DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hiyoshi (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2002/0057426).
With respect to claim 1, Hiyoshi discloses and illustrates an inertial measurement apparatus comprising: an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (2A) that detects angular velocity and acceleration (angular velocity sensor 26a and acceleration sensor 27); an IMU fixing substrate (23) having a recess in which the IMU is embedded and fixed (see at least figure 4); and a part that functions as a lid (24) of the recess (see at least figure 4).
With respect to claim 2, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the part that functions as the lid of the recess is a control IC (100 or 28; see at least figure 4).
With respect to claim 3, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the part that functions as the lid of the recess is a substrate (24) on which the IMU fixing substrate is disposed (see at least figure 4).
With respect to claim 8, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the IMU fixing substrate has the recess on an upper surface (see at least figure 4).
With respect to claim 10, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the IMU fixing substrate has the recess on at least either an upper surface or a lower surface (see at least figure 4).
With respect to claim 11, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein one the IMU is embedded and fixed in the recess of the IMU fixing substrate.
With respect to claim 12, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein two the IMUs are embedded and fixed in the recess of the IMU fixing substrate (see at least figure 4).
With respect to claim 13, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein four the IMUs are embedded and fixed in the recess of the IMU fixing substrate (see at least figures 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 14, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one or more the IMUs are embedded and fixed in the recess of the IMU fixing substrate (see at least figures 4 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, and 9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiyoshi.
With respect to claim 4, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the part that functions as the lid of the recess is a label in a form of a sheet is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. However, Hiyoshi does appear to disclose some sort of label on the inertial measurement unit (see the dashed-out lines in Figure 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a label on the sensor in order to easily identify the component when a sensor assembly is being constructed.
With respect to claim 5, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the part that functions as the lid of the recess is a control IC in a case where the recess is smaller than the control IC, and the part that functions as the lid of the recess is a label in a form of a sheet in a case where the recess is larger than the control IC is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. . However, Hiyoshi does appear to disclose some sort of label on the inertial measurement unit (see the dashed-out lines in Figure 4). Further, Hiyoshi appears to disclose the components are all appropriately sized in order to provide a sealed sensor space. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide components sized and arranged in order to provide a robust sealed sensor that would be protected from environmental effects.
With respect to claim 7, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the IMU fixing substrate has the recess on both an upper surface and a lower surface is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. However, Hiyoshi shows that the bonding member has a similar shape on both sides, basically the shape of an octagon O-ring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a recess on both the upper and lower surface in order to allow an easier senso construction as the bonding member could be used equally in either orientation to assemble the IMU.
With respect to claim 9, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the IMU fixing substrate has the recess on a lower surface is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. However, Hiyoshi shows that the bonding member has a similar shape on both sides, basically the shape of an octagon O-ring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a recess on both the upper and lower surface in order to allow an easier senso construction as the bonding member could be used equally in either orientation to assemble the IMU.
Claim(s) 6, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiyoshi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohta (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0043550).
With respect to claim 6, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the IMU fixing substrate is a ceramic substrate is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. Hiyoshi is silent as to the material of the substrate. However, the use of ceramics for substrates is relatively well known in the art. However, Ohta teaches the use of a ceramic substrate (100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a ceramic substrate as taught in Ohta with the system of Hiyoshi to provide a well known and strong substrate material that is easy to machine and manufacture.
With respect to claim 15, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in addition to the IMU, another sensor is embedded and fixed in the recess of the IMU fixing substrate is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. However, Ohta teaches that while the angular velocity senso is disclosed, other sensor types may also be in the housing (see at least paragraph [0141] of Ohta). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to include additional sensor types as disclosed in Ohta with the system of Hiyoshi in order to enable the measurement of other properties, thus providing a more robust and more useful sensor.
With respect to claim 16, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 15, wherein another sensor includes an atmospheric pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a humidity sensor is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. However, Ohta teaches that while the angular velocity senso is disclosed, other sensor types, such as a temperature and humidity sensor, may also be in the housing (see at least paragraph [0141] of Ohta). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to include additional sensor types as disclosed in Ohta with the system of Hiyoshi in order to enable the measurement of other properties, thus providing a more robust and more useful sensor.
With respect to claim 17, the inertial measurement apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the part that functions as the lid of the recess forms a gap with the recess is not explicitly disclosed in Hiyoshi. However, Ohta teaches a housing arrangement wherein there is a gap in the housing by a recess (see at least Figure 1 of Ohta). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the arrangement of the lid to the rest of the sensor as taught Ohta with the system of Hiyoshi in order to allow a better arrangement so that the sensor interior can be serviced or parts can be replaced easier as there is more room to work with in the sensor interior.
Conclusion
/RODNEY T FRANK/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
July 11, 2026