DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, Examiner respectfully suggests amending the limitation “fusion-bopndability” in line 6 to “fusion-bondability”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (CN1840567A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a method for producing a molded article of thermoplastic resin expanded beads (“method for producing polypropylene-based expanded beads (hereinafter sometimes referred to as expanded particles), a polypropylene-based resin expanded particle molded body (hereinafter sometimes referred to as a molded body), and a molded body obtained by the method”- see pg. 1 line 18-21), the method comprising:
filling a molding cavity of a mold having a cracking gap with thermoplastic resin expanded beads having a foamed layer (“The adjustment of the compression ratio can be carried out by filling the amount of the expanded particles larger than the cavity volume when the expanded particles are filled into the cavity (cavity)… When the water vapor is introduced, the crack is finally closed, and as a result, the filled expanded particles are compressed, and the crack refers to the opening portion of the forming die which cannot 48 completely close the forming die”- see pg. 16 line 42-49);
completely closing the mold (“When the water vapor is introduced, the crack is finally closed, and as a result, the filled expanded particles are compressed, and the crack refers to the opening portion of the forming die which cannot completely close the forming die.”- see pg. 16 line 46-49); and
supplying steam into the molding cavity to thereby fusion-bond the thermoplastic resin expanded beads to each other (“after the foamed particles are filled in a mold which can be sealed but not sealed, water vapor is introduced into the mold to heat the foamed particles to be foamed and fused to each other, thereby obtaining a shape corresponding to the shape of the forming space”- see pg. 15 line 32-35 and “When the compression ratio is less than 4% by volume, if the particles to which the internal 34 pressure of the expanded particles is applied are not used, the fusion between the expanded 35 particles formed by the in-mold is insufficient, and the void ratio of 0 to 11% by volume 36 cannot be obtained”- see pg. 16 line 34-37),
wherein the thermoplastic resin expanded beads each have a columnar shape (“The so-called spheres in the present invention include a spherical shape, an elliptical shape, an oblong shape, a prism, a cylinder, a square, a rectangular parallelepiped, a cone, a pyramid, a truncated cone, a truncated cone, etc.”- see pg. 6 line 22-24) and have
in cut surface obtained by cutting the thermoplastic resin expanded bead at a center in an axial direction along a plane perpendicular to the axial direction (the cut surface is to be interpreted as a cross-section of the thermoplastic resin expanded bead; “As shown in Fig. 1, at the center of the straight line (length L) connecting the one end 2a and the other end 2b of the through hole 2, the respective expanded particles are cut on the vertical plane of the straight line to obtain an outer portion. An annular section of the rounded edge B1 and the inner rounded edge B2”- see pg. 7 line 4-7), a ratio Ca/A of an average cross-sectional area Ca per one defective portion to an average cross-sectional area A of the thermoplastic resin expanded bead is 0.0064 to 0.16 (“The expanded beads of the present invention have a maximum diameter D0 (mm) defined below, an average cell diameter LCV in the radial direction, a circumferential average cell diameter LCH, and a through hole diameter HD (mm), and… [t]he ratio of HD/D0 is 0.08 to 0.4”- see pg. 6 line 43-46; HD and D0 are diameters and when converting from a ratio of diameters to a ratio of cross-sectional areas the diameter is squared as shown below:
[(HD/2)2π]/[(D0/2)2π] = (HD/D0)2
And the ratio of cross-sectional areas would then range from 0.082 to 0.42 which equals to 0.0064 to 0.16), and a ratio Ct/A of a total cross-sectional area Ct of the defective portion to the average cross- sectional area A of the expanded bead (the total cross-sectional area Ct is interpreted as the summation of the cross-sectional areas of the defective portions and when there is only one defective portion that is present in the expanded bead then the total cross-sectional area Ct is equivalent to the average cross-sectional area Ca per one defective portion) is 0.0064 to 0.16 (see calculation for ratio Ca/A above), and
when the mold is completely closed, a filling rate F of the thermoplastic resin expanded beads represented by Formula (1) is 125%:
F= {a/(b x c)} x 100 (1)
where a represents a mass in kg of the thermoplastic resin expanded beads filled in the mold, b represents a bulk density in kg/m3 of the thermoplastic resin expanded beads, and c represents a capacity in m3 of the molding cavity (“the target molded body can be obtained by the following method, in which the foamed particles are filled into the forming mold at a compression ratio of 4 to 25% by volume”- see pg. 16 line 29-32 and “The compression ratio in the present specification can be obtained by the following formula 1 (11). In the formula, a is the weight (g) of the expanded beads filled in the forming mold, b is the bulk density (g/L) of the expanded particles, and c is the forming in-mold volume (L). Compression ratio (%) = [(a / (b × c)) - 1] × 100 (11)”; Compression ratio (%) = F- 100% and therefore F= Compression ratio (%) + 100%. A compression ratio of 4% converts to a filling rate of 104% and a compression ratio of 25% converts to a filling rate of 125%).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a ratio of an apparent density of the thermoplastic resin expanded beads to the bulk density of the thermoplastic resin expanded beads is 1.6 to 2.1 (“In the method of the present invention, the ratio (Dt/Db) of the apparent density Dt (g/L) to the bulk density Db (g/L) is preferably 1.6 to 2.6, more preferably 1.6 to 2.1”- see pg. 15 line 47-48).