DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 14, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2022/0111995 A1; hereinafter Zhao) in view of Aittamaa (US 2020/0369429 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 14, and 18-21, Zhao discloses a paper container formed from at least one first paperboard substrate (see Par. 0020-0022) having a first side facing an inside of the container and a second side facing an outside of the container, the at least one first paperboard substrate bound by an upper peripheral edge (102) and an opposite lower peripheral edge (104), wherein the upper peripheral edge and opposite lower peripheral edge are curved and parallel (see Fig. 4), wherein the at least one first paperboard substrate comprises a first paperboard core layer, and a barrier coating layer (see Par. 0036-0038) applied on the first side, wherein the compostable container is formed at least by a first region of the first side overlapping with a second region of the second side (at seam 22), wherein the at least one first paperboard substrate further comprises an adhesive layer applied on at least one of the first and second regions (see Par. 0075), wherein said adhesive layer is applied on 0.1 — 10 % of a total area of the first and second sides of said first paperboard substrate (see Figures 4; Examiner considers the overlapping seam to be within a range of 0.1 to 10% of a total area), and wherein the first region and the second region are sealed to one another. Zhao lacks teaching that the barrier coating comprises a natural polymer.
Aittamaa teaches a disposable cup comprising barrier layer made of a natural polymer, a natural ester, a rosin, or combinations thereof, in an amount of 70 — 100 wt% as calculated on a total dry weight of said barrier coating layer (see Par. 0026; Examiner considers the barrier coating layer to be 100% barrier coating material), said natural polymer barrier layer is a chemically unmodified natural polymer (see Par. 0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Zhao’s barrier layer to be made of a natural polymer in order to make a disposable cup that is biodegradable, as taught by Aittamaa.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 22, Zhao, as modified above, discloses a disposable cup wherein the adhesive layer is applied on the first and the second region (Aittamaa; see Par. 0067 and Figures 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Zhao’s to apply adhesive to both the first and second regions in order to ensure a proper seal at the seam of the cup, as taught by Aittamaa.
Regarding claims 5-8, Zhao, as modified above, discloses a disposable paperboard cup comprising a cup bottom (Zhao; 14) attached to and inwardly folded surface of a cup sidewall sleeve, or body, (Zhao; see Fig. 3; and Par. 0027-0030
Regarding claims 9-11, Zhao, as modified above, discloses a cup wherein the compostable container is compostable according to EM13432 (Aittamaa; see Par. 0026-0027).
Claim(s) 12 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Aittamaa, as applied above, and further in view of Spender et al. (US 2020/0095731 A1; hereinafter Spender).
Regarding claims 12 and 23-25, Zhao, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the natural polymer being cold-water soluble and the paperboard substrate being formed from bleached pulp. Spender teaches biobased barrier coatings for paperboard substrates wherein said barrier coating comprises polyol/saccharide fatty acid ester blends that are cold-water soluble (see Par. 0081-0086 and 0215); and the paperboard substrate being formed from bleached pulp (see Par. 0171). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Zhao’s disposable cup to further comprise the natural polymer barrier coating composition taught by Spender in order to further ensure the biodegradability of the cup (Spender; see Par. 0007-0009).
Claim(s) 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Aittamaa, as applied above, and further in view of Yan (US 2011/0168771 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 15-16, Zhao, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the barrier layer being applied in a range between 0.1 and 20 gsm and comprising pigments. Yan teaches a hermetically sealed paperboard container with enhanced barrier performance wherein a barrier coating has dry coat weight in an amount in a range between 0.1 and 20 gsm (see Par. 0063) and further comprising 1 through 30 wt% pigments (see Par. 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to apply Zhao’s barrier coat in a dry coat weight between 0.1 and 20 gsm in order to ensure optimal barrier performance (Yan; see Par. 0012).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Aittamaa, as applied above, and further in view of Babinsky et al. (WO 2010/129629 A1; hereinafter Babinsky).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for a humectant. Babinsky teaches packaging materials with enhanced thermal-insulating performance wherein a barrier coating layer comprises a humectant (see Par. 0028-0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Zhao’s composite cup to include a humectant in the barrier layer in order to enhance thermal-insulative characteristics of the cup, as taught by Babinsky.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Aittamaa, as applied above, and further in view of Hansson et al. (SE 2050753 A1; hereinafter Hansson).
Regarding claim 26, Zhao, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the paperboard core comprising a top ply, back ply, a foamed middle ply. Hansson teaches a water-resistant paperboard comprising a paperboard core layer comprising a top ply, a back ply, and at least one middle ply, wherein said at least one middle ply is foam formed (see Claims 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Zhao’s cup paperboard substrate to comprise a top ply, back ply, and foamed middle ply, as taught by Hansson, in order to further ensure that the disposable cup is water resistant without reducing repulpability of the material (Hansson; Page 3 lines 8-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-10, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, 14, and 18-22 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Aittamaa have been fully considered and are persuasive. Aittamaa lacks the claimed blank structure for a cup. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 103(a)—Zhao in view of Aittamaa.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734