DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed, August 27, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-23, and 25 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 25 have been amended. Claim 24 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 27, 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive with regards to the 112.a rejection for claim 24 and 25.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks about newly added claim 24, unwanted folds or creases being commercially unacceptable does not take away from Sophie teaching the bond length is less than 11cm. Just because Sophie notes there were a couple of small tucks does not prevent the functionality of garment. Applicant’s specification does not state this length eliminates tucks, folds, or creases only that it may reduce of avoid of unwanted folds. The term “may be” shows the applicant is not sure if the result is achieved. Additionally, since Sophie teaches a garment within the claimed range has a small tuck the specific range clearly does not prevent tucks or creases thereby failing to provide an unexpected result. This leads to understanding that eliminating tucks or fold is more of a processing or method of garment formation rather than a result for a specific dimension.
Page 3 from applicant’s specification and bolded part added by the Examiner.
“As proposed herein, the maximum front bond width being defined as the maximum transversal width measured over the set of bonding members and in the front intermediate region of the undergarment, is no more than 11 cm. With this restriction to the maximum front bond width, it has been found that unwanted folds or creases as seen from the front side of the undergarment when worn by a user may be reduced or avoided.”
Page 4 of applicant’s specification notes “Thus, the front portion maximum width may, similar to the maximum front bond width, be no more than 11 cm. As such, it has been found that by restricting the front portion maximum width, the tendency of the undergarment to form unwanted creases towards the front of the wearer may be further reduced.” Again, this section only supports a reduction and not a complete elimination of folds or creases.
Regarding claim 25, please see reasons for allowance below, along with the Examiner’s understanding of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yip US11154431 B1 in view of Yang US 2022/0249303 A1 and NPL Sophie “DIY Period Panties” October 11, 2019 <https://alltheunderwear.sophiehines.com/diy-period-panties-sewing/ > (hereafter referred to as Sophie).
Regarding claim 1-2 and 4-10, Yip discloses a washable and reusable undergarment (abstract and Col 4 lines 27-39), comprising one or more fabric panels (fig 2 and Col 4 lines 40-60 which disclose multiple panels) forming a front region (14 fig 1), a back region (16, fig 1) and an intermediate region (18, fig 1) extending between the front and back regions ( Col 4 lines 40-60), the front region and the back region being joined such that the undergarment (10, fig 1) forms a waist opening (fig 1) and a pair of leg openings (22, fig 1) ( col 4 lines 40-60), wherein a central longitudinal axis of the undergarment is defined along the one or more fabric panels of the undergarment from the back region and towards the front region (fig 1 has a clear x and y axis), and a transversal crotch axis of the undergarment is defined in a direction extending between the leg openings (as seen in figures 1 and 2 which show a the overall article plus the transverse crotch section (or gusset 18) and so as to divide the intermediate region into a front intermediate region extending longitudinally between the transversal crotch axis and a front end of each leg opening, and a rear intermediate region extending longitudinally between the transversal crotch axis and a rear end of each leg opening (while no line is drawn this boundary is based on identical parts and therefore also present), the transversal crotch axis being perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis (while no line is drawn this boundary is based on identical parts and therefore also present these boundaries will be detailed below on the secondary reference which teaches the specific dimensions of each region); the undergarment further comprising an absorbent assembly (11, fig 2) comprising a wearer facing top layer (24, fig 2 and 3), a moisture barrier (28, fig 3), and one intermediate layers (26, fig 3) being superimposed along a height axis (see fig 3), perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see fig 3) and the transversal crotch axis (see fig 3), between the top layer (24) and the moisture barrier (28) (see fig 3 and [0037]), and wherein the absorbent assembly (11) is permanently attached to at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels in at least part of the intermediate region by a set of one or more bonding members (Col 4 line 61- col 5 line 10 disclose the absorbent assembly is coupled to the main body).
