DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, page 6 of the remarks filed 5/20/2026, have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to arguments, page 6; Applicant contends, essentially, that:
Examiner disagrees, please note that the rejection to independent claim 1 has been revised (using the same prior art – Yamada) to clarify or expand on citations in the previous Office action, particular clarification about what constitutes the ferromagnetic layer and the non-magnetic conductive metal layer, for example.
A visual illustration where the Description of Yamada discloses the layers as structurally claimed has been included below to improve clarity. Examiner believes each and every element as claimed are in fact taught by Yamada, including wherein the layers are laminated together. As it stands, the current recitation of the features Applicant argues as not being taught, has not gone far enough to overcome Yamada under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Examiner suggests including a more positive recitation that further limit the structure of the different layers relative to one another, in such a way that is firmly distinct from Yamada – if so intended.
Additionally, Examiner appreciates the production of Drawings to facilitate examination. The Drawing objection presented in previous Action is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada JP-2010206182 (English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses an electromagnetic wave shielding material (see annotated Description (1) below) having a structure (structure as shown in Fig 1, for example) in which at least one ferromagnetic layer (layer 2, Fig 1) and at least one non-magnetic conductive metal layer (layer 1, Fig 1) are laminated together (see annotated Description (2) below), wherein the electromagnetic wave shielding material further comprises a treated film (such as laminated film, see annotated Description (3) below) containing an alloy comprising copper (see annotated Description (4) below) and nickel (see annotated Description (5) below) on at least one surface of the non-magnetic conductive metal layer (see annotated Description (4), (5) below).
(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
Regarding claim 2, Yamada discloses the electromagnetic wave shielding material according to claim 1, wherein the structure has ferromagnetic layers laminated via at least two non-magnetic conductive metal layers (see Fig 1 where ferromagnetic layer-2 is laminated by conductive layer-1 on top and bottom).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada discloses the electromagnetic wave shielding material according to claim 1, wherein at least one outermost layer is the non-magnetic conductive metal layer (as depicted in Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada discloses the electromagnetic wave shielding material according to claim 1, wherein the alloy contained in the treated layer further comprises cobalt (see annotated Description (5) above).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada discloses a covering material or an exterior
material for electrical and electronic apparatuses (see annotated Description (6) below), the covering material or the exterior material comprising the electromagnetic wave shielding material according to claim 1 (see Figs 1-3).
(6)
Regarding claim 7, Yamada discloses an electrical and electronic apparatus comprising the covering material or the exterior material according to claim 6 (see annotated Description (6) above; Figs 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada JP-2010206182 (English translation attached).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada discloses the electromagnetic wave shielding
material according to claim 4, except wherein a mass ratio of cobalt in each
treated film is 1.50 to 4.50 assuming that a mass ratio of nickel in each treated
layer is 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mass ratio
of cobalt relative to nickel as claimed, in order to achieve a certain thickness/dimension as desired or to optimize weight distribution or noise sensitivity of the electromagnetic film for particular circuit layout, thereby improving functionality, and, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841