DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 20 March 2026, regarding application number 18/840,146.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 3-9 remain pending in the application, while claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 1 and 9 were amended in the Amendments to the Claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 5, filed 20 March 2026, with respect to the claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant did not provide any arguments besides “Applicant believes the claims recite sufficient structure to perform the recited functions and elects not to amend the claims to remove these terms at this time.”, but did not provide evidence for which sufficient structure is claimed. Accordingly, the claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been maintained because the claim limitations meet the three-prong test, including the generic placeholders not being modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See full details below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-7, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 3-9 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the reasons discussed in the prior office action. However, upon further consideration and for the purpose of compact prosecution, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited reference Nagatsuka et al. (US 20090187276 A1). See full rejection details below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a. “reception unit” in claim 1
b. “program generation unit” in claims 1 and 9
c. “display control unit” in claim 9
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses the corresponding structure for the “reception unit” in [0017] in the specification filed on 21 August 2024. Regarding the limitations reciting the “program generation unit” and the “display control unit”, the specification discloses a computer in paragraph [0016] and an algorithm for performing the claimed functions in Figure 9 and its corresponding paragraphs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terawaki (JP H07104831 A and Terawaki hereinafter), in view of Hirayama et al. (US 20240316776 A1 and Hirayama hereinafter) and Nagatsuka et al. (US 20090187276 A1 and Nagatsuka hereinafter) .
Regarding Claim 1
Terawaki teaches a program generation device configured to generate a program for controlling a robot having a sensor capable of detecting an operation line of a workpiece (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1; see the corresponding paragraphs in the reference JP_H07104831_A attached in the previous office action), the program generation device comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive an input of a search start position and a search end position of the operation line by the sensor (see Fig. 1, start point P1 and end point P2; Fig. 2, operation panel 26; Abstract; [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0013], [0018], [0022 "Here, as shown in FIG. 1, preliminary position teaching is performed using two points P1 (start point) and P2 (end point) as teaching points. The preliminary position teaching is performed by operating the teaching operation panel 26 of the robot control device 20 using a teaching playback method with manual jog feed (off-line teaching can also be used)."] and [0025]), and an input of information relating to a search program including a detection condition of the sensor (see [0005]-[0006] and [0022]-[0023 "The teaching point selection rule determines the distribution or density of teaching points designated along the welding line, and includes, for example, (1) points on the welding line whose positions are sensed by the laser sensor 3 (hereinafter referred to as sensing points)."]); and
a program generation unit configured to generate a search program for determining a teaching point corresponding to a position of the operation line by causing the sensor to search the operation line, based on contents received by the reception unit (see Abstract; [0005 "...moving the robot along the work line while correcting the preliminary position teaching data by the work line position sensing by the laser sensor; and creating taught position data representing the work line based on the work line position sensing data acquired by the laser sensor during the movement."]-[0009 "Furthermore, the teaching points are specified as a series of points along the actual work line, and the position data is created according to certain rules based on data acquired during tracking using a laser sensor, which means that the teaching data is highly reliable and subsequent data processing is easy."], [0013], [0023], [0033 “On the other hand, on the robot control device 20 side, after the robot has reached the end point P2, in step S14, the position data of the numerous sensing points saved in step S11 is read out sequentially, and teaching data is created with P1 and P2 as teaching points at both ends.”]-[0034 “In other words, if the number of points on the welding line for which position data is saved is n, namely Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, the teaching data created by automatic position teaching will include position data for a total of n+2 teaching points, namely P1, Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, P2 along the welding line path.”] and [0037]; the search program is inherently generated because the robot performs scanning of the operation line after the search start position and search end position are input.),
wherein the program generation unit is configured to generate an operation program including the teaching point corresponding to the position of the operation line, based on a result of execution of the search program (see Abstract; [0005 "...moving the robot along the work line while correcting the preliminary position teaching data by the work line position sensing by the laser sensor; and creating taught position data representing the work line based on the work line position sensing data acquired by the laser sensor during the movement."]-[0009 "Furthermore, the teaching points are specified as a series of points along the actual work line, and the position data is created according to certain rules based on data acquired during tracking using a laser sensor, which means that the teaching data is highly reliable and subsequent data processing is easy."], [0013], [0023], [0029 "The CPU 21 of the robot control device 20 converts the received sensor data into robot data (step S7), calculates the corrected target position for the robot (step S8), and moves the robot to the corrected target position (performing tracking; step S9)."], [0033 “On the other hand, on the robot control device 20 side, after the robot has reached the end point P2, in step S14, the position data of the numerous sensing points saved in step S11 is read out sequentially, and teaching data is created with P1 and P2 as teaching points at both ends.”]-[0034 “In other words, if the number of points on the welding line for which position data is saved is n, namely Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, the teaching data created by automatic position teaching will include position data for a total of n+2 teaching points, namely P1, Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, P2 along the welding line path.”] and [0037 "...after the tracking movement between P1 and P2 is completed, converting the saved sensor data into robot data to create position data of the teaching point."]; the operation program is inherently generated because the robot is moved to the teaching points after they are sensed.).
