DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 appears to contain a typographical error in the phrase “The method according to claim 28” because a claim may not depend from itself. Perhaps Applicant intended claim 28 to depend from claim 26. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmarais (US 2016/0374001 A1) in view of Wu (US 2009/0063069A1) and further in view of Zhang (US 2008/0150784A1).
Regarding claim 19, Desmarais discloses, A method of operating a wireless (see at least
para. [0003] of Desmarais which discloses “Wireless communication circuitry may include RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags”) logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) configured to monitor an environmental related parameter of an asset (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”, *As discussed above, the data logger monitors parameters of the cargo since the logger 12 “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft” – see para. [0041] of Desmarais) at least while the asset is onboard of an aircraft (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least para. [0043] of Desmarais which discloses “an aircraft 40”) and is transported by the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”), where the logger device comprises:
at least one sensing device (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0056] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”),
a storage medium (Fig. 1, 24 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data … the memory 24 is an example computer storage media”),
a communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”),
a processor (Fig. 1, 22 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The processor 22 can include any type of microprocessor having desired performance characteristic”) for operating the power source, the at least one sensing device, the storage medium and the communication module (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”),
wherein the method comprises:
where prior to take-off of the aircraft, switching, by the processor, the logger device to a flight mode (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *Desmarais discloses that the sensed parameters are used by a processor to disable a radio-frequency transmitter for compliance with airline requirements. Desmarais further teaches that this disabling occurs in response to aircraft operational conditions before aircraft operation as discussed in para. [0063 which discloses “These sensing schemes can thereby advantageously detect their presence near or on an aircraft even before any motion starts, allowing the cellular or other transmitter to be disabled even prior to movement and/or engine operation of the aircraft”, *Accordingly, Desmarais teaches switching a logger device to an operation mode in which wireless transmission is disabled before takeoff. See para. [0041] which discloses “module 14 that is operable to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, such as a cellular signal, which may require a change of state in response to an operational condition of an aircraft where the transmission of the RF signals are regulatory prohibited as having the potential to interfere with electronics onboard the aircraft”, * During this mode and under this operational condition, the device conditions to operate and collect data while transmission may be suppressed, consistent with a flight mode in which environmental parameters can be measured and stored), the flight mode (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed” – Desmarais teaches a processor controlled operating state that occurs in response to aircraft flight conditions, in which radio frequency transmission is disabled before and during flight while the device continues to operate as a data logger. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this operating state corresponds to a flight mode) being a power mode where the environmental related parameter (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”) is, but where no transmission (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”) of the measured and stored environmental related data is performed by the communication module (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *if the RF transmitter is disabled, then there will be no transmission of the measured and stored environmental related data performed by communication module. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, disabling the RF transmitter under aircraft operational conditions constitutes an operating/flight power mode in which sensing and storage continue while no wireless transmission is performed).
Desmarais does disclose a device that is portable, wireless and functions as a data logger, based
on multiple explicit disclosures discussed above that are read together (see para. [0003] and [0041] of Desmarais). This portable wireless electronic device operates independently while necessarily including a power source, even if not explicitly described. In this connection, Desmarais discloses a wireless data logger configured to operate autonomously onboard an aircraft. This type of device is understood in the art to include a power source to supply operating power to the processor, memory, sensors and communication module.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose a power source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a power source (see at least para. [0009]
of Wu which discloses “a data logger or censer which has adequate power to execute tasks” and see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “data logger 22. BB, and T1 comprise a three volt lithium coin battery which powers the system of data logger 22”) for a data logger.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement such a power source as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently provide the energy required to operate the internal components for environmental parameter monitoring. See para. [0024] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais discloses a data logger associated with cargo onboard an aircraft (see at least para.
[0041] of Desmarais). It is well known that a data logger configured to monitor environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, air pressure, etc. necessarily includes at least one sensing device to obtain such environmental data.
