CTNF 18/839,886 CTNF 82236 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements submitted on 08/20/2024, 10/21/2025, 02/18/2026, 03/17/2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeo et al. (US 11,183,882 B2 herein Yeo) . Regarding claim 1 , Yeo teaches a communication apparatus (Yeo – Figure 4A, Figure 4B, Figure 4C, column 15 lines 56-67), comprising: a phase adjustment circuit, configured to adjust phases of electromagnetic signals (read as MCU 461 may output phase adjustment information to the I/O expander 463; the MCU 461 may transmit phase adjustment information via a serial peripheral interface) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61); a charging circuit, configured to convert the electromagnetic signals into electrical energy (read as charger 454 may adjust the magnitude of a converted voltage or current oof power, so as to charge a battery; wireless power transmitter 100 may select the charging scheme to be the electromagnetic wave scheme) (Yeo – column 15 lines 60-67, column 16 lines 1-5, column 21 lines 23-33); and antennas, configured to receive the electromagnetic signals (read as multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490; wireless power transmitter 100 may transmit power by means of multiple patch antennas) (Yeo – column 20 lines 34-54, column 21 lines 23-33); wherein the antennas are connected to the phase adjustment circuit, and the electromagnetic signals are transmitted to the phase adjustment circuit through the antennas (read as MCU 481 may determine at least one phase adjustment information or amplitude adjustment information of an electrical signal input to each of multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490) (Yeo – column 20 lines 34-54); and the antennas are connected to the charging circuit, and the electromagnetic signals are transmitted to the charging circuit through the antennas (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may select a power transmission circuit to transmit power which corresponds to the selected charging scheme; when the electromagnetic wave scheme is selected as the charging scheme, the wireless power transmitter 100 may select multiple patch antennas as the power transmission circuit to transmit power) (Yeo – column 23 lines 29-42). Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the charging circuit and the phase adjustment circuit share at least a portion of electronic components (read as the multiple patch antennas may receive the respective phase-adjusted powers to form sub-RF waves; MCU 481 may determine at least one phase adjustment information or amplitude adjustment information of an electrical signal input to each of multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490; the wireless power transmitter 100 may select multiple patch antennas as the power transmission circuit to transmit power) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61, column 20 lines 34-54, column 23 lines 29-42). Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches further comprising: a switching circuit that enables switching between the charging circuit and the phase adjustment circuit (read as electronic device 150 may transmit information according to turning on/off of a switch which is disposed inside the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 22 lines 57-67, column 23 lines 1-9). Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches further comprising: a battery module configured to store the electrical energy (read as a battery of the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 15 lines 44-56). Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the antennas comprise energy antennas and information antennas; the energy antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic signals, and the electromagnetic signals received by the energy antennas are converted into the electrical energy; and the information antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic signals, and communication information is obtained by processing the electromagnetic signals received by the information antennas (read as generation of RF wave 131 through the plurality of patch antennas; generating current or voltage by the multiple patch antennas may be referred to as reception of current or energy through the multiple patch antennas by the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 7 lines 44-67). Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the antennas comprise information antennas; the information antennas comprise energy antennas, wherein at least a portion of the information antennas are switchable into the energy antennas; and the energy antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic signals (read as generation of RF wave 131 through the plurality of patch antennas; generating current or voltage by the multiple patch antennas may be referred to as reception of current or energy through the multiple patch antennas by the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 7 lines 44-67). Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the antennas comprise energy antennas; the energy antennas comprise information antennas, wherein at least a portion of the energy antennas are switchable to the information antennas; and the information antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic signals (read as generation of RF wave 131 through the plurality of patch antennas; generating current or voltage by the multiple patch antennas may be referred to as reception of current or energy through the multiple patch antennas by the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 7 lines 44-67). Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 6 , Yeo further teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises a signal processing unit; the signal processing unit is configured to process the electromagnetic signals to obtain information carried by the electromagnetic signals; and the electromagnetic signals received by the information antennas are processed by the signal processing unit to obtain the information carried by the electromagnetic signals (read as processor 455 or processor 410 may be a CPU) (Yeo – column 16 lines 65-67, column 17 lines 1-19). Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the communication apparatus has a first operation mode, a second operation mode, and a third operation mode; in the first operation mode, the electromagnetic signals are processed to obtain information carried by the electromagnetic signals; in the second operation mode, the electromagnetic signals are converted into the electrical energy; and in the third operation mode, the electromagnetic signals are processed to obtain information carried by the electromagnetic signals, and converted into the electrical energy (read as operation mode of generation of RF wave 131 through the plurality of patch antennas; operation mode of generating current or voltage by the multiple patch antennas may be referred to as reception of current or energy through the multiple patch antennas by the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 7 lines 44-67). Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 6 , Yeo further teaches wherein the communication apparatus is configured to receive the electromagnetic signals through the energy antennas; and the electromagnetic signals are converted into the electrical energy by an energy charging circuit (read as generation of RF wave 131 through the plurality of patch antennas; generating current or voltage by the multiple patch antennas may be referred to as reception of current or energy through the multiple patch antennas by the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 7 lines 44-67). Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 6 , Yeo further teaches wherein the communication apparatus is configured to receive the electromagnetic signals through the information antennas; and the electromagnetic signals are adjusted in phase by the phase adjustment circuit (read as MCU 461 may output phase adjustment information to the I/O expander 463; the MCU 461 may transmit phase adjustment information via a serial peripheral interface; phase shifter may adjust phases of multiple respective powers received through the multiple channels, by using the received phase adjustment information) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61). Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the antennas are further configured for at least one of: reflecting the electromagnetic signals (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may form pilot RF waves periodically or aperiodically, may receive reflection waves, and may determine that the electronic device 150 is located in corresponding direction when it is detect3ed that there is a difference between information of the reflection waves and previously stored reference information) (Yeo – column 10 lines 1-36); or passing through the electromagnetic signals; and the reflecting or passing through the electromagnetic signals comprises at least one of: adjusting phases of the received electromagnetic signals via the phase adjustment circuit and reflecting the electromagnetic signals; adjusting phases of the received electromagnetic signals via the phase adjustment circuit and passing through the electromagnetic signals; or adjusting phases of the received electromagnetic signals via the phase adjustment circuit and both reflecting and passing through the electromagnetic signals (read as MCU 461 may output phase adjustment information to the I/O expander 463; the MCU 461 may transmit phase adjustment information via a serial peripheral interface; phase shifter may adjust phases of multiple respective powers received through the multiple channels, by using the received phase adjustment information) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61). Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the antennas are further configured to emit electromagnetic signals; and the electromagnetic signals are emitted by: adjusting phases of the received electromagnetic signals via the phase adjustment circuit and radiating the adjusted electromagnetic signals outward from the antennas (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may include multiple patch antennas capable of transmitting power according to the electromagnetic wave scheme; phase shifter 466 may receive AC power according to the electromagnetic wave scheme and may adjust phases of multiple respective powers received through the multiple channels, by using the received phase adjustment information) (Yeo – column 12 lines 44-67, column 19 lines 14-61). Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 5 , Yeo further teaches wherein the antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic signals of a first frequency band and a second frequency band; the electromagnetic signals of the first frequency band are received through the information antennas and are used for wireless communication; and the electromagnetic signals of the second frequency band are received through the energy antennas and are used for wireless charging (read as Bluetooth Low Energy and radio frequency RF wave) (Yeo – column 7 lines 34-43). Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1 , Yeo further teaches wherein the communication apparatus is configured to perform at least one of: receiving the electromagnetic signals during a first time period, the electromagnetic signal being used for wireless communication (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may detect the electronic device 150 on the basis of various conditions that a load change is detected during a beacon applying period) (Yeo – column 11 lines 42-67, column 12 lines 1-43); or receiving the electromagnetic signals during a second time period, the electromagnetic signal being used for wireless charging (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may periodically perform charging according to the resonance scheme) (Yeo – column 31 lines 58-67, column 32 lines 1-12). Regarding claim 16 , Yeo teaches a communication apparatus (Yeo – Figure 4A, Figure 4B, Figure 4C, column 15 lines 56-67), comprising: an antenna module, a signal processing module, and an energy receiving module (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may include a first power source 401, a first amplification circuit 402, a power transmission antenna array 405, a processor 410, a communication circuit 420, a second power source 411, a second amplification circuit 421, and a coil 422) (Yeo – Figure 4A, column 15 lines 56-67, column 16 lines 1-5), wherein: the antenna module comprises an antenna management unit and an antenna array (read as distribution circuit 403 may distribute power to as many paths as the number of patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 405; multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490; wireless power transmitter 100 may transmit power by means of multiple patch antennas) (Yeo – column 16 lines 6-29; column 20 lines 34-54, column 21 lines 23-33); the antenna array is configured to receive electromagnetic signals (read as multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490; wireless power transmitter 100 may transmit power by means of multiple patch antennas) (Yeo – column 20 lines 34-54, column 21 lines 23-33); the antenna management unit is configured to control operation modes of the antenna array and manage allocation of antenna array resources (read as distribution circuit 403 may distribute power to as many paths as