DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed, January 14, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-24 are currently pending. No claims have been amended. Claims 22 and 23 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant argues “the front bond width and front portion maximum width are not art recognized result effective variables” and that per MPEP 2144.05 (III) “the cited art must (emphasis added by applicant) identify the variable in question as a result effective variable”.
Respectfully, the language of MPEP2144.05 does not state the art must identify the result effective variable.
MPEP 2144.05 III C states (emphasis added by the examiner)
“Applicants may rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on optimization of a variable disclosed in a range in the prior art by showing that the claimed variable was not recognized in the prior art to be a result-effective variable. E.I. Dupont de Nemours & Company v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996, 1008, 128 USPQ2d 1193, 1202 (Fed. Cir. 2018). ("The idea behind the ‘result-effective variable’ analysis is straightforward. Our predecessor court reasoned that a person of ordinary skill would not always be motivated to optimize a parameter ‘if there is no evidence in the record that the prior art recognized that [that] particular parameter affected the result.’ Antonie, 559 F.2d at 620.) For example, in Antonie the claimed device was characterized by a certain ratio, and the prior art did not disclose that ratio and was silent regarding one of the variables in the ratio. Id. at 619. Our predecessor court thus reversed the Board’s conclusion of obviousness. Id. at 620. Antonie described the situation where a ‘parameter optimized was not recognized to be a result-effective variable’ as an ‘exception' to the general principle in Aller that 'the discovery of an optimum value of a variable in a known process is normally obvious.’ Id. at 620. Our subsequent cases have confirmed that this exception is a narrow one. … In summarizing the relevant precedent from our predecessor court, we observed in Applied Materials that ‘[i]n cases in which the disclosure in the prior art was insufficient to find a variable result-effective, there was essentially no disclosure of the relationship between the variable and the result in the prior art.' 692 F.3d at 1297. Likewise, if the prior art does recognize that the variable affects the relevant property or result, then the variable is result-effective. Id. (‘A recognition in the prior art that a property is affected by the variable is sufficient to find the variable result-effective.’)"). Applicants must articulate why the variable at issue would not have been recognized in the prior art as result-effective. However, it should be noted that after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See subsection II.B above for additional information about consideration of result-effective variables within an obviousness analysis.”
The bond length directly effects the garments size. While maybe not explicitly stated, underwear that fit a younger child are not going to fit a teen or adult. Furthermore, regardless of age different body types require different sizes otherwise all clothing would be one size fits all; therefore, the size of the underwear and the resulting bond length is a result effective variable. The point of contention arises because of the “no more than 11cm” limitation. The art clearly teaches period underwear with a front bond length of less than 11cm; therefore, this is known to make underwear front bond length within the claimed range.
Secondly, applicant argues the Examiner has merely made conclusionary statements that are based on hindsight. Respectfully, the examiner did provide a reason for modifying Yip and Yang. Yip and Yang teach a dimensionless absorbent undergarment that can be any shape or style and a variety of bodily fluids. Sophie is added to teach known undergarment dimensions. Using known undergarment dimensions should fall within the level of ordinary skill. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding the newly added claims which further narrow the range from no more than 11cm to specifically 9-4cm. While Sophie clearly teaches the front bond length is 10cm which is longer than the newly added limitation, the above reason still stands. Yip clearly teaches absorbent garment can be different styles and or different sizes. The size of the garment is going to be related to the bond length. Even if the garment material fans out or decreases beyond the seam or bonded section or meeting point of the two pieces of fabric that section where the bond is cannot be larger or smaller than the bond length. Therefore, the style /shape and size of article will directly affect the bond length. Applicant’s specification provides no mention of criticality for the claimed range, and only a perceived benefit that the article may have less unwanted folds when the front bond length range is less than 11cm. Applicant’s specification page 3 states (emphasis added by the examiner) “With this restriction to the maximum front bond width, it has been found that unwanted folds or creases as seen from the front side of the undergarment when worn by a user may be reduced or avoided.” The claimed article is not limited a specific body type, age range, or underwear style. As such adjusting the range from 10cm as taught by Sophie to 9cm falls under routine optimization due to changing the size of the article which effects the bond length. A smaller induvial will need a smaller pair of underwear as such adjusting all the garment dimension down to be smaller falls under routine optimization. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yip US11154431 B1 in view of Yang US 2022/0249303 A1 and NPL Sophie “DIY Period Panties” October 11, 2019 <https://alltheunderwear.sophiehines.com/diy-period-panties-sewing/ > (hereafter referred to as Sophie).