To the extent Desmarais may not explicitly disclose the structure of the environmental sensor,
Wu discloses a data logger (see at least para. [0001] of Wu which discloses “Data loggers are often used to measure environmental parameters such as temperatures, humidity, pressure, and the like in association with commodities which are being transported via rail, truck, boat, or by air”) comprising at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses “the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14” and see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “the data logger unit 22 sensor 14, via TR1 and R7, takes a measurement of an environmental parameter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement the environmental sensing of Wu with which includes a sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently monitor envionrment conditions that may affect the cargo during transport, as such sensing is a useful and typical function of data loggers. See para. [0022] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose the storage medium for storing the regularly measured
environmental related data.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wu discloses the storage medium for storing the
regularly measured environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses a “data logger memory 16 may constitute a single unit. … a computer, which displays and stores the values of the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14”); the environmental related parameter is regularly measured (see at least para. [0004] of Wu which discloses “a sensor which obtains a plurality of measurements of an environmental parameter, such as temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like”) and the resulting environmental related data is stored (see at least para. [0006] of Wu which discloses “measurements of the environmental parameter may be easily stored in the external prime converter for later reference and use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the storage medium of the logger device of Desmarais to include a storage medium for storing the regularly measured environmental related data, as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to monitor the environmental data that may have an effect on the cargo/asset. See para. [0022] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais, as modified by Wu, may not explicitly disclose receiving, by the communication
module, an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, transmitting, by the communication module, the received aviation related flight data to an external control computer, and tracking, by the external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses receiving, by the communication
module (see at least para. [0025] of Zhang which discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”), an aviation related signal (see at least para. [0010] of Zhang which discloses “a GPS receiver and an ADS-B receiver for receiving an ADS-B signal from an aircraft”) periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B is a surveillance system used by aircraft to inform other aircraft and ground stations about location, speed, and intention”, *Zhang discloses an aircraft surveillance system that includes and ADS-B receiver for receiving ADS-B messages transmitted from an aircraft. ADS-B messages are broadcast by the aircraft while the aircraft is on the ground and during taxi operations as part of the surveillance which necessarily occurs prior to take-off. Therefore, Zhang teaches receiving aviation related signals periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to takeoff), where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The system converts the position into a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency”), transmitting, by the communication module, the received aviation related flight data to an external control computer (see at least para. [0006] of Zhang which discloses “the TCAS computer to receive and process data” and see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a communication module, i.e., an ADS0B receiver) and that the received flight data is provided to and processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer), and tracking, by the external control computer (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a ground station /ADS-B receiver and the processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer), the position (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”) of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”, *The ground based computer system processes the received flight data to determine and continuously update the aircraft’s position during flight, thereby tracking the position of the aircraft after takeoff using the received flight data as input data. Accordingly, Zhang teaches tracking, by an external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off using received flight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Wu, to include receiving, by the communication module, an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, transmitting, by the communication module, the received aviation related flight data to an external control computer, and tracking, by the external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data as taught in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable remote monitoring and tracking of the aircraft transporting the cargo/asset while maintaining compliance with aviation transmission requirements. See para. [0009] and [0025] of Zhang for motivation.
Regarding claim 20, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the
received aviation related signal comprises Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) signal (see at least para. [0001] of Zhang which discloses “systems, that utilizes Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) transponders”).
Regarding claim 21, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the
step of tracking the position of the aircraft after take-off comprises communicating with an external flight tracking module from take-off until landing of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a ground station /ADS-B receiver and the processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer).
Regarding claim 24, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the at
least one sensing device comprises a barometer (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “a barometric pressure sensor”) for measuring air pressure, the method further comprising: determining difference between a measured air pressure value (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “measuring pressure altitude or motion that necessarily relies on aircraft movement”) and previously measured air pressure value, where in case the difference exceeds a pre-defined pressure value (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the tri-axis electromagnet field sensor 34 may be utilized in combination with the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 to identify that the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is aboard an aircraft, but that aircraft is outside a range detectable by the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 (step 108). That is, the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc.”), issuing a take-off command indicating take-off or expected take-off of the aircraft, and issuing a landing command indicating that the aircraft is landing or is landed in case the difference is below a pre-defined pressure value (see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which discloses “one or more other sensors 36A, 36B, 36 n (FIG. 1) may utilized in combination with the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 and/or the tri-axis electromagnet field sensor 34 to further facilitate the identification of the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing, cruise, taxi, etc.”.
