systems that may be owned, operated, and/or hosted by one or more blockchain technology providers”)
As per claim 8
Eckart discloses wherein the at least one battery identifier is provided from a sensor reading a battery identifier element, wherein the at least one battery identifier element is physically connected to the at least one component of the battery to be recycled (0063 “The method 400 may proceed to block 408, wherein the method 400 may include analyzing the battery related data and characterizing the battery related data into battery related data characteristics. In an exemplary embodiment, upon receiving the battery related data from the battery control unit 202 and the value chain computing infrastructure 110, the data reception module 302 may be configured to communicate the battery related data to the data characterization module 304 of the battery passport application 108. In one configuration, the data characterization module 304 may be configured to derive data points that may be associated with one or more types of battery related data that may be received from the battery control unit 202 and the value chain computing infrastructure 110. The data points may include particular dynamic parameters sensed by the battery dynamic sensors and particular types of data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 received from the battery profile 210 of the battery control unit 202. The data points may also include particular types of data pertaining to each step of the value chain process received from the value chain computing infrastructure 110”)
As per claim 9
Eckart discloses where material configuration data associated with a material used to produce the battery is access by a decentral computing node associated with one or more recycling system(s) or associated with classification instructions (0080 “In some embodiments, the passport processing module 308 may further communicate with the sustainability determinant module 306 to receive data pertaining to the sustainability categorizations and sustainability values associated with each of the battery related data characteristics and may further populate the battery passport 102 with respective data. This functionality may allow value chain stakeholders to determine a breakdown of the determined level of sustainability associated with the battery 104 to further determine specific battery related data characteristics that have been deemed more or less sustainable”, 0081 “The method 500 may proceed to block 510, wherein the method 500 may include communicating the battery passport 102 through a cloud-based, blockchain or another IT system. In an exemplary embodiment, upon updating the battery passport 102 associated with the battery 104 with the level of sustainability associated with the battery 104, the passport processing module 308 may be configured to utilize the communication unit 118 of the secure server 106 to pass the battery passport 102 to the blockchain infrastructure 126. The blockchain infrastructure 126 may be configured to include one or more externally hosted computing systems that may be owned, operated, and/or hosted by one or more blockchain technology providers”)
As per claim 10
Eckart discloses wherein the battery recycling process is operated by providing the at least one material identifier package for controlling and/or monitoring recycling system(s) (0027 “The battery passport 102 may be recognized as a digital twin of the battery 104 that documents battery related information and sustainability information that is associated with the battery 104 along a value chain of the battery 104 from raw material mining until end of life of the battery 104 to disposal, recycling, or re-purposing (e.g., reconditioning and reentering the battery 104 to the value chain) of the battery 104 and/or or one or more components of the battery 104”, 0051 “Additional types of value chain stakeholders may also update data to the value chain computing infrastructure 110 that may pertain to, but may not be limited to import/export compliance information, supply chain stakeholder identification (e.g., manufacturers, shipping companies, exporters, importers, ports of call, component manufacturers, battery sellers, vehicle manufacturers, vehicle/battery owners, etc.), and/or materials reconditioning/recycling/disposal services that may be involved with the repurposing, recycling, and/or disposal of the battery 104 and/or one or more components of the battery 104”)
As per claims 12 and 16
Eckart discloses a method for using a battery including at least one battery identifier element, the method including using the battery in the method according to claim 1 and claim 11 (0026 “FIG. 1 is a schematic view of an exemplary operating environment 100 for processing a battery passport 102 that is associated with a battery 104 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure. In an exemplary embodiment, the operating environment 100 may include a secure server infrastructure (secure server) 106 that may be configured to execute a battery passport processing and secure communication application (battery passport application) 108 that may be configured to process and securely communicate the battery passport 102”, 0027 “In an exemplary embodiment, the battery passport 102 may be configured as a digitally encrypted data packet (e.g., datafile) and may be specifically associated with the battery 104. The battery passport 102 may be configured as a digital representation of the battery 104 that may convey information about applicable environmental requirements, social requirements, governance requirements, and lifecycle requirements based on a comprehensive definition of a sustainable battery that may be defined by one or more global policy consortiums. The battery passport 102 may be recognized as a digital twin of the battery 104 that documents battery related information and sustainability information that is associated with the battery 104 along a value chain of the battery 104 from raw material mining until end of life of the battery 104 to disposal, recycling, or re-purposing (e.g., reconditioning and reentering the battery 104 to the value chain) of the battery 104 and/or or one or more components of the battery 104”)
