DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 8, 13 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19-21 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20070118861 A1 to Stone and in view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani.
As to claim 1, Kang discloses a display device, comprising:
an interface (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0037, receiver 11);
a storage device (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0042, 0054-0056, 0059, storage unit 17);
a controller to (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0040, controller 14):
receive, via the interface, a signal from an electronic device coupled to the display device (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0040, receive TV broadcast signal from electronic device, e.g. DVD/BD player that is coupled to the display apparatus 1 via receiver 11);
display content based on the signal (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0037-0039, displaying content based on the signal);
generate a graphical user interface (GUI) (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0040-0043, generating GUI);
receive an image from an image sensor (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ang ¶0044-0047, receive image of the user appearance from image sensor);
determine a user is visually impaired utilizing the image (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0044-0047, determining the user’s age based on the image where an older user may have lower interfacing capability and/or bad sight);
in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, adjust a size of the GUI (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0044-0047, adjusting the size of the GUI in response to the user’s age based on the image where an older user may have lower interfacing capability and/or bad sight);
store the size to which the GUI is adjusted in the storage device of the display device (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0054-0056, 0059, storing the size of the GUI, e.g. the UI size, in the storage unit 17 of the display apparatus); and
display the GUI according to the stored size (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0054-0056, 0059, displaying the GUI based on the stored size).
Kang does not expressly receive, via the interface, a display signal from an electronic device coupled to the display device;
display content based on the display signal; and
generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device;
Stone discloses receive, via the interface, a display signal from an electronic device coupled to the display device (Stone Fig. 1, 2, ¶0024, receive digital video from set top box coupled to the digital tv via interface/connection); and
display content based on the display signal (Stone Fig. 1, 2, ¶0024, display the digital video).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang by receive, via the interface, a display signal from an electronic device coupled to the display device and display content based on the display signal as disclosed by Stone. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing and displaying digital video on the television, displaying high quality video thereby improving the user’s experience.
Kang and Stone do not expressly disclose generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device
Shintani discloses generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device (Shintani Fig. 1-7, ¶0022, 0026, 0028, 0032, generating on-screen menu for adjusting various settings of the television).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang and Stone by generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device as disclosed by Shintani. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing visual enhancements that increases the visibility of various on-screen menus of the display/television thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20070118861 A1 to Stone and in view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani and in further view of US Pub. No. 20210118410 A1 to Grieves.
As to claim 2, Kang, Stone and Shintani do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is to: determine a distance from the image sensor to the user by utilizing the image; and in response to a determination that the distance is within a threshold range, determine that the user is visually impaired.
Grieves discloses wherein the controller is to: determine a distance from the image sensor to the user by utilizing the image (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0042-0044, 0047, 0051, 0055, 0122, 0129, determine distance from the camera to the user); and in response to a determination that the distance is within a threshold range, determine that the user is visually impaired (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0042-0044, 0047, 0051, 0055, 0122, 0129, the user is closer than a predetermined threshold distance from the display 110 of the computing device 105, then the magnifier unit 305 can be configured to determine that the user's face is close to the display 110 of the computing device 105).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang, Stone and Shintani by determine a distance from the image sensor to the user by utilizing the image; and in response to a determination that the distance is within a threshold range, determine that the user is visually impaired as disclosed by Grieves. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of determining if the user is exhibiting visual impairments based on the captures images using distance of the user thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claim 4, Grieves discloses wherein the distance is a first distance (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0042, 0043,0047, 0051, 0055, 0122, and wherein the controller is to: receive a second image from the image sensor (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0042, 0043,0047, 0051, 0055, 0122, 0129, receive series of images of the user from a camera); determine a second distance from the image sensor to the user by utilizing the second image (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0042, 0043,0047, 0051, 0055, 0122, determining using the series of images of the user, the user is closer than a predetermined threshold distance from the display 110); and in response to a determination that the second distance is less than the first distance, adjust the size of the GUI for adjusting the settings of the display device (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0042-0044, 0047, 0051, 0055, 0122, 0129, determining the user is closer than a predetermined threshold distance from the display 110 of the computing device 105, then the magnifier unit 305 can be configured to determine that the user's face is close to the display 110 of the computing device 105).
As to claim 5, Kang, Stone and Shintani do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is to: detect an eye anomaly by utilizing the image; and in response to detecting the eye anomaly, determine that the user is visually impaired.