Terawaki teaches each and every limitation in this claim, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument of “Terawaki is silent regarding generate a search program", Hirayama explicitly teaches the claim feature.
That is, Hirayama teaches a program generation device configured to generate a program for controlling a robot having a sensor capable of detecting an operation line of a workpiece (see all Figs., especially Fig. 3, sensor 4 and Figs. 5-9, all; [0004]-[0005]), the program generation device comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive an input of a search start position and a search end position of the operation line by the sensor (see Fig. 1, offline teaching device 5 and/or monitor MN3; Figs. 6-14, all, especially the "start points" and "end points" in Figs. 7-9; [0064] and [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "For example, the offline teaching device 5 creates a scanning section connecting a start point (an endpoint) and an end point (an endpoint) of a welding section based on the position information of one welding line."] and [0149]-[0151]), and an input of information relating to a search program including a detection condition of the sensor (see [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "In addition, the offline teaching device 5 sets an angle of the sensor 4 that scans the created scanning section to the same angle as the welding torch 400 based on the welding operation teaching program, sets a weld bead formed corresponding to each welding line to a scannable angle based on a position of the production facility, a position and shape of the workpiece Wk, and the like, and sets information on a position, a distance, and an angle (a posture) of the sensor 4 for executing various operations (for example, approach, retraction, avoidance, and scan) at the time of scanning a weld bead based on information set in advance (for example, a minimum idle running distance)."], [0138]-[0139] and [0142 "...receives an operator operation related to the scanning operation (for example, an editing operation of the effective scanning region, and copying, deletion, partial deletion, movement, rotation, division, combination, and the like of the effective scanning region) (St7)."]); and
a program generation unit configured to generate a search program for determining a teaching point corresponding to a position of the operation line by causing the sensor to search the operation line, based on contents received by the reception unit (see Fig. 5, all, especially step St6; [0114]-[0117], [0134 "When two or more scanning sections are created, the offline teaching device 5 sets the operation trajectory of the welding torch 400 or a welding order of the welding lines to be the same as a scanning order and a scanning direction (an operation trajectory of the sensor 4) in which each of the scanning sections is scanned."] and [0141 "...creates a scanning operation teaching program for causing the sensor 4 to scan the effective scanning region and the scanning region indicated by the teaching auxiliary screen currently displayed on the monitor MN3 (St6). The offline teaching device 5 transmits the created scanning operation teaching program and the workpiece ID in association with each other to the robot control device 2 (St6)."]).
Terawaki teaches each and every limitation in this claim, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument of “Terawaki is silent regarding generate an operation program", Nagatsuka explicitly teaches the claim feature.
