DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated May 7, 2026. Claims 19-21, 24-34 and 36 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below. Claims 21-18, 22-23 and 35 have been cancelled.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/7/26 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed toward subject matter that has not been previously considered and has necessitated a new ground of rejection as outlined below. While the new ground of rejection may rely on some of the previous references applied in the prior rejection of record, a new additional reference has been added to the combination and introduced for Applicant’s consideration given the amended independent claims as discussed in detail below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, amendments made to the claims have necessitated new grounds of rejection as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21, 24-34 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmarais (US 2016/0374001 A1) in view of Busson (WO2019/034307) and further in view of Zhang (US 2008/0150784A1).
Regarding amended claim 19, Desmarais discloses, A method of operating a wireless (see at least para. [0003] of Desmarais which discloses “Wireless communication circuitry may include RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags”) logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) configured to monitor an environmental related parameter of an asset (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”, *As discussed above, the data logger monitors parameters of the cargo since the logger 12 “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft” – see para. [0041] of Desmarais) at least while the asset is onboard of an aircraft (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least para. [0043] of Desmarais which discloses “an aircraft 40”) and is transported by the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”), where the logger device comprises:
at least one sensing device (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0056] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”),
a storage medium (Fig. 1, 24 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data … the memory 24 is an example computer storage media”),
a communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”),
a processor (Fig. 1, 22 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The processor 22 can include any type of microprocessor having desired performance characteristic”) for operating the power source, the at least one sensing device, the storage medium and the communication module (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”),
wherein the method comprises:
where prior to take-off of the aircraft, switching, by the processor, the logger device to a flight mode (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *Desmarais discloses that the sensed parameters are used by a processor to disable a radio-frequency transmitter for compliance with airline requirements. Desmarais further teaches that this disabling occurs in response to aircraft operational conditions before aircraft operation as discussed in para. [0063 which discloses “These sensing schemes can thereby advantageously detect their presence near or on an aircraft even before any motion starts, allowing the cellular or other transmitter to be disabled even prior to movement and/or engine operation of the aircraft”, *Accordingly, Desmarais teaches switching a logger device to an operation mode in which wireless transmission is disabled before takeoff. See para. [0041] which discloses “module 14 that is operable to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, such as a cellular signal, which may require a change of state in response to an operational condition of an aircraft where the transmission of the RF signals are regulatory prohibited as having the potential to interfere with electronics onboard the aircraft”, * During this mode and under this operational condition, the device conditions to operate and collect data while transmission may be suppressed, consistent with a flight mode in which environmental parameters can be measured and stored), the flight mode (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed” – Desmarais teaches a processor controlled operating state that occurs in response to aircraft flight conditions, in which radio frequency transmission is disabled before and during flight while the device continues to operate as a data logger. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this operating state corresponds to a flight mode) being a power mode where the environmental related parameter (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”) is, but where no transmission (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”) of the measured and stored environmental related data is performed by the communication module (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *if the RF transmitter is disabled, then there will be no transmission of the measured and stored environmental related data performed by communication module. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, disabling the RF transmitter under aircraft operational conditions constitutes an operating/flight power mode in which sensing and storage continue while no wireless transmission is performed).
Desmarais does describe supplying power and power distribution systems (see at least para.
[0052] of Desmarais which discloses “power supplies of 115 volts (V) AC at 400 Hertz (Hz) to generate, regulate and distribute electrical power throughout the aircraft 40 due to the benefits of relatively smaller and lighter transformers (FIG. 3). These are distinct from the 60 Hz and 50 Hz frequency alternating current electromagnetic fields generated in terrestrial power distribution systems”).
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose a power source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Busson discloses a power source (see at least pg. 9 ln.
23-25 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10 may comprise an energy source 1 18 such as e.g. a battery, for providing energy to the tracker 1 10. The energy source 1 18 may for example comprise a rechargeable battery”, *This battery clearly corresponds to the power source since it converts stored chemical energy into electrical energy to supply electricity to devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement such a power source as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently provide operating power to the processor, sensing device, storage medium and communication module of Desmarais’ wireless RF transmission/data logger device without requiring a wired connection to an external power supply, thereby enabling the device to operate autonomously and in a portable manner while onboard an aircraft. See pg. 17 ln. 10-15 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais discloses a data logger associated with cargo onboard an aircraft (see at least para.
[0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft such as a gas turbine engine data logger”, *It is well known that a data logger configured to monitor environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, air pressure, etc. necessarily includes at least one sensing device to obtain such environmental data.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the
environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data, storing the regularly measured environmental related data.
However, Busson discloses at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the
environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data (see at least pg. 18 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “By making continuous sensor measurements, the status of the object 100 may be continuously monitored during the transportation and a set of parameters which is important for the object 100, such as temperature, humidity, integrity, etc. This may be performed continuously during the transportation and the result may be stored in a memory 1 15 or database 320” and see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp”, *This explicitly describes the sensor as continuously measuring an environmental parameter of the object and storing the measurements together with a timestamp in memory which corresponds to combining the “regularly measuring” aspect (continuous/ongoing measurement) directly with the “resulting in environmental related” data and storge language), storing the regularly measured environmental related data (see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently and continuously monitor environmental conditions that may affect the cargo during transport since device 12 of Desmarais “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment” (see para. [0041] of Desmarais). Implementing Busson’s continuous sensing and time stamped storage mechanism into Desmarais device would reliably achieve the environmental monitoring function since both references are directed to portable devices for monitoring environmental conditions of transported goods. See pg. 18 ln. 29-32 and pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose receiving, by the communication module, an aviation
related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, transmitting, by the communication module, the received aviation related flight data to an external control computer, and tracking, by the external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data.