Regarding claim 25, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the at
least one sensing device comprises an accelerometer (Fig. 1, 36A and see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “sensors 36A, 36B, 36 n such as an accelerometer”) configured to sense vibration from the aircraft, the method further comprising: determining difference between a measured vibration and previously measured vibration, where in case the difference exceeds a pre-defined vibration value, issuing a take-off command indicating take-off or expected take-off of the aircraft, and issuing a landing command indicating that the aircraft is landing or is landed in case the difference is below a pre-defined vibration value (see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “an accelerometer, gyroscope, GPS, etc., or combinations thereof, with an integrated control algorithm, may be utilized in combination with the aircraft proximity sensor module 30, to further delineate whether the transceiver module 14 requires a change of state. For example, the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is passively operable to detect that the aircraft is proximate an environment in which the radio frequency transmission device 12 is to be disabled before any motion is initiated, such as before the airplane pushes back from a gate and/or before the engines are started”).
Regarding claim 26, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses further
comprising automatically switching, in response to the issued take-off command, the logger device to the flight mode, and in response to the landing command, the logger device from the flight mode to higher-power mode (see at least para. [0058] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 may again enable transmissions from the radio frequency transmission device 12 once the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is no longer regulatory restricted, e.g., greater than 3000 feet and 5 miles from the airport (step 108) as, for example, communications detectable by the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 are no longer utilized. That is, aircraft/tower radio communication is not utilized in flight”), the higher-power mode being a power mode where transmission by the communication module takes place and where the measured and stored environmental related data is transmitted to the control computer together with the position data of the logger device (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the tri-axis electromagnet field sensor 34 may be utilized in combination with the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 to identify that the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is aboard an aircraft, but that aircraft is outside a range detectable by the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 (step 108). That is, the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed”).
Regarding claim 27, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the
tracked position of the aircraft is utilized in associating the measured environmental related data (see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “the functioning of sensor 14, EEPROM 24, and MCU, U1 of the data logger unit 22 sensor 14, via TR1 and R7, takes a measurement of an environmental parameter such as the temperature within vehicle 12, FIG. 1. Circuit components C5, and R5 serve as a reference for such measurement taking”) measured at different positions of the aircraft with associated tracked position data at these different positions (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”, *The ground based computer system processes the received flight data to determine and continuously update the aircraft’s position during flight, thereby tracking the position of the aircraft after takeoff using the received flight data as input data. Accordingly, Zhang teaches tracking, by an external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off using received flight data).
Regarding claim 28, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein
subsequent to the step of issuing the take-off command, the resulting measured environmental related parameter value(s) is transmitted by the communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”), to the control computer, followed by switching the logger device to the flight mode (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses “The signals representative of the data logger measurements are not converted into human readable form but are passed to an external prime converter 18, such as a computer, which displays and stores the values of the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14. Such receipt of the signals by the external prime converter 18 from the data logger memory 16 may take place instantly or at a later time. In addition, such signals may be transmitted by radio frequency, as the case may be. External prime converter 18 is normally located remotely with respect to data logger 22”).
Regarding claim 29, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses further
comprising, in case of detecting two or more different flight data are transmitted from two or more aircrafts (see at least para. [0004] of Zhang which discloses “The second aircraft may be equipped with a different type of transponder (Mode S) that may alter the method of interrogation between the aircrafts. For instance, the second aircraft may automatically transmit a message containing the address of the transmitting aircraft at set intervals, such as once a second. Then, the first aircraft can send a direct interrogation to the second aircraft, based upon the known address of the second aircraft. The second aircraft responds with a signal that includes altitude information”) in the vicinity of the logger device prior to take-off, the two or more different flight data are compared with pre-stored data associated to the data logger, where the pre-stored data (see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data and control processes disclosed herein. That is, the memory 24 is an example computer storage media that can have embodied thereon computer-useable instructions such as a process that, when executed, can perform a desired method. The interface 26 of the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules such as the transceiver module 14 and an aircraft proximity sensor module 30”) is selected from: final destination data, intermediate stop data, aircraft identification data, partial or complete routing information associated to the data logger, where the flight data having at least one match with the pre-stored data is identified as the true flight data (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “software or hardware engineering practices, the depicted elements and the functions thereof may be implemented on machines through computer executable media having a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these”).