Yip discloses the garment is meant to function as an undergarment (Col 4 lines 27-39) but fails to provide dimensions for a typical undergarment and that the absorbent member lies with the crotch section.
Yip fails to disclose at least two intermediate layers and wherein the front intermediate region of the undergarment and that the undergarment does not comprise creases in the one or more fabric panels forming the front and /or intermediate regions per claim 1.
Yang teaches a reusable absorbent article (abstract) thereby being in the same field of endeavor as the instant claims and Yip. Yang teaches the absorbent material may have more than one layer (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have added a second absorbent layer to provide improved urine retention abilities.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-10, Yip and Yang fail to teach:
- wherein the front intermediate region of the undergarment, a maximum front bond width as measured transversally over the set of bonding members attaching the absorbent assembly to the one or more fabric panels is no more than 11 cm and wherein the absorbent assembly has a front portion maximum width being the maximum transversal width of the absorbent assembly in the front intermediate region, the front portion maximum width being no more than 11 cm and that the undergarment does not comprise creases in the one or more fabric panels forming the front and or intermediate regions per claim 1.
-wherein the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region is in the range from 4 to 10 cm per claim 2.
-wherein the front portion maximum width is in the range from 4 to 10 cm per claim 4.
-wherein, in the front intermediate region, the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members is substantially equal to the front portion maximum width of the absorbent assembly per claim 5.
-wherein the absorbent assembly has a transversal assembly crotch width at the longitudinal location of the transversal crotch axis, the transversal crotch with being no greater than the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region and/or no greater than the front portion maximum width of the absorbent assembly (10) in the front intermediate region per claim 6.
-wherein the transversal assembly crotch width is in the range from 3 to 8 cm per claim 7.
-wherein a first front portion length of the absorbent assembly is defined along the longitudinal direction from the transversal crotch axis to the longitudinal position of the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region, wherein the first front portion length is in the range from 4 to 15 cm per claim 8.
-wherein a maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front region of the undergarment is no more than the maximum front bond width of the set of bonding members (20a, 20b) in the front intermediate region per claim 9.
-wherein, in the front region of the undergarment, a maximum width of the absorbent assembly (10) is no more than the maximum width of the absorbent assembly in the front intermediate region per claim 10.
Sophie provides a pattern for making absorbent period underwear which has provides typical measurements and is used to show the claimed size is known. Furthermore, the size of the garment will be a result effective variable as children are typically smaller than adults and even individuals of all ages can have a wide BMI range which would affect the size of the garment. Additionally, there are different styles of underwear. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Sophie’s image of the garment assembly has been labelled according to the claimed regions above and it is on a cutting mat which provides to scale figures. The cutting mat is in square inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take a known underwear garment size and use it to size a reusable absorbent article designed to mimic underwear.
Sophie notes the garment may have a few tucks; however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date would have reasonably desired to remove these tucks as panty lines are well known to be a bother and unsightly. Sophie teaches an article within the same range as applicant therefore since applicant states this range may reduce or avoid tucks or creases Sophie’s garment should also be able to be made without tucks with proper care and attention to sewing as there are no gathers or pleats in the pattern as such a smooth or uncreased seam should be possible. Further, based on the language of the specification these elements MAY be reduced or avoided and therefore lack criticality.
Regarding claim 11, Yip discloses wherein the absorbent assembly extends no further than the front intermediate region in a direction longitudinally towards the front of the undergarment (fig 2 since the absorbent assembly is fixed to the main body it cannot extend beyond its bond points).
Regarding claim 12, Yip discloses, wherein the maximum front bond width of the set of bonding members is substantially equal to the transversal width of the intermediate region at the location of the maximum front bond width (see Yip fig 2 which shows the intermediate region is about the same length as the bond with and Chatzka annotated above).