Grieves discloses wherein the controller is to: detect an eye anomaly by utilizing the image; and in response to detecting the eye anomaly, determine that the user is visually impaired (Grieves Fig. 1, 3-11, ¶0027, 0031, 0034, 0043-0044, 0050, 0051, the image analysis unit 310 may be configured to determine whether the user is squinting based on changes in the aspect ratio of the user's eyes and in response to the user squinting, determine that the user is visually impaired).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang, Stone and Shintani by wherein the controller is to: detect an eye anomaly by utilizing the image; and in response to detecting the eye anomaly, determine that the user is visually impaired as disclosed by Grieves. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of determining if the user is exhibiting visual impairments based on the captures images detecting an eye anomaly of the user thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20070118861 A1 to Stone and in view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani in further view of US Pub. No. 20210118410 A1 to Grieves and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20120287163 A1 to Djavaherian.
As to claim 3, Kang, Stone, Shintani and Grieves do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is to store the distance from the image sensor to the user in the storage device of the display device.
Djavaherian discloses wherein the controller is to store the distance from the image sensor to the user in the storage device of the display device (Djavaherian Fig. 1, ¶0008, 0014-0015, 0017-0018, 0024, processor to store the distance from the sensor to the user in the storage of the computing device with display).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang, Stone, Shintani and Grieves by wherein the controller is to store the distance from the image sensor to the user in the storage device of the display device as disclosed by Djavaherian. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of storing the distance in the memory of the device that allows the system to recall stored information without having to recalculate the distance thereby enhancing the system resources/operation.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20200312268 A1 to Nicholson.
As to claim 6, Kang discloses a display device, comprising:
an image sensor (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0044-0047, image sensor);
a storage device (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0042, 0054-0056, 0059, storage unit 17); and
a controller to (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0040, controller 14): generate a graphical user interface (GUI) (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0040-0043, generating GUI);
receive an image from the image sensor (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0044-0047, receive image of the user appearance from image sensor);
determine a user is visually impaired utilizing the image (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0044-0047, determining the user’s age based on the image where an older user may have lower interfacing capability and/or bad sight);
in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, determine a scaling to apply to a size of the GUI (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0044-0047, adjusting the size of the GUI in response to the user’s age based on the image where an older user may have lower interfacing capability and/or bad sight);
cause a display of the GUI having the scaling (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0054-0056, 0059, displaying the GUI based on the stored size); and
store the scaling to the storage device of the display device (Kang Fig. 1-3, 5, 9-10, ¶0054-0056, 0059, storing the size of the GUI, e.g. the UI size, in the storage unit 17 of the display apparatus).
Kang does not expressly disclose generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device;
receive an indicator from an electronic device coupled to the display device;
in response to the indicator, receive an image from the image sensor; and
in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, determine a scaling to apply to a size of the GUI based on the indicator.
Shintani discloses generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device (Shintani Fig. 1-7, ¶0022, 0026, 0028, 0032, generating on-screen menu for adjusting various settings of the television).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang by generate a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device as disclosed by Shintani. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing visual enhancements that increases the visibility of various on-screen menus of the display/television thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Kang and Shintani do not expressly disclose receive an indicator from an electronic device coupled to the display device;
in response to the indicator, receive an image from the image sensor; and
in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, determine a scaling to apply to a size of the GUI based on the indicator.
Nichcolson discloses receive an indicator from an electronic device coupled to the display device (Nichcolson Fig. 1, 5, ¶0017, 0032, 0044, receiving content from computer system 100 coupled to the display device 192);
in response to the indicator, receive an image from the image sensor (Nichcolson Fig. 1, 5, ¶0017, 0032, 0044-0051, 0054, in response to the receiving content, receiving an image of the user via camera); and
in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, determine a scaling to apply to a size of the GUI based on the indicator (Nichcolson Fig. 1, 5, ¶0017, 0032, 0044-0051, 0054, in response to determining the user has a vision impairment, changing the font size of the GUI based on the received content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang and Shintani receive an indicator from an electronic device coupled to the display device; in response to the indicator, receive an image from the image sensor; and in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, determine a scaling to apply to a size of the GUI based on the indicator as disclosed by Nichcolson. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of triggering the capturing of the user to determine if the user has vision impairment upon receiving/displaying the content thereby enhancing the user’s experience upon displaying the content .
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20200312268 A1 to Nicholson and in further view of in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20020112248 A1 to Takagi.
As to claim 7, Kang and Nicholson do not expressly disclose wherein the indicator from the electronic device is to indicate a text size, and wherein the controller is to determine the scaling such that the size of a text of the GUI for adjusting the settings of the display device is equivalent to the text size.