Regarding claim 30, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein at least
one measured environmental related parameter includes one or more selected from: ambience temperature of the asset (see at least para. [0001] of Wu which discloses “Data loggers are often used to measure environmental parameters such as temperatures, humidity, pressure, and the like in association with commodities which are being transported via rail, truck, boat, or by air”), ambience humidity of the asset, acceleration or vibration, light intensity, air-pressure (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”).
Regarding claim 31, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the at
least one sensing device comprises an accelerometer (Fig. 1, 36A and see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “sensors 36A, 36B, 36 n such as an accelerometer” and see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “an accelerometer, gyroscope, GPS, etc., or combinations thereof, with an integrated control algorithm, may be utilized in combination with the aircraft proximity sensor module 30, to further delineate whether the transceiver module 14 requires a change of state. For example, the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is passively operable to detect that the aircraft is proximate an environment in which the radio frequency transmission device 12 is to be disabled before any motion is initiated, such as before the airplane pushes back from a gate and/or before the engines are started”), and where the method further comprises initial steps of determining if the logger device is onboard of the aircraft or other transport means, comprising: detecting, by the accelerometer, presence of a vibration of the logger device and thus of the asset, detecting, by the communication module, if an aviation related signal is present, wherein in case a vibration is detected to be above a pre-defined reference value, and if an aviation related signal is detected, an identification signal is triggered indicating that the logger device with the associated asset is onboard the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information. ADS-B receivers can be integrated into the air traffic control system or installed aboard other aircraft to provide an accurate depiction of real-time aviation traffic, both in the air and on the ground. ADS-B relies on satellite-based Global Positioning System (GPS) to determine an aircraft's precise location in space. The system converts the position into a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency”).
Regarding claim 32, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses further
comprising an initial step of determining if the logger device is onboard of the aircraft or not, where if the aviation related signal is repetitively received for a time period exceeding a pre-defined time period limit, the logger device and the asset are determined to be onboard the aircraft (see at least para. [0016] of Zhang which discloses “an airborne radar system is provided to assist with collision avoidance, wherein the radar system includes: a standard ADS-B transmitter and encoder; a phase modulator including a digital synthesizer; radio-frequency electronics with up and down conversion, amplification and filtering capabilities; antennas; and a radar transceiver that controls the phase modulation of an ADS-B waveform and implements real-time target detection and tracking”).
Regarding claim 33, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses further
comprising applying a filter such that the received aviation related signals are above a pre-defined signal strength threshold (see at least para. [0014] of Zhang which discloses “A further object of the invention is to provide a digital matched filter and digital signal processor to analyze signals received by the antennas. Also, it would be desirable if the system could estimate the angle-of-arrival of reflected ADS-B signals so that both the azimuth and elevation of the signal may be determined”).
Regarding claim 34, Desmarais discloses A wireless (see at least para. [0003] of
Desmarais which discloses “Wireless communication circuitry may include RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags”) logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) configured to monitor an environmental related data parameter of an asset (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”, *As discussed above, the data logger monitors parameters of the cargo since the logger 12 “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft” – see para. [0041] of Desmarais) at least when the asset is onboard of an aircraft (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least para. [0043] of Desmarais which discloses “an aircraft 40”) during take-off and landing (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”), where the logger device comprises:
at least one sensing device (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0056] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”),
a storage medium (Fig. 1, 24 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data … the memory 24 is an example computer storage media”),
a communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”),
a processor (Fig. 1, 22 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The processor 22 can include any type of microprocessor having desired performance characteristic”) for operating the power source, the at least one sensing device, the storage medium and the communication module (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”),
wherein the processor is configured to, prior to take-off of the aircraft, switching the logger device to a flight mode (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *Desmarais discloses that the sensed parameters are used by a processor to disable a radio-frequency transmitter for compliance with airline requirements. Desmarais further teaches that this disabling occurs in response to aircraft operational conditions before aircraft operation as discussed in para. [0063 which discloses “These sensing schemes can thereby advantageously detect their presence near or on an aircraft even before any motion starts, allowing the cellular or other transmitter to be disabled even prior to movement and/or engine operation of the aircraft”, *Accordingly, Desmarais teaches switching a logger device to an operation mode in which wireless transmission is disabled before takeoff. See para. [0041] which discloses “module 14 that is operable to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, such as a cellular signal, which may require a change of state in response to an operational condition of an aircraft where the transmission of the RF signals are regulatory prohibited as having the potential to interfere with electronics onboard the aircraft”, * During this mode and under this operational condition, the device conditions to operate and collect data while transmission may be suppressed, consistent with a flight mode in which environmental parameters can be measured and stored), the flight mode (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed” – Desmarais teaches a processor controlled operating state that occurs in response to aircraft flight conditions, in which radio frequency transmission is disabled before and during flight while the device continues to operate as a data logger. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this operating state corresponds to a flight mode) being a power mode where the environmental related parameter (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”) is but where no transmission (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”) of the measured and stored environmental related data is performed by the communication module (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *if the RF transmitter is disabled, then there will be no transmission of the measured and stored environmental related data performed by communication module. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, disabling the RF transmitter under aircraft operational conditions constitutes an operating/flight power mode in which sensing and storage continue while no wireless transmission is performed), where the processor is further configured to give instructions to the control computer.