That is, Nagatsuka teaches a program generation device configured to generate a program for controlling a robot having a sensor capable of detecting an operation line of a workpiece (see all Figs.; [0016]), the program generation device comprising:
a program generation unit configured to generate a search program for determining a teaching point corresponding to a position of the operation line by causing the sensor to search the operation line, based on contents received by the reception unit (see Figs. 3-5, all; [0038 "In the next step S4, in the layout as described above, a graphic image of workpiece 18 viewed from virtual camera 22 is indicated on the display … At this point, since a teaching point included in the processing line is corrected in each divided segment as described below, it is preferable that there is a one-on-one relationship between each detection area and each segment."]-[0040]),
wherein the program generation unit is configured to generate an operation program including the teaching point corresponding to the position of the operation line, based on a result of execution of the search program (see Fig. 5, all; [0040 "In the next step S7, in order to generate a program by which a robot can actually process a workpiece, a processing program, including data of teaching points for processing the segments of processing line 28 of workpiece 18 as shown in FIG. 5, is generated. In an example of FIG. 5, one teaching point is set to each straight line segment 28 and three teaching points are set to each corner segment. Then, a processing program, including a command line assigning the position of each teaching point and a processing speed at each teaching point, etc., is generated. The teaching points may be automatically set corresponding to the shape of each segment, otherwise, may be timely input by an operation such as a mouse click motion by an operator."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the program generation device of Terawaki to further include a program generation unit configured to generate a search program, as taught by Hirayama, in order to cause the scanner to scan the operation line based on the input search start position and search end position.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the program generation device of Terawaki to generate an operation program including the teaching point corresponding to the position of the operation line, as taught by Nagatsuka, in order to generate commands including positions and processing speeds at each teaching robot to provide to the robot to process the workpiece.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Terawaki teaches the program generation device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Terawaki further teaches wherein the input of the search start position and the search end position is executed by moving the robot by direct teaching or jog operation (see [0022 "Here, as shown in FIG. 1, preliminary position teaching is performed using two points P1 (start point) and P2 (end point) as teaching points. The preliminary position teaching is performed by operating the teaching operation panel 26 of the robot control device 20 using a teaching playback method with manual jog feed (off-line teaching can also be used)."]).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Terawaki teaches the program generation device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Terawaki further teaches wherein searching of the operation line of by the sensor includes continuous scanning by the sensor along the operation line (see Fig. 1, laser sensor 3; [0005], [0011 "The position of the welding line is sensed by a known method in which the irradiation point locus of the deflected laser beam 3a of the laser sensor 3 is imaged by a CCD camera and the welding line position is determined from the bending point position of the irradiation point locus."] and [0031 "When the robot continues moving along the weld line L1 R1 L2 and reaches P2, a NO determination is made in step S12 for the first time, and the process proceeds to step S13, where a sensing end command is sent to the sensor control device 10."]).
Hirayama additionally teaches wherein searching of the operation line of by the sensor includes continuous scanning by the sensor along the operation line (see [0005] and [0134]-[0160], especially [0054 "In addition, the welding robot MC1 moves the sensor 4 based on the scanning operation teaching program, thereby executing the bead appearance inspection commanded from the host device 1."], [0125 "The sensor 4 is moved in a traveling direction by driving of the manipulator 200 of the welding robot MC1 to scan and acquire the three-dimensional shape of the object located in the effective scanning region AR1 illustrated in FIG. 4 ."] and [0134 "For example, the offline teaching device 5 creates a scanning section connecting a start point (an endpoint) and an end point (an endpoint) of a welding section based on the position information of one welding line."]).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Terawaki teaches the program generation device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Terawaki is silent regarding further comprising a display unit capable of displaying the program, wherein the display unit is configured to display at least one of: an icon including information relating to the search start position; an icon including information relating to the search end position; and an icon including information relating to an intermediate point between the search start position and the search end position.
Hirayama teaches further comprising a display unit capable of displaying the program, wherein the display unit is configured to display at least one of: an icon including information relating to the search start position; an icon including information relating to the search end position; and an icon including information relating to an intermediate point between the search start position and the search end position (see Fig. 1, monitor MN3; Figs. 6-14, all, especially the "start points", "end points" and "division points" in Fig. 9; [0064] and [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "For example, the offline teaching device 5 creates a scanning section connecting a start point (an endpoint) and an end point (an endpoint) of a welding section based on the position information of one welding line."] and [0158 "When a division point PT21 for dividing the effective scanning region AR21 is input by an operator operation, the offline teaching device 5 generates each of two effective scanning regions AR22 and AR23 obtained by dividing the effective scanning region AR21 into two at the division point PT21."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the program generation device of modified Terawaki to include a display unit capable of displaying the program and at least one of: an icon including information relating to the search start position; an icon including information relating to the search end position; and an icon including information relating to an intermediate point between the search start position and the search end position, as taught by Hirayama, in order to provide information on the sensing trajectory of the operation line to a user.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Terawaki teaches the program generation device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Terawaki is silent regarding further comprising a display unit capable of displaying the program, wherein the display unit is configured to display a wizard for setting at least one of the search start position, the search end position and the search program.
