DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 20 August 2024. Claims 1-43 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
20 August 2024
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 and 35-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Shang et al. (hereinafter Shang) (US 2019/0165843 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 36, Shang discloses a network node (e.g., 202, 1400) for wireless communication { (see Figs. 2-14) }, comprising:
at least one processor (e.g., 1402) { (see pg. 6, [0091]; Figs. 2 & 14) }; and
a memory (e.g., 1408) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to { (see pg. 6, [0091]; Figs. 2 & 14) }:
obtain first beam information, wherein the first beam information comprises at least one of { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060]; Figs. 2 - 14), where the system provides beams { (see pg. 2, [0012]; pg. 4, [0048]) }:
first beam shape information or first inter-beam pointing direction neighboring information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060]; Figs. 2 - 14), where the system provides beams };
receive a transmission including an indication indicative of a change to beam information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060]; Figs. 2 - 14), where the system provides beams };
switch from the first beam information to second beam information based on the indication { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060]; Figs. 2 - 14), where the system provides beams }; and
perform one or more operations based on the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060]; pg. 5, [0066; Figs. 5-6, 8, 10, 12, & 1-2), where the system provides a terminal device (e.g., 104, 208) to selects an optimal beam }.
Regarding claim 2, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein to obtain the first beam information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) configuration indicating the first beam information; receive downlink control information (DCI) and determine, based on the DCI, the first beam information; or receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) and determine, based on the MAC-CE, the first beam information { (see pg. 2, [0012]; pg. 4, [0048, 0050]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claims 3 and 37, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein to perform the one or more operations, the at least one processor is configured to: perform artificial intelligence- or machine learning-assisted beam selection using the second beam information; perform one or more measurements using the second beam information; transmit a transmission using the second beam information; receive a transmission using the second beam information; or report the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 4, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the second beam information comprises at least one of: second beam shape information or second inter-beam pointing direction neighboring information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 5, Shang discloses the network node of claim 4, wherein the second beam shape information comprises at least one of: second beam direction information, second beam weight information, or second beam width information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 6, Shang discloses the network node of claim 4, wherein the second inter-beam pointing direction neighboring information comprises spatial information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 7, Shang discloses the network node of claim 6, wherein the spatial information indicates one or more adjacent beams for a particular beam { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 8, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the first beam shape information comprises at least one of: second beam direction information, second beam weight information, or second beam width information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claim 9, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the first inter-beam pointing direction neighboring information comprises spatial information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claim 10, Shang discloses the network node of claim 9, wherein the spatial information indicates one or more adjacent beams for a particular beam { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 11, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission comprises downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claims 12 and 38, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission comprises downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI includes a triggering command for an aperiodic channel state information (CSI) report and aperiodic CSI triggering state information, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the second beam information based on the aperiodic CSI triggering state information of the DCI { (see pg. 4, [0053,0050]; pg. 2, [0016]; Figs. 2-14), where the system provides a terminal device to provide feedback }.
Regarding claims 13 and 39, Shang discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein the CSI report is an aperiodic CSI report, and wherein the aperiodic CSI triggering state information is included in a CSI request field of the DCI and the DCI includes a plurality of CSI report information elements associated with the aperiodic CSI triggering state information, and wherein at least one CSI report information element of the plurality of CSI report information elements comprises at least one channel management resource set identifier and beam information associated with the channel management resource set { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claim 14, Shang discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the second beam information corresponds to a single instance of a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; and switch from the second beam information to the first beam information, after the performance of the one or more operations for the single instance, for subsequent instances of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claim 15, Shang discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the second beam information corresponds to each respective instance of a plurality of instances of a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; and transmit channel state information (CSI) report information for the plurality of instances of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set using the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claim 16, Shang discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to. receive an RRC message including an information element for a channel management resource set associated with the aperiodic CSI triggering state information, wherein the information element does not indicate beam information for dynamic adjustment or the first beam information, and wherein to obtain the first beam information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, prior to the receipt of the transmission, a second transmission which includes the first beam information, and wherein the transmission includes the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0052, 0060, 0048]; pg. 2, [0012]; Figs. 2 - 14) }.