Regarding claim 13, Yip discloses wherein the absorbent assembly (10) comprises a front edge (27) directed towards the front of the undergarment (1), a rear edge (25) directed towards the rear of the undergarment (fig 2), and a pair of side edges (generally noted as 20), each side edge being at least partly directed towards a respective leg opening (22, fig 1 and 2), and connecting the front edge and the rear edge (fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, Yip discloses wherein each side edge is at least partly arranged at the respective leg opening of the undergarment (fig 1 and 2 which shows the side edges being arrogant at the leg openings).
Regarding claim 15, Yip discloses, wherein the set of bonding members is arranged to fasten the absorbent assembly to the at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels (fig 3 and 11) at least along part of the side edges of the absorbent assembly (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 16, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members is arranged to fasten the absorbent assembly to the at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels at least along part of the front edge of the absorbent assembly (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 17, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members is arranged to fasten the absorbent assembly to the at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels at least along part of the rear edge of the absorbent assembly (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 18, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members comprises one or more bonding lines (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 19, Yip discloses wherein the one or more bonding lines are continuous bonding lines (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 20, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members comprises one or more of adhesive bonding members and/or mechanical bonding members (Col 12 lines 31-49).
Regarding claim 21, Yip discloses wherein the intermediate region of the undergarment comprises at least one out of the one or more fabric panels, having an exterior side (see fig 1 which shows the exterior) facing away from the wearer, and an interior side (see fig 2 which shows the interior) facing in a direction towards the wearer, wherein the absorbent assembly is located on the interior side of the at least one fabric panel (fig 2).
Regarding claim 22 and 23, Yip, Yang, and Sophie fail to disclose wherein the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region is in the range from 4 to 9 cm per claim 22 and wherein the front portion maximum width is in the range from 4 to 9 cm per claim 23.
Sophie clearly teaches the front bond width/ front portion width is 10cm. This is longer than the newly added limitation. Yip clearly teaches absorbent garment can be different styles and or different sizes (col 4 lines 27-39). The size of the garment is going to be related to the bond length. Even if the garment material fans out or decreases beyond the seam or bonded section or meeting point of the two pieces of fabric that section where the bond is cannot be larger or smaller than the bond length. Therefore, the style /shape and size of article will directly affect the bond length. Applicant’s specification provides no mention of criticality for the claimed range, and only a perceived benefit that the article may have less unwanted folds when the front bond length range is less than 11cm. Applicant’s specification page 3 states (emphasis added by the examiner) “With this restriction to the maximum front bond width, it has been found that unwanted folds or creases as seen from the front side of the undergarment when worn by a user may be reduced or avoided.” The claimed article is not limited a specific body type, age range, or underwear style. As such adjusting the range from 10cm as taught by Sophie to 9cm falls under routine optimization due to changing the size of the article which effects the bond length. A smaller induvial will need a smaller pair of underwear as such adjusting all the garment dimension down to be smaller falls under routine optimization. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The following prior art of record above and no other prior art could be found in short for a reuseable undergarment having a permanently attached absorbent assembly in the crotch region thereto that was wider than the garment’s crotch region.
Regarding claim 25:
The maximum front bond width is denoted by “B” while the front portion maximum width is denoted by “C”. In the specification it is understood that “C” refers to the absorbent assembly and we are to understand there is a maximum width. Element “B” which refers to a maximum front bond width which is understood to between one or more fabric panels (2) in the front region of the undergarment. It is understood that element “2” forms the base of the undergarment to which the absorbent assembly is attached. Therefore, the examiner understands element “B” to be the bonding length between a front panel and a crotch panel or it could be a theoretical point (if using a single panel of fabric since the specification allows for one panel) of where the absorbent assembly would be attached so the absorbent assembly “sits” in the crotch region.
This would imply the absorbent assembly is wider than the undergarment to which it is attached.
While disposable pads and some reusable pads have wings that fold over the undergarment, thereby being wider than the undergarment’s width. No undergarment was found where the absorbent assembly was washable, reuseable, and permanently attached to the undergarment which exceeded the transverse width of the undergarment to which it was attached.
Conclusion
/GABRIELLA E BURNETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781