Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear what is being imparted by recitation of “in particular by means of a grinding worm”, i.e. if the grinding tool is a grinding worm or not.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites “a portion of the width”. Claim 8, from which claim 10 depends, also recites “a portion of the width”. It is unclear if claim 10’s recitation intended to rely on the same portion established in claim 8 antecedently, or if the structure being narrowed is different from the recitation of claim 8.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 20120190274).
Regarding claim 8, Ito discloses a method for rolling hard-fine machining of a toothing of a workpiece by means of a grinding tool, in particular by means of a grinding worm (see grinding tool 12, Figure 7, as well as [0042]; see also method disclosed in Figure 8; see also [0049], [0091]), in which
the grinding tool is mounted on a tool spindle and rotates about the tool axis while the grinding tool is in engagement with the toothing (see Figure 8; see also [0014]; see also grinding tool rotating mechanism 24; see also [0047-0048]; see also shaft 64, and [0090]), wherein
the grinding tool is guided relative to the toothing during the machining in order to grind the toothing over its width (see Figures 7 and 8 as well as [0049]; see [0091-0095]: workpiece gear 202), and
wherein the grinding tool rotates at a non-constant rotational speed during its engagement with the toothing at least over a portion of the width ([0015]: wherein the grinding tool and gear rotate, and the rotational speed of the grinding tool is changed; see also Figure 8 regarding meshing of the tool and workpiece; see [0110] and [0114] disclosing a rotational speed change),
wherein the rotational speed of the grinding tool during its engagement with the toothing has a constant basic value on which an additionally time-varying rotational speed function is superimposed (see prescribed range disclosed in [0015], i.e. a constant basic value; see also [0016-0017] disclosing a phase change; see also [0019-0020], [0027-0028]),
wherein the time-varying rotational speed function is periodic (see [0036-0039] disclosing waveforms and grinding; see also elastic wave P, as well as [0097-0099]; see also [0015-0016] disclosing the phase change is the amount of change in rotational speed) or wherein the time- varying rotational speed function has a stochastic character.
Regarding claim 9, Ito discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ito further discloses wherein the feed rate of the grinding tool changes relative to the toothing over the width of the toothing (see contact detection disclosed in at least [0027]; see also rotational positions of the workpiece gear and grinding tool disclosed in [0037-0029]; see also [0047-0048], [0065]; [0091], [0094-0097], [0100-0102], [0107], [0112-0113]).
Regarding claim 10, Ito discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ito further discloses wherein the grinding tool is shifted in the direction of the tool axis over at least a portion of the width during its engagement with the toothing (see contact detection disclosed in at least [0027]; see also rotational positions of the workpiece gear and grinding tool disclosed in [0037-0029]; see also [0047-0048], [0065]; [0091], [0094-0097], [0100-0102], [0107], [0112-0113]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baldeck (US 2008/0254716), see [0024]
Schmid (US 2003/0166377), see [0006]
Grinko (US 2015/0290730), see [0031]
Prock (US 2016/0158860), see [0026]
Wirz (US 2017/0136563), see Figures 3 and 4 as well as [0015], [0018-0019].
Feisel (US 5209020), see Figure 3.
Wirz (US 4559744), see Figure 2.
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723