Hirayama further teaches further comprising a display unit capable of displaying the program (see Fig. 1, offline teaching device 5 and/or monitor MN3; Figs. 6-14, all; [0064 "The monitor MN3 displays a teaching auxiliary screen transmitted from the offline teaching device 5. In addition, the monitor MN3 displays an image in which the operation trajectory of the sensor 4 or the operation trajectory of the welding torch 400 is superimposed on the image of the virtual production facility transmitted from the offline teaching device 5."], [0135] and [0144]), wherein the display unit is configured to display a wizard for setting at least one of the search start position, the search end position and the search program (see Fig. 1, offline teaching device 5 and/or monitor MN3; Figs. 6-14, all, especially the "start points" and "end points" in Figs. 7-9; [0064] and [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "For example, the offline teaching device 5 creates a scanning section connecting a start point (an endpoint) and an end point (an endpoint) of a welding section based on the position information of one welding line."] and [0149]-[0151]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the program generation device of modified Terawaki to include a display unit capable of displaying the program and displaying a wizard for setting at least one of the search start position, the search end position and the search program, as taught by Hirayama, in order to provide information on the sensing trajectory of the operation line to a user.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Terawaki teaches the program generation device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Terawaki further teaches wherein the search program includes at least one of: information relating to a search range of the sensor; information relating to an output of the sensor; information relating to a path of the sensor; and information relating to an operation program generated based on a result of execution of the search program (see [0005]-[0006], [0013] and [0022]-[0023 "The teaching point selection rule determines the distribution or density of teaching points designated along the welding line, and includes, for example, (1) points on the welding line whose positions are sensed by the laser sensor 3 (hereinafter referred to as sensing points)."]).
Hirayama additionally teaches wherein the search program includes at least one of: information relating to a search range of the sensor; information relating to an output of the sensor; information relating to a path of the sensor; and information relating to an operation program generated based on a result of execution of the search program (see [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "For example, the offline teaching device 5 creates a scanning section connecting a start point (an endpoint) and an end point (an endpoint) of a welding section based on the position information of one welding line. In addition, the offline teaching device 5 sets an angle of the sensor 4 that scans the created scanning section to the same angle as the welding torch 400 based on the welding operation teaching program, sets a weld bead formed corresponding to each welding line to a scannable angle based on a position of the production facility, a position and shape of the workpiece Wk, and the like, and sets information on a position, a distance, and an angle (a posture) of the sensor 4 for executing various operations (for example, approach, retraction, avoidance, and scan) at the time of scanning a weld bead based on information set in advance (for example, a minimum idle running distance)."], [0138]-[0139] and [0142 "...receives an operator operation related to the scanning operation (for example, an editing operation of the effective scanning region, and copying, deletion, partial deletion, movement, rotation, division, combination, and the like of the effective scanning region) (St7)."]).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Terawaki teaches the program generation device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Terawaki further teaches wherein the operation line includes a welding point of the workpiece or a sealing point of the workpiece (see Fig. 1, all; [0005] and [0011 "The welding is performed by moving the robot using a real-time tracking method that utilizes a laser sensor 3, with the first straight section L1 (starting point P1), the arc section R1, and the second straight section L2 (ending point P2) connecting the lower edge of the workpiece 4 where it contacts the plate-like member 5 as the welding line."]).
Hirayama additionally teaches wherein the operation line includes a welding point of the workpiece or a sealing point of the workpiece (see Figs. 5-9, all; [0005 "...an acquisition unit configured to acquire position information of a welding line of a workpiece produced by welding and a scanning range of a sensor that scans an appearance shape of a weld bead formed on the workpiece; a generation unit configured to generate a three-dimensional region to be scanned by the sensor based on the acquired position information of the welding line and the scanning range; and a control unit configured to generate and output an auxiliary screen in which the welding line and the three-dimensional region are disposed in a virtual space.").
