DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-3, drawn to a method) in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. In the instant case, the specification does not provide a definition for the term “preventing.” While the term “prevent” does not necessarily mean that something is kept from ever occurring, such an interpretation is available to the Examiner that falls under the “broad and reasonable” standard for claim interpretation as set form in MPEP 2111 and thus is proper.
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for “reducing” influence of salt stress on a plant, does not reasonably provide enablement for “preventing” influence of salt stress on a plant. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01 (a)). These include: (1) breadth of the claims; (2) nature of the invention; (3) state of the prior art; (4) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (5) the level of predictability in the art; (6) the existence of working examples; (7) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure; and (8) relative skill in the art.
(1 & 2) The breadth of the claims and nature of the invention: Claims 1-3 are directed to a method of reducing or preventing influence of salt stress on a plant, comprising applying at least one inventive compound of formula (I) to a plant exposed to salt stress or a plant potentially exposed to salt stress.
(3) The state of the prior art: While there are publications that describe methods of reducing or mitigating salt stress in plants, there is no evidence in the prior art that the claimed composition would prevent salt stress from ever occurring. Thus, in short, the art recognizes treatment for reduction or mitigation salt stress in plants, but not in the prevention thereof.
(4 & 6) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and the existence of working examples: Applicant has not provided examples that demonstrate that the composition claimed is effective at preventing the influence of salt stress on plants. The instant specification has demonstrated that the composition can reduce symptoms of salt stress when administered. Applicant has not demonstrated that administration of the composition would prevent salt stress from ever occurring.
(5) The level of predictability in the art: The prior art does not teach a method of preventing influence of salt stress by administering an agricultural composition. Although some methods may aid in the treatment of salt stress, there is nothing in the prior art that indicates that total prevention is possible.
(7) The quantity of experimentation: Neither the instant specification nor the state of the art have demonstrated how agricultural compositions, such as the composition claimed, can “prevent” salt stress from occurring. An undetermined number of experimental factors utilizing a composition and its method for preventing would have to be resolved by the practitioner for the following reasons: the factors are not sufficiently discussed in the specification to provide guidance to utilize the invention as claimed. See, e.g., Hao (2020), which discusses numerous pathways and mechanisms by which salt stress can induce plant injury, including inhibition of photosynthesis, disturbance of ion homeostasis, and membrane damage.
(8) The level of skill in the art: The level of skill in the art would be high, mostly likely at the Ph.D. level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “(wherein, in formula (I) … Z represents a C1-C8 alkyl or a C1-C8 alkoxy group)”. This renders the scope of the claim indefinite as it is unclear whether the language in the parentheses is part of the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation is being interpreted as written without the parentheses before “wherein” and after “alkoxy group”. Examiner suggests removing the parentheses and adding a semicolon after “alkoxy group”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the planted plant”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “a planted plant”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori et al. (US 2005/0070439 A1, published 3/31/2005, cited on the 8/20/2024 IDS) in view of Mukhopadhyay et al. (2020).
Regarding claim 1, Kobori teaches a plant disease controlling agent comprising a tetrazoyloxime derivative represented by the general formula (1) [claim 1]:
wherein:
X represents a hydrogen or a halogen [claim 1] (reads on n = 0 or 1)
(X corresponds to (X)n of formula (I) in the instant claim.)
A represents a tetrazoyl group with the general formula (2) [claim 1]:
Y represents an alkyl group [claim 1], wherein Y is a methyl group [claim 4]. Preferably, Y may be an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbons [0035].
(Y corresponds to R of formula (I) in the instant claim)
Het represents a pyridyl group represented by the general formula (4):
R represents a hydrogen or a halogen (reads on m = 0 or 1); Z represents the general formula QC(=O)NH-, wherein Q is a C1-C8 alkyl or a C1-C8 alkoxy group [claim 1].
(R corresponds with of (Y)m formula (I) in the instant claim.)
(Q corresponds with Z of formula (I) in the instant claim.)
