DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rail cover” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). (see claims 10 and 19. Note that claims 10 and 19 each claim both “a detachable block cover” which is identified in the specification as “a detachable block cover 142” and claims “the rail cover” which is not identified in the specification by any drawing number. Since both are claimed, presumably the “detachable block cover 142” is not and cannot also be the claimed “rail cover”.) No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
“Guide Module Having A Rack And Driving Device Provided With Same”
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 9, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 30 (line numbers as numbered by Applicant) should be amended to “each of the plurality of unit guide units --further-- comprises”, since parent claim 2 already recites “each of the plurality of unit guide units comprising”.
Claim 9, line 5 (as numbered by Applicant) should be amended to “a plurality of preload bolt--s-- fastened”.
Claim 15, line 30 (as numbered by Applicant) should be amended to “each of the plurality of unit guide units --further-- comprises”, since parent claim 13 already recites “each of the plurality of unit guide units comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 18 each recite “a plurality of preload bolt fastened to the roller support casing and applying a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller, the lower roller, and the side roller.” The specification states “Preload bolts 178 are further applied to the unit guide units 160 of the present embodiment. The preload bolts 178 are fastened to the roller support casing 180 and serve to apply a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller 161, the lower roller 162, and the side roller 163.” The alleged preload bolts 178 are shown in Figs. 13 (reproduced below) and 15. It is unclear how the preload bolts 178 are connected in the driving device, as the preload bolts are never shown connected to other component(s), and furthermore how these bolts 178 apply “a preload” that allows, causes, aids in, or is used for “clearance adjustment”. Even if it is assumed in Figs. 13 and 15 that “preload bolts 178” are inserted into the holes in “roller support casing 180”, the bolts 178 appear incapable of preloading in a way that would allow clearance adjustment of the rollers. The rollers (161, 162, 163) are located away from the preload bolts 178, and so the preload bolts appear incapable of applying a force on the rollers or adjusting the position of the rollers, or otherwise adjusting clearance of the rollers. This is evident from the fact that if the locations of preload bolts 178 shown in Fig. 13 are extrapolated to Fig. 9 (see annotated Fig. 9 hereinbelow), then it appears that the preload bolts 178 do not interact with other parts besides parts 180 in a manner that would appear to apply a preload and in a manner that the applied preload would allow for clearance adjustment of the rollers. Therefore, these claims 9 and 18 contain subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7, 9, 10, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the rail cover" in 13 (as numbered by Applicant). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the rail cover" in 13 (as numbered by Applicant). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
According to MPEP § 2173.03, “a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
Claims 9 and 18 each recite “a plurality of preload bolt fastened to the roller support casing and applying a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller, the lower roller, and the side roller.” The specification states “Preload bolts 178 are further applied to the unit guide units 160 of the present embodiment. The preload bolts 178 are fastened to the roller support casing 180 and serve to apply a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller 161, the lower roller 162, and the side roller 163.” The alleged preload bolts 178 are shown in Figs. 13 (reproduced hereinabove) and 15. It is unclear how the preload bolts 178 are connected in the driving device, as the preload bolts are never shown connected to other component(s), and furthermore how these bolts 178 apply “a preload” that allows, causes, aids in, or is used for “clearance adjustment”. Even if it is assumed in Figs. 13 and 15 that “preload bolts 178” are inserted into the holes in “roller support casing 180”, the bolts 178 appear incapable of preloading in a way that would allow clearance adjustment of the rollers. The rollers (161, 162, 163) are located away from the preload bolts 178, and so the preload bolts appear incapable of applying a force on the rollers or adjusting the position of the rollers, or otherwise adjusting clearance of the rollers. This is evident from the fact that if the locations of preload bolts 178 shown in Fig. 13 are extrapolated to Fig. 9 (see annotated Fig. 9 hereinabove), then it appears that the preload bolts 178 do not interact with other parts besides parts 180 in a manner that would appear to apply a preload and in a manner that the applied preload would allow for clearance adjustment of the rollers. Therefore, claims 9 and 18 are unclear because while the claims require a plurality of preload bolts to apply a preload for clearance adjustment, the structure shown in the drawings and described in the specification appears to be incapable of applying the claimed preload [force] and incapable of adjusting the claimed clearance; this conflict between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain.
