Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-15, 17-19 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Chick (4,552,183) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chick in view of Kiest, Jr. (2011/0290359; hereinafter Kiest).
As to claim 1, Chick discloses a packaging system (Figs. 2-3) for housing pipe repair components for cured in place pipe liner sectional and spot repairs (column 3, lines 61-65), the packaging system comprising packaging (20) with separate compartments (24, 26, 28) housing pipe repair components (44, 46, column 4, lines 1-10), and a liner compartments (24) of the separate compartments houses a bandage/tubular pipe liner. The tubular pipe liner is wet-out in the packaging with the pipe repair components from the other compartments (column 5, lines 10-68). The tubular pipe liner of Chick is inherently capable to line an interior of a pipe. To the extent that Chick fails to disclose the tubular pipe liner is configured to line an interior of a pipe (a pipe is not positively recited in claim), Kiest teaches a tubular pipe liner (14; 16) configured to line an interior of a pipe (10; 12) in need of repair (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Kiest to modify the packaging system of Chick so the tubular pipe liner is constructed to line an interior of a pipe in lieu of the exterior of the pipe to provide more convenience for a user and/or a manufacturer.
As to claim 2, Chick further discloses openable barriers (22, 48, 50) configured into the packaging between the separate compartments for combining the pipe repair components (column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 3, Chick further discloses the pipe repair components comprise a liquid resin (46), a liquid hardener (44), and the pipe liner.
As to claim 4, Chick discloses the separate compartments comprise a liquid resin compartment (26), a liquid hardener compartment (28), and the liner compartment (24).
As to claim 7, Chick discloses at least two of the pipe repair components (26, 28) are combined before being combined with the pipe liner (column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 8, Chick discloses at least two of the pipe repair components comprise a curable resin when combined (column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 9, Chick discloses the pipe repair components are combined in one of the separate compartments (column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 10, Chick discloses the openable barriers have open and closed position for opening and closing communication between separate compartments (22, 48, 50; column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 11, Chick discloses at least one of the openable barriers is in the closed position for combining the pipe repair components (the barrier 22 between the compartments 24 & 26).
As to claim 12, Chick discloses a packaging (20) for cured in place pipe liner sectional and spot repairs, the packaging comprising separate compartments (24, 26, 28) housing pipe repair components (44, 46, bandage/liner), and a liner compartments of the separate compartments houses a bandage/tubular pipe liner. The pipe liner is wet-out in the packaging with the pipe repair components from the other compartments (column 5, lines 10-50). The tubular pipe liner of Chick is inherently capable to line an interior of a pipe. To the extent that Chick fails to disclose the tubular pipe liner is configured to line an interior of a pipe (a pipe is not positively recited in claim), Kiest teaches a tubular pipe liner (14; 16) configured to line an interior of a pipe (10; 12) in need of repair (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Kiest to modify the packaging system of Chick so the tubular pipe liner is constructed to line an interior of a pipe in lieu of the exterior of the pipe to provide more convenience for a user and/or a manufacturer.
As to claim 13, Chick further discloses openable barriers (22, 48, 50) configured into the packaging between the separate compartments for combining the pipe repair components (Figs. 2-3).
As to claim 14, Chick discloses the pipe repair components comprise a liquid resin (46), a liquid hardener (44), and the bandage/pipe liner.
As to claim 15, Chick discloses the separate compartments comprise a liquid resin compartment (26), a liquid hardener compartment (28), and the liner compartment (24).
As to claim 17, Chick discloses a method for packaging pipe repair components and using packaging for cured in place pipe liner sectional and spot repairs (column 3, line 61-column 4, line56 & column 5, lines 10-50) comprising providing packaging (20) with separate compartments (24, 26, 28) housing pipe repair components (44, 46, bandage), a liner compartment (24) of the separate compartments house a bandage/tubular pipe liner; and combining the pipe repair components from separate compartments together within the packaging to wet-out the pipe liner. The bandage/tubular pipe liner of Chick is inherently capable to line an interior of a pipe. To the extent that Chick fails to disclose the tubular pipe liner is configured to line an interior of a pipe (a pipe is not positively recited in claim), Kiest teaches a tubular pipe liner (14; 16) configured to line an interior of a pipe (10; 12) in need of repair (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Kiest to modify the packaging system of Chick so the tubular pipe liner is constructed to line an interior of a pipe in lieu of the exterior of the pipe to provide more convenience for a user and/or a manufacturer.
As to claim 18, Chick further discloses a method of opening a barrier (22, 48, 50) configured between the separate compartments for combining the pipe repair components (column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 19, Chick discloses a method of combining at least two of the pipe repair components together before combining with the pipe liner (column 5, lines 10-50).
As to claim 22, Chick further discloses a method of removing the pipe liner wet-out with a curable resin from the packaging (column 5, lines 10-66).
As to claim 23, Chick further discloses a method of applying the pipe liner wet-out with the curable resin to make a cured in place pipe liner sectional or spot repair (column 5, line 67-column 6, line 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 16 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all rejected claims have been considered but are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Chick does not disclose a tubular pipe liner configured to line an interior of a pipe or Chick nowhere describes a tubular pipe liner or the lining of a pipe interior or claims require a repair element that is placed inside a pipe and takes its working position from the interior surface of that pipe, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP ' 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736