However, Busson discloses receiving, by the communication module, an aviation related signal
(see at least pg. 14 ln. 18-20 of Busson which discloses “receiving a transponder signal of a vessel 120. The transponder signal may be an AIS signal, an ADS-B signal, or a similar transponder signal. The vessel 120 may be a maritime vehicle such as a ship, an aeronautic vessel such as an aeroplane”)
by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-15 of Busson which discloses “verifying that the extracted position data of the vessel and the determined geographical position of the tracker coincide … transmitting information, over a terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node” and see at least pg. 6 ln. 25-31 of Busson which discloses “When the geographical position of the tracker 1 10, as determined e.g. via GPS or other positioning method using location capabilities of cellular communication networks, WiFi network recognition, triangulation etc.; and the extracted position of the vessel 120 coincide, or are situated within a margin at the same position, the tracker 1 10/object 100 is considered loaded on the vessel 120. This information may be sent to the tracker management node. The tracker 1 10 may then enter a sleep mode until an estimated arrival time of the vessel 120”, *Since this detection, verification and reporting sequence necessarily occurs while the aircraft is still at the loading location and before departure, this discloses reception of the aviation related signal prior to take-off), where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft (see at least pg. 6 ln. 8-9 of Busson which discloses “AIS and ADS-B messages contain: unique vessel identifier, GPS location, speed and status of the vessel 120”, *The unique vessel identifier corresponds to data uniquely identifying the aircraft and the GPS location corresponds to data identifying the position of the aircraft), transmitting, by the communication module, the received aviation related flight data to an external control computer (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-20 of Busson which discloses “verifying that the extracted position data of the vessel and the determined geographical position of the tracker coincide, within a first distance. The method also comprises transmitting information, over a terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node comprising the extracted identification reference of the vessel, triggering an association of the tracked object with the vessel at the tracker management node, thereby enabling the tracker management node to track the object by monitoring the vessel to a destination of the vessel, when the extracted position of the vessel coincide with the determined geographical position of the tracker, within a first distance”) and tracking, by the external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-20 of Busson as reproduced above which teaches the external control computer tracks the position of the aircraft after take-off using the received flight data as input data. This passage of Busson also teaches that transmitting the extracted identification reference of the vessel triggers an association of the tracked object with the vessel at the tracker management node, thereby enabling the tracker management node to track the object by monitoring the vessel as it moves to its destination. Also see at least pg. 20 ln. 8-12 of Busson which discloses “obtaining positioning data of the vessel 120, via a vehicle transponder signal capturing data provider 220. Some examples of vehicle transponder signal capturing data provider 220 may be e.g. www.flightradar24.com, www.radarbox24.com, www.marinetraffic.com, etc.”, *The identification reference received from the aircraft’s transponder signal in the earlier discussed “receiving” and “transmitting” limitations corresponds to the received flight data used by the tracker management node as input to associate with and track the position of the aircraft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement receiving, by the communication module, an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, transmitting, by the communication module, the received aviation related flight data to an external control computer, and tracking, by the external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data, as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective association of the logger device with the specific aircraft transporting the monitored asset and in order to enable remote monitoring of the aircraft transporting the cargo while the logger itself remains silent per its flight operation mode and to enable continued monitoring of the aircraft’s position through the flight without requiring any wireless transmission from the logger device, which is beneficial since Desmarais device is operating in a mode in which transmission is suppressed. Since the external control computer independently obtains and tracks the aircraft’s position with a vehicle transponder signal , the combined system is able to maintain regulatory compliance with restrictions in inflight wireless transmission while still providing real-time visibility into the location of the aircraft transporting the monitored cargo which allows the tracker management node to observe location awareness of the shipment which facilitates the location of an asset during a period in which the asset’s tracking device does not transmit so that the expected result of continuous position awareness is produced. See pg. 20 ln. 6-20 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais may also not explicitly disclose wherein the transport from the origin location to the
destination location further includes at least one stopover, wherein the step of using the received flight data as input data comprises identifying a flight route of the aircraft from the origin location to the destination location including the at least one stopover, wherein the step of identifying the at least one stopover is utilized in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed, and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Busson discloses wherein the transport from the origin
location to the destination location further includes at least one stopover (see at least pg. 17 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “an unplanned stop, for example. A possible, but perhaps not so frequent scenario may be that a vessel 120 has to seek another harbour/ airport than the destination due to harsh weather conditions, malfunctioning engines, grounding, navigation errors, sudden onboard disease, and various other unpredicted anomalies”, *Examiner interprets the unplanned stop to correspond to Applicant’s stopover since Applicant’s own specification defines and frames a stopover in terms of unforeseen circumstances such as weather conditions or motor failure forcing a route change (see at least para. [0014] of Applicant’s specification which describes “due to unforeseen circumstances the aircraft has to change flight route due to e.g. weather conditions or motor failure, and has to do one (or more) stopover(s)” and see at least para. [0030] of Applicant’s specification which describes “change of flight route due to unforeseen circumstances where the aircraft may have to make one or more stopovers will be visible in real-time”)), wherein the step of using the received flight data as input data comprises identifying a flight route of the aircraft from the origin location to the destination location including the at least one stopover (see at least pg. 12 ln. 13-16 of Busson which discloses “it will be seen from the beginning that the vessel 120 is no going to the intended destination, e.g. by extraction of transponder signals. In any way, it will be discovered that the vessel route is not the "expected" before the vessel 120 is arriving to its destination. Thus, an early alert on a transportation delay is obtained”), wherein the step of identifying the at least one stopover is utilized in determining one or more subsequent locations (see at least pg. 12 ln. 5-9 of Busson which discloses “a geofencing functionality may be implemented in the tracker management node 200. Thereby, a geographical zone may be defined, in which the object 100/ tracker 1 10 is expected to be situated during the transportation. In case position of the object 100/ tracker 1 10 (and/ or the vessel 120 carrying the object 100/ tracker 1 10) is discovered outside the geofence, an alert may be triggered”) where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed (see at least pg. 21 ln. 34- pg. 22 ln. 5 of Busson which discloses “The tracker management node 200 may be connected to a web site to display the tracking information and related alarms (e.g. temp outside of the defined acceptable temperature, geofencing, etc.). API (Application programming interface) or ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) connector may also be available to directly connect supply chain to the system. Thereby, a user may track and trace the object 100, or even a plurality of distinct objects 100, via the output unit 600. In some embodiments, the user may receive an alert when a sensor measurement by the tracker 1 10 has exceeded a threshold limit or when the tracker 5 1 10 is leaving or entering a defined area or road”), and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer (see at least pg. 6 ln. 33-35 of Busson which discloses “These sensor measurements may be stored together with a time stamp and transmitted when wireless communication again is available; or when arriving at the vessel's and/ or the object's destination” and pg. 16 ln. 31-34 of Busson which discloses “The results of the sensor measurements may be stored in a memory 1 15 of the tracker 1 10, e.g. together with a time stamp. This information may later, when the tracker 1 10 has been set to active mode, be transmitted to the tracker management node 200” and pg. 19 ln. 3- 10“the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp. When the object 100/ tracker 1 10 arrives to the destination of the vessel 120, a batch of stored parameter values and associated time stamps may be sent to the tracker management node 200. At this stage, the acquired, timestamped data matches with the location received via the data provider (satellite), in order add location to the data” and pg. 21 ln. 17-20 of Busson which discloses “Also, the tracker management node 200 may comprise a memory 625, configured to store the received information comprising the parameter related to the object 100, associated with an identity reference of the object 100, a re- ceived geographical position of the object 100 and/ or a time stamp and pg. 21 ln. 25-30 of Busson which discloses “The memory 625 is configured to store an original sensor value, or a plurality of original sensor values in embodiments where several sensors 1 17 are comprised in the tracker 120 together with other information such as e.g. a time stamp, a geographical position of the tracker 1 10, etc. Further, sensor values and other data may be stored for a plurality of trackers 120, managed by the tracker management node 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmairs to include wherein the transport from the origin location to the destination location further includes at least one stopover, wherein the step of using the received flight data as input data comprises identifying a flight route of the aircraft from the origin location to the destination location including the at least one stopover, wherein the step of identifying the at least one stopover is utilized in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed, and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer; as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide intermediate visibility into the condition and location of cargo at each leg of a multi-modal transportation route, instead of only at the final delivery which is beneficial for verifying that environmentally sensitive cargo (as already taught by Desmarais’ temperature/humidity/Co2 data logger) has remained within acceptable condition thresholds throughout each stage of transport. See pg. 16 ln. 35-pg. 17 ln. 10 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais, as modified by Busson, may not explicitly disclose that the aviation related signal is
periodically transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses receiving, by the communication
module (see at least para. [0025] of Zhang which discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”), an aviation related signal (see at least para. [0010] of Zhang which discloses “a GPS receiver and an ADS-B receiver for receiving an ADS-B signal from an aircraft”) periodically transmitted (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency” Therefore, Zhang teaches receiving aviation related signals periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to takeoff).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Busson, to include an aviation related signal periodically transmitted, as taught in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable remote monitoring and tracking of the aircraft transporting the cargo/asset while maintaining compliance with aviation transmission requirements. See para. [0009] and [0025] of Zhang for motivation.