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the thermoplastic resin expanded beads each have a through hole as the defective portion (see through hole 2 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the foamed layer includes a thermoplastic resin which is a polyolefin-based resin (“Here, the propylene-based random copolymer and the propylene-based block copolymer refer to a copolymer of propylene and another comonomer having a propylene component of 60% by mole or more. Examples of the other comonomer copolymerizable with propylene include an α-olefin other than propylene such as ethylene, 1-butene, 1-pentene or 1-hexene”- see pg. 10 line 18-22).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the foamed laver includes a thermoplastic resin which is an ethylene-propylene random copolymer (“Further, the propylene random copolymer may be a 2-member copolymer such as a propylene-ethylene random copolymer, a propylene-butene random copolymer or a propylene-ethylene random copolymer, or may be a propylene-ethylene-butene”- see pg. 10 line 26-29) having an ethylene component amount of 0.5 mass% to 10 mass% (“The proportion of the comonomer component other than propylene in the copolymer is 0.05 to 15% by weight, particularly preferably 0.1 to 10% by weight”- see pg. 10 line 32-33).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bulk density of the thermoplastic resin expanded beads is 18 kg/m3 to 150 kg/m3 (see Db- in examples 1-7 under Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki teaches the method claim 1, wherein the molded article has a voidage of 0% to 11% (“According to the present invention, since the molded body is produced by the above-described method, a molded body having a void ratio of 0 to 11% by volume can be obtained”- see pg. 17 line 7-8).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the filling is performed using the thermoplastic resin expanded beads to which an internal pressure is not applied (“a molded body having a void ratio of 0 to 11% by volume can be obtained without subjecting the expanded particles to a pressure treatment”- see pg. 17 line 8-9).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the filling is performed using the thermoplastic resin expanded beads to which an internal pressure of less than 0.1 MPa (G) is applied (A pressure of zero is applied as noted in the rejection of claim 10 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (CN1840567A- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Tagaki et al. (US20210300005).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1. While Sasaki teaches a mold with a cracking gap is filled with molding material before the crack is finally closed (see pg. 16 line 46-49), Sasaki fails to teach wherein an average length LA of the molding cavity in an opening/closing direction of the mold is 10 mm or more and 200 mm or less, the average length LA being represented by Formula (2):
LA= V/S (2) where V represents a capacity in mm3 of the molding cavity in a state where the mold is completely closed, and S represents a projected area in mm2 when the molding cavity is projected in the opening/closing direction of the mold.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a method for producing a molded article of thermoplastic resin expanded beads (Abstract: A laminated article includes a thermoplastic resin expanded beads molded layer), Takagi teaches an average length LA of the molding cavity in an opening/closing direction of the mold is 25 to 55 mm ([0102] The expanded beads A and the expanded beads B were subjected to integral molding using a mold having a mold cavity having a longitudinal length of 250 mm, a lateral length of 200 mm and a thickness of 50 mm. First, with the dimension of the mold cavity in the thickness direction being made 45 mm, the expanded beads A were filled thereinto. The mold was then closed such that the dimension in the thickness direction became 40 mm, [0105] The expanded beads A were subjected to in-mold molding using a mold having a mold cavity having a longitudinal length of 250 mm, a lateral length of 200 mm and a thickness of 50 mm. With the dimension of the mold cavity in the thickness direction being made 55 mm, the expanded beads A were filled thereinto, [0106] The expanded beads B were subjected to in-mold molding using a mold having a mold cavity having a longitudinal length of 250 mm, a lateral length of 200 mm and a thickness of 20 mm. With the dimension of the mold cavity in the thickness direction being made 25 mm; the capacity V is interpreted as the cross-sectional area S times the mold cavity thickness such that LA is equal to the length of the molding cavity. Takagi teaches lengths of 25, 40, 50, and 55 mm).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an average length LA of the molding cavity in an opening/closing direction of the mold of Sasaki be from 25 mm to 55 mm, as taught by Takagi, to achieve the predictable result of forming a molded article comprising thermoplastic resin expanded beads by a crack filling method. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the molded article of Sasaki to be formed using the average length LA of Takagi, since both Sasaki and Takagi are directed to forming articles based on poly-olefin expanded beads by a crack filling method (see rejection of claim 1 above and Takagi teaches [0092] the mold being closed after completion of the filling to mechanically compress the expanded beads (cracking filling method), may be adopted to the extent that the secondary expansion force of the expanded beads is not excessively increased), which would lead one of ordinary skill to look to related art for average lengths of the molding cavity to form articles with poly-olefin expanded beads using the crack filling method.