As per claim 13
Eckart discloses a method for using the at least one material identifier package determined according to claim 1 to sort, collect, transport, store and/or recycle the at least one component of the battery to be recycled (0049 “In an exemplary embodiment, the value chain computing infrastructure 110 may include a plurality of computing systems (e.g., server farm) that may be owned, operated, and/or maintained by one or more value chain stakeholders, regulatory bodies, manufacturers, supply chain stakeholders, and/or third-party institutions. In one embodiment, during each step of the value chain process that may be associated with the sourcing, production, distribution, utilization, disposal, recycling, and/or repurposing of the battery 104, one or more respective value chain stakeholders may provide and update respective battery related data to the value chain computing infrastructure 110”)
As per claim 15
Eckart discloses at least one non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions, which when executed by at least one processor of a computing environment, cause the at least one processor to carry out the steps of the method according to claim 1 (Figures 1 and 5, 0081 “The method 500 may proceed to block 510, wherein the method 500 may include communicating the battery passport 102 through a cloud-based, blockchain or another IT system. In an exemplary embodiment, upon updating the battery passport 102 associated with the battery 104 with the level of sustainability associated with the battery 104, the passport processing module 308 may be configured to utilize the communication unit 118 of the secure server 106 to pass the battery passport 102 to the blockchain infrastructure 126. The blockchain infrastructure 126 may be configured to include one or more externally hosted computing systems that may be owned, operated, and/or hosted by one or more blockchain technology providers”, see also 0085)
As per claim 18
Eckart discloses wherein said operating comprises sensing, at the at least one plant, the at least one battery identifier by a sensor on a physical component of at least one battery (0056 “In one or more embodiments, the battery passport application 108 may utilize the communication unit 118 to communicate with the communication interface 214 of the battery control unit 202 to receive battery related data that may include the data that is stored within the battery profile 210 and sensed data that may be output by the battery dynamic sensors 212”, 0063 “The data points may include particular dynamic parameters sensed by the battery dynamic sensors and particular types of data pertaining to the identification of the battery 104 received from the battery profile 210 of the battery control unit 202. The data points may also include particular types of data pertaining to each step of the value chain process received from the value chain computing infrastructure 110”)
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckart in view of Gaines as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bai et al. “Energy and environmental aspects in recycling lithium-ion batteries: Concept of Battery Identity Global Passport”, Materials Today, Volume 41, December 2020, pp. 304-315, hereinafter referred to as Bai.
As per claim 2
Eckart in view of Gaines, while disclosing the limitations of claim 1 and even discloses that the battery profile may store data that includes one or more codes related to the chemical composition of the battery (0054), does not explicitly disclose wherein the corresponding material configuration data relates to a chemical composition of an electrode active material. Bai teaches wherein the corresponding material configuration data relates to a chemical composition of an electrode active material (page 311 “…To foster product design, financial subsidies and nonfinancial incentives could boost new inventions and quick adoption of better designs in favour of repurposing and recycling. In addition to the regulatory policies, battery manufacturers need to be proactive by actively incorporating design-for-recycling principles into their products and manufacturing processes. In Fig. 5, the authors provide a few insights on the concept of design for recycling from different levels to facilitate future battery recycling.
One challenge for LIB recycling is how to efficiently sort batteries of different chemistries to avoid or at least reduce the complicated separation processes. A simple yet effective design principle would be appropriate labelling in many forms, such as labels, QR codes, and RfID tags. The Battery Recycling Committee of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) developed a label to be placed on EV battery packs to enable separate processing of different battery types [13]. Another example is that Battery Recycling Prize from United States Department of Energy funded Everledger to trace the lifecycle of LIBs using blockchain technology to ensure optimal management and responsible recovery at end-of life [147]. As illustrated in Fig. 5a, scanning those labels automatically would facilitate sorting batteries, circumventing the abovementioned challenging separation processes. Given as much information as possible, recyclers can take less effort to identify the electrode chemistry”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the system and method for processing a battery passport of Eckart with the recycling of Gaines further with the Battery Identity Global Passport of Bai for the purpose of urging the development of cost-effective and environmentally sustainable recycling technologies to manage end-of-life batteries (Abstract).