Regarding Claim 9
Terawaki teaches a program generation device configured to generate a program for controlling a robot having a sensor capable of detecting an operation line of a workpiece (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1; [0005]), the program generation device comprising:
a wizard being configured to receive an input of a search start position and a search end position of the operation line by the sensor (see Fig. 1, start point P1 and end point P2; Fig. 2, operation panel 26; Abstract; [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0013], [0018], [0022 "Here, as shown in FIG. 1, preliminary position teaching is performed using two points P1 (start point) and P2 (end point) as teaching points. The preliminary position teaching is performed by operating the teaching operation panel 26 of the robot control device 20 using a teaching playback method with manual jog feed (off-line teaching can also be used)."] and [0025]), and an input of information relating to a search program including a detection condition of the sensor (see [0005]-[0006] and [0022]-[0023 "The teaching point selection rule determines the distribution or density of teaching points designated along the welding line, and includes, for example, (1) points on the welding line whose positions are sensed by the laser sensor 3 (hereinafter referred to as sensing points)."]); and
a program generation unit configured to generate a search program for determining a teaching point corresponding to a position of the operation line by causing the sensor to search the operation line, based on contents received by the wizard (see Abstract; [0005 "...moving the robot along the work line while correcting the preliminary position teaching data by the work line position sensing by the laser sensor; and creating taught position data representing the work line based on the work line position sensing data acquired by the laser sensor during the movement."]-[0009 "Furthermore, the teaching points are specified as a series of points along the actual work line, and the position data is created according to certain rules based on data acquired during tracking using a laser sensor, which means that the teaching data is highly reliable and subsequent data processing is easy."], [0013], [0023], [0033 “On the other hand, on the robot control device 20 side, after the robot has reached the end point P2, in step S14, the position data of the numerous sensing points saved in step S11 is read out sequentially, and teaching data is created with P1 and P2 as teaching points at both ends.”]-[0034 “In other words, if the number of points on the welding line for which position data is saved is n, namely Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, the teaching data created by automatic position teaching will include position data for a total of n+2 teaching points, namely P1, Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, P2 along the welding line path.”] and [0037]; the search program is inherently generated because the robot performs scanning of the operation line after the search start position and search end position are input.),
wherein the program generation unit is configured to generate an operation program including the teaching point corresponding to the position of the operation line, based on a result of execution of the search program (see Abstract; [0005 "...moving the robot along the work line while correcting the preliminary position teaching data by the work line position sensing by the laser sensor; and creating taught position data representing the work line based on the work line position sensing data acquired by the laser sensor during the movement."]-[0009 "Furthermore, the teaching points are specified as a series of points along the actual work line, and the position data is created according to certain rules based on data acquired during tracking using a laser sensor, which means that the teaching data is highly reliable and subsequent data processing is easy."], [0013], [0023], [0029 "The CPU 21 of the robot control device 20 converts the received sensor data into robot data (step S7), calculates the corrected target position for the robot (step S8), and moves the robot to the corrected target position (performing tracking; step S9)."], [0033 “On the other hand, on the robot control device 20 side, after the robot has reached the end point P2, in step S14, the position data of the numerous sensing points saved in step S11 is read out sequentially, and teaching data is created with P1 and P2 as teaching points at both ends.”]-[0034 “In other words, if the number of points on the welding line for which position data is saved is n, namely Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, the teaching data created by automatic position teaching will include position data for a total of n+2 teaching points, namely P1, Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4, ... Qn-1, Qn, P2 along the welding line path.”] and [0037 "...after the tracking movement between P1 and P2 is completed, converting the saved sensor data into robot data to create position data of the teaching point."]; the operation program is inherently generated because the robot is moved to the teaching points after they are sensed.).
Terawaki is silent regarding a display unit capable of displaying the program; and
a display control unit to cause a wizard to be displayed on the display unit.
