Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are pending. Claims 8-12 and 14 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 and 13 are rejected.
Priority
This is a 35 U.S.C. 371 National Stage Filing of International Application No.
, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a-d) to
. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 9/2/2024 and 7/10/2025 were considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 2, 5, and 13 and the species of compound 125:
in the reply filed on 9/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the “claimed inventions form a single technical chain”, “Groups I and II are intermediate and final products that have unity of invention” and “Examiner’s a posteriori reasoning does not show that the shared special technical feature lacks a contribution over WO92/19211”. Upon further consideration, Examiner is combining Groups “I and II” and Groups “III and IV” into two distinct groups, instead of four.
Claims 1-6 and 13 embrace applicant’s elected species and are therefore under examination. The elected species and claim 13 are free of the prior art. As per MPEP 803.02, “Following election, the Markush claim will be examined fully with respect to the elected species and further to the extent necessary to determine patentability.” The search was expanded to include the species rejected under 35 USC 102 and 103 below.
Claims 8-12 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/28/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 should read: “A fused quinonoxime imidazole derivative or a hydrochloride thereof,”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 should read: “A fused quinonoxime imidazole derivative or the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, p. 3, line 11 refers to “the substituents”, within the Ra, Rb, and Rc definition. It is unclear if such substituents refer to solely the Ra, Rb, and Rc substitutions or also to the group B substitutions. On p. 2, lines 13-14, the substituents for ring A, as well as in the R1-R4, are defined. The group B substituents on p. 2 are not explicitly defined and are currently open to the interpretation that substituents can be any chemical moiety. Examiner recommends clarifying this issue.
Claims 2, 5, and 13 are additionally rejected for depending from claim 1 and failing to remedy the deficiencies.
Claim 3, p. 5, line 10 refers to “the substituents”, within the Ra, Rb, and Rc definition. It is unclear if such substituents refer to solely the Ra, Rb, and Rc substitutions or also to the group B substitutions. On p. 4 of claim 3, the substituents for ring A, as well as in the R1-R4, are defined. The group B substituents on p. 4 are not explicitly defined and are currently open to the interpretation that substituents can be any chemical moiety. Examiner recommends clarifying this issue.
Claims 4 and 6 are additionally rejected for depending from claim 3 and failing to remedy the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the following limitations which do not correctly depend from claim 1:
P. 3, lines 13-15 of claim 2 recite: “-O-lower linear/branched alkyl, -S-lower linear/branched alkyl, -acyl, and -acyl substituted by lower alkyl” describing R3 possibilities;
P. 4, line 1 recites: “-CN” and line 2 recites: “-CO2Ra” describing R4 possibilities.
The above limitations are not embraced by claim 1 definitions of either R3 nor R4.
Claim 4 recites the following limitations which do not correctly depend from claim 3:
P. 5, lines 12-14 of claim 4 recite: “-O-lower linear/branched alkyl, -S-lower linear/branched alkyl, -acyl, and -acyl substituted by lower alkyl” describing R3 possibilities;
P. 5, line 15 recites: “-CN” and line 16 recites: “-CO2Ra” describing R4 possibilities.
The above limitations are not embraced by claim 3 definitions of either R3 nor R4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koh et al. (WO92/19211).
Regarding instant claims 3, 4, and 6, Koh teaches the following fused quinonoxime imidazolium derivative on p. 36:
, drawn to the following structure
, which is embraced by a compound of instant Formula (III):
, wherein A = benzene; R4 = lower alkyl substituted by:
; R1 = methyl (lower alkyl); R3 = propyl (lower alkyl). Koh additionally teaches the following regarding solid compositions: “For preparing solid composition, the active compound is mixed with an excipient or a carrier such as magnesium stearate, dicalcium phosphate ….” (see p. 17, lines 3-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (WO92/19211), as applied above to claims 3, 4, and 6, in view of Paulekuhn et al. (J. Med. Chem. 2007, 50, 6665-6672).
Koh teaches the following fused quinonoxime imidazolium derivative on p. 36:
, drawn to the following structure
, which is similar to a compound of instant Formula (I):
, wherein A = benzene; R4 = lower alkyl substituted by:
; R1 = methyl (lower alkyl); R3 = propyl (lower alkyl). Koh additionally teaches the following regarding solid compositions: “For preparing solid composition, the active compound is mixed with an excipient or a carrier such as magnesium stearate, dicalcium phosphate ….” (see p. 17, lines 3-7). The prior art compound is not a salt (and no specific “X-“/anion) but the “core” structure shown supra is embraced by the instant fused quinonoxime imidazolium derivative.
Paulekuhn et al. teach that: “Salt formation is a well-known technique to modify and optimize the physical chemical properties of an ionizable research or development compound. Properties such as solubility, dissolution rate, hygroscopicity, stability, impurity profiles, and crystal habit can be influenced by using a variety of pharmaceutically acceptable counterions” (see p. 6665, left column). Table 6, truncated by the examiner for space, shows a wide variety of anions utilized in salt formation:
, including halide ions and sulfate.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, and 5, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to arrive at the instant claims, prior to the effective filing date. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the compound of Koh with the teachings of Paulekuhn for the following reasons:
Properties of beneficial compounds can be enhanced by salt formation;
A wide variety of anions, including chloride and iodide, are known to form useful salts with improved properties such as solubility and stability (see Paulehun p. 6665, left column and Table 6).
A skilled artisan would have arrived at the instant claims in an effort to provide compounds with improved utility, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626