DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is missing a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Spindler et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0209832).
Regarding claim 1, Spindler et al. disclose an automated system for spare part management and monitoring in a packaging line including at least a packaging machine configured for packaging containers filled with a pourable food product, the system comprising:
one or more identification devices (9A,9B,9C) configured to be machine readable and coupled with one or more spare parts (11A,11B,11C), each of the one or more identification devices configured for unique identification of a corresponding spare part of the one or more spare parts (see paragraph [0040]);
one or more reader devices (7) arranged at the packaging line and configured to perform automatic reading of the one or more identification devices to determine the unique identification when the corresponding spare part is used in the packaging line (see paragraphs [0041] and [0049]);
a data storage (see paragraph [0042]) storing a spare-part database configured to store maintenance information associated with the unique identification of each of the one or more spare parts, the maintenance information being related to use of the one or more spare parts in the packaging line (see paragraph [0008]); and
a processing unit (5) operatively coupled to the data storage and configured to process the maintenance information in association with operative information of the packaging line to monitor and evaluate operation and performance of the one or more spare parts in the packaging line (see paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the maintenance information includes one or more of:
data on the packaging machine where the corresponding spare part is used (see paragraph [0049]);
a location within the packaging machine or within the packaging line where the corresponding spare part is used; or
a timestamp associated with the unique identification of the corresponding spare part (see paragraph [0014]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the operative information is related to operating characteristics of the packaging machine where the one or more spare parts are used; and the operative information including one or more of:
operating temperatures;
filling product characteristics;
packaging material characteristics;
packaging machine settings;
packaging machine configuration;
packaging machine maintenance status (see paragraph [0049]); or
packaging machine environment parameters (see paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 5, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 4, wherein the operative information further includes the operating characteristics of the one or more spare parts, the operating characteristics acquired during an operation of the corresponding spare part in the packaging line in association with a corresponding timestamp (see “used for too long” along with the rest of paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein each of the one or more identification devices (9A,9B,9C) includes a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tag configured for implementing the unique identification for the corresponding spare part and a non-volatile memory unit configured for storing data associated with at least one of the corresponding spare part (see paragraph [0049]) or an operation, of the corresponding spare part.
Regarding claim 10, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 6, wherein each of the one or more reader devices includes a RFID reader and a number of RFID antennas, coupled to the RFID reader, the number of RFID antennas arranged to receive radiofrequency waves emitted by the RFID tags of a corresponding number of the one or more spare parts (see paragraphs [0009], [0041] and [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 10, wherein the RFID reader is configured to determine a location of the one or more spare parts, with respect to a respective packaging machine and/or the packaging line, based on characteristics of RFID signals detected by the corresponding RFID antennas (see paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, further comprising a control device at the packaging line, and configured to:
cooperate with the one or more reader devices to identify the one or more spare parts by reading the unique identification stored in the corresponding identification device (see paragraphs [0041] and [0049]); and
register a timestamp associated with spare-part replacements of the one or more spare parts (see paragraphs [0014]-[0016] and [0049]);
the control device being operatively coupled to the processing unit and configured to transmit the unique identifications and the maintenance information associated with the corresponding spare parts (see paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more reader devices (7) are located along the packaging line and configured to implement a complete tracking of the one or more spare parts used in at least one of the packaging machines (see paragraph [0042]) or at a warehouse of the packaging line where at least one of the one or more spare parts are stored.
Regarding claim 14, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured, through control and monitoring of spare part performances, to implement at least one of predictive or preventive maintenance strategies (see paragraphs [0013]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 16, Spindler et al. disclose a packaging line (see paragraph [0003]), comprising the system for the spare part management and monitoring, according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is further configured to automatically implement maintenance strategies based on the evaluated operation and performance of the one or more spare parts in the packaging line, the maintenance strategies comprising at least one of replacement of the one or more spare parts or resupplying of the one or more spare parts (see paragraphs [0014]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 17, Spindler et al. disclose an automated method for spare part management and monitoring in a packaging line including at least a packaging machine configured for packaging containers filled with a pourable food product, the method comprising:
performing automatic reading of one or more identification devices (9A,9B,9C) when a corresponding spare is used in the packaging line, the one or more identification devices configured to be machine-readable and coupled with one or more spare parts (11A,11B,11C), each of the one or more identification devices configured for unique identification of the corresponding spare part of the one or more spare parts (see paragraph [0040]);
storing in a spare-part database, included in a data storage (see paragraph [0042]), maintenance information associated with the unique identification of each of the one or more spare parts, the maintenance information being related to use of the one or more spare parts in the packaging line (see paragraph [0008]); and
processing the maintenance information in association with operative information of the packaging line to monitor and evaluate operation and performance of the one or more spare parts in the packaging line (see paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Spindler et al. disclose the method according to claim 17, further comprising automatically implementing maintenance strategies based on the evaluated operation and performance of the one or more spare parts in the packaging line, the maintenance strategies comprising at least one of replacement of the one or more spare parts or resupplying of the one or more spare parts (see paragraphs [0014]-[0016])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spindler et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0209832) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 16-19 above, and further in view of PRINCIPATO (USPGPUB 2020/0356083).