As per claim 5
Eckart in view of Gaines, while disclosing the limitations of claim 1, does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one material identifier package includes material composition associated with a recycled battery material as produced from at least one recycled component of the battery, wherein the material composition data is determined from battery identifiers and their corresponding material configuration data. Bai teaches wherein the at least one material identifier package includes material composition associated with a recycled battery material as produced from at least one recycled component of the battery, wherein the material composition data is determined from battery identifiers and their corresponding material configuration data (305 “Instead, recycled materials can serve as raw materials for new battery manufacturing, offering a solution to overcome the supply chain issues of reliance on finite resources and uneven distribution of metal reserves, which improves energy security by reducing imports and lowering dependence on foreign sources. Recovered materials could be a stable and low-cost resource if cost-effective recycling technologies are developed, which could stabilize the material price and potentially reduce the cost of batteries and EVs”, 311 “One challenge for LIB recycling is how to efficiently sort batteries of different chemistries to avoid or at least reduce the complicated separation processes. A simple yet effective design principle would be appropriate labelling in many forms, such as labels, QR codes, and RfID tags. The Battery Recycling Committee of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) developed a label to be placed on EV battery packs to enable separate processing of different battery types [13]. Another example is that Battery Recycling Prize from United States Department of Energy funded Everledger to trace the lifecycle of LIBs using blockchain technology to ensure optimal management and responsible recovery at end-of life [147]. As illustrated in Fig. 5a, scanning those labels automatically would facilitate sorting batteries, circumventing the abovementioned challenging separation processes. Given as much information as possible, recyclers can take less effort to identify the electrode chemistry”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the system and method for processing a battery passport of Eckart with the recycling of Gaines further with the Battery Identity Global Passport of Bai for the purpose of using the BIGP information of a battery to enable effective selection and assessment of suitable batteries for reuse (311).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Action Partnerships Battery Passport, retrieved from https://web.archive.org/web/20220125024535/https://globalbattery.org/battery-passport/, January 25, 2022, 8 pages, discloses the Battery Passport Program overseen by the Global Battery Alliance where the Battery Passport is a digital representation of a battery that conveys information about all applicable ESG and lifecycle requirements based on a comprehensive definition of a sustainable battery (page 2).
Kemp “Circular thinking: the race to trace battery lifecycles, retrieved from https://everledger.io/circular-thinking-the-race-to-trace-battery-lifecycles/#:~:text=Everledger is helping the US,vehicle and lithium-ion batteries, January 23, 2020, 3 pages is a press release describing the work that Everledger is conducting with the US Department of Energy and Ford including a pilot program to trace the lifecycle of lithium-ion batteries using blockchain and Internet of Things (IoT) technologies.
Gaines et al. “Key issues for Li-ion battery recycling”, Materials Research Society, 2018, MRS Energy & Sustainability, Volume 5, e14, dated September 13, 2018, 14 pages describes the issues for lithium-ion battery recycling including impediments to recycling on pages 9 through 12.
Harper et al., “Recycling lithium-ion batteries from electric vehicles”, Nature, Volume 575, November 7, 2019, pp. 75-86 discloses the waste management challenges that are presented by electric vehicles along with opportunities from recycled materials. Harper also provides a thorough coverage of various recycling methods that involve electric vehicle batteries including the automation of battery disassembly on pages 77-79 that would include labelling, QR codes and RFID tags.
Karlson, “Identification of Transportation Battery Systems for Recycling – SAE J2984 Standard, SAE International, July 10, 2019, 19 pages provides an overview of the SAE J2984 Identification System on pages 10-17 including system cathode-anode, miscellaneous properties, manufacturer and data on page 10 and color coding by battery chemistry on page 16.
“A Vision for a Sustainable Battery Value Chain in 2030: Unlocking the Full Potential to Power Sustainable Development and Climate Change Mitigation”, World Economic Forum Global Battery Alliance, September 2019, 52 pages describes the efforts of a consortium of groups and corporations listed on pages 44-51 to develop a circular value chain inclusive of a battery passport for recycling batteries.
The Global Battery Alliance Battery Passport: Giving an identity to the EV’s most important component briefing paper, November 2020, 2 pages describes the battery passport, why it is needed, what it is and how it will impact the electric vehicle battery supply chain.
/JAMES D NIGH/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 3699