The term “opposite” in claims 7 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Claims 7 and 16 each recite “an upper guide fastening plate fastening the upper flat guide at an opposite side of the upper flat guide with the upper coupling hole therebetween” (and each recite similar limitations with the phrase “upper guide” replaced with the phrase “lower guide” and the phrase “side guide”, which are similarly indefinite). With respect to the term “opposite side”, it is unclear of what the “opposite side” is opposite. There is no antecedent term such as “a side of the upper flat guide” such that it could be inferred that the “opposite side of the upper flat guide” is opposite another side of the upper flat guide.
Claims 7 and 16 each recite “an upper guide fastening plate fastening the upper flat guide at an opposite side of the upper flat guide with the upper coupling hole therebetween” (and each recite similar limitations with the phrase “upper guide” replaced with the phrase “lower guide” and the phrase “side guide”, which are similarly indefinite). It is unclear what component is fastened by the upper guide fastening plate, and furthermore unclear to what other component that component is fastened. Grammatically, the limitation appears to require that the upper flat guide is fastened by the upper guide fastening plate to an opposite side of the upper flat guide. In other words, the limitation appears to require the upper flat guide be fastened to itself (since the “opposite side of the upper flat guide” is a portion of “the upper flat guide”). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim “an upper guide fastening plate fastened to the upper flat guide at an opposite [sic] side of the upper flat guide” (Note this would still be indefinite due to the word “opposite”, unless the claim is also revised to make clear of what the opposite side is opposite”). Furthermore, the Examiner notes that a “hole” is inherently an absence of material, and so the upper flat guide cannot be fastened “with the upper coupling hole”; although the upper flat guide could be fastened “in” the upper coupling hole, or the upper flat guide could be fastened to the component in which the upper coupling hole is located.
Claims 7 and 16 each recite “an upper guide fastening plate fastening the upper flat guide at an opposite side of the upper flat guide with the upper coupling hole therebetween” (and each recite similar limitations with the phrase “upper guide” replaced with the phrase “lower guide” and the phrase “side guide”, which are similarly indefinite). It is unclear between what two components the “therebetween” refers. For example, it is unclear whether the upper coupling hole is located between the upper guide fastening plate and the upper flat guide, or is more specifically located between the upper guide fastening plate and the opposite side of the upper flat guide.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 10, 11, 19, and 20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (KR20180104824A (cited by Applicant); US2021/0276600 relied upon as translation).
Lim discloses:
Re claim 1
A driving device (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a rack (110) formed in at least any one combination of a straight rack portion of a straight type and a curved rack portion of a curved type (Figs. 1, 2);
a pinion (100) interacting with the rack (110) and moving along a straight or curved trajectory of the rack (para. [0043]);
a moving unit (120) connected to the pinion and moving along the trajectory of the rack with the pinion; and
a guide module (130) connected to the moving unit and guiding a movement of the moving unit that moves along the trajectory of the rack (Figs. 1-3),
wherein the guide module comprises:
a pair of module rails (140), each comprising a rail block (140 in Figs. 6-8) and arranged on one side of the rack forming a same trajectory as the rack (Figs. 1-3; para. [000]-[0007]); and
a pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies (150) connected (Fig. 4) to the moving unit (120) forming one body with the pinion (Fig. 4), one of which being movably coupled to each of the pair of module rails (Fig. 2-7), and moving along the trajectory of each of the pair of module rails and guiding the movement of the moving unit to prevent occurrence of slipping (Figs. 1-7; para. [0008]-[0009]).
Re claim 12
A guide module (130) arranged in at least any one side of a rack (110) that interacts with a pinion (100), connected to a moving unit (120) that moves along a trajectory of the rack with the pinion, and guiding a movement of the moving unit, the guide module comprising:
a pair of module rails (140), each including a rail block and arranged on one side of the rack (110) forming a same trajectory as the rack (Figs. 1-3; para. [000]-[0007]); and
a pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies (150) connected to the moving unit forming one body with the pinion, one of which being movably coupled to each of the pair of module rails, and moving along the trajectory of the module rail and guiding the movement of the moving unit to prevent occurrence of slipping (Figs. 1-7; para. [0008]-[0009]).
Re claims 10 and 19, as best understood
each of the pair of module rails further comprises
a detachable block cover (175)(component 175 covers a portion of rail block 140 as it is moved along rail block 140) covering and protecting the rail block (140) and detachably coupled to the rail cover (172) (component 172 covers a portion of the rail block 140 as it is moved along the rail block 140).