Regarding claim 20, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein the
received aviation related signal comprises Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) signal (see at least para. [0001] of Zhang which discloses “systems, that utilizes Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) transponders”).
Regarding claim 21, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein the
step of tracking the position of the aircraft after take-off comprises communicating with an external flight tracking module from take-off until landing of the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency. Other aircraft and ground stations up to approximately 150 miles can receive the data link broadcast and display information on a computer display”, *Zhang discloses that the aviation related flight data broadcasted by an aircraft is received by a ground station /ADS-B receiver and the processed by a ground based computer system for display and surveillance proposes. Therefore, Zhang teaches transmitting the received aviation flight data to a ground station/external control computer).
Regarding claim 24, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein the
at least one sensing device comprises a barometer (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “a barometric pressure sensor”) for measuring air pressure, the method further comprising: determining difference between a measured air pressure value (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “measuring pressure altitude or motion that necessarily relies on aircraft movement”) and previously measured air pressure value, where in case the difference exceeds a pre-defined pressure value (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the tri-axis electromagnet field sensor 34 may be utilized in combination with the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 to identify that the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is aboard an aircraft, but that aircraft is outside a range detectable by the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 (step 108). That is, the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc.”), issuing a take-off command indicating take-off or expected take-off of the aircraft, and issuing a landing command indicating that the aircraft is landing or is landed in case the difference is below a pre-defined pressure value (see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which discloses “one or more other sensors 36A, 36B, 36 n (FIG. 1) may utilized in combination with the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 and/or the tri-axis electromagnet field sensor 34 to further facilitate the identification of the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing, cruise, taxi, etc.”.
Regarding claim 25, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein the
at least one sensing device comprises an accelerometer (Fig. 1, 36A and see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “sensors 36A, 36B, 36 n such as an accelerometer”) configured to sense vibration from the aircraft, the method further comprising: determining difference between a measured vibration and previously measured vibration, where in case the difference exceeds a pre-defined vibration value, issuing a take-off command indicating take-off or expected take-off of the aircraft, and issuing a landing command indicating that the aircraft is landing or is landed in case the difference is below a pre-defined vibration value (see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “an accelerometer, gyroscope, GPS, etc., or combinations thereof, with an integrated control algorithm, may be utilized in combination with the aircraft proximity sensor module 30, to further delineate whether the transceiver module 14 requires a change of state. For example, the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is passively operable to detect that the aircraft is proximate an environment in which the radio frequency transmission device 12 is to be disabled before any motion is initiated, such as before the airplane pushes back from a gate and/or before the engines are started”).
Regarding claim 26, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses further
comprising automatically switching, in response to the issued take-off command, the logger device to the flight mode, and in response to the landing command, the logger device from the flight mode to higher-power mode (see at least para. [0058] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 may again enable transmissions from the radio frequency transmission device 12 once the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is no longer regulatory restricted, e.g., greater than 3000 feet and 5 miles from the airport (step 108) as, for example, communications detectable by the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 are no longer utilized. That is, aircraft/tower radio communication is not utilized in flight”), the higher-power mode being a power mode where transmission by the communication module takes place and where the measured and stored environmental related data is transmitted to the control computer together with the position data of the logger device (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the tri-axis electromagnet field sensor 34 may be utilized in combination with the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 to identify that the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is aboard an aircraft, but that aircraft is outside a range detectable by the aircraft/tower radio communication sensor 32 (step 108). That is, the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed”).
Regarding claim 27, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein the
tracked position of the aircraft is utilized in associating the measured environmental related data (see at least pg. 18 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “By making continuous sensor measurements, the status of the object 100 may be continuously monitored during the transportation and a set of parameters which is important for the object 100, such as temperature, humidity, integrity, etc. This may be performed continuously during the transportation and the result may be stored in a memory 1 15 or database 320” and see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp”, *This explicitly describes the sensor as continuously measuring an environmental parameter of the object and storing the measurements together with a timestamp in memory which corresponds to combining the “regularly measuring” aspect (continuous/ongoing measurement) directly with the “resulting in environmental related” data and storge language) measured at different positions of the aircraft with associated tracked position data at these different positions (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information”, *The ground based computer system processes the received flight data to determine and continuously update the aircraft’s position during flight, thereby tracking the position of the aircraft after takeoff using the received flight data as input data. Accordingly, Zhang teaches tracking, by an external control computer, the position of the aircraft after take-off using received flight data).
Regarding claim 28, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein
subsequent to the step of issuing the take-off command, the resulting measured environmental related parameter value(s) is transmitted by the communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”), to the control computer, followed by switching the logger device to the flight mode (see at least pg. 8 ln. 16-24 of Busson which discloses “the processing circuitry 1 14 may also be configured to generate a command signal to switch the tracker 1 10 into sleeping mode when having transmitted information, over the terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node comprising the extracted identification reference of the vessel 120, triggering the association of the position of the tracked object 100 with the position of the vessel 120 at the tracker management node. In further addition, the processing circuitry 1 14 may be configured to generate a command signal to switch the tracker 1 10 into active mode at the estimated arrival time of the vessel 120 to the vessel's destination” and see at least pg. 17 ln. 15-21 of Busson which discloses “comprises switching the tracker 1 10 into active mode at the estimated 404 arrival time of the vessel 120 to the vessel's destination. By estimating the arrival time and autonomously activating the tracker 1 10 at the estimated arrival time, a re-activation of the tracker 1 10 may be made without requirements of receiving any external telecommunication signals, etc. , for awakening the tracker 1 10”).
Regarding claim 29, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses further
comprising, in case of detecting two or more different flight data are transmitted from two or more aircrafts (see at least para. [0004] of Zhang which discloses “The second aircraft may be equipped with a different type of transponder (Mode S) that may alter the method of interrogation between the aircrafts. For instance, the second aircraft may automatically transmit a message containing the address of the transmitting aircraft at set intervals, such as once a second. Then, the first aircraft can send a direct interrogation to the second aircraft, based upon the known address of the second aircraft. The second aircraft responds with a signal that includes altitude information”) in the vicinity of the logger device prior to take-off, the two or more different flight data are compared with pre-stored data associated to the data logger, where the pre-stored data (see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data and control processes disclosed herein. That is, the memory 24 is an example computer storage media that can have embodied thereon computer-useable instructions such as a process that, when executed, can perform a desired method. The interface 26 of the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules such as the transceiver module 14 and an aircraft proximity sensor module 30”) is selected from: final destination data, intermediate stop data, aircraft identification data, partial or complete routing information associated to the data logger, where the flight data having at least one match with the pre-stored data is identified as the true flight data (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “software or hardware engineering practices, the depicted elements and the functions thereof may be implemented on machines through computer executable media having a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these”).
