CTNF 18/839,853 CTNF 82479 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Examiner Note The claims have been evaluated under 35 U.S.C. §101 and are directed to patent eligible subject matter. While the claims appear to involve mental/mathematical steps, the claims are integrated into a practical application because they recite steps/elements directed to a specific improvement such as providing COWEs, reduce cache sizes, and improve battery life of mobile computing devices. (See ¶ 14). Accordingly, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea and no rejection under §101 is made. MPEP 2106.05(a) states: “ After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology . Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1316, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (patent owner argued that the claimed email filtering system improved technology by shrinking the protection gap and mooting the volume problem, but the court disagreed because the claims themselves did not have any limitations that addressed these issues). That is, the claim must include the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. However, the claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification”. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s (1, 14-15) are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1 the limitation of “receiving, at a computing device having a cache-optimized warp engine, a first cache memory, and a second cache memory, a warped input image comprising a plurality of pixel information” should be rewritten as “receiving, at a computing device having a cache optimized warp engine having a first cache memory and a second cache memory, a warped input image comprising a plurality of pixel information.”. In claim 1, the limitation of “N rows;” should be rewritten as “N rows, wherein N is a positive integer”. In claim 14, the limitation of “N rows;” should be rewritten as “N rows, wherein N is a positive integer”. In claim 15, the limitation of “N rows;” should be rewritten as “N rows, wherein N is a positive integer” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because of the following reason: Claim 15 is directed to a “computer-readable medium”. The definition of CRM in the specs is open-ended and hence BRI include transitory embodiments. MPEP 2106 states: “The BRI of machine readable media can encompass non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007). When the BRI encompasses transitory forms of signal transmission, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 as failing to claim statutory subject matter would be appropriate. Thus, a claim to a computer readable medium that can be a compact disc or a carrier wave covers a non-statutory embodiment and therefore should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See, e.g., Mentor Graphics v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d at 1294-95, 112 USPQ2d at 1134 (claims to a "machine-readable medium" were non-statutory, because their scope encompassed both statutory random-access memory and non-statutory carrier waves).” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) (1-15) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soffair et al. (hereinafter Soffair)(US Publication 2024/0095871 A1) Re claim 1, Soffair discloses a method comprising: receiving, at a computing device having a cache-optimized warp engine, a first cache memory, and a second cache memory, a warped input image comprising a plurality of pixel information (See fig. 8: 60; fig. 9: 38, 102; ¶ 58-61 where it teaches a warp system comprising a first and second cache memories and configured to receive an image comprising a plurality of pixels) ; dividing, by the cache-optimized warp engine, the warped input image comprising the plurality of pixel information into N rows (See fig. 10; ¶ 60 where it teaches the input image data is divided in tiled sections.) ; scanning, by the cache-optimized warp engine and following a coordinate sequence including the N rows, the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image (See fig. 9-10; ¶ 59-60 where it teaches the fetcher may request input image data to the first cache in an intended order of use instead of fetching the input data in raster scan order.) , the coordinate sequence comprising at least one of: an intra-row coordinate sequence that is at least one of: bottom to top and left to right; or bottom to top and right to left; and an inter-row coordinate sequence that is top to bottom; or an intra-row coordinate sequence that is at least one of: top to bottom and left to right; or top to bottom and right to left; and an inter-row coordinate sequence that is bottom to top (See fig. 10-12; ¶ 60-62 where it teaches fetching the input image.) ; loading, by the cache-optimized warp engine, a first portion of the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image into the first cache memory of the computing device (See fig. 9: 102, 104; ¶ 61 where it teaching loading the input image to the first cache memory from the top.) ; determining, by the cache-optimized warp engine and based on the first portion of the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image stored in the first cache memory, a first corrected portion of a plurality of pixel information of a corrected output image (See fig. 9: 92, 102, 104; ¶ 58, 61 where it teaches section 92 and 94 may generate the warped image data.) ; loading, by the cache-optimized warp engine, a second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image into the second cache memory of the computing device (See fig. 9: 102, 104; where it teaching loading the input image to the second cache memories from the bottom.) ; determining, by the cache-optimized warp engine and based on the second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image stored in the second cache memory, a second corrected portion of the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image (See fig. 9: 94, 102, 104; ¶ 58, 61 where it teaches section 92 and 94 may generate the warped image data.) ; and storing, by the cache-optimized warp engine, the first portion and the second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image as the output image in a system memory of or associated with the computing device. (See fig. 9: 110 where it teaches a buffer.) Re claim 2, Soffair discloses wherein: the warped input image is W pixels wide and T pixels tall; W is an integer greater than one; and T is an integer greater than one. (See fig. 10; ¶ 60) Re claim 3, Soffair discloses wherein: each row of the N rows is W pixels wide; and each row of the N rows is an integer division of T pixels tall. (See fig. 10; ¶ 60) Re claim 4, Soffair discloses wherein the coordinate sequence comprises an intra-row coordinate sequence that is bottom to top and left to right and an inter-row coordinate sequence that is top to bottom. (See fig. 10; ¶ 60) Re claim 5, Soffair discloses wherein: the first cache is an L1 cache of the cache-optimized warp engine; and the second cache is an L2 cache of the cache-optimized warp engine; or the second cache is a system-level cache of a system-on-a-chip of the computing device. (See fig. 9; ¶ 59) Re claim 6, Soffair discloses wherein at least one of: determining the first portion of the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image uses an arbitrary transform function; or determining the second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image uses the arbitrary transform function. (See ¶ 52) Re claim 7, Soffair discloses wherein determining the first or second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image uses at least one of: piecewise interpolation; linear interpolation; polynomial interpolation; spline interpolation; or mimetic interpolation. (See ¶ 65) Re claim 8, Soffair discloses wherein determining the first or second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image uses at least one of: lens distortion; geographic distortion; motion compensation; electronic image stabilization; rolling shutter correction; or camera calibration. (See ¶ 51-52) Re claim 9, Soffair discloses wherein at least one of: scanning the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image includes scanning a plurality of memory access units; loading the first portion of the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image into the first cache memory of the computing device includes loading at least one memory access unit of the plurality of memory access units; or loading the second portion of the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image into the second cache memory of the computing device includes loading at least one memory access unit of the plurality of memory access units. (See fig. 9) Re claim 10, Soffair discloses wherein: the at least one memory access unit is L pixels long and S pixels wide; L is an integer greater than one; and S is an integer greater than one. (See fig. 9; ¶ 51) Re claim 11, Soffair discloses wherein S is less than L. (See ¶ 51) Re claim 12, Soffair discloses wherein: a pixel of the warped input image comprises M bits; and M is at least one of: an integer greater than or equal to one; four bits; eight bits; 16 bits; 32 bits; or 64 bits. (See ¶ 60) Re claim 13, Soffair discloses wherein at least one of: the plurality of pixel information of the warped input image comprises: location information; gamma information; or color information; or the plurality of pixel information of the corrected output image comprises: location information; gamma information; or color information. (See ¶ 51-52) Claims (14-15) have been analyzed and rejected w/r to claim 1 above. Claims (16-20) have been analyzed and rejected w/r to claims (2-5, 9) respectively . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al (US 12,327,296 B2) disclose a cache-based warp engine. Contact Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LEON FLORES whose telephone number is (571)270-1201. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am - 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HENOK SHIFERAW can be reached at 571-272-4637. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LEON FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676 May 29, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 2 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 3 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 4 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 5 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 6 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 7 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 8 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/839,853 Page 9 Art Unit: 2676