DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first Office Action on the merits of Application 18/839,812 filed on 8/20/24. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1
Line 2: “receiving at an” should be amended as -- receiving an --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 8,480,142 to Wuerfel.
Claim 1
Wuerfel discloses in Figs 1-13,
A support component for integration into an apron of a motor vehicle (e.g. front end of vehicle), comprising: a support body (e.g. 16) for receiving at an electrical functional unit, the electrical functional unit comprising sensor (e.g. 2) or a lighting component, wherein the support body is configured as a planar component (see Fig 4) and comprises a fiber reinforced plastic (Column 1, lines 21-35) that is based on a sheet molding compound.
Claim 2
The support component of claim 1, wherein the support component comprises at least one receiving opening (e.g. 11) for the electrical functional unit, wherein an associated receiving means (e.g. 12, Fig 12) for fastening the electrical functional unit is molded onto or attached to the support body.
Claim 3
The support component of claim 1, wherein the support component is provided as a visible component (e.g. outer surface of bumper, see Fig 2) of the motor vehicle and has a decorative surface (e.g. 15) that is visible to a person looking at the motor vehicle.
Claim 4
The support component of claim 3, wherein the decorative surface is formed at least in sections (Fig 3, multiple sections of 15 & 16) by a surface of the support body.
Claim 8
The support component of claim 1, further including fasteners (e.g. 17 & 18) that are attached to the support body for fastening the support component to the motor vehicle.
Claim 10
An assembly unit (see Fig 2) for integration into an apron of a motor vehicle, the assembly unit comprising the support component of claim 1, wherein the electrical functional unit is received on the support body of the support component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 8,480,142 to Wuerfel.
Claim 5
Wuerfel teaches a planar support component with a support body which receives an electrical function unit. Where the support component has a decorative surface which is formed at least in sections by a surface of the support body. Wuerfel however does not explicitly disclose that decorative surface has decorative coating or decorative foil. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed choose the decorative surface to have decorative coating or decorative foil, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 6
Wuerfel does not explicitly disclose that the decorative surface is formed by thermoplastic decorative component. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed choose the decorative surface to be formed by a thermoplastic decorative component, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 7
Wuerfel does not explicitly disclose that the decorative surface is formed by sections by a metallic decorative component. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed choose the decorative surface to have a metallic decorative component, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 9
Wuerfel discloses fasteners (e.g. 17 & 18) but does not explicitly disclose that the fasteners include metallic fastening components. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed choose the fasteners to have metallic fastening components, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/HUAN LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655