Regarding claim 30, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein at
least one measured environmental related parameter includes one or more selected from: ambience temperature of the asset (see at least pg. 6 ln. 32-34 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10 may continue monitor the object 100 via sensor measurements, e.g. temperature, humidity, chocks, etc. These sensor measurements may be stored together with a time stamp”), ambience humidity of the asset, acceleration or vibration, light intensity, air-pressure (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”).
Regarding claim 31, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses wherein the
at least one sensing device comprises an accelerometer (Fig. 1, 36A and see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “sensors 36A, 36B, 36 n such as an accelerometer” and see at least para. [0054] of Desmarais which discloses “an accelerometer, gyroscope, GPS, etc., or combinations thereof, with an integrated control algorithm, may be utilized in combination with the aircraft proximity sensor module 30, to further delineate whether the transceiver module 14 requires a change of state. For example, the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 is passively operable to detect that the aircraft is proximate an environment in which the radio frequency transmission device 12 is to be disabled before any motion is initiated, such as before the airplane pushes back from a gate and/or before the engines are started”), and where the method further comprises initial steps of determining if the logger device is onboard of the aircraft or other transport means, comprising: detecting, by the accelerometer, presence of a vibration of the logger device and thus of the asset, detecting, by the communication module, if an aviation related signal is present, wherein in case a vibration is detected to be above a pre-defined reference value, and if an aviation related signal is detected, an identification signal is triggered indicating that the logger device with the associated asset is onboard the aircraft (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “ADS-B-equipped aircraft broadcasts its position in space with a digital data link and can include other data, such as air speed, altitude and air-maneuver information. ADS-B receivers can be integrated into the air traffic control system or installed aboard other aircraft to provide an accurate depiction of real-time aviation traffic, both in the air and on the ground. ADS-B relies on satellite-based Global Positioning System (GPS) to determine an aircraft's precise location in space. The system converts the position into a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency”).
Regarding claim 32, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses further
comprising an initial step of determining if the logger device is onboard of the aircraft or not, where if the aviation related signal is repetitively received for a time period exceeding a pre-defined time period limit, the logger device and the asset are determined to be onboard the aircraft (see at least para. [0016] of Zhang which discloses “an airborne radar system is provided to assist with collision avoidance, wherein the radar system includes: a standard ADS-B transmitter and encoder; a phase modulator including a digital synthesizer; radio-frequency electronics with up and down conversion, amplification and filtering capabilities; antennas; and a radar transceiver that controls the phase modulation of an ADS-B waveform and implements real-time target detection and tracking”).
Regarding claim 33, Desmarais, as modified by Busson and Zhang discloses further
comprising applying a filter such that the received aviation related signals are above a pre-defined signal strength threshold (see at least para. [0014] of Zhang which discloses “A further object of the invention is to provide a digital matched filter and digital signal processor to analyze signals received by the antennas. Also, it would be desirable if the system could estimate the angle-of-arrival of reflected ADS-B signals so that both the azimuth and elevation of the signal may be determined”).
Regarding claim 34, Desmarais discloses A wireless (see at least para. [0003] of
Desmarais which discloses “Wireless communication circuitry may include RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags”) logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) configured to monitor an environmental related data parameter of an asset (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”, *As discussed above, the data logger monitors parameters of the cargo since the logger 12 “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft” – see para. [0041] of Desmarais) at least when the asset is onboard of an aircraft (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least para. [0043] of Desmarais which discloses “an aircraft 40”) during take-off and landing (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”), where the logger device comprises:
at least one sensing device (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0056] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”),
a storage medium (Fig. 1, 24 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data … the memory 24 is an example computer storage media”),
a communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”),
a processor (Fig. 1, 22 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The processor 22 can include any type of microprocessor having desired performance characteristic”) for operating the power source, the at least one sensing device, the storage medium and the communication module (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”),
wherein the processor is configured to, prior to take-off of the aircraft, switching the logger device to a flight mode (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *Desmarais discloses that the sensed parameters are used by a processor to disable a radio-frequency transmitter for compliance with airline requirements. Desmarais further teaches that this disabling occurs in response to aircraft operational conditions before aircraft operation as discussed in para. [0063 which discloses “These sensing schemes can thereby advantageously detect their presence near or on an aircraft even before any motion starts, allowing the cellular or other transmitter to be disabled even prior to movement and/or engine operation of the aircraft”, *Accordingly, Desmarais teaches switching a logger device to an operation mode in which wireless transmission is disabled before takeoff. See para. [0041] which discloses “module 14 that is operable to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, such as a cellular signal, which may require a change of state in response to an operational condition of an aircraft where the transmission of the RF signals are regulatory prohibited as having the potential to interfere with electronics onboard the aircraft”, * During this mode and under this operational condition, the device conditions to operate and collect data while transmission may be suppressed, consistent with a flight mode in which environmental parameters can be measured and stored), the flight mode (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed” – Desmarais teaches a processor controlled operating state that occurs in response to aircraft flight conditions, in which radio frequency transmission is disabled before and during flight while the device continues to operate as a data logger. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this operating state corresponds to a flight mode) being a power mode where the environmental related parameter (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”) is but where no transmission (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”) of the measured and stored environmental related data is performed by the communication module (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *if the RF transmitter is disabled, then there will be no transmission of the measured and stored environmental related data performed by communication module. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, disabling the RF transmitter under aircraft operational conditions constitutes an operating/flight power mode in which sensing and storage continue while no wireless transmission is performed), where the processor is further configured to instruct the control computer (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”).
Desmarais does disclose a device that is portable, wireless and functions as a data logger, based
on multiple explicit disclosures discussed above that are read together (see para. [0003] and [0041] of Desmarais). This portable wireless electronic device operates independently while necessarily including a power source, even if not explicitly described. In this connection, Desmarais discloses a wireless data logger configured to operate autonomously onboard an aircraft. This type of device is understood in the art to include a power source to supply operating power to the processor, memory, sensors and communication module. Desmarais does describe supplying power and power distribution systems (see at least para. [0052] of Desmarais which discloses “power supplies of 115 volts (V) AC at 400 Hertz (Hz) to generate, regulate and distribute electrical power throughout the aircraft 40 due to the benefits of relatively smaller and lighter transformers (FIG. 3). These are distinct from the 60 Hz and 50 Hz frequency alternating current electromagnetic fields generated in terrestrial power distribution systems”).
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose a power source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Busson discloses a power source (see at least pg. 9 ln.
23-25 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10 may comprise an energy source 1 18 such as e.g. a battery, for providing energy to the tracker 1 10. The energy source 1 18 may for example comprise a rechargeable battery”, *This battery clearly corresponds to the power source since it converts stored chemical energy into electrical energy to supply electricity to devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement such a power source as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently provide operating power to the processor, sensing device, storage medium and communication module of Desmarais’ wireless RF transmission/data logger device without requiring a wired connection to an external power supply, thereby enabling the device to operate autonomously and in a portable manner while onboard an aircraft. See pg. 17 ln. 10-15 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais discloses a data logger associated with cargo onboard an aircraft (see at least para.
[0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft such as a gas turbine engine data logger”, *It is well known that a data logger configured to monitor environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, air pressure, etc. necessarily includes at least one sensing device to obtain such environmental data.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the
environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data, storing the regularly measured environmental related data.
