Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/21/25 and 11/8/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sicora et al., United States Patent 10684738 (hereinafter “Sicora”).
Claim 1:
Sicora discloses:
A display method of page contents, comprising:
displaying a current image content in a content browsing page, wherein the current image content is a first content in a content stream (see column 1 lines 64 – column 2 line 4). Sicora teaches displaying a first type of content that is presented in a first content stream or feed;
displaying relevant text information of the current image content in response to an interaction performed by a content browsing user (see column 2 lines 5-21). Sicora teaches displaying associated relevant information of the current content in response to the user interaction; and
displaying a second content different from the first content in the content stream, during a display process of the relevant text information, in response to an interaction performed again by the content browsing user (see column 2 lines 31-43). Sicora teaches displaying the next content item of the stream which is different from the first content item based on a stroll interaction.
Claim 2:
Sicora discloses:
wherein displaying relevant text information of the current image content in response to an interaction performed by a content browsing user comprises:
displaying title information of the current image content in response to a first interaction operation of the content browsing user (see figured 8b). Sicora teaches displaying title information of the content in response to user interaction; and
displaying existing comment information or description information of the current image content in response to a second interaction operation of the content browsing user (see figure 8b). Sicora teaches displaying existing comments/reviews in response to user interaction.
Claim 3:
Sicora discloses:
wherein displaying existing comment information or description information of the current image content in response to a second interaction operation of the content browsing user comprises:
determining whether to display the existing comment information or the description information according to preference information of the content browsing user (see column 70 lines 16-33). Sicora teaches based on the user setting, determining to display comments/summary based on the user interaction.
Claim 4:
Sicora discloses:
wherein during the display process of the relevant text information, in response to an interaction performed again by the content browsing user, displaying a second content in the content stream comprises:
displaying the second content, in response to a bottom of the existing comment information or the description information being reached, and in response to a sliding operation performed again by the content browsing user (see column 2 lines 31-43). Sicora teaches displaying the next content item of the stream which is different from the first content item based on a stroll interaction once the bottom of the description/comment/review is received.
Claim 5:
Sicora discloses:
closing the existing comment information or the description information of the current image content, and displaying the current image content, during the display process of the relevant text information, in response to a third interaction operation of the content browsing user, wherein the third interaction operation is different from the second interaction operation (see column 46 lines 20-33). Sicora teaches collapsing the comment section based on a user interaction and displaying the next post.
Claim 6:
Sicora discloses:
wherein the second interaction operation comprises a sliding operation, and the third interaction operation comprises a clicking operation or a sliding operation in a direction different from that of the second interaction operation (see column 47 lines 13-39). Sicora teaches the user interactions are scrolling and sliding operations.
Claim 7:
Sicora discloses:
wherein displaying relevant text information of the current image content in response to an interaction performed by a content browsing user comprises:
displaying a new page and displaying the relevant text information in the new page, in response to an interaction performed by the content browsing user (see column 115 lines 45-64). Sicora teaches displaying a new page for the relevant content.
Claim 8:
Sicora discloses:
determining the content displayed in the content browsing page according to whether the content browsing page has reached a comment area, in response to the content browsing user selecting a View Comments control (see column 16-30). Sicora teaches access comments in response to a user interaction.
Claim 9:
Sicora discloses:
wherein in response to the content browsing user selecting a View Comments control, determining the content displayed in the content browsing page according to whether the content browsing page has reached a comment area comprises:
displaying the comment area in the content browsing page, in response to the content browsing page being not slid to the comment area (see column 16-30). Sicora teaches accessing comments in response to a user interaction; and
displaying a comment input interface in the content browsing page, in response to the content browsing page being slid to the comment arca (see column 16-30). Sicora teaches allowing a user to input comments through an user interface.
Claim 10:
Sicora discloses:
wherein in response to the content browsing page being not slid to the comment area, displaying the comment area in the content browsing page comprises area (see column 16-30). Sicora teaches accessing comments in response to a user interaction:
sliding the content browsing page to a piece of existing comment information located at a top of the comment area, in response to the current image content having at least one piece of existing comment information (see column 63 lines 16-46). Sicora teaches sliding to see existing comments and reviews.
Claim 11:
Sicora discloses:
displaying a comment input panel in the content browsing page in response to the content browsing user selecting an Input Comments control (see column 16-30). Sicora teaches to provide an improved platform and user interface for users to access/contribute social media content (e.g., user posts, comments); and
Claim 13:
Sicora discloses:
displaying a text input area for inputting description information of an image content to be posted, in a content posting page; and prompting to input title information of the image content to be posted in the text input area, in response to a fourth interaction operation performed by a content posting user on the text input area (see paragraph [0049]). Sicora teaches The GUI includes a field through which the user can enter a textual description for the post, including adding hashtags, emojis, tagging other users, and other features. Multiple fields are presented to the user to input text, titles, descriptions, etc.
Claim 15:
Sicora discloses:
wherein the second content is independent of the first content (see column 2 lines 31-43). Sicora teaches displaying the next content item of the stream which is different from the first content item.
Claim 17, 18:
Although Claim 17 is an apparatus claim and Claim 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sicora, in view of Sanders et al., United States Patent Publication 2013/0332856 (hereinafter “Sanders”).
Claim 12:
Sicora fails to expressly disclose displaying comment information below and adjacent to pinned comment information.
Sanders discloses:
displaying comment information below and adjacent to pinned comment information, in response to the content browsing user inputting the comment information of the current image content (see paragraph [0132]). Sanders teaches the comment is displayed. The comment information is displayed below the comment which identifies the user with date and time.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sicora to include displaying the information below the comment and adjacent to pinned comment information for the purpose of being user friendly for displaying content, as taught by Sanders.
Claim 14:
Sicora fails to expressly disclose displaying comment information below and adjacent to pinned comment information.
Sanders discloses:
enlarging coverage area of the text input area in the content posting page, in response to the content posting user selecting a function of enlarging the text input area (see paragraph [0131). Sanders teaches inputting a comment and enlarging the input section.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sicora to include displaying the an enlarged text area for inputting comments data for the purpose of being user friendly for displaying content, as taught by Sanders.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 8/31/26