Re claims 11 and 20
the pair of module rails (140) are arranged on both sides of the rack (110) with the rack therebetween.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 8, 13-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR20180104824A (cited by Applicant); US2021/0276600 relied upon as translation) in view of Kim (KR101532641; cited by Applicant).
Re claim 2
Lim further discloses the pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies (150) have an identical structure (see Figs. 3-5), and each of the pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies comprises a plurality of unit guide units, each of the plurality of unit guide units comprising an upper roller (one of 161 on one side of rail 140; see Fig. 5), a lower roller (one of 161 on other side of rail 140; see Fig. 5), which are respectively guided in rolling contact with all of an upper surface and a lower surface, but does not disclose a side roller guided in rolling contact with a side surface of the rail block.
Kim teaches a side roller (312) guided in rolling contact with a side surface of the rail block, for the purpose of improving driving stability (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Lim such that a side roller is guided in rolling contact with a side surface of the rail block, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of improving driving stability.
Re claim 13
Lim further discloses the pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies (150) have an identical structure (see Figs. 3-5), and each of the pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies comprises a plurality of unit guide units, each of the plurality of unit guide units comprising an upper roller (one of 161 on one side of rail 140; see Fig. 5), a lower roller (one of 161 on other side of rail 140; see Fig. 5), which are respectively guided in rolling contact with all of an upper surface and a lower surface, but does not disclose a side roller guided in rolling contact with a side surface of the rail block, and a unit connection portion (180) that connects the plurality of unit guide units into one body to allow the plurality of unit guide units to perform a relative movement or a relative rotation (unit guide units will relatively rotate as guided around curved track such as seen in Fig. 1) on the rail block.
Kim teaches a side roller (312) guided in rolling contact with a side surface of the rail block, for the purpose of improving driving stability (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Lim such that a side roller guided in rolling contact with a side surface of the rail block, as taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of improving driving stability.
Lim as modified above further suggests:
Re claim 3
each of the pair of slipping prevention guide assemblies further comprises a unit connection portion (180) that connects the plurality of unit guide units into one body to allow the plurality of unit guide units to perform a relative movement or a relative rotation (unit guide units will relatively rotate as guided around curved track such as seen in Fig. 1) on the rail block.
Re claim 4
the unit connection portion comprises:
a main unit body (180) connected to a pair of unit guide units (one of components 162 in combination with its respective subcomponents 161) arranged in a middle among the plurality of unit guide units; and
a plurality of individual unit connectors (162, compare to 192 in instant application), each individually connecting each pair of unit guide units arranged on one side and another side among the plurality of unit guide units.
Re claim 5
the unit connection portion further comprises:
a pair of center bearings respectively coupled to both sides of the main unit body (180);
a plurality of side bearings (167, 168, 177, 178) respectively provided at center portions of the individual unit connectors (162); and
a pair of link arms (166, 176), both end portions of each of which are respectively coupled to each of the plurality of center bearings and each of the plurality of side bearings to be capable of free rotation.
Re claim 14
The guide module of claim 13, wherein
the unit connection portion comprises:
a main unit body (180) connected to a pair of unit guide units (one of components 162 in combination with its respective subcomponents 161) arranged in a middle among the plurality of unit guide units;
a plurality of individual unit connectors (162, compare to 192 in instant application), each individually connecting each pair of unit guide units arranged in one side and another side among the plurality of unit guide units;
a pair of center bearings respectively coupled to both sides of the main unit body (180);
a plurality of side bearings (167, 168, 177, 178) respectively provided at center portions of the individual unit connectors (162); and
a pair of link arms (166, 176), both end portions of each of which are respectively coupled to each of the plurality of center bearings and each of the plurality of side bearings to be capable of free rotation.