However, Busson discloses at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the
environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data (see at least pg. 18 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “By making continuous sensor measurements, the status of the object 100 may be continuously monitored during the transportation and a set of parameters which is important for the object 100, such as temperature, humidity, integrity, etc. This may be performed continuously during the transportation and the result may be stored in a memory 1 15 or database 320” and see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp”, *This explicitly describes the sensor as continuously measuring an environmental parameter of the object and storing the measurements together with a timestamp in memory which corresponds to combining the “regularly measuring” aspect (continuous/ongoing measurement) directly with the “resulting in environmental related” data and storge language), storing the regularly measured environmental related data (see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data, storing the regularly measured environmental related data as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently and continuously monitor environmental conditions that may affect the cargo during transport since device 12 of Desmarais “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment” (see para. [0041] of Desmarais). Implementing Busson’s continuous sensing and time stamped storage mechanism into Desmarais device would reliably achieve the environmental monitoring function since both references are directed to portable devices for monitoring environmental conditions of transported goods. See pg. 18 ln. 29-32 and pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose wherein the communication module comprises a receiver
for receiving an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, wherein the communication module is configured to transmit the received flight data to a control computer, track the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data.
However, Busson discloses a receiver (see at least pg. 3 ln. 24-26 of Busson which discloses “a
receiver, configured to receive information comprising an identification reference of a vessel and a confirmation that the tracker is on-board the vessel from the tracker, from the tracker, over a terrestrial telecommunication network”) for receiving an aviation related signal (see at least pg. 14 ln. 18-20 of Busson which discloses “receiving a transponder signal of a vessel 120. The transponder signal may be an AIS signal, an ADS-B signal, or a similar transponder signal. The vessel 120 may be a maritime vehicle such as a ship, an aeronautic vessel such as an aeroplane”) by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-15 of Busson which discloses “verifying that the extracted position data of the vessel and the determined geographical position of the tracker coincide … transmitting information, over a terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node” and see at least pg. 6 ln. 25-31 of Busson which discloses “When the geographical position of the tracker 1 10, as determined e.g. via GPS or other positioning method using location capabilities of cellular communication networks, WiFi network recognition, triangulation etc.; and the extracted position of the vessel 120 coincide, or are situated within a margin at the same position, the tracker 1 10/object 100 is considered loaded on the vessel 120. This information may be sent to the tracker management node. The tracker 1 10 may then enter a sleep mode until an estimated arrival time of the vessel 120”, *Since this detection, verification and reporting sequence necessarily occurs while the aircraft is still at the loading location and before departure, this discloses reception of the aviation related signal prior to take-off), where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft (see at least pg. 6 ln. 8-9 of Busson which discloses “AIS and ADS-B messages contain: unique vessel identifier, GPS location, speed and status of the vessel 120”, *The unique vessel identifier corresponds to data uniquely identifying the aircraft and the GPS location corresponds to data identifying the position of the aircraft), wherein the communication module is configured to transmit the received flight data to a control computer (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-20 of Busson which discloses “verifying that the extracted position data of the vessel and the determined geographical position of the tracker coincide, within a first distance. The method also comprises transmitting information, over a terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node comprising the extracted identification reference of the vessel, triggering an association of the tracked object with the vessel at the tracker management node, thereby enabling the tracker management node to track the object by monitoring the vessel to a destination of the vessel, when the extracted position of the vessel coincide with the determined geographical position of the tracker, within a first distance”) and track the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-20 of Busson as reproduced above which teaches the external control computer tracks the position of the aircraft after take-off using the received flight data as input data. This passage of Busson also teaches that transmitting the extracted identification reference of the vessel triggers an association of the tracked object with the vessel at the tracker management node, thereby enabling the tracker management node to track the object by monitoring the vessel as it moves to its destination. Also see at least pg. 20 ln. 8-12 of Busson which discloses “obtaining positioning data of the vessel 120, via a vehicle transponder signal capturing data provider 220. Some examples of vehicle transponder signal capturing data provider 220 may be e.g. www.flightradar24.com, www.radarbox24.com, www.marinetraffic.com, etc.”, *The identification reference received from the aircraft’s transponder signal in the earlier discussed “receiving” and “transmitting” limitations corresponds to the received flight data used by the tracker management node as input to associate with and track the position of the aircraft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement wherein the communication module comprises a receiver for receiving an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, wherein the communication module is configured to transmit the received flight data to a control computer, track the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data, as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective association of the logger device with the specific aircraft transporting the monitored asset and in order to enable remote monitoring of the aircraft transporting the cargo while the logger itself remains silent per its flight operation mode and to enable continued monitoring of the aircraft’s position through the flight without requiring any wireless transmission from the logger device, which is beneficial since Desmarais device is operating in a mode in which transmission is suppressed. Since the external control computer independently obtains and tracks the aircraft’s position with a vehicle transponder signal , the combined system is able to maintain regulatory compliance with restrictions in inflight wireless transmission while still providing real-time visibility into the location of the aircraft transporting the monitored cargo which allows the tracker management node to observe location awareness of the shipment which facilitates the location of an asset during a period in which the asset’s tracking device does not transmit so that the expected result of continuous position awareness is produced. See pg. 20 ln. 6-20 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais may also not explicitly disclose wherein the control computer is further configured
to identify a flight route of the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location, the flight route including at least one stopover, wherein the control computer is configured to utilize the at least one stopover in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed, and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Busson discloses wherein the control computer is
further configured to identify a flight route of the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location (see at least pg. 12 ln. 13-16 of Busson which discloses “it will be seen from the beginning that the vessel 120 is no going to the intended destination, e.g. by extraction of transponder signals. In any way, it will be discovered that the vessel route is not the "expected" before the vessel 120 is arriving to its destination. Thus, an early alert on a transportation delay is obtained”), the flight route including at least one stopover (see at least pg. 17 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “an unplanned stop, for example. A possible, but perhaps not so frequent scenario may be that a vessel 120 has to seek another harbour/ airport than the destination due to harsh weather conditions, malfunctioning engines, grounding, navigation errors, sudden onboard disease, and various other unpredicted anomalies”, *Examiner interprets the unplanned stop to correspond to Applicant’s stopover since Applicant’s own specification defines and frames a stopover in terms of unforeseen circumstances such as weather conditions or motor failure forcing a route change (see at least para. [0014] of Applicant’s specification which describes “due to unforeseen circumstances the aircraft has to change flight route due to e.g. weather conditions or motor failure, and has to do one (or more) stopover(s)” and see at least para. [0030] of Applicant’s specification which describes “change of flight route due to unforeseen circumstances where the aircraft may have to make one or more stopovers will be visible in real-time”), wherein the control computer is configured to utilize the at least one stopover in determining one or more subsequent locations (see at least pg. 12 ln. 5-9 of Busson which discloses “a geofencing functionality may be implemented in the tracker management node 200. Thereby, a geographical zone may be defined, in which the object 100/ tracker 1 10 is expected to be situated during the transportation. In case position of the object 100/ tracker 1 10 (and/ or the vessel 120 carrying the object 100/ tracker 1 10) is discovered outside the geofence, an alert may be triggered”) where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed (see at least pg. 21 ln. 34- pg. 22 ln. 5 of Busson which discloses “The tracker management node 200 may be connected to a web site to display the tracking information and related alarms (e.g. temp outside of the defined acceptable temperature, geofencing, etc.). API (Application