DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 46-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US 2024/0015655 A1, provisional No. 63/368.091 dated 7/11/22, hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claims 46, 57, and 63, Cheng discloses a User Equipment (UE) configured for operation in a fifth-generation new radio (5G NR) network (see para. 0046, 5G/NR network), the UE comprising: processing circuitry; and memory, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive radio-resource control (RRC) signalling comprising configuration information for a low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) (see para. 0084, UE receive LP-WUS configured per cell through RRC), the configuration information indicating a time resource of the LP-WUS relative to a start of a subframe, frame, or slot in which the LP-WUS is to be transmitted (see para.0072, 0074, 0084, LP-WUS in the duration may be in slot, subframe configured by the network);
monitor occasions to detect the LP-WUS based on the configuration information (see para. 0011, 0137, 0152, monitoring WUS based on configuration), the LP-WUS comprising a number of on-off Keying (OOK) symbols within an OFDM symbol (see para. 0047-0048, 0075, 0088, OFDM based OOK); and upon detection of the LP-WUS, configure the UE to begin monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) after a period of time (see para. 0045-0046, 0051, PDCCH monitoring; para. 0067, LP-WUS duration).
Regarding claims 47, 58 and 64, Cheng discloses wherein the configuration information further indicates the number of OOK symbols in each OFDM symbol for the LP-WUS (see para. 0088, OFDM based LP-WUS).
Regarding claims 48, 59 and 65, Cheng discloses wherein the LP-WUS and an active downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) have a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration. (see para. 0073, subcarrier located in the same BWP).
Regarding claims 49, and 60, wherein when the UE is in one of an RRC_IDLE state and an RRC_INACTIVE state (see para. 0116, IDL state), the UE is configurable to receive the LP-WUS outside an initial downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) (see para. 0116 and 0073).
Regarding claims 50, and 61, Cheng discloses wherein when the UE is in an RRC CONNECTED state, the UE is configurable to receive the LP-WUS outside the active DL BWP (see para. 0044, 0116, UE-specific configuration).
Regarding claims 51, and 62, Cheng discloses wherein processing circuitry is configured with a paging subgroup ID to detect the LP-WUS before a paging occasion (PO) (see para. 0091, sub-group ID corresponding to PO).
Regarding claim 52, Cheng discloses wherein prior to detection of the LP-WUS, the UE is in one of an RRC_IDLE state and an RRC_INACTIVE state (see para. 0146, RRC idle mode monitor LP-WUS).
Regarding claim 53, Cheng discloses wherein the LP-WUS OOK symbols are overlaid with a sequence (see para. 0126).
Regarding claim 54, Cheng discloses wherein the SCS is 60 KHz (see para. 0059).
Regarding claim 55, Cheng discloses wherein upon detection of the LP-WUS, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to exit a lower power mode after the period of time to begin monitoring the PDCCH. (see para. 0045)
Regarding claim 56, Cheng discloses further comprising: a Low Power Wake-Up Receiver (LR) to receive the LP-WUS when the UE is in the lower power mode; and a Main Receiver (MR) to start monitoring the PDCCH after the period of time (see para. 0045).
Conclusion
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463