Desmarais does disclose a device that is portable, wireless and functions as a data logger, based
on multiple explicit disclosures discussed above that are read together (see para. [0003] and [0041] of Desmarais). This portable wireless electronic device operates independently while necessarily including a power source, even if not explicitly described. In this connection, Desmarais discloses a wireless data logger configured to operate autonomously onboard an aircraft. This type of device is understood in the art to include a power source to supply operating power to the processor, memory, sensors and communication module.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose a power source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a power source (see at least para. [0009]
of Wu which discloses “a data logger or censer which has adequate power to execute tasks” and see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “data logger 22. BB, and T1 comprise a three volt lithium coin battery which powers the system of data logger 22”) for a data logger.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement such a power source as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently provide the energy required to operate the internal components for environmental parameter monitoring. See para. [0024] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais discloses a data logger associated with cargo onboard an aircraft (see at least para.
[0041] of Desmarais). It is well known that a data logger configured to monitor environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, air pressure, etc. necessarily includes at least one sensing device to obtain such environmental data.
To the extent Desmarais may not explicitly disclose the structure of the environmental sensor,
Wu discloses a data logger (see at least para. [0001] of Wu which discloses “Data loggers are often used to measure environmental parameters such as temperatures, humidity, pressure, and the like in association with commodities which are being transported via rail, truck, boat, or by air”) comprising at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses “the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14” and see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “the data logger unit 22 sensor 14, via TR1 and R7, takes a measurement of an environmental parameter”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement the environmental sensing of Wu with which includes a sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently monitor envionrment conditions that may affect the cargo during transport, as such sensing is a useful and typical function of data loggers. See para. [0022] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose the storage medium for storing the regularly measured
environmental related data.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wu discloses the storage medium for storing the
regularly measured environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses a “data logger memory 16 may constitute a single unit. … a computer, which displays and stores the values of the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14”) ; the environmental related parameter is regularly measured (see at least para. [0004] of Wu which discloses “a sensor which obtains a plurality of measurements of an environmental parameter, such as temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like”) and the resulting environmental related data is stored (see at least para. [0006] of Wu which discloses “measurements of the environmental parameter may be easily stored in the external prime converter for later reference and use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the storage medium of the logger device of Desmarais to include a storage medium for storing the regularly measured environmental related data, as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to monitor the environmental data that may have an effect on the cargo/asset. See para. [0022] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais, as modified by Wu, may not explicitly disclose a receiver for receiving an aviation
related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, transmit the received flight data to a control computer, track the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a receiver (see at least para. [0025] of Zhang which
discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”) for receiving an aviation related signal (see at least para. [0010] of Zhang which discloses “a GPS receiver and an ADS-B receiver for receiving an ADS-B signal from an aircraft”) periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B is a surveillance system used by aircraft to inform other aircraft and ground stations about location, speed, and intention”, *Zhang discloses an aircraft surveillance system that includes and ADS-B receiver for receiving ADS-B messages transmitted from an aircraft. ADS-B messages are broadcast by the aircraft while the aircraft is on the ground and during taxi operations as part of the surveillance which necessarily occurs prior to take-off. Therefore, Zhang teaches receiving aviation related signals periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to takeoff), where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The system converts the position into a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency”), transmit the received flight data to a control computer (see at least para. [0006] of Zhang which discloses “the TCAS computer to receive and process data” and see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a communication module, i.e., an ADS0B receiver) and that the received flight data is provided to and processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer), track (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a ground station /ADS-B receiver and the processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer) the position (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”) of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”, *The ground based computer system processes the received flight data to determine and continuously update the aircraft’s position during flight, thereby tracking the position of the aircraft after takeoff using the received flight data as input data. Accordingly, Zhang teaches tracking, by an external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off using received flight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Wu, to include a receiver for receiving an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, transmit the received flight data to a control computer, track the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data as taught in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable remote monitoring and tracking of the aircraft transporting the cargo/asset while maintaining compliance with aviation transmission requirements. See para. [0009] and [0025] of Zhang for motivation.