programming interface) or ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) connector may also be available to directly connect supply chain to the system. Thereby, a user may track and trace the object 100, or even a plurality of distinct objects 100, via the output unit 600. In some embodiments, the user may receive an alert when a sensor measurement by the tracker 1 10 has exceeded a threshold limit or when the tracker 5 1 10 is leaving or entering a defined area or road”), and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer (see at least pg. 6 ln. 33-35 of Busson which discloses “These sensor measurements may be stored together with a time stamp and transmitted when wireless communication again is available; or when arriving at the vessel's and/ or the object's destination” and pg. 16 ln. 31-34 of Busson which discloses “The results of the sensor measurements may be stored in a memory 1 15 of the tracker 1 10, e.g. together with a time stamp. This information may later, when the tracker 1 10 has been set to active mode, be transmitted to the tracker management node 200” and pg. 19 ln. 3- 10“the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp. When the object 100/ tracker 1 10 arrives to the destination of the vessel 120, a batch of stored parameter values and associated time stamps may be sent to the tracker management node 200. At this stage, the acquired, timestamped data matches with the location received via the data provider (satellite), in order add location to the data” and pg. 21 ln. 17-20 of Busson which discloses “Also, the tracker management node 200 may comprise a memory 625, configured to store the received information comprising the parameter related to the object 100, associated with an identity reference of the object 100, a re- ceived geographical position of the object 100 and/ or a time stamp and pg. 21 ln. 25-30 of Busson which discloses “The memory 625 is configured to store an original sensor value, or a plurality of original sensor values in embodiments where several sensors 1 17 are comprised in the tracker 120 together with other information such as e.g. a time stamp, a geographical position of the tracker 1 10, etc. Further, sensor values and other data may be stored for a plurality of trackers 120, managed by the tracker management node 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmairs to include wherein the control computer is further configured to identify a flight route of the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location, the flight route including at least one stopover, wherein the control computer is configured to utilize the at least one stopover in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed, and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer; as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide intermediate visibility into the condition and location of cargo at each leg of a multi-modal transportation route, instead of only at the final delivery which is beneficial for verifying that environmentally sensitive cargo (as already taught by Desmarais’ temperature/humidity/Co2 data logger) has remained within acceptable condition thresholds throughout each stage of transport. See pg. 16 ln. 35-pg. 17 ln. 10 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais, as modified by Busson, may not explicitly disclose that the aviation related signal is
periodically transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses receiving, by the communication
module (see at least para. [0025] of Zhang which discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”), an aviation related signal (see at least para. [0010] of Zhang which discloses “a GPS receiver and an ADS-B receiver for receiving an ADS-B signal from an aircraft”) periodically transmitted (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency” Therefore, Zhang teaches receiving aviation related signals periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to takeoff).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Busson, to include an aviation related signal periodically transmitted, as taught in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable remote monitoring and tracking of the aircraft transporting the cargo/asset while maintaining compliance with aviation transmission requirements. See para. [0009] and [0025] of Zhang for motivation.
Regarding claim 36, Desmarais discloses A system for operating a wireless (see at least
para. [0003] of Desmarais which discloses “Wireless communication circuitry may include RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) tags”) logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) configured to monitor at least one environmental related parameter of an asset (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”, *As discussed above, the data logger monitors parameters of the cargo since the logger 12 “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft” – see para. [0041] of Desmarais) when the asset is onboard of an aircraft (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least para. [0043] of Desmarais which discloses “an aircraft 40”) during take-off and landing (see at least para. [0053] of Desmarais which discloses “takeoff or landing” and see at least para. [0062] of Desmarais which describes “the aircraft operational conditions, e.g., takeoff, landing”), where the system comprises: a logger device (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft“ and “system 10 may be incorporated within a radio frequency transmission device 12 such as a data logger”) comprising: at least one sensing device (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0056] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft proximity sensor system 10 may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”), a storage medium (Fig. 1, 24 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The memory 24 can include any type of computer readable medium that stores the data … the memory 24 is an example computer storage media”), a communication module (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “the control module 20 can facilitate communication between the control module 20 and other systems and or modules”), a processor (Fig. 1, 22 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “The processor 22 can include any type of microprocessor having desired performance characteristic”) for operating the power source, the at least one sensing device, the storage medium and the communication module (see at least para. [0064] of Desmarais which discloses “a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementation”), a control computer (Fig. 1, 20 and see at least para. [0042] of Desmarais which discloses “a control module 20”: , i.e., a control computer), where prior to take-off of the aircraft, the processor of the logger device switches the logger device to a flight mode (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *Desmarais discloses that the sensed parameters are used by a processor to disable a radio-frequency transmitter for compliance with airline requirements. Desmarais further teaches that this disabling occurs in response to aircraft operational conditions before aircraft operation as discussed in para. [0063 which discloses “These sensing schemes can thereby advantageously detect their presence near or on an aircraft even before any motion starts, allowing the cellular or other transmitter to be disabled even prior to movement and/or engine operation of the aircraft”, *Accordingly, Desmarais teaches switching a logger device to an operation mode in which wireless transmission is disabled before takeoff. See para. [0041] which discloses “module 14 that is operable to transmit a radio frequency (RF) signal, such as a cellular signal, which may require a change of state in response to an operational condition of an aircraft where the transmission of the RF signals are regulatory prohibited as having the potential to interfere with electronics onboard the aircraft”, * During this mode and under this operational condition, the device conditions to operate and collect data while transmission may be suppressed, consistent with a flight mode in which environmental parameters can be measured and stored), the flight mode (see at least para. [0060] of Desmarais which discloses “the aircraft is in flight but not proximate an airport, e.g., not landing, taking off, taxing, etc. The control module 20 may thereby accordingly enable or disable the radio frequency transmission device 12 as programmed” – Desmarais teaches a processor controlled operating state that occurs in response to aircraft flight conditions, in which radio frequency transmission is disabled before and during flight while the device continues to operate as a data logger. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this operating state corresponds to a flight mode) being a power mode where the environmental related parameter (see at least para. [0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft”) is but where no transmission (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “These sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”) of the measured and stored environmental related data is performed by the communication module (see at least para. [0005] of Desmarais which discloses “sensed parameters are then used to disable a radio frequency (RF) transmitter to comply with airline requirements”, *if the RF transmitter is disabled, then there will be no transmission of the measured and stored environmental related data performed by communication module. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, disabling the RF transmitter under aircraft operational conditions constitutes an operating/flight power mode in which sensing and storage continue while no wireless transmission is performed).
Desmarais does disclose a device that is portable, wireless and functions as a data logger, based
on multiple explicit disclosures discussed above that are read together (see para. [0003] and [0041] of Desmarais). This portable wireless electronic device operates independently while necessarily including a power source, even if not explicitly described. In this connection, Desmarais discloses a wireless data logger configured to operate autonomously onboard an aircraft. This type of device is understood in the art to include a power source to supply operating power to the processor, memory, sensors and communication module. Desmarais does describe supplying power and power distribution systems (see at least para. [0052] of Desmarais which discloses “power supplies of 115 volts (V) AC at 400 Hertz (Hz) to generate, regulate and distribute electrical power throughout the aircraft 40 due to the benefits of relatively smaller and lighter transformers (FIG. 3). These are distinct from the 60 Hz and 50 Hz frequency alternating current electromagnetic fields generated in terrestrial power distribution systems”).