Takagi discloses wherein the indicator from the electronic device is to indicate a text size (Takagi Fig. 1-5, ¶0033-0036, user selection from the input device to select font size), and wherein the controller is to determine the scaling such that the size of a text of the GUI for adjusting the settings of the display device is equivalent to the text size (Takagi Fig. 1-5, ¶0031, 0033-0036, control unit to determine to decrease/increase where the size of the text/font of the menu for adjusting the settings of the display device to the settings the user selected font size).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang and Nicholson by wherein the indicator from the electronic device is to indicate a text size, and wherein the controller is to determine the scaling such that the size of a text of the GUI for adjusting the settings of the display device is equivalent to the text size as disclosed by Takagi. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing the user a input device to allow the user to select the font size thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 9, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20200312268 A1 to Nicholson and in further view of in view of US Pub. No. 20130318553 A1 to Yegorov.
As to claim 9, Kang and Nicholson do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is to cause transmission of data associated with the scaling to a text-to-speech executable code.
Yegorov discloses wherein the controller is to cause transmission of data associated with the scaling to a text-to-speech executable code (Yegorov ¶0026, 0032, 0034-0036, 0045, 0047-0048, causing the text to speech converter to convert text into speech in response to the graphically magnified focus elements in the GUI and initiating audible representation of content associated with the focused elements).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang and Nicholson by wherein the controller is to cause transmission of data associated with the scaling to a text-to-speech executable code as disclosed by Yegorov. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing magnification and audio enhancements by providing text to speech for magnified portions on the user interface thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claim 10, Yegorov discloses an audio device, and wherein execution of machine-readable instructions of the text-to-speech executable code causes the controller to: convert the data associated with the scaling to speech; and cause the audio device to output the speech (Yegorov ¶0026, 0032, 0034-0036, 0045, 0047-0048, the text-to-speech converter 216 may be realized as a module of the processor 210 and/or with appropriate processing logic, hardware, software, firmware, or the like. The text-to-speech converter 216 is suitably configured to convert text into synthesized speech, so that the synthesized speech can be audibly annunciated to the user. If the text is displayed with a GUI element, the text-to-speech converter 216 can translate the displayed text into synthesized speech)
As to claim 20, Yegorov discloses wherein the storage device stores the text-to- speech executable code (Yegorov ¶0026, 0032, 0034-0036, 0045, 0047-0048, the text-to-speech converter 216 may be realized as a module of the processor 210 and/or with appropriate processing logic, hardware, software, firmware, or the like).
Claims 11, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20180139434 A1 to Roe in view of US Pub. No. 9,427,144 B2 to Peck and in further view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani.
As to claim 11, Roe discloses a display device, comprising:
a storage device to store a first configuration and a second configuration of a graphical user interface (GUI), the first configuration associated with a first range and the second configuration associated with a second range (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0032, 0049-0053, database storage storing a plurality of different display settings e.g. different font sizes of the program listing, the plurality of display settings associated different metrics); and
an interface for coupling the display device to an electronic device (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6-10 ¶0071, 0085, 0088, 0093, display/television communicatively connected to various devices, e.g. servers, detection module);
a controller coupled to the storage device, the controller to: (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0038-0041, 0062-0064, 0071, 0083, control/processing circuitry coupled to the storage);
generate the GUI (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0034, 0071, 0073-0074, 0084, control/processing circuitry to generate the program listing/guide);
determine a measurement utilizing an image captured by an image sensor (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0038-0041, 0062-0064, 0071, 0083, control/processing circuitry coupled to the storage, the control/processing circuitry to determine various measurements using the captured image of the user), wherein the measurement is a diameter of an eye feature of a user (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0039-0040, 0063, 0093, 0128, measuring pupil diameter);
in response to the measurement being within the first range, enable the first configuration (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049 and 0050-0053, 0057-0060, retrieve the plurality of display settings associated with the measurement being within a metric); and
in response to the measurement being within the second range, enable the second configuration (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049 and 0050-0053, 0057-0060, 0119-0124, retrieve the plurality of display settings associated with the measurement being within a second metric).
display the GUI according to the enabled configuration (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049, 0050-0053, 0057-0060, 0119-0124, displaying the program listing/guide based on the retrieved display associated with the measurement being within the different metrics).