Regarding claim 35, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses wherein the
communication module comprises a receiver(see at least para. [0025] of Zhang which discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”) adjusted such that solely aviation related signals above a pre-defined signal strength threshold are received (see at least para. [0003] of Zhang which discloses “the transponder receives the interrogation signal and responds with a signal, which allows the first aircraft to calculate the range and bearing of the second aircraft based upon direction and relative strength of the signal. Certain types of transponders also include altitude information in the response. For receiving and transmitting signals with a TCAS system”).
Regarding claim 36, Desmarais discloses A system for operating a wireless (see at least
para. [0003] of Desmarais which discloses “Wireless communication circuitry may include RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags”) logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) configured to monitor one environmental related parameter of an asset (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”, *As discussed above, the data logger monitors parameters of the cargo since the logger 12 “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft” – see para. [0041] of Desmarais) when the asset is onboard of an aircraft (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least para. [0043] of Desmarais which discloses “an aircraft 40”) during take-off and landing (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”), where the system comprises: a logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) comprising: , at least one sensing device (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0056] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”), a storage medium (Fig. 1, 24 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data … the memory 24 is an example computer storage media”), a communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”), a processor (Fig. 1, 22 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The processor 22 can include any type of microprocessor having desired performance characteristic”) for operating the power source, the at least one sensing device, the storage medium and the communication module (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”),, a control computer (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “a control module 20”: , i.e., a control computer), where prior to take-off of the aircraft, the processor of the logger device switches the logger device to a flight mode (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *Desmarais discloses that the sensed parameters are used by a processor to disable a radio-frequency transmitter for compliance with airline requirements. Desmarais further teaches that this disabling occurs in response to aircraft operational conditions before aircraft operation as discussed in para. [0063 which discloses “These sensing schemes can thereby advantageously detect their presence near or on an aircraft even before any motion starts, allowing the cellular or other transmitter to be disabled even prior to movement and/or engine operation of the aircraft”, *Accordingly, Desmarais teaches switching a logger device to an operation mode in which wireless transmission is disabled before takeoff. See para. [0041] which discloses “module 14 that is operable to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, such as a cellular signal, which may require a change of state in response to an operational condition of an aircraft where the transmission of the RF signals are regulatory prohibited as having the potential to interfere with electronics onboard the aircraft”, * During this mode and under this operational condition, the device conditions to operate and collect data while transmission may be suppressed, consistent with a flight mode in which environmental parameters can be measured and stored), the flight mode (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed” – Desmarais teaches a processor controlled operating state that occurs in response to aircraft flight conditions, in which radio frequency transmission is disabled before and during flight while the device continues to operate as a data logger. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this operating state corresponds to a flight mode) being a power mode where the environmental related parameter (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”) is but where no transmission (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”) of the measured and stored environmental related data is performed by the communication module (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *if the RF transmitter is disabled, then there will be no transmission of the measured and stored environmental related data performed by communication module. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, disabling the RF transmitter under aircraft operational conditions constitutes an operating/flight power mode in which sensing and storage continue while no wireless transmission is performed).
Desmarais does disclose a device that is portable, wireless and functions as a data logger, based
on multiple explicit disclosures discussed above that are read together (see para. [0003] and [0041] of Desmarais). This portable wireless electronic device operates independently while necessarily including a power source, even if not explicitly described. In this connection, Desmarais discloses a wireless data logger configured to operate autonomously onboard an aircraft. This type of device is understood in the art to include a power source to supply operating power to the processor, memory, sensors and communication module.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose a power source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu discloses a power source (see at least para. [0009]
of Wu which discloses “a data logger or censer which has adequate power to execute tasks” and see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “data logger 22. BB, and T1 comprise a three volt lithium coin battery which powers the system of data logger 22”) for a data logger.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement such a power source as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently provide the energy required to operate the internal components for environmental parameter monitoring. See para. [0024] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais discloses a data logger associated with cargo onboard an aircraft (see at least para.