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose a power source.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Busson discloses a power source (see at least pg. 9 ln.
23-25 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10 may comprise an energy source 1 18 such as e.g. a battery, for providing energy to the tracker 1 10. The energy source 1 18 may for example comprise a rechargeable battery”, *This battery clearly corresponds to the power source since it converts stored chemical energy into electrical energy to supply electricity to devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement such a power source as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently provide operating power to the processor, sensing device, storage medium and communication module of Desmarais’ wireless RF transmission/data logger device without requiring a wired connection to an external power supply, thereby enabling the device to operate autonomously and in a portable manner while onboard an aircraft. See pg. 17 ln. 10-15 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais discloses a data logger associated with cargo onboard an aircraft (see at least para.
[0041] of Desmarais which discloses “the device 12 may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment transported or contained within the aircraft such as a gas turbine engine data logger”, *It is well known that a data logger configured to monitor environmental conditions such as temperature, humidity, acceleration, air pressure, etc. necessarily includes at least one sensing device to obtain such environmental data.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the
environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data, storing the regularly measured environmental related data.
However, Busson discloses at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the
environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data (see at least pg. 18 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “By making continuous sensor measurements, the status of the object 100 may be continuously monitored during the transportation and a set of parameters which is important for the object 100, such as temperature, humidity, integrity, etc. This may be performed continuously during the transportation and the result may be stored in a memory 1 15 or database 320” and see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp”, *This explicitly describes the sensor as continuously measuring an environmental parameter of the object and storing the measurements together with a timestamp in memory which corresponds to combining the “regularly measuring” aspect (continuous/ongoing measurement) directly with the “resulting in environmental related” data and storge language), storing the regularly measured environmental related data (see at least pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson which discloses “the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement at least one sensing device for regularly measuring the environmental related parameter resulting in environmental related data, storing the regularly measured environmental related data as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently and continuously monitor environmental conditions that may affect the cargo during transport since device 12 of Desmarais “may be a temperature, humidity, CO2 or other data logger that may be associated with cargo or other airborne equipment” (see para. [0041] of Desmarais). Implementing Busson’s continuous sensing and time stamped storage mechanism into Desmarais device would reliably achieve the environmental monitoring function since both references are directed to portable devices for monitoring environmental conditions of transported goods. See pg. 18 ln. 29-32 and pg. 19 ln. 3-5 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais may not explicitly disclose wherein the communication module is configured for
receiving an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, and transmitting the received flight data to a control computer, where prior to take off of the aircraft, wherein the control computer is configured to track the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft via the received flight data uniquely identifying the aircraft.
However, Busson discloses a receiver (see at least pg. 3 ln. 24-26 of Busson which discloses “a
receiver, configured to receive information comprising an identification reference of a vessel and a confirmation that the tracker is on-board the vessel from the tracker, from the tracker, over a terrestrial telecommunication network”) for receiving an aviation related signal (see at least pg. 14 ln. 18-20 of Busson which discloses “receiving a transponder signal of a vessel 120. The transponder signal may be an AIS signal, an ADS-B signal, or a similar transponder signal. The vessel 120 may be a maritime vehicle such as a ship, an aeronautic vessel such as an aeroplane”) by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-15 of Busson which discloses “verifying that the extracted position data of the vessel and the determined geographical position of the tracker coincide … transmitting information, over a terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node” and see at least pg. 6 ln. 25-31 of Busson which discloses “When the geographical position of the tracker 1 10, as determined e.g. via GPS or other positioning method using location capabilities of cellular communication networks, WiFi network recognition, triangulation etc.; and the extracted position of the vessel 120 coincide, or are situated within a margin at the same position, the tracker 1 10/object 100 is considered loaded on the vessel 120. This information may be sent to the tracker management node. The tracker 1 10 may then enter a sleep mode until an estimated arrival time of the vessel 120”, *Since this detection, verification and reporting sequence necessarily occurs while the aircraft is still at the loading location and before departure, this discloses reception of the aviation related signal prior to take-off), where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft (see at least pg. 6 ln. 8-9 of Busson which discloses “AIS and ADS-B messages contain: unique vessel identifier, GPS location, speed and status of the vessel 120”, *The unique vessel identifier corresponds to data uniquely identifying the aircraft and the GPS location corresponds to data identifying the position of the aircraft), wherein the communication module is configured to transmit the received flight data to a control computer (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-20 of Busson which discloses “verifying that the extracted position data of the vessel and the determined geographical position of the tracker coincide, within a first distance. The method also comprises transmitting information, over a terrestrial telecommunication network, to the tracker management node comprising the extracted identification reference of the vessel, triggering an association of the tracked object with the vessel at the tracker management node, thereby enabling the tracker management node to track the object by monitoring the vessel to a destination of the vessel, when the extracted position of the vessel coincide with the determined geographical position of the tracker, within a first distance”) and track the position of the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft using the received flight data as input data (see at least pg. 3 ln. 12-20 of Busson as reproduced above which teaches the external control computer tracks the position of the aircraft after take-off using the received flight data as input data. This passage of Busson also teaches that transmitting the extracted identification reference of the vessel triggers an association of the tracked object with the vessel at the tracker management node, thereby enabling the tracker management node to track the object by monitoring the vessel as it moves to its destination. Also see at least pg. 20 ln. 8-12 of Busson which discloses “obtaining positioning data of the vessel 120, via a vehicle transponder signal capturing data provider 220. Some examples of vehicle transponder signal capturing data provider 220 may be e.g. www.flightradar24.com, www.radarbox24.com, www.marinetraffic.com, etc.”, *The identification reference received from the aircraft’s transponder signal in the earlier discussed “receiving” and “transmitting” limitations corresponds to the received flight data used by the tracker management node as input to associate with and track the position of the aircraft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to implement wherein the communication module is configured for receiving an aviation related signal periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to take-off of the aircraft, where the received aviation related signal comprises flight data that uniquely identifies the aircraft and the position of the aircraft, and transmitting the received flight data to a control computer, where prior to take off of the aircraft, wherein the control computer is configured to track the aircraft after take-off of the aircraft via the received flight data uniquely identifying the aircraft, as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective association of the logger device with the specific aircraft transporting the monitored asset and in order to enable remote monitoring of the aircraft transporting the cargo while the logger itself remains silent per its flight operation mode and to enable continued monitoring of the aircraft’s position through the flight without requiring any wireless transmission from the logger device, which is beneficial since Desmarais device is operating in a mode in which transmission is suppressed. Since the external control computer independently obtains and tracks the aircraft’s position with a vehicle transponder signal , the combined system is able to maintain regulatory compliance with restrictions in inflight wireless transmission while still providing real-time visibility into the location of the aircraft transporting the monitored cargo which allows the tracker management node to observe location awareness of the shipment which facilitates the location of an asset during a period in which the asset’s tracking device does not transmit so that the expected result of continuous position awareness is produced. See pg. 20 ln. 6-20 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais may also not explicitly disclose wherein the control computer is further configured