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki teaches the method of claim 1. While Sasaki teaches a polypropylene resin or thermoplastic resin other than a polypropylene resin may be added to the thermoplastic resin expanded beads when the molded article is also required to have flexibility (“Further, when the molded article is also required to have flexibility, it is preferable to add a polypropylene-based artificial rubber such as ethylene-propylene rubber to the base resin in an amount of 5 to 40% by weight. In the present invention, a thermoplastic resin other than a polypropylene resin or a thermoplastic elastomer may be added to the polypropylene resin”- see pg. 11 line 4-7), Sasaki fails to teach the additional thermoplastic resin is a fusion-bondability improving layer covering the foamed layer and including a fusion-bondability improving layer base resin.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a method for producing a molded article of thermoplastic resin expanded beads, Takagi teaches a fusion-bondability improving layer covering the foamed layer ([0008] [1] A laminated article comprising an expanded beads molded layer A comprised of a base polymer including a thermoplastic resin, and an expanded beads molded layer B laminated and bonded to said expanded beads molded layer A and comprised of a base polymer including a thermoplastic elastomer and [0040] When the thermoplastic resin of the molded layer A is a polyolefin-based resin, TPO is preferably used as TPE of the molded layer B. Even when the thermoplastic resin of the molded layer A is a polypropylene-based resin, the molded layer B of TPO may be thermally fusion-bonded to the molded layer A). The top layer of Takagi allows for multiple layers to be simultaneously molded, laminated, and bonded such that productivity is improved ([0040] by performing the molding of the molded layer A and the molding of the molded layer B successively in one molding mold, it is possible to integrally laminate and bond the molded layer A and the molded layer B together, so that the productivity is improved).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the additional thermoplastic resin of Sasaki be a fusion-bondability improving layer covering the foamed layer, as taught by Takagi, for the benefit of forming laminated molds with improved productivity.
Regarding claim 11, Tagaki teaches the method of claim 1. While Tagaki teaches a compression ratio, Tagaki fails to teach the maximum value of the compression rate is represented by the formula Pmax = (δ/Lmin) x 100 (3) where δ represents a dimension in mm of the cracking gap of the mold, and Lmin represents a minimum value in mm of a length of the molding cavity in an opening/closing direction of the mold when the mold is completely closed, and that a maximum value of Pmax is 25% or more and 120% or less.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a method for producing a molded article of thermoplastic resin expanded beads, Takagi teaches δ = 45 mm and Lmin= 40 mm ([0102] The expanded beads A and the expanded beads B were subjected to integral molding using a mold having a mold cavity having a longitudinal length of 250 mm, a lateral length of 200 mm and a thickness of 50 mm. First, with the dimension of the mold cavity in the thickness direction being made 45 mm, the expanded beads A were filled thereinto. The mold was then closed such that the dimension in the thickness direction became 40 mm) to yield a compression rate Pmax of 113%.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the method of Tagaki to have a compression rate of 113%, as taught by Takagi, to achieve the predictable result of forming a molded article comprising thermoplastic resin expanded beads by a crack filling method. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the molded article of Sasaki to be formed using the average length LA of Takagi, since both Sasaki and Takagi are directed to forming articles based on poly-olefin expanded beads by a crack filling method (see rejection of claim 1 above and Takagi teaches [0092] the mold being closed after completion of the filling to mechanically compress the expanded beads (cracking filling method), may be adopted to the extent that the secondary expansion force of the expanded beads is not excessively increased), which would lead one of ordinary skill to look to related art for average lengths of the molding cavity to form articles with poly-olefin expanded beads using the crack filling method.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/841,513 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of reference application teaches the limitations included in claims 1, 2, and 11 of instant application.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of reference application.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of reference application.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of reference application.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of reference application.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of reference application.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of reference application.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of reference application.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743