DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 08/20/2024 and is a 371 of PCT/US2023/063113 (02/23/2023) which has PRO 63/313212 (02/23/2022). Claims 15, 17, 20-21, 23 and 25-28 have been canceled. Claims 1-14, 16, 18, 19, 22, 24 and 29 are before the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 12-14, 16, 18, 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang. Wang teaches compounds such as BEGZUJ Table 1 as a method of treating pain. This compound anticipates the instant claims.
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 3098075 Druey. Druey teaches compounds such as RN 36074-72-3, Example 26 and Col 16. These compounds anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 8815271 Yap. Yap teaches compounds such as #477, #488 and #510 . These compounds anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grandberg and Grandberg2. Grandberg teaches compounds in Table 2 #7 and #10 that anticipate the instant claims. Grandberg2 teaches compounds such as #16 Table 1 page 613 that anticipate the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14, 16, 18-19, 22, 24 and 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 19/545821, 19/097371 (UGPGPub20250230152), 18/839868 (USPGPub20250171405) and 18/839858 (USPGPub20250171429). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound of formula (I) in the individual claims 1 falls within the instant formula (I) of claim 1. The scope of the claims fall within the instant claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/D MARGARET M SEAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625