to identify a flight route of the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location, the flight route including at least one stopover, wherein the control computer is configured to utilize the at least one stopover in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed, and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Busson discloses wherein the control computer is
further configured to identify a flight route of the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location (see at least pg. 12 ln. 13-16 of Busson which discloses “it will be seen from the beginning that the vessel 120 is no going to the intended destination, e.g. by extraction of transponder signals. In any way, it will be discovered that the vessel route is not the "expected" before the vessel 120 is arriving to its destination. Thus, an early alert on a transportation delay is obtained”), the flight route including at least one stopover (see at least pg. 17 ln. 29-32 of Busson which discloses “an unplanned stop, for example. A possible, but perhaps not so frequent scenario may be that a vessel 120 has to seek another harbour/ airport than the destination due to harsh weather conditions, malfunctioning engines, grounding, navigation errors, sudden onboard disease, and various other unpredicted anomalies”, *Examiner interprets the unplanned stop to correspond to Applicant’s stopover since Applicant’s own specification defines and frames a stopover in terms of unforeseen circumstances such as weather conditions or motor failure forcing a route change (see at least para. [0014] of Applicant’s specification which describes “due to unforeseen circumstances the aircraft has to change flight route due to e.g. weather conditions or motor failure, and has to do one (or more) stopover(s)” and see at least para. [0030] of Applicant’s specification which describes “change of flight route due to unforeseen circumstances where the aircraft may have to make one or more stopovers will be visible in real-time”), wherein the control computer is configured to utilize the at least one stopover in determining one or more subsequent locations (see at least pg. 12 ln. 5-9 of Busson which discloses “a geofencing functionality may be implemented in the tracker management node 200. Thereby, a geographical zone may be defined, in which the object 100/ tracker 1 10 is expected to be situated during the transportation. In case position of the object 100/ tracker 1 10 (and/ or the vessel 120 carrying the object 100/ tracker 1 10) is discovered outside the geofence, an alert may be triggered”) where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed (see at least pg. 21 ln. 34- pg. 22 ln. 5 of Busson which discloses “The tracker management node 200 may be connected to a web site to display the tracking information and related alarms (e.g. temp outside of the defined acceptable temperature, geofencing, etc.). API (Application programming interface) or ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) connector may also be available to directly connect supply chain to the system. Thereby, a user may track and trace the object 100, or even a plurality of distinct objects 100, via the output unit 600. In some embodiments, the user may receive an alert when a sensor measurement by the tracker 1 10 has exceeded a threshold limit or when the tracker 5 1 10 is leaving or entering a defined area or road”), and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer (see at least pg. 6 ln. 33-35 of Busson which discloses “These sensor measurements may be stored together with a time stamp and transmitted when wireless communication again is available; or when arriving at the vessel's and/ or the object's destination” and pg. 16 ln. 31-34 of Busson which discloses “The results of the sensor measurements may be stored in a memory 1 15 of the tracker 1 10, e.g. together with a time stamp. This information may later, when the tracker 1 10 has been set to active mode, be transmitted to the tracker management node 200” and pg. 19 ln. 3- 10“the tracker 1 10/ sensor 130 may continuously measure parameters of the object 100 and store the parameter values in the memory 1 15 while the tracker 1 10 is in sleep mode, for example together with a time stamp. When the object 100/ tracker 1 10 arrives to the destination of the vessel 120, a batch of stored parameter values and associated time stamps may be sent to the tracker management node 200. At this stage, the acquired, timestamped data matches with the location received via the data provider (satellite), in order add location to the data” and pg. 21 ln. 17-20 of Busson which discloses “Also, the tracker management node 200 may comprise a memory 625, configured to store the received information comprising the parameter related to the object 100, associated with an identity reference of the object 100, a re- ceived geographical position of the object 100 and/ or a time stamp and pg. 21 ln. 25-30 of Busson which discloses “The memory 625 is configured to store an original sensor value, or a plurality of original sensor values in embodiments where several sensors 1 17 are comprised in the tracker 120 together with other information such as e.g. a time stamp, a geographical position of the tracker 1 10, etc. Further, sensor values and other data may be stored for a plurality of trackers 120, managed by the tracker management node 200”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais to include wherein the control computer is further configured to identify a flight route of the aircraft from an origin location to a destination location, the flight route including at least one stopover, wherein the control computer is configured to utilize the at least one stopover in determining one or more subsequent locations where transmission of measured environmental related data together with position data of the aircraft to the control computer is performed, and wherein the communication module is configured to transmit, at the one or more stopover, the stored measured environmental related data together with timestamps and position data of the aircraft to the control computer; as taught in Busson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide intermediate visibility into the condition and location of cargo at each leg of a multi-modal transportation route, instead of only at the final delivery which is beneficial for verifying that environmentally sensitive cargo (as already taught by Desmarais’ temperature/humidity/Co2 data logger) has remained within acceptable condition thresholds throughout each stage of transport. See pg. 16 ln. 35-pg. 17 ln. 10 of Busson for motivation.
Desmarais, as modified by Busson, may not explicitly disclose that the aviation related signal is
periodically transmitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses receiving, by the communication
module (see at least para. [0025] of Zhang which discloses “a standard ADS-B receiver to receive and decode standard ADS-B messages”), an aviation related signal (see at least para. [0010] of Zhang which discloses “a GPS receiver and an ADS-B receiver for receiving an ADS-B signal from an aircraft”) periodically transmitted (see at least para. [0009] of Zhang which discloses “a digital code, which is combined with other information that can include the type of aircraft, speed, flight number, and maneuvering information. The digital code containing the information is updated at regular intervals, such as several times a second, and broadcasts from the aircraft on a discreet data link frequency” Therefore, Zhang teaches receiving aviation related signals periodically transmitted by the aircraft prior to takeoff).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the logger device of Desmarais, as modified by Busson, to include an aviation related signal periodically transmitted, as taught in Zhang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable remote monitoring and tracking of the aircraft transporting the cargo/asset while maintaining compliance with aviation transmission requirements. See para. [0009] and [0025] of Zhang for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kerecsen (US 2020/0294401A1) discloses “Data Logging or Stimulation in Automotive Ethernet Networks Using the Vehicle Infrastructure”, which is incorporated in its entirety for all purposes as if fully set forth herein. A method for recording data is described, wherein the data are transmitted from a transmitting control unit to a receiving control unit of a vehicle via a communication system of the vehicle. The communication system comprises an Ethernet network, wherein the data are conducted from a transmission component to a reception component of the Ethernet network via a transmission path, and wherein the data are to be recorded at a logging component of the Ethernet network, which does not lie on the transmission path. The method comprises the configuration of an intermediate component of the Ethernet network, which lies on the transmission path, to transmit a copy of the data as logging data to the logging component; and the recording of the logging data at the logging component.
Foina (US 2018/0261109) discloses an electronic identification box has a position logger and a transponder. The position logger has a global positioning system (GPS) module to obtain the absolute position where the aircraft is flying by. The logger stores the flight path of each trip made by the aircraft. Together with the positioning information, the speed and heading may also be stored. Telemetry data provided by the aircraft sensors, such as inertial measurement unit (IMU) and power level, and application data provided by the autopilot or any embedded component are also stored. This information is the proof of the aircraft real flight data, and it may perform functions similar to a civil aviation “black box” in case of a crash. In addition, in case of an UAV doing an autonomous flight beyond line-of-sight, the data may show where the UAS flew by.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/July 14, 2026
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662