[0041] of Desmarais). It is well known that a data logger configured to monitor environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, air pressure, etc. necessarily includes at least one sensing device to obtain such environmental data.
To the extent Desmarais may not explicitly disclose the structure of the environmental sensor,
Wu discloses a data logger (see at least para. [0001] of Wu which discloses “Data loggers are often used to measure environmental parameters such as temperatures, humidity, pressure, and the like in association with commodities which are being transported via rail, truck, boat, or by air”) comprising at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses “the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14” and see at least para. [0024] of Wu which discloses “the data logger unit 22 sensor 14, via TR1 and R7, takes a measurement of an environmental parameter”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement the environmental sensing of Wu with which includes a sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently monitor envionrment conditions that may affect the cargo during transport, as such sensing is a useful and typical function of data loggers. See para. [0022] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose the storage medium for storing the regularly measured
environmental related data.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wu discloses the storage medium for storing the
regularly measured environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses a “data logger memory 16 may constitute a single unit. … a computer, which displays and stores the values of the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14”); the environmental related parameter is regularly measured (see at least para. [0004] of Wu which discloses “a sensor which obtains a plurality of measurements of an environmental parameter, such as temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like”) and the resulting environmental related data is stored (see at least para. [0006] of Wu which discloses “measurements of the environmental parameter may be easily stored in the external prime converter for later reference and use”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the storage medium of the logger device of Desmarais to include a storage medium for storing the regularly measured environmental related data, as taught in Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to monitor the environmental data that may have an effect on the cargo/asset. See para. [0022] of Wu for motivation.
Desmarais, as modified by Wu, may not explicitly disclose receiving an aviation related signal
periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft , and transmitting the received flight data to the control computer and track the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft via the received flight data uniquely identifying the aircraft.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses receiving (see at least para. [0025] of
Zhang which discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”) an aviation related signal (see at least para. [0010] of Zhang which discloses “a GPS receiver and an ADS-B receiver for receiving an ADS-B signal from an aircraft”) periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B is a surveillance system used by aircraft to inform other aircraft and ground stations about location, speed, and intention”, *Zhang discloses an aircraft surveillance system that includes and ADS-B receiver for receiving ADS-B messages transmitted from an aircraft. ADS-B messages are broadcast by the aircraft while the aircraft is on the ground and during taxi operations as part of the surveillance which necessarily occurs prior to take-off. Therefore, Zhang teaches receiving aviation related signals periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to takeoff), where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The system converts the position into a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency”), and transmitting the received flight data to the control computer (see at least para. [0006] of Zhang which discloses “the TCAS computer to receive and process data” and see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a communication module, i.e., an ADS0B receiver) and that the received flight data is provided to and processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer), track (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a ground station /ADS-B receiver and the processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer) the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”) after take-off of the aircraft via the received flight data uniquely identifying the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”, *The ground based computer system processes the received flight data to determine and continuously update the aircraft’s position during flight, thereby tracking the position of the aircraft after takeoff using the received flight data as input data. Accordingly, Zhang teaches tracking, by an external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off using received flight data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Wu, to include receiving an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft , and transmitting the received flight data to the control computer and track the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft via the received flight data uniquely identifying the aircraft as taught in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable remote monitoring and tracking of the aircraft transporting the cargo/asset while maintaining compliance with aviation transmission requirements. See para. [0009] and [0025] of Zhang for motivation.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmarais (US 2016/0374001 A1) in view of Wu (US 2009/0063069A1) and further in view of Zhang (US 2008/0150784A1) and further in view of Won (US 2018/0239058 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang discloses the transport
from the origin location to the destination location (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”).