Roe does not expressly disclose wherein the first range indicates a first eye condition associated with a first eye feature, and
wherein the second range indicates a second eye condition associated with a second eye feature; and
a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device
Peck discloses wherein the first range indicates a first eye condition associated with a first eye feature (Peck Fig. 1-3, col. 2, ll. 57-col. 3, ll. 51, and col. 3, ll. 64-col. 4, ll. 47, measuring pupil/eye diameter and if value falls within a range of conditions indicating different eye problems associated with the pupil/eye diameter), and
wherein the second range indicates a second eye condition associated with a second eye feature (Peck Fig. 1-3, col. 2, ll. 57-col. 3, ll. 51, and col. 3, ll. 64-col. 4, ll. 47, measuring pupil/eye diameter and if value falls within a range of conditions indicating different eye problems associated with the pupil/eye diameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roe by wherein the first range indicates a first eye condition associated with a first eye feature, and wherein the second range indicates a second eye condition associated with a second eye feature as disclosed by Peck. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of using the diameter of the pupil to determine different eye disorder/problems associated with the user thereby improving the user’s experience.
Roe and Peck do not expressly disclose a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device
Shintani discloses a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device (Shintani Fig. 1-7, ¶0022, 0026, 0028, 0032, on-screen menu for adjusting various settings of the television).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roe and Peck by a graphical user interface (GUI) for adjusting settings of the display device as disclosed by Shintani. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing visual enhancements that increases the visibility of various on-screen menus of the display/television thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claim 14, Roe discloses wherein the controller is to: determine a second measurement utilizing a second image captured by the image sensor (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049, 0050-0053, 0119-0124, 0126-0127, 0139, determining plurality of measurements using the captured plurality of images by the camera); and in response to the measurement not being within the first range or the second range, determine a scaling to apply to a size of the GUI for adjusting settings of the display device based on an indicator received from the electronic device (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049, 0050-0053, 0093, 0119-0124, 0126-0127, 0139, 0142-0143, if the measurement is not within the range of metrics retrieve a subset of stored display settings associated with the user based on received sensor/camera), and store the scaling and the measurement to a third configuration on the storage device (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049, 0050-0053, 0119-0124, 0126-0127, 0139, store the eye strain metrics that indicate an acceptable degree of eye strain from the viewer and store subset of display settings that cause the viewer to experience an acceptable degree of eye strain).
As to claim 21, Shintani discloses wherein the GUI includes options for selecting at least one of a video input source, a power management setting, a performance setting, a picture- in-picture setting, a data channel, or a factory reset (Shintani Fig. 1-7, ¶0022, 0026, 0028, 0032, on-screen menu for adjusting various settings of the television, e.g. input, channel search, sleep).
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20180139434 A1 to Roe in view of US Pub. No. 9,427,144 B2 to Peck and in further view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani and in further view of US Pub. No. 20130057553 A1 to Chakravarthula.
As to claim 12, Roe, Peck and Shintani do not expressly disclose determine a distance from the image sensor to a user utilizing the image; in response to determining that the distance is within the first range, determine the user is a first user; and in response to determining that the distance is within the second range, determine the user is a second user.
Chakravarthula discloses determine a distance from the image sensor to a user utilizing the image (Chakravarthula ¶0048, 0053-0057, measuring the distance between the user and camera); in response to determining that the distance is within the first range, determine the user is a first user (Chakravarthula ¶0048, 0053-0057, determining the user as a first user e.g. child/adult, in response to determining the distance is preprogrammed distance); and in response to determining that the distance is within the second range, determine the user is a second user (Chakravarthula ¶0048, 0053-0057, determining the user as a first user e.g. child/adult, in response to determining the distance is preprogrammed distance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roe, Peck and Shintani by determine a distance from the image sensor to a user utilizing the image; in response to determining that the distance is within the first range, determine the user is a first user; and in response to determining that the distance is within the second range, determine the user is a second user as disclosed by Chakravarthula. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of automatically increase/decrease the font/icon size based on different preprogrammed distances identifying different ages of users thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20180139434 A1 to Roe in view of US Pub. No. 9,427,144 B2 to Peck and in further view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani and in further view of US Pub. No. 20100199215 A1 to Seymour.
As to claim 15, Roe discloses an audio device (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0088, speakers), wherein the first configuration includes a first size of a menu for adjusting display device settings sizes and the second configuration includes a second size of the menu (Roe Fig. 1, 2, 3, 6, 8-10 ¶0042-0049 and 0050-0053, 0057-0060, retrieve the plurality of display settings associated with the measurement being within a metric and adjusting the size based on each of the display settings).
Roe, Peck and Shintani do not expressly disclose wherein the storage device is to store text-to-speech executable code, and wherein execution of machine-readable instructions of the text-to-speech executable code causes the controller to: convert data of the menu to speech; and cause the audio device to output the speech.