Regarding claim 1-2 and 4-10, Yip discloses a washable and reusable undergarment (abstract and Col 4 lines 27-39), comprising one or more fabric panels (fig 2 and Col 4 lines 40-60 which disclose multiple panels) forming a front region (14 fig 1), a back region (16, fig 1) and an intermediate region (18, fig 1) extending between the front and back regions ( Col 4 lines 40-60), the front region and the back region being joined such that the undergarment (10, fig 1) forms a waist opening (fig 1) and a pair of leg openings (22, fig 1) ( col 4 lines 40-60), wherein a central longitudinal axis of the undergarment is defined along the one or more fabric panels of the undergarment from the back region and towards the front region (fig 1 has a clear x and y axis), and a transversal crotch axis of the undergarment is defined in a direction extending between the leg openings (as seen in figures 1 and 2 which show a the overall article plus the transverse crotch section (or gusset 18) and so as to divide the intermediate region into a front intermediate region extending longitudinally between the transversal crotch axis and a front end of each leg opening, and a rear intermediate region extending longitudinally between the transversal crotch axis and a rear end of each leg opening (while no line is drawn this boundary is based on identical parts and therefore also present), the transversal crotch axis being perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis (while no line is drawn this boundary is based on identical parts and therefore also present these boundaries will be detailed below on the secondary reference which teaches the specific dimensions of each region); the undergarment further comprising an absorbent assembly (11, fig 2) comprising a wearer facing top layer (24, fig 2 and 3), a moisture barrier (28, fig 3), and one intermediate layers (26, fig 3) being superimposed along a height axis (see fig 3), perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see fig 3) and the transversal crotch axis (see fig 3), between the top layer (24) and the moisture barrier (28) (see fig 3 and [0037]), and wherein the absorbent assembly (11) is permanently attached to at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels in at least part of the intermediate region by a set of one or more bonding members (Col 4 line 61- col 5 line 10 disclose the absorbent assembly is coupled to the main body).
Yip discloses the garment is meant to function as an undergarment (Col 4 lines 27-39) but fails to provide dimensions for a typical undergarment and that the absorbent member lies with the crotch section.
Yip fails to disclose at least two intermediate layers and wherein the front intermediate region of the undergarment per claim 1.
Yang teaches a reusable absorbent article (abstract) thereby being in the same field of endeavor as the instant claims and Yip. Yang teaches the absorbent material may have more than one layer (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have added a second absorbent layer to provide improved urine retention abilities.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-10, Yip and Yang fail to teach:
- wherein the front intermediate region of the undergarment, a maximum front bond width as measured transversally over the set of bonding members attaching the absorbent assembly to the one or more fabric panels is no more than 11 cm and wherein the absorbent assembly has a front portion maximum width being the maximum transversal width of the absorbent assembly in the front intermediate region, the front portion maximum width being no more than 11 cm per claim 1.
-wherein the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region is in the range from 4 to 10 cm per claim 2.
-wherein the front portion maximum width is in the range from 4 to 10 cm per claim 4.
-wherein, in the front intermediate region, the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members is substantially equal to the front portion maximum width of the absorbent assembly per claim 5.
-wherein the absorbent assembly has a transversal assembly crotch width at the longitudinal location of the transversal crotch axis, the transversal crotch with being no greater than the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region and/or no greater than the front portion maximum width of the absorbent assembly (10) in the front intermediate region per claim 6.
-wherein the transversal assembly crotch width is in the range from 3 to 8 cm per claim 7.
-wherein a first front portion length of the absorbent assembly is defined along the longitudinal direction from the transversal crotch axis to the longitudinal position of the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region, wherein the first front portion length is in the range from 4 to 15 cm per claim 8.
-wherein a maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front region of the undergarment is no more than the maximum front bond width of the set of bonding members (20a, 20b) in the front intermediate region per claim 9.
-wherein, in the front region of the undergarment, a maximum width of the absorbent assembly (10) is no more than the maximum width of the absorbent assembly in the front intermediate region per claim 10.
