CTNF 18/839,988 CTNF 88806 DETAILED ACTION This Office action is a response to Preliminary Amendment made an Application No. 18/839,988 filed on 08/20/2024 in which claims 1-15 are amended and claims 16-19 are canceled. Accordingly, Claims 1-15 are currently pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Priority Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 08/20/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Information Disclosure Statement The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 08/20/2024 and 04/28/2026. Claim Objections Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein based on the information on the measurement, whether or not to activate the NES operation is determined by the network” in line 7-8. However, claim 1 is directed to a method performed by a terminal in the preamble. The limitation of claim 3 does not further limit a terminal instead said limitation is performed by the network. Thus, the limitation(s) directed to the functionality and configuration of another apparatus (i.e., the network) have no patentable weight as the limitation is not directed towards the terminal. It is suggested to amend the limitation not to further limiting to another apparatus to avoid raising issue under 35 U.S.C. §112. Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein based on the terminal information, whether or not to activate the NES operation is determined by the network” in line 7-8. However, claim 1 is directed to a method performed by a terminal in the preamble. The limitation of claim 3 does not further limit a terminal instead said limitation is performed by the network. Thus, the limitation(s) directed to the functionality and configuration of another apparatus (i.e., the network) have no patentable weight as the limitation is not directed towards the terminal. It is suggested to amend the limitation not to further limiting to another apparatus to avoid raising issue under 35 U.S.C. §112. Appropriate corrections are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 1 recites the limitation “ the NES operation ” in line 5 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 15 recites the limitation “ the NES operation ” in line 11 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate corrections are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2021/0352588 A1) hereinafter “Liu” in view of Mochizuki et al. (US 2021/0289440 A1) hereinafter “Mochizuki” . The U.S. reference, Liu, was cited in IDS filed 04/28/2026 . Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses a terminal operating in a wireless communication system (see FIG. 2 and 9; see ¶ [0172], UE) , the terminal comprising: at least one transceiver (see FIG. 9; see ¶ [0172], UE include transceiver) ; at least one processor (see FIG. 9; see ¶ [0172], UE include processor) ; and at least one memory operably coupled with the at least one processor and storing instructions that instruct, when executed, the at least one processor to perform a specific operation (see FIG. 9; see ¶ [0172], UE include one or more memories configured to store information) , wherein the specific operation is configured to: control the at least one transceiver to receive first information related to network energy saving (NES) (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0030] [0045], the network node may transmit power saving configuration information to the terminal and the network node may transmit power adaption configuration information (or a “power saving configuration”) to the terminal. A power saving configuration may be associated with a specific UE configuration. The UE configuration may include the overall UE state which is configured the network using system information or RRC signaling. The power saving configuration may include at least one of a measurement configuration, DRX configuration, or another configuration at the UE, which can be configured/reconfigured by the network and influences the overall UE power consumption) ; and perform the NES operation based on the first information related to NES (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0028] [0031], the terminal may activate or deactivate the received configuration based on the received power saving configuration information and the terminal may activate or deactivate the received configuration based on the received power saving configuration information) , Liu does not explicitly disclose information related to cell barring. However, Mochizuki discloses wherein the first information related to NES includes at least one of second information related to cell barring and wherein the NES operation comprises at least one of an access-related operation for a cell (see ¶ [0064], an energy saving cell switchable between a normal operation state and an energy saving state in which power consumption is lower than in the normal operation state. When the energy saving cell is in the energy saving state, access restriction control is executed to judge whether the communication terminal device is allowed to access the energy saving cell, and when it is judged that the communication terminal device is allowed to access the energy saving cell by the access restriction control, a wake-up process of shifting the energy saving cell from the energy saving state to the normal operation state is performed) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide information related to cell barring as taught by Mochizuki, in the system of Liu, so that it would provide to restricts a wake-up process attributable to a communication terminal device without right to access the energy saving cell and prevents unnecessary switching of the energy saving cell between the normal operation state and the energy saving state (Mochizuki: see ¶ [0065]) . Regarding claim 1, claim 1 is directed to a method claim performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system and recites the same subject matter as claim 15 and rejected for the same reason as claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 set forth in above) . Regarding claim 2, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses further comprising: receiving a terminal report configuration for activation of the NES operation; and reporting terminal-related information to the network based on the terminal report configuration, wherein the first information related to NES is received after reporting the terminal-related information to the network (Liu: see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0026-28] [0036], a UE can send UE assistance information to network to inform network whether power saving is needed or not, and network can modify a configuration (e.g. SPS, DRX) to reduce the power consumption and the power state/configuration may include multiple states; a normal state and multiple power-saving states. Each power-saving state may be associated with specific power-saving functionality. Each state may be associated with a type of UE assistance information reporting) . Regarding claim 3, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the reporting terminal-related information to the network based on the terminal report configuration comprising: performing measurement for at least one cell based on the terminal report configuration; and reporting the terminal-related information including information on the measurement to the network, wherein based