the number of patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 405) (Yeo – column 16 lines 6-29; column 20 lines 34-54, column 21 lines 23-33); the signal processing module comprises a phase adjustment unit and a signal processing unit (read as processor 410; MCU 461 may output phase adjustment information to the I/O expander 463; the MCU 461 may transmit phase adjustment information via a serial peripheral interface) (Yeo – column 15 lines 60-67; column 19 lines 14-61); the phase adjustment unit comprises a phase adjustment circuit configured to adjust phases of the electromagnetic signals (read as phase shifter 466 may adjust phases of multiple respective powers received through the multiple channels, by using the received phase adjustment information) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61); the signal processing unit is configured to process the electromagnetic signals to obtain information carried by the electromagnetic signals (read as processor 410; MCU 461 may output phase adjustment information to the I/O expander 463; the MCU 461 may transmit phase adjustment information via a serial peripheral interface) (Yeo – column 15 lines 60-67; column 19 lines 14-61); the energy receiving module comprises an energy conversion unit and an energy management unit (read as electronic device may perform charging using energy from the wireless power transmitter 100; electronic device 150 may convert energy into current, voltage, or power via the selected power reception circuit) (Yeo – column 14 lines 56-67); the energy conversion unit comprises an energy charging circuit configured to convert the electromagnetic signals into electrical energy (read as electronic device may perform charging using energy from the wireless power transmitter 100; electronic device 150 may convert energy into current, voltage, or power via the selected power reception circuit; charger 454 may adjust the magnitude of a converted voltage or current of power, so as to charge a battery) (Yeo – column 14 lines 56-67, column 16 lines 50-64); and the energy management unit is configured to collect or manage the electrical energy (read as power reception antenna 451 may include multiple patch antennas, and current, voltage, or power of an AC waveform may be generated using an RF wave formed in the periphery, an electromagnetic wave, and may be referred to as received power) (Yeo – column 14 lines 56-67, column 16 lines 50-64). Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16 , Yeo further teaches wherein: the charging circuit and the phase adjustment circuit share at least a portion of electronic components and circuitry (read as the multiple patch antennas may receive the respective phase-adjusted powers to form sub-RF waves; MCU 481 may determine at least one phase adjustment information or amplitude adjustment information of an electrical signal input to each of multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490; the wireless power transmitter 100 may select multiple patch antennas as the power transmission circuit to transmit power) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61, column 20 lines 34-54, column 23 lines 29-42). Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 16 , Yeo further teaches wherein: the antenna array comprises information antennas and energy antennas; the energy antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic signals; and the information antennas are configured to receive electromagnetic information (read as generation of RF wave 131 through the plurality of patch antennas; generating current or voltage by the multiple patch antennas may be referred to as reception of current or energy through the multiple patch antennas by the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 7 lines 44-67). Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 16 , Yeo further teaches wherein: the energy management unit further comprises a battery configured to store the electrical energy (read as a battery of the electronic device 150) (Yeo – column 15 lines 44-56). Regarding claim 20 , Yeo teaches a communication device (Yeo – Figure 4A, Figure 4B, Figure 4C, column 15 lines 56-67), comprising a communication apparatus comprising: a phase adjustment circuit, configured to adjust phases of electromagnetic signals (read as MCU 461 may output phase adjustment information to the I/O expander 463; the MCU 461 may transmit phase adjustment information via a serial peripheral interface) (Yeo – column 19 lines 14-61); a charging circuit, configured to convert the electromagnetic signals into electrical energy (read as charger 454 may adjust the magnitude of a converted voltage or current oof power, so as to charge a battery; wireless power transmitter 100 may select the charging scheme to be the electromagnetic wave scheme) (Yeo – column 15 lines 60-67, column 16 lines 1-5, column 21 lines 23-33); and antennas, configured to receive the electromagnetic signals (read as multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490; wireless power transmitter 100 may transmit power by means of multiple patch antennas) (Yeo – column 20 lines 34-54, column 21 lines 23-33); wherein the antennas are connected to the phase adjustment circuit, and the electromagnetic signals are transmitted to the phase adjustment circuit through the antennas (read as MCU 481 may determine at least one phase adjustment information or amplitude adjustment information of an electrical signal input to each of multiple patch antennas included in the power transmission antenna array 490) (Yeo – column 20 lines 34-54); and the antennas are connected to the charging circuit, and the electromagnetic signals are transmitted to the charging circuit through the antennas (read as wireless power transmitter 100 may select a power transmission circuit to transmit power which corresponds to the selected charging scheme; when the electromagnetic wave scheme is selected as the charging scheme, the wireless power transmitter 100 may select multiple patch antennas as the power transmission circuit to transmit power) (Yeo – column 23 lines 29-42). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to APRIL GUZMAN GONZALES whose telephone number is (571)270-1101. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. The examiner’s email address is april.guzman@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley L. Kim can be reached at (571) 272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 10 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 11 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 12 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 13 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 14 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/839,886 Page 15 Art Unit: 2648