Hirayama teaches a program generation device configured to generate a program for controlling a robot having a sensor capable of detecting an operation line of a workpiece (see all Figs., especially Fig. 3, sensor 4 and Figs. 5-9, all; [0004]-[0005]), the program generation device comprising:
a display unit capable of displaying the program (see Fig. 1, offline teaching device 5 and/or monitor MN3; Figs. 6-14, all; [0064 "The monitor MN3 displays a teaching auxiliary screen transmitted from the offline teaching device 5. In addition, the monitor MN3 displays an image in which the operation trajectory of the sensor 4 or the operation trajectory of the welding torch 400 is superimposed on the image of the virtual production facility transmitted from the offline teaching device 5."], [0135] and [0144]);
a display control unit to cause a wizard to be displayed on the display unit (see Fig. 1, offline teaching device 5 and/or monitor MN3; Figs. 6-14, all, especially the "start points" and "end points" in Figs. 7-9; [0064] and [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "For example, the offline teaching device 5 creates a scanning section connecting a start point (an endpoint) and an end point (an endpoint) of a welding section based on the position information of one welding line."] and [0149]-[0151]), the wizard being configured to receive an input of a search start position and a search end position of the operation line by the sensor, and an input of information relating to a search program including a detection condition of the sensor (see [0134]-[0160], especially [0134 "In addition, the offline teaching device 5 sets an angle of the sensor 4 that scans the created scanning section to the same angle as the welding torch 400 based on the welding operation teaching program, sets a weld bead formed corresponding to each welding line to a scannable angle based on a position of the production facility, a position and shape of the workpiece Wk, and the like, and sets information on a position, a distance, and an angle (a posture) of the sensor 4 for executing various operations (for example, approach, retraction, avoidance, and scan) at the time of scanning a weld bead based on information set in advance (for example, a minimum idle running distance)."], [0138]-[0139] and [0142 "...receives an operator operation related to the scanning operation (for example, an editing operation of the effective scanning region, and copying, deletion, partial deletion, movement, rotation, division, combination, and the like of the effective scanning region) (St7)."]); and
a program generation unit configured to generate a search program for determining a teaching point corresponding to a position of the operation line by causing the sensor to search the operation line, based on contents received by the wizard (see Fig. 5, all, especially step St6; [0114]-[0117], [0134 "When two or more scanning sections are created, the offline teaching device 5 sets the operation trajectory of the welding torch 400 or a welding order of the welding lines to be the same as a scanning order and a scanning direction (an operation trajectory of the sensor 4) in which each of the scanning sections is scanned."] and [0141 "...creates a scanning operation teaching program for causing the sensor 4 to scan the effective scanning region and the scanning region indicated by the teaching auxiliary screen currently displayed on the monitor MN3 (St6). The offline teaching device 5 transmits the created scanning operation teaching program and the workpiece ID in association with each other to the robot control device 2 (St6)."]).
Terawaki, in view of Hirayama, teaches each and every limitation in this claim, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument of "Terawaki is silent regarding generate an operation program", Nagatsuka explicitly teaches the claim feature.
That is, Nagatsuka teaches a program generation device configured to generate a program for controlling a robot having a sensor capable of detecting an operation line of a workpiece (see all Figs.; [0016]), the program generation device comprising:
a display unit capable of displaying the program (see Fig. 12, display 12; [0012] and [0035 "PC 10 has a display 12 capable indicating three-dimensional models of a robot 14, a tool 16 attached to robot 14 for processing, a workpiece 18 to be processed, a pedestal or a jig 20 for loading workpiece 18 thereon, and a vision sensor 22 having a virtual camera for imaging workpiece 18 in PC 10."]);
a display control unit to cause a wizard to be displayed on the display unit (see [0012] and [0035 "PC 10 has a display 12 capable indicating three-dimensional models of a robot 14, a tool 16 attached to robot 14 for processing, a workpiece 18 to be processed, a pedestal or a jig 20 for loading workpiece 18 thereon, and a vision sensor 22 having a virtual camera for imaging workpiece 18 in PC 10."]); and
a program generation unit configured to generate a search program for determining a teaching point corresponding to a position of the operation line by causing the sensor to search the operation line, based on contents received by the wizard (see Figs. 3-5, all; [0038 "In the next step S4, in the layout as described above, a graphic image of workpiece 18 viewed from virtual camera 22 is indicated on the display … At this point, since a teaching point included in the processing line is corrected in each divided segment as described below, it is preferable that there is a one-on-one relationship between each detection area and each segment."]-[0040]),
wherein the program generation unit is configured to generate an operation program including the teaching point corresponding to the position of the operation line, based on a result of execution of the search program (see Fig. 5, all; [0040 "In the next step S7, in order to generate a program by which a robot can actually process a workpiece, a processing program, including data of teaching points for processing the segments of processing line 28 of workpiece 18 as shown in FIG. 5, is generated. In an example of FIG. 5, one teaching point is set to each straight line segment 28 and three teaching points are set to each corner segment. Then, a processing program, including a command line assigning the position of each teaching point and a processing speed at each teaching point, etc., is generated. The teaching points may be automatically set corresponding to the shape of each segment, otherwise, may be timely input by an operation such as a mouse click motion by an operator."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the program generation device of Terawaki to further include a display unit capable of displaying the program and a display control unit to cause a wizard to be displayed on the display unit, as taught by Hirayama, in order to provide information on the sensing trajectory of the operation line to a user.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the program generation device of Terawaki to generate an operation program including the teaching point corresponding to the position of the operation line, as taught by Nagatsuka, in order to generate commands including positions and processing speeds at each teaching robot to provide to the robot to process the workpiece.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656