on the information on the measurement, whether or not to activate the NES operation is determined by the network (Liu: see ¶ [0040] [0046], The UE may transmit UE assistance information to the network node to facilitate the network node to configure a power saving configuration. The UE assistance information may include at least one of a UE mobility state (e.g. stationary, low speed, medium speed, high speed, etc.) information and a power saving configuration may be associated with the measurement configuration at the UE. The network node can send measurement related power saving configuration based at least one of UE assistance information sent by UE, a network judgment on UE attribution. (e.g. SRS measurement, RSRP/RSRQ measurement results, etc.), and assistance information sent by core network) . Regarding claim 4, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the reporting terminal-related information to the network based on the terminal report configuration comprises: storing terminal information based on the terminal report configuration; and reporting the terminal-related information including the terminal information to the network, wherein, based on the terminal information, whether or not to activate the NES operation is determined by the network (Liu: see ¶ [0040] [0046], The UE may transmit UE assistance information to the network node to facilitate the network node to configure a power saving configuration. The UE assistance information may include at least one of a UE mobility state (e.g. stationary, low speed, medium speed, high speed, etc.) information and a power saving configuration may be associated with the measurement configuration at the UE. The network node can send measurement related power saving configuration based at least one of UE assistance information sent by UE, a network judgment on UE attribution. (e.g. SRS measurement, RSRP/RSRQ measurement results, etc.), and assistance information sent by core network) . Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the terminal information includes at least one of terminal location information, moving velocity information and service priority information, and wherein the terminal-related information is reported to the network based on a terminal assistance information reporting procedure (Liu: see ¶ [0040], The UE may transmit UE assistance information to the network node to facilitate the network node to configure a power saving configuration. The UE assistance information may include at least one of a UE mobility state (e.g. stationary, low speed, medium speed, high speed, etc.) information) . Regarding claim 6, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the performing the NES operation comprises performing cell reselection based on a cell reselection parameter that is applied to the terminal for the NES operation according to the first information related to NES (Liu: see ¶ [0022], preparing cell-selection; and Mochizuki: see ¶ [0091-92], cell-reselection) . Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the terminal is one of a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode terminal or a RRC inactive mode terminal (Liu: see ¶ [0022] [0047], when a UE is in a RRC IDLE state, the UE may be required to monitor paging occasions and system information and the UE can be one of following RRC states: RRC_Idle) . Regarding claim 8, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the first information related to NES is received through one of RRC signaling (Liu: see ¶ [0047], the network node can send power saving configuration to UE via system information or RRC signaling) . Regarding claim 9, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses further comprising: determining whether the cell is barred based on the second information related to cell barring received through the system information block (Mochizuki: see ¶ [0064] [0116], a system information block (SIB) 1 of the broadcast information BCCH. The SIB1 contains the information about the access to the cell, information about cell selection, and scheduling information on another SIB) . Regarding claim 10, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the second information related to cell barring includes cell information that does not permit access for the NES operation, and wherein an access operation to the cell is not performed based on the second information related to cell barring (Mochizuki: see ¶ [0064] [0116], a system information block (SIB) 1 of the broadcast information BCCH. The SIB1 contains the information about the access to the cell, information about cell selection, and scheduling information on another SIB) . Regarding claim 11, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the first information related to NES further includes information on a time where access to a cell is not permitted (Mochizuki: see ¶ [0064] [0203] [0413], when the access restriction information of an ES cell is changed in time, the period set by the wait timer may be a period until the access restriction information of the ES cell is changed) . Regarding claim 12, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the third information related to mobility indicates that idle mobility is required, wherein the performing the NES operation comprises performing the cell reselection for the NES operation based on the third information related to mobility (Claim 1 recites multiple functionalities by using “at least one of” in a selective way. Since Examiner has shown the teaching of at least one functionality, the claim limitation(s) is/are still met which dependent upon said claim) . Regarding claim 13, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein the first information related to NES includes 1-bit information indicating whether or not to activate the NES operation, and wherein the performing the NES operation comprises performing, based on the 1-bit information indicating activation of the NES operation, the NES operation based on NES information that is preconfigured in the terminal (Liu: see ¶ [0057], the power saving configuration may include a bitmap and each bit in the bitmap which set to “1”) . Regarding claim 14, the combined system of Liu and Mochizuki discloses wherein a lower layer of the terminal transfers the received first information related to NES to an upper layer of the terminal, and wherein the upper layer does not transfer data to the lower layer until the terminal moves to a new cell (Liu: see ¶ [0030], the network node may transmit power saving configuration information to the terminal and the network node may transmit power adaption configuration information (or a “power saving configuration”) to the terminal and see ¶ [0022], preparing cell-selection) . Conclusion The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ABEDINI et al. (US 2022/0417875 A1) teaches aspects presented herein may provide various power saving techniques and features for network nodes by configuring different power saving modes for the network nodes (see Abstract) . A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of the action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7241. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at (571) 272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/839,988 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/839,988 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462