Seymour discloses wherein the storage device is to store text-to-speech executable code, and wherein execution of machine-readable instructions of the text-to-speech executable code causes the controller to: convert data of the menu to speech; and cause the audio device to output the speech (Seymour Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5, ¶0044, 0045, 0054, 0116, 0118, storage in the computer to store programs including text-to-speech program/engine, the program causing the processor to convert the text of the user interface into audio and outputting the audio to the audio output port).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roe, Peck and Shintani by wherein the storage device is to store text-to-speech executable code, and wherein execution of machine-readable instructions of the text-to-speech executable code causes the controller to: convert data of the menu to speech; and cause the audio device to output the speech as disclosed by Seymour. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing the user accessibility browsing by enabling text to speech of the user interface thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20070118861 A1 to Stone and in view of US Pub. No. 20100235745 A1 to Shintani and in further view of US Pub. No. 20130318553 A1 to Yegorov.
As to claim 16, Kang, Stone and Shintani do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is to: in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, enable a text-to-speech executable code to covert data of the settings of the display device to speech and cause an audio device to output the speech.
Yegorov discloses wherein the controller is to: in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, enable a text-to-speech executable code to covert data of the settings of the display device to speech and cause an audio device to output the speech (Yegorov ¶0026, 0032, 0034-0036, 0045, 0047-0048, causing the text to speech converter to convert text into speech in response to the graphically magnified focus elements in the GUI and initiating audible representation of content associated with the focused elements and, the text-to-speech converter 216 may be realized as a module of the processor 210 and/or with appropriate processing logic, hardware, software, firmware, or the like. The text-to-speech converter 216 is suitably configured to convert text into synthesized speech, so that the synthesized speech can be audibly annunciated to the user. If the text is displayed with a GUI element, the text-to-speech converter 216 can translate the displayed text into synthesized speech).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang, Stone and Shintani by wherein the controller is to: in response to determining that the user is visually impaired, enable a text-to-speech executable code to covert data of the settings of the display device to speech and cause an audio device to output the speech as disclosed by Yegorov. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing magnification and audio enhancements by providing text to speech for magnified portions on the user interface thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claim 17, Yegorov discloses wherein the text-to-speech executable code is stored in the storage device of the display device (Yegorov ¶0023, 0026, 0032, 0034-0036, 0045, 0047-0048, the text-to-speech converter 216 may be realized as a module of the processor 210 and/or with appropriate processing logic, hardware, software, firmware, or the like)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of US Pub. No. 20130275895 A1 to Kang in view of US Pub. No. 20200312268 A1 to Nicholson and in further view of US Pub. No. 20120246678 A1 to Barksdale
As to claim 19, Kang and Nicholson do not expressly disclose wherein the controller is to cause the display of the GUI having the scaling by overlaying the GUI on a display image from the electronic device.
Barksdale discloses wherein the controller is to cause the display of the GUI having the scaling by overlaying the GUI on a display image from the electronic device (Barksdale Fig. 1-3 ¶0013, 0033, 0032, 0035, the scalable UI may then scale its overlay onto the video stream based on both the sensed distance and the display size, so that information and UI elements are rendered at the appropriate size for viewing form the sensed distance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang and Nicholson by wherein the controller is to cause the display of the GUI having the scaling by overlaying the GUI on a display image from the electronic device as disclosed by Barksdale. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of providing the GUI that is overlaid on the video that allows the user to simultaneously see the GUI and the video thereby enhancing the user’s experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US Pub. No. 20240126426 A1 to Lee discloses a display module including a touch panel and a display, at least one sensor, to detect an interaction of a user with the electronic device, the at least one sensor being configured to generate a detection signal according to the interaction of the user that is detected by the at least one sensor, and a least one processor electrically to the display module or the at least one sensor module, the at least one processor being configured to suggest one or more customized functions for the user based on information collected in association with the interaction of the user.
-US Pub. No. 20150235084 A1 to Cho disclose determining whether the user is experiencing difficulty visually resolving the content can includes obtaining a visual acuity score based on the obtained one or more facial parameters. Determining whether the user is experiencing difficulty visually resolving the content also includes in response to the visual acuity score exceeding a threshold value, determining that the user is experiencing difficulty visually resolving the content. The threshold value is determined based on historical visual acuity data for the user. The method further includes tracking the visual acuity score of the user over time. The method also includes in response to the visual acuity score continuously exceeding the threshold value for a predetermined length of time, determining that the user is experiencing difficulty visually resolving the content.
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19-21 have been rejected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426