Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, it recites the limitation "the second adapter" in lines 2 and 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Due to its dependency, claim 13 inherits the 112(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application US 20200033883 A1 (hereinafter Theobald).
Regarding claim 1, Theobald teaches a conveyor arrangement, comprising a first mobile conveyor (Fig 13, No. 30), comprising: a first conveying track adapted to convey an object between different positions along the first conveying track (Fig. 1, Nos. 64 and 32), and a drive module adapted to change its position within an area of operation, in particular in a non-mechanically track-bound manner (paragraph 38 and Fig. 13); wherein the first conveying track is fixed to the drive module, so that changing the position of the drive module leads to a similar change of [[the]] position of the first conveying track (Fig 13); wherein the conveyor arrangement is adapted in a manner that by operation of the drive module the first mobile conveyor can be transferred between a handover state, and a separated state in relation to a second conveying track of a second conveyor (2)[[,]];wherein during the handover state the first conveying track is in alignment with [[a]] the second conveying track of [[a]] the second conveyor , so that by operation of the first and second conveying tracks an object can be transferred between the first conveyor and the second conveyor; and wherein during the separated state the first conveying track is not in alignment with the second conveying track so that by operation of the first and second conveying tracks the object cannot be transferred between the first conveyor and the second conveying track (Figs. 2-4 & 13).
Regarding claim 2, Theobald teaches the conveyor arrangement of claim 1, further comprising a second stationary conveyor, in particular a plurality of second stationary conveyors, comprising:[[-]] a second conveying track (21) adapted to convey said object (9) between different positions along the second conveying track (21), and[[-]] a support frame (22) adapted to stationary stationarily support the second conveying track (21) at a predefined position (Figs. 2-4, Nos. 36 & 34 & Fig 13, Nos. 36A-C & Nos. 34A-C).
Regarding claim 14, Theobald teaches that the second conveyor is stationary (Figs. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald in view of US Patent Application Publication 2016/0167888 (hereinafter Messina).
Regarding claim 3, Theobald discloses the conveyor arrangement of claim 1, but does not disclose any connectors.
Messina discloses connectors that provide a connection between the fits and second conveyor (pg. 11, lines 22-23), and provides power for operating the second conveying track (pg. 11, line 6-11).
Regarding claim 4, Theobald discloses the conveyor arrangement of claim 1, but does not disclose an energy storage source for providing power to the drive module and the operation of a second conveying track.
Messina discloses an energy storage source (Fig. 1A, No. 180) that powers the second conveyor (pg. 11, line 6-11). Additionally, Messina indicates that the wheels of the drive module are motorized, meaning there must be an on-board power source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conveyor arrangement of Theobald with the connectors and power source of Messina. The motivation would be to increase energy efficiency by only powering conveyors when they are in use.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald in view of US Patent 11,208,270 (hereinafter Sewart).
Theobald discloses the conveyor arrangement of claim 1, and discloses a controller adapted to drive the drive module (¶28) and to issue a control signal to the second conveyor (¶60). Theobald does not disclose that the controller receives a signal from the second sensor.
Seward discloses that light emitting and receiving arrays can be disposed about the first or second conveyor belts, and they communicate with the controller (Claims 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 6, Theobald and Sewart disclose the conveying arrangement of claim 5 but Theobald does not disclose any sensors that detect objects in both the stationary and moving conveyor.
Seward discloses sensors that emit light to allow the controller to detect the presence of items and approximate their size (claims 2 & 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conveyor arrangement of Theobald with the sensing arrangement of Sewart. The motivation would be to allow the controller to have more information about the conveying arrangement to make decisions based on its programming, or to give the information to a human user for further decisions.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald in view of non-patent literature https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1rDVR9ytmw (Hereinafter RVJimD) in further view of US Patent 11,208,270 (hereinafter Sewart).
Regarding claim 7, Theobald discloses the conveyor arrangement according to claim 1, in addition to inherently teaching transfer edges. However, Theobald does not teach any sort of crush protection, or the distance between the transfer edges.
Sewart discloses that the gap between the two conveyors must be less than one inch (Claim 1, column 23, lines 62-65).
RVJimD demonstrates a tensioning mechanism for a conveyor belt similar to the crush protection mechanism of Figs. 7a and 7b in the present application. RVJimD uses a hand to show how the idler roller retracts and tension is loosened when the hand contacts the belt, and he remains unharmed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conveyor arrangement of Theobald with the tensioning mechanism of RVJimD and the distance requirement of Sewart. to put enough tension on the belt to maintain functionality, but not so much tension that a person obstructing the tension would be harmed, and minimize products falling through.
Regarding claim 8, Theobald, RVJimD, and Sewart disclose the conveyor arrangement of claim 7, but Sewart and Theobald do not disclose any elements of the crush protection mechanism.
RVJimD discloses a transfer edge to receive or give a product on the conveyor, and a roller support, and shows how the mechanism is spring urged in a direction facing the transfer edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conveyor arrangement of Theobald and Sewart with the spring mechanism of RVJimD. The motivation would be to have a crush mechanism comprising of simple widely available parts; that is easy to operate and maintain; and that meets safety needs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12 & 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMARI J MEDDLING/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651