Desmarais as modified by Wu and Zhang may not explicitly disclose at least one
stopover, wherein the step of using the received flight data as input data comprises identifying the flight route of the aircraft from the origin location to the destination location including the at least one stopover.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Won discloses at least one stopover (see at
least para. [0094] of Won which discloses “transit information about a layover airport at which the flight stops while traveling”, *under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a stopover corresponds to an intermediate landing of the aircraft between an original location and a destination location, during which the aircraft ceases flight and subsequently resumes flight), wherein the step of using the received flight data as input data comprises identifying the flight route of the aircraft from the origin location to the destination location including the at least one stopover (see at least para. [0094] of Won which discloses “The flight path information may include at least one of entire flight information region information about predetermined entire flight information regions, pass flight information region information about flight information regions through which the flight passes, path information about a path along which the flight moves, departure airport information about an airport from which the flight departs, arrival airport information about an airport at which the flight arrives, and transit information about a layover airport at which the flight stops while traveling”, *Won teaches flight path information including departure airport information, arrival airport information and transit information about layover airports a which the flight stops while traveling – see para. [0094]. The layover airport constitutes a stopover occurring between an origin location and a destination location. Therefore, Won teaches identifying a flight route including at least one stopover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the method of operating the wireless logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang to include at least one stopover, wherein the step of using the received flight data as input data comprises identifying the flight route of the aircraft from the origin location to the destination location including the at least one stopover; as taught in Won with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a more complete representation of the aircrafts transport route form an original location to a destination location, including intermediate layover locations, which is useful for logistics tracking, monitoring transported assets, and coordination operations associate with the aircraft. See para. [0094] of Won for motivation.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Desmarais in view of Wu, Zhang and Won
discloses measured environmental related data (see at least para. [0022] of Wu which discloses a “data logger memory 16 may constitute a single unit. … a computer, which displays and stores the values of the environmental parameters taken by sensor 14”).
Won further discloses wherein the step of identifying the at least one stopover is
utilized in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data (see at least para. [0060] of Won which discloses “the outputting of the aviation weather chart may include transmitting the aviation weather chart to a network connected to the communication unit”) together with position data (see at last para. [0100] of Won which discloses “The aviation weather chart apparatus 3000 may record the flight information region information about at least one of a range, coordinates, positions, and boundaries of the flight information region”) of the aircraft to the external control computer is performed (see at least para. [0089] of Won which discloses “The control unit 3400 may obtain the flight identification information from an external electronic device (not shown) through the communication unit 3100, and obtain the flight identification information from a user through a separate input apparatus (not shown) included in the aviation weather chart apparatus 3000”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of operating the wireless logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Wu and Zhang and Won to include wherein the step of identifying the at least one stopover is utilized in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the external control computer is performed, as taught in Won with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a more complete representation of the aircrafts transport route form an original location to a destination location, including intermediate layover locations, which is useful for logistics tracking, monitoring transported assets, and coordination operations associate with the aircraft. See para. [0094] and [0100] of Won for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kerecsen (US 2020/0294401A1) discloses “Data Logging or Stimulation in Automotive Ethernet Networks Using the Vehicle Infrastructure”, which is incorporated in its entirety for all purposes as if fully set forth herein. A method for recording data is described, wherein the data are transmitted from a transmitting control unit to a receiving control unit of a vehicle via a communication system of the vehicle. The communication system comprises an Ethernet network, wherein the data are conducted from a transmission component to a reception component of the Ethernet network via a transmission path, and wherein the data are to be recorded at a logging component of the Ethernet network, which does not lie on the transmission path. The method comprises the configuration of an intermediate component of the Ethernet network, which lies on the transmission path, to transmit a copy of the data as logging data to the logging component; and the recording of the logging data at the logging component. Foina (US 2018/0261109) discloses an electronic identification box has a position logger and a transponder. The position logger has a global positioning system (GPS) module to obtain the absolute position where the aircraft is flying by. The logger stores the flight path of each trip made by the aircraft. Together with the positioning information, the speed and heading may also be stored. Telemetry data provided by the aircraft sensors, such as inertial measurement unit (IMU) and power level, and application data provided by the autopilot or any embedded component are also stored. This information is the proof of the aircraft real flight data, and it may perform functions similar to a civil aviation “black box” in case of a crash. In addition, in case of an UAV doing an autonomous flight beyond line-of-sight, the data may show where the UAS flew by.
Conclusion
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/January 5, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662