For example, Preparation Example 24 [pg.19] teaches a compound of formula (I) wherein R = methyl, n = 0, m = 0, and Z = C5 alkyl group, as shown below:
Kobori further teaches that the agricultural chemical may be applied to plants (e.g. stem and leaf application), to the soil of plants, or to the seeds [105]. Application may be achieved through spraying [Test example 1; 0236]. While Kobori does not explicitly address reducing or preventing influence of salt stress on a plant, the prior art makes obvious the application of the same chemical compound to the same patient population (i.e. plants). Thus, a property that results as a consequence of performing the claimed method to the same patient population would be expected absence evidence to the contrary. Furthermore, "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Mukhopadhyay teaches that soil salinity is one of the largest global challenges in agricultural production and is expected to increase at a faster rate than now by the year 2050 [Introduction]. Mukhopadhyay further teaches that the effects of climate change, such as the rise in atmospheric greenhouse gas concentrations and the consequent increase in air temperature and decline in relative humidity can have a huge impact on the pace of soil salinity development [Introduction]. These changes can accelerate salt water intrusion into fertile soils due to sea level rise, and excess groundwater extraction in the dry regions of the world could also increase soil and groundwater salinity [Introduction]. Additionally, anthropogenic activities such as over-application of groundwater and synthetic fertilizer due to increasing global population pressure also contribute to increasing salt stress in soil [Introduction]. Thus, under BRI, all plants, particularly outdoor plants, can be considered to be potentially exposed to salt stress. As previously discussed, Kobori contemplates the application of its composition in paddy fields [0105], accordingly, this can be interpreted as reading on the limitation wherein the compound is applied to a plant potentially exposed to salt stress.
Regarding claim 2, Kobori teaches that Y may be a methyl group (corresponds with R in the instant claims) [claim 4], X may be a hydrogen (corresponds to (X)n in the instant claims, reads on n= 0) [claim 1], R may be a hydrogen (corresponds to (Y)m in the instant claims, reads on m = 0) [claim 1]. Kobori further teaches that Q may be a tert-butoxy group (corresponds with Z in the instant claim) [0042].
Regarding claim 3, Kobori teaches that the agricultural chemical may be applied to directly to plants (e.g. stem and leaf application), to the growing soil of plants, to the surface of the water in a paddy field (i.e. adding to a water medium), and to the seeds [105]. Application may be achieved through spraying [Test example 1; 0236]. Under BRI, application by spraying reads on “pouring”, “coating” and “adding”.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brahm et al. (WO2014/079719 A1, published 5/30/2014).
Regarding claims 1-3, Brahm teaches a pesticidal composition comprising a microorganism and a fungicide [Abstract] which may comprise of picarbutrazox [pg 3, last line]. The structure of picarbutraxoz is shown below:
Picarbutrazox (i.e. tert-Butyl N-[6-[[(Z)-[(1-methyltetrazol-5 yl)phenylmethylene]amino]
oxymethyl]-2-pyridyl]carbamate) reads on a compound of formula (I) wherein R is a methyl group, n = 0 , m = 0, and Z is a tert-butoxy group (reads on claims 1 and 2). Brahm further teaches that its composition has a synergistic effect wherein the composition can increase the tolerance and/or resistance of a plant against abiotic stress [pg. 20], such as salt stress [pg. 19]. The composition of Brahm is suitable for foliar application (i.e. to plants), seed treatment, and soil treatment [pg. 21] (reads on claim 3). Brahm also teaches that abiotic stress can influence negative outcomes in plants/crops such as reduced plant vigor, lower yield, and reduced nutritional value [pg. 19]. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply a composition comprising picarbutrazox to a plant exposed to salt stress, for the purpose of reducing the aforementioned negative outcomes taught by Brahm.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,225,907.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite the application of t-butyl (6-{[(Z)-(1-methyl-1-H-5-tetrazolyl)(phenyl)methylene]aminooxymethyl}-2-pyridyl)carbamate (also known as picarbutrazox) to plants or soil. Patent ‘907 does not address the application of picarbutrazox for the purpose of reducing or preventing the influence of salt stress, however, the claims recite the administration of the same compound to the same patient population (i.e. plants). Thus, a property that results as a consequence of performing the claimed method to the same patient population would be expected absence evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AMANDA LYNN CHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613