Regarding claim 2, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1. However, they do not disclose a system wherein:
the spare-part database is further configured to store manufacturing information relating to manufacturing of the one or more spare parts, in association with the corresponding unique identification; and
the processing unit is further configured to process the maintenance information in association with the manufacturing information associated with the one or more spare parts.
PRINCIPATO discloses a system wherein:
the spare-part database is further configured to store manufacturing information relating to manufacturing of the one or more spare parts, in association with the corresponding unique identification (see paragraphs [0341]-[0342]); and
the processing unit is further configured to process the maintenance information in association with the manufacturing information associated with the one or more spare parts (see paragraph [0341]-[0342]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Spindler et al. by including a system wherein: the spare-part database is further configured to store manufacturing information relating to manufacturing of the one or more spare parts, in association with the corresponding unique identification; and the processing unit is further configured to process the maintenance information in association with the manufacturing information associated with the one or more spare parts, as disclosed by PRINCIPATO, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a manufactured date restriction according to a manufacturer rule for a spare part (see paragraph [0342]).
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spindler et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0209832) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 16-19 above, and further in view of Steinweg et al. (USP 10,318,772).
Regarding claim 7, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 6. However, they do not disclose a system wherein each of the one or more identification devices includes one or more embedded sensors, configured to detect one or more operating parameters associated with the operation of the corresponding spare part in the packaging machine. Steinweg et al. disclose a system wherein each of the one or more identification devices includes one or more embedded sensors, configured to detect one or more operating parameters associated with the operation of the corresponding spare part in the packaging machine (see column 5 lines 15-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Spindler et al. by including a system wherein each of the one or more identification devices includes one or more embedded sensors, configured to detect one or more operating parameters associated with the operation of the corresponding spare part in the packaging machine, as disclosed by Steinweg et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing asset tags which sense temperature or pressure or other useful information related to the state of a component (see column 5 lines 15-37).
Regarding claim 9, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 6. However, they do not disclose a system wherein the RFID tag is coupled on an external surface or within a seat provided at the external surface of the corresponding spare part. Steinweg et al. disclose a system wherein the RFID tag is coupled on an external surface or within a seat provided at the external surface of the corresponding spare part (see column 7 lines 49-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Spindler et al. by including a system wherein the RFID tag is coupled on an external surface or within a seat provided at the external surface of the corresponding spare part, as disclosed by Steinweg et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing asset tags affixed to a surface of a component (see column 7 lines 49-52).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spindler et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0209832) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 16-19 above, and further in view of Louie et al. (USPGPUB 2022/0155764).
Regarding claim 8, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 6. However, they do not disclose a system wherein the one or more identification devices comprises materials suited for at least one of a harsh environment or high temperatures, the one or more identification devices configured to withstand operating conditions in the packaging line. Louie et al. disclose a system wherein the one or more identification devices comprises materials suited for at least one of a harsh environment or high temperatures, the one or more identification devices configured to withstand operating conditions in the packaging line (see paragraph [0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Spindler et al. by including a system wherein the one or more identification devices comprises materials suited for at least one of a harsh environment or high temperatures, the one or more identification devices configured to withstand operating conditions in the packaging line, as disclosed by Louie et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing an identifier “better suited for a high-temperature environment” (see paragraph [0087]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spindler et al. (USPGPUB 2016/0209832) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 10-14, and 16-19 above, and further in view of DE KALBERMATTEN et al. (USPGPUB 2023/0065113).
Regarding claim 15, Spindler et al. disclose the system according to claim 1. However, they do not disclose a system wherein the one or more spare parts include at least one or more of: inductors, jaws, knives, e-beams, servomotors, or pumps. DE KALBERMATTEN et al. disclose a system wherein the one or more spare parts include at least one or more of: inductors, jaws, knives (see paragraph [0080]), e-beams, servomotors, or pumps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Spindler et al. by including a system wherein the one or more spare parts include at least one or more of: inductors, jaws, knives, e-beams, servomotors, or pumps, as disclosed by DE KALBERMATTEN et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing spare parts for printing machines (see paragraph [0080]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
6/11/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655