Regarding claim 17, Shang discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein to obtain the first beam information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive an RRC message including an information element for a channel management resource set associated with the aperiodic CSI triggering state information, wherein the information element includes the first beam information, and wherein the transmission includes the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 18, Shang discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein to obtain the first beam information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive an RRC message including an information element for a channel management resource set associated with the aperiodic CSI triggering state information, wherein the information element includes the first beam information and the second beam information, and wherein the transmission includes a channel management resource set identifier configured to identify the second beam information of the information element { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claims 19 and 40, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission comprises downlink control information (DCI), wherein the DCI includes an activation command for a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) report and semi-persistent CSI triggering state information, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the second beam information based on the semi-persistent CSI triggering state information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claims 20 and 41, Shang discloses the network node of claim 19, wherein the CSI report is a semi-persistent CSI report, and wherein the semi-persistent CSI triggering state information is included in a CSI request field of the DCI and the DCI includes a CSI report information element associated with the semi-persistent CSI triggering state information, and wherein the CSI report information element comprises at least one channel management resource set identifier and beam information associated with the channel management resource set { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 21, Shang discloses the network node of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the second beam information corresponds to multiple instances of a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; use the second beam information for the multiple instances of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; receive a deactivation message for the second beam information during the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; switch from the second beam information to the first beam information based on the deactivation message; and use the first beam information for remaining instances of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 22, Shang discloses the network node of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the second beam information corresponds to each respective instance of a plurality of instances of a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; and transmit channel state information (CSI) report (e.g., CSI-RS) information for the plurality instances of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set using the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claims 23 and 42, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE), wherein the MAC-CE includes an activation command for a semi-persistent (SP) channel state information (CSI) (SP-CSI) report, wherein the MAC-CE includes an indication corresponding to the second beam information, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain, based on the indication corresponding to the second beam information, the second beam information from the memory, wherein the second beam information is associated with a configured channel management resource set, and wherein the configured channel management resource set is associated with the SP-CSI report activated by the transmission { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 24, Shang discloses the network node of claim 23, wherein the MAC-CE comprises a SP-CSI report activation MAC-CE or a SP-CSI resource set activation MAC-CE, and wherein the indication corresponding to the second beam information comprises at least one of: one or more bits corresponding to a first SP-CSI report activation MAC-CE format; one or more bits corresponding to a first SP-CSI resource set activation MAC-CE format; one or more bits corresponding to a second SP-CSI report activation MAC-CE format for dynamic alteration of beam information; or one or more bits corresponding to a second SP-CSI resource set activation MAC-CE format for dynamic alteration of beam information { (see pg. 4, [0053,0050]; pg. 2, [0016]; Figs. 2-14), where the system provides a terminal device to provide feedback }.
Regarding claim 25, Shang discloses the network node of claim 23, wherein the configured channel management resource set comprises a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the second beam information corresponds to multiple CSI reports (e.g., CSI-RS) of a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; use the second beam information for at least one CSI report of the multiple CSI reports of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; receive a deactivation message for the second beam information during the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; switch from the second beam information to the first beam information based on the deactivation message; and use the first beam information for remaining CSI reports of the multiple CSI reports { (see pg. 4, [0053,0050]; pg. 2, [0016]; Figs. 2-14), where the system provides a terminal device to provide feedback }.
Regarding claim 26, Shang discloses the network node of claim 23, wherein the configured channel management resource set comprises a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine that the second beam information corresponds to each respective instance of a plurality of instances of a configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set; and transmit CSI report information for the plurality instances of the configured periodic or semi-periodic channel management resource set using the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0053,0050]; pg. 2, [0016]; Figs. 2-14), where the system provides a terminal device to provide feedback }.
Regarding claim 27, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes an indication of the second beam information, wherein the indication includes one or more respective identifiers corresponding to one or more respective channel management resources of a channel management resource set, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the second beam information based on the indication of the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0053,0050]; pg. 2, [0016]; Figs. 2-14), where the system provides a terminal device to provide feedback }.
Regarding claim 28, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes an indication of the second beam information, wherein the indication includes an identifier corresponding to a channel management resource set, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the second beam information based on the indication of the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claims 29 and 43, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the transmission includes the second beam information, wherein the second beam information is associated with an identifier, and wherein the identifier corresponds to one or more respective identifiers corresponding to one or more respective channel management resources of a channel management resource set, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the second beam information based on the indication of the second beam information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 30, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the second beam information is differentially indicated in the transmission, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify the second beam information based on the first beam information and a difference indicated by the transmission, wherein the difference identifies a change in value from a second parameter of the second beam information as compared to a first parameter of the first beam information { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Regarding claim 35, Shang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein, to obtain the first beam information, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including channel state information (CSI) interference measurement (IM) resources for interference measurement; and determine the first beam information based on the CSI IM resources, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the second beam information based on at least one of the CSI IM resources or the transmission { (see pg. 4, [0060, 0052]; pg. 5, [0066]; Figs. 2-14) }.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
22 June 2026