DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al (US20210264792).
Regarding claim 1, Ren discloses a heads-up area setting device comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (para. [0022]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (para. [0022]) to:
detect a moving object located in a predetermined monitoring area (para. [0015], New boundaries can be generated in realtime as people move around creating a dynamic geofence; para. [0032], Base station 201 can track the movement of people (e.g., through communication with mobile electronic devices) in an area to facilitate geofence creation and geofence changes); and
determine a range of a heads-up area (para. [0033], Cloud service 202 creates a geofence from the person count and reference locations) based on an arrangement situation of the moving object in the monitoring area (para. [0035], In general, the boundary geometry of a geofence can extend around people located within a specified range, for example, 20-30 meters, from base station 201. The boundary geometry of a geofence can be updated in essentially real time as people move; para. [0041], As person count 213 and reference locations 214 change, base station 201 can generate a new boundary for geofence 216. Alternately, base station 201 can send person count 213 and reference locations 214 to cloud service 202. As person count 213 and reference locations 214 change, cloud service 202 can generate a new boundary for geofence 216).
Regarding claim 2, Ren discloses a heads-up area setting device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine a heads-up area covering the moving object located in the predetermined monitoring area (para. [0035], In general, the boundary geometry of a geofence can extend around people located within a specified range, for example, 20-30 meters, from base station 201. The boundary geometry of a geofence can be updated in essentially real time as people move; para. [0038], Method 300 includes creating a geofence that surrounds each person included in the person count based on the person count and the reference locations).
Regarding claim 6, Ren discloses a heads-up area setting device wherein the moving object is one of a pedestrian, a bicycle, a vehicle platoon, and a delivery robot (para. [0015], [0032]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al (US20210264792) in view of Cline et al (US20220130293).
Regarding claim 3, Ren teaches a heads-up area setting device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine the heads-up area by selecting an area (para. [0035]) having a density of the moving object equal to or greater than a predetermined value (para. [0042], Density criteria can be defined, for example, as one person in a circle of diameter 3 m).
Ren fails to teach sections obtained by dividing the monitoring area in accordance with a predetermined standard.
However Cline teaches sections obtained by dividing a monitoring area in accordance with a predetermined standard (para. [0025], [0034]).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Ren and Cline as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the features of Cline into the device of Ren. The motivation to combine Cline and Ren would be to contribute to the overall safety of an event (para. [0021] of Cline).
Regarding claim 4, Ren teaches a heads-up area setting device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
determine the heads-up area by excluding an area having a density of the moving object equal to or less than a predetermined value (para. [0017], As device totals and device locations in an existing geofence decrease, the existing geofence boundary can be reduced. Geofences that lack sufficient numbers of devices (and thus are no longer representative of a crowd) can be deleted).
Ren fails to teach sections obtained by dividing the monitoring area in accordance with a predetermined standard.
However Cline teaches sections obtained by dividing a monitoring area in accordance with a predetermined standard (para. [0025], [0034]).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Ren and Cline as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the features of Cline into the device of Ren. The motivation to combine Cline and Ren would be to contribute to the overall safety of an event (para. [0021] of Cline).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al (US20210264792) in view of Ong et al (US20220046381).
Regarding claim 5, Ren fails to teach a heads-up area setting device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
identify an attribute or a type of the moving object; and
change the range of the heads-up area based on the attribute or the type of the moving object.
However Ong teaches identifying an attribute or a type of the moving object (para. [0035], Camera 122 may perform object recognition to identify particular vehicles 110, pedestrians 114, bicyclists 116, scooters 118 and/or other types of street entities in the captured images or videos and/or determine the position, bearing, speed, and/or acceleration of particular vehicles 110, pedestrians 114, bicyclists 116, scooters 118, and/or other types of street entities in the captured images or videos); and
changing the range of a heads-up area based on the attribute or the type of the moving object (para. [0025], In some implementations, V2X object exchange system may estimate the braking distance and/or generate the geofence using a machine learning model trained to predict the estimated braking distance based on a plurality of vehicle parameters and a plurality of environmental parameters; para. [0074]).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Ren and Ong as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the features of Ong into the device of Ren. The motivation to combine Ong and Ren would be to reduce the number of road accidents and to enhance road safety (para. [0016] of Ong).
Regarding claim 7, Ren fails to teach a heads-up area setting device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
transmit a notification for informing of presence of the heads-up area to a vehicle entering the heads-up area.
However Ong teaches transmitting a notification for informing of presence of the heads-up area to a vehicle entering the heads-up area (para. [0028], [0082]).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Ren and Ong as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the features of Ong into the device of Ren. The motivation to combine Ong and Ren would be to reduce the number of road accidents and to enhance road safety (para. [0016] of Ong).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Ren teaches a heads-up area setting device wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
identify an attribute or a type of a vehicle entering the heads-up area (para. [0025], [0035] of Ong); and
transmit the notification to a vehicle (para. [0068] of Ong) having a specific attribute or type among vehicles entering the heads-up area (para. [0082] of Ong).
Related Art
Kurehashi et al (US20220084409) – see figs. 3, 4 and 6, para. [0019]-[0020]
Conclusion
/LEON VIET Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663