Sophie provides a pattern for making absorbent period underwear which has provides typical measurements and is used to show the claimed size is known. Furthermore, the size of the garment will be a result effective variable as children are typically smaller than adults and even individuals of all ages can have a wide BMI range which would affect the size of the garment. Additionally, there are different styles of underwear. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
Sophie’s image of the garment assembly has been labelled according to the claimed regions above and it is on a cutting mat which provides to scale figures. The cutting mat is in square inches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take a known underwear garment size and use it to size a reusable absorbent article designed to mimic underwear.
Regarding claim 11, Yip discloses wherein the absorbent assembly extends no further than the front intermediate region in a direction longitudinally towards the front of the undergarment (fig 2 since the absorbent assembly is fixed to the main body it cannot extend beyond its bond points).
Regarding claim 12, Yip discloses, wherein the maximum front bond width of the set of bonding members is substantially equal to the transversal width of the intermediate region at the location of the maximum front bond width (see Yip fig 2 which shows the intermediate region is about the same length as the bond with and Chatzka annotated above).
Regarding claim 13, Yip discloses wherein the absorbent assembly (10) comprises a front edge (27) directed towards the front of the undergarment (1), a rear edge (25) directed towards the rear of the undergarment (fig 2), and a pair of side edges (generally noted as 20), each side edge being at least partly directed towards a respective leg opening (22, fig 1 and 2), and connecting the front edge and the rear edge (fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, Yip discloses wherein each side edge is at least partly arranged at the respective leg opening of the undergarment (fig 1 and 2 which shows the side edges being arrogant at the leg openings).
Regarding claim 15, Yip discloses, wherein the set of bonding members is arranged to fasten the absorbent assembly to the at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels (fig 3 and 11) at least along part of the side edges of the absorbent assembly (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 16, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members is arranged to fasten the absorbent assembly to the at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels at least along part of the front edge of the absorbent assembly (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 17, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members is arranged to fasten the absorbent assembly to the at least one out of the one or more of fabric panels at least along part of the rear edge of the absorbent assembly (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 18, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members comprises one or more bonding lines (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 19, Yip discloses wherein the one or more bonding lines are continuous bonding lines (Col 12 lines 31-44).
Regarding claim 20, Yip discloses wherein the set of bonding members comprises one or more of adhesive bonding members and/or mechanical bonding members (Col 12 lines 31-49).
Regarding claim 21, Yip discloses wherein the intermediate region of the undergarment comprises at least one out of the one or more fabric panels, having an exterior side (see fig 1 which shows the exterior) facing away from the wearer, and an interior side (see fig 2 which shows the interior) facing in a direction towards the wearer, wherein the absorbent assembly is located on the interior side of the at least one fabric panel (fig 2).
Regarding claim 22 and 23, Yip, Yang, and Sophie fail to disclose wherein the maximum front bond width over the set of bonding members in the front intermediate region is in the range from 4 to 9 cm per claim 22 and wherein the front portion maximum width is in the range from 4 to 9 cm per claim 23.
Sophie clearly teaches the front bond width/ front portion width is 10cm. This is longer than the newly added limitation. Yip clearly teaches absorbent garment can be different styles and or different sizes (col 4 lines 27-39). The size of the garment is going to be related to the bond length. Even if the garment material fans out or decreases beyond the seam or bonded section or meeting point of the two pieces of fabric that section where the bond is cannot be larger or smaller than the bond length. Therefore, the style /shape and size of article will directly affect the bond length. Applicant’s specification provides no mention of criticality for the claimed range, and only a perceived benefit that the article may have less unwanted folds when the front bond length range is less than 11cm. Applicant’s specification page 3 states (emphasis added by the examiner) “With this restriction to the maximum front bond width, it has been found that unwanted folds or creases as seen from the front side of the undergarment when worn by a user may be reduced or avoided.” The claimed article is not limited a specific body type, age range, or underwear style. As such adjusting the range from 10cm as taught by Sophie to 9cm falls under routine optimization due to changing the size of the article which effects the bond length. A smaller induvial will need a smaller pair of underwear as such adjusting all the garment dimension down to be smaller falls under routine optimization. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIELLA E BURNETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781