Re claims 6 and 15
each of the plurality of unit guide units comprises:
a roller support casing rotatably supporting the upper roller, the lower roller, and the side roller (See Fig. 1 in Kim);
an upper flat guide (see flat portion next to roller of structure supporting one of the rollers (3A, 33B, 312, 314) in Kim) having a flat shape, connected to the upper roller to prevent slipping when the upper roller rolls on an upper surface of the rail block, and connected to an upper coupling hole of the roller support casing with adjustable clearance (See annotated Fig. 3 from Kim below, note that a similar structural arrangement may be made for each of the upper roller, lower roller, and side roller);
a lower flat guide (see flat portion next to roller of structure supporting another one of the rollers (3A, 33B, 312, 314) in Kim) having a flat shape, connected to the lower roller to prevent slipping when the lower roller rolls on a lower surface of the rail block, and connected to a lower coupling hole of the roller support casing with adjustable clearance (See annotated Fig. 3 from Kim below, note that a similar structural arrangement may be made for each of the upper roller, lower roller, and side roller); and
a side flat guide (see flat portion next to roller of structure supporting another one of the rollers (3A, 33B, 312, 314) in Kim) having a flat shape, connected to the side roller to prevent slipping when the side roller rolls on a side surface of the rail block, and connected to a side coupling hole of the roller support casing with adjustable clearance (See annotated Fig. 3 from Kim below, note that a similar structural arrangement may be made for each of the upper roller, lower roller, and side roller).
Re claims 8 and 17
each of the plurality of unit guide units further comprises:
an upper guide assembly portion assembling the upper roller and the upper flat guide (See annotated Fig. 3 from Kim below, note that a similar structural arrangement may be made for each of the upper roller, lower roller, and side roller);
a lower guide assembly portion assembling the lower roller and the lower flat guide (See annotated Fig. 3 from Kim below, note that a similar structural arrangement may be made for each of the upper roller, lower roller, and side roller); and
a side guide assembly portion assembling the side roller and the side flat guide (See annotated Fig. 3 from Kim below, note that a similar structural arrangement may be made for each of the upper roller, lower roller, and side roller).
Claim(s) 7, 9, 16, and 18, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR20180104824A (cited by Applicant); US2021/0276600 relied upon as translation) in view of Kim (KR101532641; cited by Applicant), and further in view of Preez (US4,825,771).
Re claims 7 and 16, as best understood
each of the plurality of unit guide units further comprises:
an upper guide fastening plate fastening the upper flat guide at an opposite side of the upper flat guide with the upper coupling hole therebetween (see annotated Fig. 3 from Kim hereinbelow. Note that since there are three different claimed rollers, similar supporting structure may be used for each of the claimed rollers, and so components are only labeled for one of the rollers for simplicity);
a lower guide fastening plate fastening the lower flat guide at an opposite side of the lower flat guide with the lower coupling hole therebetween (see annotated Fig. 3 from Kim hereinbelow);
a side guide fastening plate fastening the side flat guide at an opposite side of the side flat guide with the side coupling hole therebetween (see annotated Fig. 3 from Kim hereinbelow); and
Lim as modified above does not disclose a plurality of fastening bolts fastening corresponding ones of the upper guide fastening plate and the upper flat guide, the lower guide fastening plate and the lower flat guide, and the side guide fastening plate and the side flat guide.
Preez teaches a plurality of fastening bolts (17b) fastening corresponding ones of the upper guide fastening plate and the upper flat guide, the lower guide fastening plate and the lower flat guide, and the side guide fastening plate and the side flat guide (See annotated Fig. 3 of Preez hereinbelow, see annotated Fig. 3 of Kim hereinabove; see C2/L30-36), for the purpose of removably mounting the rollers (C2/L30-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Lim such that a plurality of fastening bolts fastening corresponding ones of the upper guide fastening plate and the upper flat guide, the lower guide fastening plate and the lower flat guide, and the side guide fastening plate and the side flat guide, as taught by Preez, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of removably mounting the rollers.
Re claims 9 and 18, as best understood
Lim as modified above does not disclose each of the plurality of unit guide units further comprises: a plurality of preload bolt [sic] fastened to the roller support casing and applying a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller, the lower roller, and the side roller.
Preez teaches each of the plurality of unit guide units further comprises: a plurality of preload bolt [sic] (17b) fastened to the roller support casing (indirectly fastened) and applying a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller (tightening the bolt 17b more will apply a stronger preload and loosening bolt 17b will apply a weaker preload, and a stronger preload will slightly change the position of the roller 17 versus a weaker preload ), the lower roller, and the side roller (rollers 17), for the purpose of removably mounting the rollers (C2/L30-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Lim such that each of the plurality of unit guide units further comprises: a plurality of preload bolt [sic] fastened to the roller support casing and applying a preload for clearance adjustment of the upper roller, the lower roller, and the side roller, as taught by Preez, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of removably mounting the rollers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fanshawe (US2013/0192487) discloses a track system having a rack that has straight and curved portions and rollers.
/GREGORY T PRATHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3618